Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST STORY ABOUT A DOG AND THOSE WHO LOVE THAT DOG
This book is one of the most beautiful, moving and very Christian stories I have ever had the pleasure to read. The central character, Marty, is part of a Christian chain of events. Marty saves the adorable beagle pup's life. He is able to forgive the cruel man who beat and neglected the hound. Marty's parents and sisters are also loving, richly drawn and wonderful...
Published on Aug. 7 2000 by BeatleBangs1964

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shiloh
Have you ever wanted something so bad but it just seems impossible? Well young Marty Peterson from West Virginia finds him self in this situation in this book Shiloh By Phyllis Naylor.
Phyllis Naylor takes you through the eye of Marty Peterson in this Newbery Award winning book Shiloh. Young Marty Peterson is desperate to take home a dog that he has found and is...
Published on March 4 2004


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST STORY ABOUT A DOG AND THOSE WHO LOVE THAT DOG, Aug. 7 2000
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
This book is one of the most beautiful, moving and very Christian stories I have ever had the pleasure to read. The central character, Marty, is part of a Christian chain of events. Marty saves the adorable beagle pup's life. He is able to forgive the cruel man who beat and neglected the hound. Marty's parents and sisters are also loving, richly drawn and wonderful characters who add to the story. Mere words do not do this justice. It is and will remain a timeless classic.

A salute to the author -- in recent years I adopted a beagle from the shelter. She, like Shiloh, had been beaten and left to roam the streets. Shiloh was loosely based on a dog named "Clover" who, like Shiloh, was adopted into a loving home. (There is a large female beagle in my neighborhood named Shiloh. She's beautiful).

My beagle has been great medicine for the folks there and one nurse said she had gotten a beagle because she liked my dog. She couldn't think of a name for the dog, so I suggested "Clover," in honor of the literary Shiloh's real counterpart. "Clover, like in a good luck charm," I said at the time. I was delighted to learn days later she named her hound Clover. Shiloh is a continuum of love. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Boy, a Beagle. . .and a Dilemma, July 20 2000
By 
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
What a wonderful book! I read it after my 11-year old son suggested it as a change from my usual reading fare of history and biography. It turned out to be much more than just a summertime reading diversion...it became for me a deeply moving reading experience in its own right. I was quickly captivated by Marty and his family, Shiloh, the beagle, and yes, even the despicable Judd Travers.
The story is straightforward: Marty Preston is an eleven-year old boy living with his parents and two younger sisters in rural West Virginia. It is a close-knit, loving family with traditional values and a clearly defined set of rules to live by. His father is a mail carrier and his mother a homemaker.
One Sunday afternoon, as Marty is walking along a backwoods road, he spies a young beagle hiding under a bush. He calls to it, but the dog doesn't respond. When Marty walks away, the dog follows him. Marty tries to get the dog to come to him several times, but the animal, which has obviously been abused, cowers miserably. Finally, the dog happily comes to Marty when the boy whistles at him. Marty immediately falls in love with the dog, whom he names Shiloh. The little beagle responds with trust and affection. The boy quickly figures out that Shiloh belongs to Judd Travers, a local ne'er-do-well, and a man with an unsavory reputation for dishonesty, a hot temper, and animal abuse. Marty wants to keep Shiloh, to protect him from Judd. However, his parents insist he return the dog to its rightful owner, which Marty begrudgingly does.
Shiloh runs away from Judd a second time and finds his way back to Marty's house. This time, Marty vows to keep him. He hides the dog, sneaks food out of the house to feed him, and begins to lie to friends and family when questioned about Shiloh's whereabouts. A tragic accident causes Marty's secret to be found out by his parents. He is forced once again to return Shiloh to his master. Marty, desperate to keep Shiloh, offers to do almost anything to get Judd to give him the dog.
I won't give away the ending of the book; suffice it to say, it is a dramatic and compassionate ending, sure to move anyone who reads this book.
"Shiloh" is a beautifully and masterfully written in every way. It is written in the first person, from Marty's point of view. The narrative is written in a rural West Virginia dialect that sounds totally natural and unaffected. It seemed almost possible for me to hear Marty speak as I read along. The book's plot is absolutely superb - tightly woven, dramatic, and realistic. Each of the characters come to life with complete believability. All of the situations presented in the narrative are easy to understand and appropriate for young readers.
Phyllis Reynolds Naylor proves why she is such a gifted writer of children's books, mainly because she so brilliantly fires the reader's imagination and teaches positive values. In the story, she presents Marty with an ethical dilemma which, at one time or another, all children face. Marty's predicament is this: whether to do what is right in the eyes of a higher authority (his parents) when it is a reasonable certainty that the action will result in a great wrong being done by someone else; or to do what his heart says is right, even though that action is wrong in the eyes of the higher authority (his parents). Marty's dilemma is compounded his conscience, which speaks loudly and often to him, demanding from him both honesty and a sense of fair play. How Marty responds to these challenges is the great lesson taught by this book.
"Shiloh" is a winner of the Newbery Medal and a classic of children's literature. I heartily recommend it to kids of all ages...from 9 to 99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both boys and girls will love Shiloh!, May 31 2000
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
Shiloh is a wonderful example of realistic fiction for children. The story revolves around Marty, a small town boy in the hills of West Virginia. There isn't much money, and putting food on the table is difficult and all consuming for the adults of his community.
Marty spends his free time roaming the hills with his rifle, until he discovers Shiloh, a dog, whom he learns lives with constant abuse by his owner. Marty determines to rescue Shiloh and care for the dog he immediately becomes attached to. He finds, however, that simply wanting something, is not a determinant of taking possession: he is stunned that the abusive owner has rights, which is confusing and heartbreaking for him.
Throughout the story, Marty is confronted by moral issues which he must wrestle with as he focuses his attention on loving Shiloh and finding a way to make life better for the dog. In doing so, his values are questioned and his morality is strengthened. He must learn to solve moral dilemmas by analyzing the choices he has. He realizes that adults don't always do the right thing, nor do they always have the answers to questions. Most, important, he learns to recognize that he has the ability, within himself, to realize the resolve it takes to do the right thing in the face of adversity.
Young readers will experience these dilemmas with Marty, and the story provides youngsters with the opportunity to develop their own moral skills along with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shiloh, March 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
Have you ever wanted something so bad but it just seems impossible? Well young Marty Peterson from West Virginia finds him self in this situation in this book Shiloh By Phyllis Naylor.
Phyllis Naylor takes you through the eye of Marty Peterson in this Newbery Award winning book Shiloh. Young Marty Peterson is desperate to take home a dog that he has found and is sure it has been abused. But his dad won't let him have it so Marty finally decides he will do any thing to save the dog. But if won't be easy when his dad refuses to let Marty have the dog. So finally he decides to hide the dog in an old shed that he has fixed up. But it still does not work. One day when Marty and his dad are taking the dog home he decides he will work for the dog at the dogs owner's house, Jud Travers. But the work is not so easy but he is sure he will not give up for the love of the dog Shiloh.
To find out how far Marty will go for the dog Shiloh You will have to read this great Newbery award-winning book Shiloh by Phyllis Naylor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shiloh, May 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
Shiloh was a great book. It was about a dog who lived with this evil man. There wa a kid who saw the dog and he wanted It. One day what thekid does is thinking about the dog. The next day the dog followed him so he took the dog home. The owner of the dog found out that is dog was missing so he went looking for his dog. Then he finds his dog. The kid tells the owner if he could have the dog. The owner made a deal with the kid that if he works for him for a month he will give him the dog. Af ter work he gets the dog. In the middle of the book there is this one part where the dog gets attacked by another dog that is probably best part in the book. If I was to rate this book out of ten I would give a ten
By
JJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A boy who went crazy about a dog, May 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
Shiloh is a very interesting book. It is the first book in the Shiloh series. The book is based on a kid called Marty who finds a beagle and names it Shiloh. After one of his neighbors, Judd, comes looking for the dog because it's his. Marty will do anything to to keep the dog, but sometimes he goes too far. In my opinion this book is full of suspense and love. I would recommend this book to anyone that can read because it's good for all ages. I would give this book a four star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shiloh review for Miss O., May 19 2004
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
I thought this was a very good book. Most people would enjoy the story. It was entertaining and heartbreaking. The best part of the book was the end. It kept you in suspense. If you want to read a good book this summer, read Shiloh. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shiloh, May 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
I thought Shiloh was a good book. If you like dogs and rescue stories you'll like this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, April 24 2004
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
Shiloh is a beautiful book! Its a true story, and it was made when the author came home from a vacation. During this vacation, she met a female beagle who was abused, and she couldn't get the dog out of her mind. So she created this book. The book became a big success, and the female beagle eventually found a home. In the third book of the trilogy, the back page has a picture of the beagle, looking fat and happy.
Shiloh is a fantastic book because it opens the eyes of young readers, on how dogs don't live happy lives like they thought. They may start looking around for dogs living on chains, and when they see that, they think of Shiloh. They grow up and learn more about the plight of abused animals, and they're the people who'll change the world for pets. I am now 17 years old, and I still read the trilogy over and over, and tear up in many parts. I read this book as a young kid, and I grew up with it. I would highly recommend it to anyone I meet, especially people who are in contact with dogs who are starving and being neglected by their owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shiloh, April 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shiloh (Paperback)
It was a good book becouse it was about a boy who liked a dog so much he would do anething for it. The only thing i did not like is when judd would kick or misstreat the animals.
the best part is when marty got to keep the dog by blakmailing judd for killing the dear off seasion.
when he said you are killing off seasion and gits in a fight with judd. or when the doctor tells marty how shiloh is after stiches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7844ed0)

This product

SHILOH
SHILOH by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Mass Market Paperback - June 8 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews