Customer Reviews


1,058 Reviews
5 star:
 (373)
4 star:
 (287)
3 star:
 (158)
2 star:
 (124)
1 star:
 (116)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Testament
I truly enjoyed this John Grisham book. You never knew just what was going to happen to the family or the money even when he found the rightful heir. It was a surprise when he found that she had died in the depths of Brazil.
Published 2 months ago by joeyrou

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nutty Billionaire, Hapless Heirs, Greedy Lawyers, a Brazilian Search for Livingstone, and Redemption
Troy Phelan, worth $11 billion, loves his business and hates his ex-wives and children. Rumored to be suffering from terminal cancer, Phelan calls the family together to sign a new will. The heirs cooperate by providing psychiatrists to observe and verify that Phelan is in his right mind. That's the apparent game plan, but Phelan has a second and more shocking one. Thus...
Published on June 21 2008 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Testament, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I truly enjoyed this John Grisham book. You never knew just what was going to happen to the family or the money even when he found the rightful heir. It was a surprise when he found that she had died in the depths of Brazil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., Feb. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read. As usual, Grisham's detailed writing brings you right into the story and makes you feel like you've been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Testament (Paperback)
One of his best ! Would highly recommend. Like new even though I bought it used. I like it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Testament: A Novel (Paperback)
ANYTHING JOHN GRISHAM WRITES IS TERRIFIC, YOU LEARN ABOUT MANY THINGS & YOU CAN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN. I WOULD RECOMMEND ALL OF HIS BOOKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and interesting book, Feb. 2 2012
By 
D. Paine (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Testament (Paperback)
This is the first book by Grisham I have ever read because his stuff doesn't normally interest me but this book caught my attention and it was well worth reading. I have over the years read this book more than once. I get a kick out of people ruining their greedy families lives like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nutty Billionaire, Hapless Heirs, Greedy Lawyers, a Brazilian Search for Livingstone, and Redemption, June 21 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Testament (Audio CD)
Troy Phelan, worth $11 billion, loves his business and hates his ex-wives and children. Rumored to be suffering from terminal cancer, Phelan calls the family together to sign a new will. The heirs cooperate by providing psychiatrists to observe and verify that Phelan is in his right mind. That's the apparent game plan, but Phelan has a second and more shocking one. Thus opens The Testament.

Probate law isn't very exciting, and John Grisham decides to dress it up with a cast of characters that are almost parodies of parodies, so much so that they didn't resonate with me. As a result, the "exciting" beginning bored me.

The bulk of the story eventually shifts to recovering alcoholic and drug addict, attorney Nate O'Riley, who is sent straight from rehab to Brazil to find a missing heir, Rachel Lane, who is a medical missionary to the indigenous people there. His journey is harrowing and tests his limited strength to the limits. But the journey also is a beginning of his personal redemption through receiving Salvation for the Lord, Jesus Christ. As soon as the redemption part of the story begins, the book vastly improves. Without that element, I would have rated this as a one- or two-star effort.

It's unusual for a secular writer to put a major Christian theme in a popular work of fiction. I applaud Mr. Grisham for doing so.

I enjoyed the reading by Frank Muller which added a lot of emotional depth to the book that would be missed by simply reading The Testament.

May God bless you, Mr. Grisham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nutty Billionaire, Hapless Heirs, Greedy Lawyers, a Brazilian Search for Livingstone, and Redemption, June 21 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
Troy Phelan, worth $11 billion, loves his business and hates his ex-wives and children. Rumored to be suffering from terminal cancer, Phelan calls the family together to sign a new will. The heirs cooperate by providing psychiatrists to observe and verify that Phelan is in his right mind. That's the apparent game plan, but Phelan has a second and more shocking one. Thus opens The Testament.

Probate law isn't very exciting, and John Grisham decides to dress it up with a cast of characters that are almost parodies of parodies, so much so that they didn't resonate with me. As a result, the "exciting" beginning bored me.

The bulk of the story eventually shifts to recovering alcoholic and drug addict, attorney Nate O'Riley, who is sent straight from rehab to Brazil to find a missing heir, Rachel Lane, who is a medical missionary to the indigenous people there. His journey is harrowing and tests his limited strength to the limits. But the journey also is a beginning of his personal redemption through receiving Salvation for the Lord, Jesus Christ. As soon as the redemption part of the story begins, the book vastly improves. Without that element, I would have rated this as a one- or two-star effort.

It's unusual for a secular writer to put a major Christian theme in a popular work of fiction. I applaud Mr. Grisham for doing so.

May God bless you, Mr. Grisham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book!, July 2 2004
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first John Grisham book and I certainly enjoyed it.
In this book one of the ten richest men in the country(Troy Phelan) has a ceremony to read his last will and testament to
his greedy family.He has three psychiatrists on hand to verify his sanity.After the ceremony ends and the family leaves he
produces a holographic will disinheriting his family and leaving
the entire estate to an illigitemate daughter who is a missionary
in Brazil.Phelan has left each of his children $5 million dollars
on their 21st birthday.They have all squandered the money.In the
meantime the daughter Rachel Lane must be found.
That job is given to lawyer Nate O'Reilly(a rehabbed drunk).He
makes a perilous trip to Brazil to locate the missing heiress.He
discovers that she wants nothing to do with her 11 billion dollar inheritance.Nate returns to America emptyhanded.In the meantime the disinherited heirs and their lawyers are trying every type of legal manuevering to overturn Troy Phelan's will.
It is imperative that Nate return to Brazil and talk to Rachel
Lane again.
This was a very good book that I enjoyed reading.The ending was
shocking.Buy it and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Hogie Sandwich, March 25 2004
By 
annmason1 (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
I didn't care for this book. It would have been much more interesting if it were two thirds the size. I mean, we GET IT ALREADY...that's one big SWAMP!
But the main problem with The Testament is the weak character of Rachel Lane Porter. Grisham is not a good portrayer of women and he lives up to his standard here. Rachel is a flat, trite, unsympathetic dolt who would rather paddle her own leaky canoe to "help my people" than use 5 billion dollars to HELP her people! I don't get it, why is this shortsighted swampy martyr worth considering as an inspiration to Nate or anybody else? Turning down money that would seriously help lobby for, treat, preserve and protect Brazilian Indians just because,"I didn't earn the money" is a devise a fifth grader wouldn't design for a character. Does Grisham really think the reader will be touched by this nut?
Rachel's mysterious hospital visit is a useless devise. What's the point of the secrecy? Who cares? So she can slip into a smelly ward unseen, stroke Nate's head and HEAL HIM, then disappear with no trace...what's the point? If Grisham meant to bestow miraculous powers on "Our Lady of the Swamp", he didn't follow up on it.
This weak character reminds me of the equally vague and pointless young female clerk in "A Time to Kill." The personalities are different, but their purpose and character development are equally questionable. Why are they in the plot, why weren't they developed, and why were they dropped abruptly and without the slightest concern one way or the other by the reader?
Like I said, Grisham doesn't understand women and employs female characters as disposable accessories to his central themes, never exploring or utilizing them effectively.
It is true that Rachel leaves the money for good stuff (by default at her death), but here again,why didn't she leave the will with her lawyer instead of entrust it to a rusty box in the innards of a swamp with a hostile chief to dispense to someone who might or might not ever show up? How dumb can one woman be?
So, this book is like a Hogie sandwich...some thin slices of meat- Troy, Sr. and Stafford, but otherwise, too much tasteless bread (the swamp, the church and fixing the basement- what was THAT about?), etc.
High carb, time wasting junk food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Grisham's Finest, May 9 2000
By 
Jennifer Kydd (Antioch, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
When it comes to novels about the law and interweaving an exciting plot into them, Grisham has both the talent and the fans to make him a success.
In THE TESTAMENT, Troy Phelan has decided to bypass his six legitimate children and endow his illegitimate daughter, Rachel Lane, with his fortune of 11 billion dollars. It is quite a fortune, and the Phelan heirs are not going down without a vigorous fight. That's where Nate O'Riley comes in. He's a tough litigator who specializes in medical malpractice suits. Josh Stafford, Mr. Phelan's attorney and executor of his holographic will, has plucked Nate from his cushy rehab center where he's been a patient for four months. Nate is sent on an adventure through the Pantanal in Brazil to search for the elusive Rachel Lane, a missionary working among the Ipica Indians deep in the Pantanal.
Nate never convinces Rachel to sign the papers to accept her gift bestowed upon her by the will. She wants nothing to do with the money.
All in all, this is a fast-paced, tension-filled read. I enjoyed every page. It is the best Grisham has written since his thrilling novel, A TIME TO KILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Testament
The Testament by John Grisham (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 28 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews