Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Broke me up
Our book club recently read three books by Southern authors. Southern U.S. authors, that is. The first was a light read titled SECRET LIFE OF BEES and it was easy and fun. The second was BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and it was a page-turner, but quite disturbing--funny, too. Last, but not least, was THE BROKER. At first, I was a little skeptical about the book when it began with...
Published on July 11 2007 by Manny Hann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grisham Out of His Depth
In the Author's Notes at the end of the book, Grisham states "If something in this novel approaches accuracy, it's probably a mistake". Purchasing this book in hardcover was my mistake.
He admits that his background is not in tecnology or espionage, and that he did not do any research when writing this book. This laissez faire attitude toward his craft...
Published on Feb. 26 2005 by corbs66


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grisham Out of His Depth, Feb. 26 2005
By 
"corbs66" (Listowel, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broker: A Novel (Hardcover)
In the Author's Notes at the end of the book, Grisham states "If something in this novel approaches accuracy, it's probably a mistake". Purchasing this book in hardcover was my mistake.
He admits that his background is not in tecnology or espionage, and that he did not do any research when writing this book. This laissez faire attitude toward his craft greatly shortchanges his readers. Other writers (Jeffery Deaver and Greg Iles come to mind) spend a great deal of energy researching their subject matter and it comes through in their work. What Grisham has done here is an amteurish hack job.
I have been a fan of Grisham for years, but this book was simplistic and boring. Part of what has made Grisham a bestselling author is his ability to create sympathetic characters (be they scoundrels are outright criminals). In The Broker he has failed to create a chracter who is even interesting. By the end of the book I suspect most readers will not even care what happens to the Broker.
If you are looking for a good spy novel try Robert Ludlum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Page-Turner That Will Help You Learn Italian, Dec 6 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
In the Author's Note for this book, John Grisham observes that his background is law . . . and not satellites or espionage. In addition, he admits to being a technophobe when it comes to electronic gadgets. Be aware of this information before deciding if you want to read this book or not.

The Broker is a book about high tech satellites, espionage and involves advanced use of all kinds of electronic gadgets. Those are clearly the weakest parts of the story . . . for the reasons stated above.

You can also read the book as a variation on the old television series, The Prisoner. The book works better that way. A lame, lame-duck president is encouraged by a Machiavellian CIA director to pardon Joel Backman, a traitorous deal maker. The CIA wants to see who kills Backman as a way to solve some old mysteries.

From that premise, the story mostly moves to Backman's perspective as he is unexpectedly removed from a very unpleasant solitary confinement into being shepherded around Italy in a process of assuming a new identity . . . as an Italian. You will struggle with Backman as he learns Italian (and pick up a lot of phrases and words yourself) and follow him through the tourist sites and back streets of Bologna. You will probably also get some ideas for Italian foods you'd like to try. This part is the most appealing aspect of the book.

From there, Grisham puts a target on Backman's back and the thriller part of the story begins. I found that aspect of the book to be well below average. Grisham would be well advised to follow the advice of those who tell writers to stick to what they know.

As compared to most page turners, The Broker is perfectly acceptable. If you are looking, however, for a book that captures the early Grisham style and appealing story lines, this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Broke me up, July 11 2007
By 
Manny Hann (South Central) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
Our book club recently read three books by Southern authors. Southern U.S. authors, that is. The first was a light read titled SECRET LIFE OF BEES and it was easy and fun. The second was BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and it was a page-turner, but quite disturbing--funny, too. Last, but not least, was THE BROKER. At first, I was a little skeptical about the book when it began with the pardon; however, the further I read into it, the more I couldn't put it down! THE BROKER begins with President Arthur Morgan granting a last minute, controversial pardon to convicted felon Joel Backman. Joel was a former lawyer who went to federal prison after his law firm collapsed after a conspiracy with a spy satellite. Joel gets moved to an obscure place in Italy to hide from an assassin and to protect himself from getting killed. In Italy, Joel gets helped by Marco Lazerri, who is a native Italian and almost like a tour guide. With the plot taking place in another country than the US, John has created a unique novel in The Broker. As the book progresses, Joel meets a lot of new people and gets to know the country of Italy like the back of his hand. He begins to show people around in the city and drops his fear of getting killed. I will not go any deeper into the book so that I can save the suspense for you to enjoy.If you enjoyed Grisham's THE FIRM, then you'll warm to this book also. Would also recommend the book MIDDLESEX and LIFE OF PI for something COMPLETELY different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better..., June 16 2007
By 
Ranjan Mukerjee (Windsor, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
Being an avid John Grisham fan, I picked up the very first copy of The Broker that I could get. Power, politics and espionage are key to the central theme of the storyline and John Grisham has interwoven them beautifully. He takes the reader to various locations and the way in which he describes them, you can tell that John Grisham himself had gone to those places and did not pick up random information from any travel book. The build-up of the story is fascinating and the character of Joel Backman, is very well thought-off and finely executed. In the end though, the book fails to deliver on what it had initially promised. After going through the last page, I was left with a sense of "unfinished business"... John Grisham leaves the story open for the reader's imagination to go on a tour... but, it seems that the ending was finished off in a hurry and rather than imagining, you are just left pondering over how the book ended so soon, on such a note. As the title of the review says, could have been so much better... but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Wet Firecracker..., Nov. 19 2006
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
The Broker by John Grisham - if the cover is to be believed - was once a New York times bestseller which boggles me completely since this was such a bad novel. But taking a step back I see how it is easy to mistake this book for an intense thriller. One: the piece in question is written by John Grisham a widely acclaimed writer. Two: the plot summary makes the book sound like the perfect spy thriller.

The main character Joel Backman has just been granted a last minute pardon from the president and the CIA whisks him off to Italy. Why? Because before he was arrested Backman was the most powerful lobbyist in Washington and during his career he compromised the world's most advanced satellite system. This led to his subsequent arrest; his jail time working as both punishment and protection. Protection from some angry people not only in the US but also in other countries. Now the CIA intends to keep Backman in Italy, leak his whereabouts to several foreign governments, and see who gets him, hopefully answering some of their own questions about the satellites.

Sound ominus and exciting? That's exactly what I thought when I first bought it. But boy was I wrong. The plotline has as much bang as a wet firecracker. It is also frequently illogical and un-realistic. Grisham, known for his lawyer stories, warns readers that espionage novels are not his speciality. The only problem is he tells us this in the afterword. If only he warned me in the introduction!!!

Two moderately good things come out of this mess. One is the main character. Even though he glosses over physical appearance, he makes Backman a very charismatic character. Witty and intelligent I began to like him despite his slimy background as a lobbyist. I also give Grisham props for his research of Bologna, Italy the main setting for the story. History, landmarks, streetnames, he knew it all. Besides Backman and Bologna though Grisham fails miserably to bring anything else to life.

My Verdict: Don't under any circumstances buy this book unless your a hardcore collector of Grisham books. Or maybe you want a narrative guide of Bologna, Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Europe as an old soccer field for spies, April 24 2006
By 
This review is from: The Broker (Audio CD)
The author is a lawyer by profession. So do not expect a mistake in that field. But this book does not have to do with a lot of legal arguments. We are in the field of lobbying and power. Who has real power in our modern democracies ? The President ? The CIA and FBI ? Congress ? The People ? Or the rich who can pay for and use organized professional pressure groups know as lobbies ? No direct answer in the book, though a lot of implied answering matter. But we deal with the study of what happens when such a lobbying firm gets in possession of military secrets that give them a tremendous and totally secret power and that make them a competitor to secret services and spying agencies around the world. There the answer is once again not clear at all and Grisham definitely projects the dominant opinions and fears of the Western world, or maybe only of the Western hemisphere or even maybe only of the Northern third of the Western hemisphere, onto his subject : the Israeli Mossad is definitely a band of professional killers but they are ''self''-defending the state of Israel and this seems enough to justify these killings for Grisham. The Russians are poor and uninterested in anything and willing to live alone in their corner with their antiquated living style. This view is obviously anterior to the announced decision that Russia will oppose, or not support, sanctions against Iran. They do have the power to veto all United Nations decisions, do they not ? The Americans are, in spite of all the war episodes between and among security agencies and spying chapels, the depositary of all possible peace and safety for the entire world. Europe is nothing but the playground of everyone else. And finally Red China is both ahead of everyone and yet far behind the first three pakistani hackers that come along out of high school. Red China is dangerous, totally inhuman and dictatorial, which means dangerous for the world they only aim at conquering and controlling. Pure post-cold-war phantasms. And yet the book is interesting at another level : the discovery of Italy and the long lesson of Italian. If you can't speak some decent Italian after reading this book, it is because you are linguistically hopeless. That makes the book entertaining though it is rather shallow and superficial. As Grisham himself says : « If something in this novel approaches accuracy, it's probably a mistake. » We will note that the sentence is absolutely meaningless, but it is true down to its very last letter and comma. We must suspend our disbelief a lot and just enjoy the adventure, even if it sounds very iffy at times.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Université Paris Dauphine, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Grisham at his best., Feb. 8 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
When Washington power broker Joel Backman gets a presidential pardon after serving six years of his twenty-year sentence in federal prison for compromising national security, he is given a new identity and sent to Italy. He undergoes an intensive language and culture training program to integrate him into Italian life and hide him from danger... at least that's what he's told. What he doesn't know is that he has been set up by the CIA as a target for assassination in order to determine which foreign agency he tried to sell secrets to.
Joel Backman might be a former lawyer, but this is no legal thriller. There are no courtroom scenes, crime investigations, or legal maneuvers. It borders more on an espionage thriller, although the cloak-and-dagger action is minimal. The book consists mostly of Backman's struggles to keep a low profile in a foreign country and outfox his nameless pursuers. There is some amusing humor at the start of the book as the completely inept president, in his last hours in office, is bullied by the CIA into pardoning Backman. But that rapidly falls by the wayside as Backman goes into hiding. I found that the best part of the book was its delightful travel narrative, with Backman playing tourist and absorbing the local color of Treviso, Bologna, and other Italian cities. I imagined myself sitting with Backman in the cafes, drinking espresso and dining on fantastic local cuisine, learning Italian, and wandering the arched portico-covered sidewalks while absorbing the scenic panoramas of Bologna.
Although the first half of the book was fairly suspenseful, the ending was very disappointing. It seems that Grisham grew weary of Backman's predicament and decided to tie up the loose ends far too tidily. He brought the story abruptly to an unrealistic and naive conclusion. This is not one of Grisham's best efforts, but if you enjoy travelogues and want to practice your Italian 101, you might consider that the book's redeeming quality. You might also check out Giorgio Kostantinos--The Quest, another great thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grisham should be emabarrassed, Dec 24 2005
By 
Anna Black (Ottawa, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broker (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm shocked at all the raving reviews! Leaves me to wonder whether readers have no discernment between one story and the next. I've read all of Grisham's books and enjoyed some more than others, but this one is really lazy and sloppy. On several occasions while reading the book, I stopped to think, sheesh, Grisham is using this book to write about Italy's buildings and restaurants. Come on! When you're pulled OUT of the story like that, it's not a good thing.
My second huge complaint is the characterization. Backman is a slimy, greedy lawyer, but six years in jail reforms him. Apparently it doesn't reform him to the point where he'll actually apologize to his son Neal. I was hoping right to the end of the book, but sadly, Backman's greatest concern, is to leave the country and look up his Italian woman. Pretty sad. Especially since despite having given his son nothing all these years, Neal still found it in himself to help him. Not a good thing when you don't like your main character.
It seemed to me Grisham decided he wanted to write a book about Italy and the story was secondary in his considerations.
I don't care about spending $12 on this book, but I need to go find me a GOOD book to get this one out of my system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical Grisham---what is?, June 27 2005
This review is from: The Broker: A Novel (Hardcover)
From his very first novel until his current work, John Grisham has evolved as a writer, having become more introspective and a keener judge of human character. I'm reminded at time of the writing style of Jackson McCrae, in his "Children's Corner" or possibly Elmore Leonard in his "Get Shorty." While the subject material of those books is different, something about them reminds me of Grisham---perhaps the deft handling of the material. THE BROKER is a cross-genre classic that melds the thriller with wonderful insights into the culture of modern Italy all the while analyzing the flawed but repentant soul of its hero, Joel Backman. Backman is spirited out of the country and relocated to Italy. Most of THE BROKER is set in Bologna, Italy, which may be the first time that a Grisham novel is set outside of his native South. The location gives Grisham an opportunity to share with his readers his love and knowledge of Italian history, architecture and cuisine. As most successful authors do, Grisham has researched his subject matter in great detail. By his own admission he gained 10 pounds while researching THE BROKER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The eclectic Grisham, March 24 2005
This review is from: The Broker: A Novel (Hardcover)
The excellent writing style and expertly paced plot in THE BROKER reminded me of some of Jackson McCrae's writings-----his CHILDREN'S CORNER comes to mind, as does the writing in some of Elmore Leonard's book. Once again Grisham proves he is the master of intrigue. Joel Backman is our character attorney for this new thriller. He had a foot in every door in Washington DC. He attempted to broker a deal for a satellite spy system that caused ripples everywhere, went sour and he got himself some jail time with the deal held in the balance. He spends six years in prison before the director of the CIA takes up the cause for a pardon and the President has Backman released. He is now a target of several agencies that want him dead and the weave of the plot that follows as he is hunted is the tastiest nugget of the book.
When Backman is released he is taken under protective custody to Bologna, Italy where Grisham takes some time to describe some of the surroundings and convey some of the different aspects of learning to live in a different culture. I thought it was similar to the direction he took in THE LAST JUROR where he went into detail about the aspects of a small Mississippi town and got some criticism for it but here as there, I don't think it detracts from the appealing pace of the book at all. The book is as usual for Grisham easy to follow and very fast to finish. A fantastic read, one of his better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broker
The Broker by John Grisham (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 22 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews