Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is a continuation of Confessions of a Shopaholic. Becky Bloomwood is a financial adviser on a morning talkshow in London with a great boyfriend and a great roomate. Things start to change thought when she finds out that her boyfriend is going to start a company in New York and that her flatmate is dating her (the flatmates) cousin. Becky moves...
Published on May 6 2004 by Courtney Rabideau

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brainless can be fun, but sometimes it goes a bit too far
I enjoy a light read as much as anyone. Something light, fun, enjoyable. While I like the humor and quippy lines, I find that character development suffers in favor of ridiculous behavior. Instead of exploring the characters, for example, this mostly-unbelievable character goes to a store and proceeds to buy a number of items she doesn't even want, just for...
Published on July 8 2004


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brainless can be fun, but sometimes it goes a bit too far, July 8 2004
By A Customer
I enjoy a light read as much as anyone. Something light, fun, enjoyable. While I like the humor and quippy lines, I find that character development suffers in favor of ridiculous behavior. Instead of exploring the characters, for example, this mostly-unbelievable character goes to a store and proceeds to buy a number of items she doesn't even want, just for increasingly unbelievable attempts at saving face in front of people she doesn't know.
It gets annoying, as though the character really is without a brain at all, and in general, has no admirable qualities. She lies to cover up her stupid shenanigans, even to her boyfriend. You start to wonder why a high-powered, driven guy is with such a nitwit.
And in the end, everything is resolved in fairy-tale fashion, improbably and unbelievably. If you're wanting something where you could daydream yourself as the heroine, forget it. It's too farcical for that. It's highjinks and mayhem worthy of the most tired and predictable sitcom.
If this book were a food, it would be a pixy stick--pure sugar, no nutrition, and not belonging in a regular diet.
I did give it two stars though, because in spite of the ridiculousness of the plot and characters, the author does manage to write in a conversational tone that draws the reader. It's just a shame that she can't inject a little believability or substance into her stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the first!, March 16 2002
By 
T. abdee "toodles" (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hate say how much this second novel let me down. The first "shopaholic", I truly enjoyed, perfect light hearted fun, and great cottage reading. Somewhat of a "shopaholic" myself, I found the first book to be hilariously enlightening. The sequel though, I found terribly predictable, boring, and the only thing that forced myself to finish it was the hope of a glimpse of fun to reveal itself, unfortunatley, I made it to end feeling it to be nothing more than a waste of my time. Wish I felt differently, I love an easy, fun read once in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, March 31 2003
By A Customer
Is there anything more tedious than tagging along on someone else's shopping spree? That's about as much fun as this book is.
The bimbo main character really got on my nerves. And for her "successful business man" boyfriend - he's straight out of some silly commercial.
If you want fun chick lit, read Marian Keyes, India Knight or Helen Fielding instead! They've got brains as well as funny traumas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kinsella Creates a Sequel as Good as the First!, June 21 2004
By A Customer
I read this book a day after I read the first Shopaholic book. It is just as good, maybe better, than the first. Since everything in the book was bought in dollars, not pounds, it was easier to really see how much money Becky was spending. (Although I don't think American money is play money!)
The only complaint I have about this book is how blind-sighted Luke was about his mother. Luke is an accomplished entrepenuer, yet he still can't see his mother as an "absolute cow." Even this didn't bother me so much.
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is definitely a great sequel to Confessions of a Shopaholic. It didn't ruin the first book, but enriched it. Many of the characters stayed the same, personality-wise, which is good, because sometimes in sequels the main characters are completely different then they are in the beginning, and not in a good way either.
This is definitely a great book and a worthwhile read. A chick-flick, so I wouldn't recommend it for guys, but any girl who loves to shop and knows what its like to want something and not need it will definitely relate to this book. Although Becky can be a bit annoying sometimes (she is incredibly naive about money), and you want to enter the book and tell her what's happening, Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is hilarious, uplifting, and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, May 6 2004
By 
Courtney Rabideau (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is a continuation of Confessions of a Shopaholic. Becky Bloomwood is a financial adviser on a morning talkshow in London with a great boyfriend and a great roomate. Things start to change thought when she finds out that her boyfriend is going to start a company in New York and that her flatmate is dating her (the flatmates) cousin. Becky moves with her boyfriend to New York and absolutly loves the city, except for one thing his bitchy mother. She does not let that get in the way of her shopping thought and spends most of the day going to places like Bloomingdales, Saks, and places like that. It all catches up with her though when a tabloid in London has a report about hopw London's top financial consultant owes many pounds to London shops and still spends her time shopping till she drops in all of New York's finest stores. This leads to her getting fired from her job at the morning show as well as her relationship with Luke. She goes back to London and just as she thinks that she hit it ruff she finds out about her flatmate and the flatmates cousin. The flatmate though has a plan. Sell her stuff, and pay off her cards. Becky does this and the plan works, she gets out of debt and she and Luke get back together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Chick Lit, Feb. 26 2004
By 
Kaikane "Shoujo Addict" (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
The shopaholic series was my early introduction to Chick Lit read. It's entertaining, light and funny! If you have the shopaholic gene like me, you could deffinitely relate to Becky's habbit for retail theraphy. It's amusing to read how she tries to justify her purchases as investments, and her struggle to be frugal. It is as if like there is an angel and a devil on each side of her shoulder who tells her different things when she goes out shopping.
The setting of this book is in New York, Becky and Luke's relationship have grown more serious since the first book. Becky feels like she is on top of the world, she has new job with better pay to finance her shopping habbit, a boyfriend who loves her AND he wants her to go to New York with him!!
In New York, Becky faces new shopping temptations. She constantly juggles with her decision from the Prada sample sale, Vera Wang gowns, Sephora to Gugenheim museum. It's New York for goodness sakes! Becky is like a kid in Disneyland.
Being in New York brings new challenges to Becky and Luke's relationship. Can she and Luke survive in New York? Luke is constantly working trying to win his mother's heart. Becky meets Luke's mother and tries to gain her approval. And then there's that shopping addiction....then the credit card with only a certain limit. Can Becky triumph again?
This book is a must read for fellow shopaholics! you will laugh out loud, emphatize with Becky and be delighted with her purchases, and cheer for her as her character matures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great and funny sequal!, Jan. 17 2004
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the second book in the fabulous Shopaholic Series. In this story Becky seems to have it all. She and Luke are together she has a high profile TV career where she is helping people out with financial advice. The girl has it all right? Wait she is now going to Manhattan, one of the shopping Mecca's of the world, with Luke.
Can her finances hold up, how will she and Luke do? Why does Luke really want to go to New York and what is his mother really like? All these and more questions (like what is an allover body wax really mean) in this book.
This one not only made me laugh but honestly it made my really cry near the end. Becky's finances finally fall apart. You will get to see what she can to right the situation and who her friends really are as well as who she can count on.
Will she also finally find the job that is the best for her?
Kinsells makes all of the characters come to life and Emily Gray (audio version) is the perfect reader to portray the emotion of parts of the book.. I love how there are always a few local "characters" thrown into the mix. I also continue to love the letters to and from the financial institutions that Becky deals with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shopaholic Takes Manhatten!, Jan. 9 2004
By 
Kala (Ft Lauderdale, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Becky Bloomwood, heroine of the novel "Confessions of a Shopaholic," is back! She paid off her bills, got a killer job as a financial advisor on her favorite morning TV show and has a wonderful boyfriend, Luke! When he tells her he is contemplating moving to New York, she is a little unsure. They decide to take a two week trip there to check it out and once Becky arrives, she is in love with the city!
She finds Bloomindales and Barneys and sample sales and Vera Wang, she thinks she's died and gone to heaven! She starts spending money like crazy .. and ends up getting herself in even bigger trouble than she did last time back in London.
I absolutely loved this novel. I read it the same night I read Confessions of a Shopaholic and I thought they were both hilarious. Becky is a very likeable character with thought processes we can ALL relate to! The writing is fast paced and I managed to read this entire book in a couple of hours.
My only problem with the book is that I wish the author (Sophie Kinsella) had spent more time on the relationship between Luke and Becky and a tad bit less time on shopping mishaps. Even so, it was a fun novel that I thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend reading it! It's one of those books that's so fun and fast, its hard to put down once you start reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shopaholics...BEWARE!, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
Shopaholic takes Manhattan
Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is written by Sophie Kinsella. This is the second book in the series of Shopaholic books, which follows Confessions of a Shopaholic. The main character, Becky Bloomwood, is a financial expert on London's Morning Coffee. Becky doesn't even take her own financial advice. She is what the book calls her, a shopaholic. Her boyfriend, Luke, is all work no play, they are complete opposites. Luke wants to move his company to New York City and he wants Becky to move with him. They go for a two-week trip and Becky spends more in two weeks than she did in London. Becky goes back to London and loses everything; she moves out of her flat and sells everything at an auction. Luke's friend Michael offers her a job in Washington D.C. and she thinks that she will take it. Luke and Becky got into a fight and when Becky leaves to get on the plane Luke tries to stop her but she leaves anyway.
I enjoyed this book because it is realistic and far-fetched at the same time. A girl moves to NYC, loses all of her money and has to move back. Becky is a girl that thinks she has it all. She loses everything and learns how hard she has to work to get what she really wants. She tries to make it as a financial expert but realizes she'd rather do something that she likes. So Becky decides to do that, get a job that she enjoys and loves.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to shop. I also would recommend this book to anybody who just wants a good laugh in a book.
BY:
~Becky K.~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shopoaholic series, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Cari Ballejos "crabbycari" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed the entire "Shopaholic" series but I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 only because the books are easy to read and great way to just zone out and relax, they are not great literature. But they are rather fun to read and hard to put down because you are always wondering what the next crisis Becky will get herself into and how she will get herself out. You can relate to her if you have an ounce of the "shopaholic gene" in you, although, I wonder if there are people out there that are this crazy about shopping and if they get themselves this seriously in trouble. I consider myself a shopaholic but I have never gotten in the situations Becky has gotten into, not even close !
I have reccommended them and loaned the books to all my friends and we all agreed they are a great summer book to read or a way to get away from boredom and monotony of everyday life with a giggle. Do not expect a deep or serious novel with Sophie Kinsella's writing. She writes for the 20's and 30's woman who has a sense of humor.
I look forward to more books by Sophie Kinsella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella (Mass Market Paperback - March 2 2004)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews