Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Shoppers and Brides-To-Be
SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT is the third installment in Sophie Kinsella's SHOPAHOLIC series about Becky Bloomwood, following CONFESSIONS OF A SHOPAHOLIC and SHOPAHOLIC TAKES MANHATTAN. But SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT is my first exposure to Kinsella's bestselling books. For those of you who are also new to Shopaholic's world, here are the main characters of the story: a...
Published on April 5 2003 by Bookreporter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Total Dud
The main character of the book and her antics are so unbelievable, that even stretching the imagination that far is impossible. She lacks depth and brains. Also, the amount of typos and grammatical mistakes completely amazed me! Don't waste your time or money.
Published on Jan. 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Shoppers and Brides-To-Be, April 5 2003
By 
Bookreporter (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT is the third installment in Sophie Kinsella's SHOPAHOLIC series about Becky Bloomwood, following CONFESSIONS OF A SHOPAHOLIC and SHOPAHOLIC TAKES MANHATTAN. But SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT is my first exposure to Kinsella's bestselling books. For those of you who are also new to Shopaholic's world, here are the main characters of the story: a self-obsessed, often whiny woman whose credit card bills are usually multiple pages in length; an overbearing, solipsistic mother-in-law whose opinion is the only one that counts; and a momma's boy husband-to-be whose life revolves around the family's (read: mother's) charitable foundation. An unattractive bunch, right? Wrong. Their foibles and faults are incredibly humorous.
In the hands of a lesser writer, SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT could have been a disaster. But Kinsella's characters are over-the-top tongue-in-cheek and hilariously funny. Living in New York and working at the perfect job --- personal shopper for fashionable Barney's --- Becky has the good life. She buys expensive furniture, antiques and clothing; hides the bills from her doting and forgiving lover; and writes scads of letters (all included in the book for your enjoyment) to banks, creditors and the like trying to explain away her expenditures, while cleverly delaying payment at the same time. When her gorgeous, wealthy boyfriend (yes, the momma's boy) proposes marriage in one of the most romantic and unexpected manners I have ever read, witnessed or experienced, it can't get any better for Becky.
"OK. Now, I may be engaged, but I'm not going to get carried away. No Way. I know some girls go mad planning the biggest wedding in the universe and thinking about nothing else...but that's not going to be me." By the end of the next page, Becky is already planning to try on diamond-encrusted tiaras for the ceremony. Weddings are, after all, a shopper's license to go all out, spare no expense and spend, spend, spend.
A dilemma verging on narrative slapstick arises quickly. Becky's mom, who has been waiting for this day since Becky's birth, begins to plan an outdoor ceremony in their backyard in England, while the control freak mother-in-law offers to splurge for a posh stateside wedding in New York City's Plaza Hotel. What's a girl to do? Well, according to "The Realistic Bride," a resource Becky consults for help, "No matter how insurmountable the problem seems, there will always be a solution! So don't worry." And that advice would work just fine if the problem were something small, like a shortage on Jordan almonds for the bridal shower favors. But Becky has to attend two weddings, on the same day, in two different countries! Wait until you read the resolution!
SHOPAHOLIC TIES THE KNOT is hilarious, a must read for shoppers and brides-to-be.
--- Reviewed by Roberta O'Hara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars She's at it again, March 20 2003
By 
A. Douglas "hockey_princess79" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading the first two Shopaholic books and finding myself laughing outloud, I was very excited to see this book. You can't help loving it, especially if you have read the first two. If you have not read the first two you will be disappointed.It would not be as funny if you didn't know the backround of Becky, aka "the Shopaholic". This is a great book, but before you give it a chance read the first two. It is a better read that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Total Dud, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
The main character of the book and her antics are so unbelievable, that even stretching the imagination that far is impossible. She lacks depth and brains. Also, the amount of typos and grammatical mistakes completely amazed me! Don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Enjoy!, April 7 2003
By A Customer
I read and loved the first two books in the Shopaholic series and was anticipating the release of this third book. But I found it very hard to like and finish. Here's why:
1) While I used to find Becky endearing and sweet, I did not like her at all in this book. She is a pushover who doesn't really think about anything but shopping. She was just annoying. She could have easily gotten herself out of the "sticky situation" (see below) that is the focal point of the novel by doing the right thing. How very superficial.
2) There were no written reasons for us to like any of the supporting characters. Luke was a mama's boy and I found myself not even wanting Becky to marry him, Elinor was mean, and Becky's mom was trying to run the whole wedding for her.
3) There is no real plot, just Becky digging herself further and further into a hole in which she must decide between an amazing wedding at the plaza and a wedding at home. In typical Becky fashion- she continues to put off the decision.
4) The only reason I gave this book a star at all is because it is mildly entertaining and fun. But it is safe to say that I won't be reading any more possible sequels in the Shopaholic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge Disappointment, April 1 2003
By A Customer
After the success of the magnificant 'Bridget Jones's Diary', a mind-numbing amount of imitations followed suit... Unhappy but lovable Biritsh singleton, rich handsome guy, comic situations, and sweeter-than-sugar endings became a mantra for millions. Up until 'Shopaholic Ties the Knot', I thought Sophie Kinsella's was better than most. Becky Bloomwood is at best times, testy; her airheadedness can be endearing and riveting, other times it can be incredibly frustrating. Up until this (third) installment, Kinsella seemed to be able to balance this attribute healthily, but she has dropped all integrity and creativity in this one. She fails. This book is one of the worst reads I have ever had- the situations are so unrealistic, dull and simplistic and Becky so irratating I could barely keep from throwing it away. While some characters, such as Luke and Elinor, were a bit uninteresting and questionable before, they, as well as the rest of the supporting characters, become unbearably mundane and lame. However, Becky... I cannot believe how much she has changed. This is a character I used to like, identify with, has been cheapened to a mute idiot. I say, stay away from this stinker, ESPECIALLY true Shopaholic fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Becky Bloomwood has done it again, June 28 2006
By 
Shopaholic Ties the Knot is my favorite book out of the Shopaholic series. It's sweet and funny.

Becky gets herself into a very bad mess with her weddingS, but in the end, it's amazing how she got through. It's unbelievable, but that's what's great about Becky Bloomwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quirky read that makes you laugh, Aug. 21 2005
By 
P. Adair "Patti-atti" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I haven't been let down by Sophia Kinsella yet! As the third book in her shopaholic series, it both delighted and amused me - the only problem is that I can never put them down so I read them too fast for my appetite to really be satisfied!
This book narrates Becky's struggle through trying to please others as well as herself. It's a great read that I highly reccomment on one of those days when you need a pick-me-upper - or just a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!!!, June 4 2005
By A Customer
It was a coincident that I got engaged the same week I started this book, so I completely, totally related to this book. As in the other books, Becky gets herself in a crazy mess, as usual. The only thing I didn't like about this book was that Becky was miraculously saved and I thought that bit of the plot was a bit forced, only there to tie things up because there was no other way out. As for the good parts, firstly, I really enjoyed the fact that we get to know Luke a little better and that Becky has bonded with him in a way that no one has before. Also, in the end, Becky realized that her family was more important to her than having the perfect wedding, which is something many lose sight of during the wedding planning madness. Overall, this was another awesome book and I can't wait to read about her shopa-phobic sister!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Jan. 30 2005
Becky Bloomwood is a shopaholic, or in other words loves to shop. She is living in New York with her boyriend Luke and is the best personal shopper at Barneys. She loves her life. But then her best friend, Suze, gets engaged and Becky can't help but to think about marriage. She' just wondering whether or not Luke would ever pop the question when he does. Becky sets herself up for a romantic backyard wedding at her mother's house in Oxshott, England until she meets with the infamous Elinor Sherman, Luke's mother. Elinor is rich and obsessed with social status, so naturally she wants a big, all-expenses-paid New York wedding at the Plaza. But how is Becky supposed to tell her mother, who's already planned her whole wedding in England, that she wants to have it New York? So Becky doesn't. Then she ends up with two weddings on the same day, and she can't seem to choose between them. Will Becky be able to get out of this one, or will she have to return one of the weddings?
I fell in love with Becky's humour in this book. I was hooked from page one. It seemed like every time Becky had a problem, no matter the size, she always found a way to let it go too far and turned it into a huge, chaotic event. Her clumsy personality and goofy remarks made the book one of my favourites. The only thing I didin't like about this book was that the ending seemed unrealistic. Not only that, but to me it wasn't really that clear as to what happened. But, other than that, the book was perfect. A sassy, fun novel you can enjoy anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shopaholic Ties the Knot, Jan. 25 2005
What a great book! The author's humour kept me hooked throughout the book!
Becky Bloomwood is a shopaholic, or in other words loves to shop. She is living in New York with her boyriend Luke and is the best personal shopper at Barneys. She loves her life. But then her best friend, Suze, gets engaged and Becky can't help but to think about marriage. She' just thinking about whether or not Luke would be ever get married when he proposes. Becky sets herself up for a romantic backyard wedding at her mother's house in Oxshott, England until she meets with the infamous Elinor Sherman, Luke's mother. Elinor is rich and obsessed with social status, so naturally she wants a big, all-expenses-paid New York wedding at the Plaza. But how is Becky supposed to tell her mother, who's already planned her whole wedding in England, that she wants to have it New York? So Becky doesn't. Then she ends up with two weddings on the same day, and she can't seem to choose between them. Will Becky be able to get out of this one, or will she have to return one of the weddings?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shopaholic Ties the Knot
Shopaholic Ties the Knot by Sophie Kinsella (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 31 2004)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews