Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Still reading it
Even though I haven't finished reading it, it has my attention. I like it. After reading many Grisham books, there are no surprises but it holds my interest
Published 6 months ago by Francis harvey

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what you would expect..
As a die hard John Grisham fan, I have to say I'm a little disappointed with his latest book: The Appeal. Although the book begins with all the makings of a classic Grisham thriller, the book stumbles upon plot development, focusing too much on the development of the appeal and political processes, while largely ignoring key themes and character development that has been...
Published on Feb. 27 2008 by H. Tran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what you would expect.., Feb. 27 2008
By 
H. Tran (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Appeal (Hardcover)
As a die hard John Grisham fan, I have to say I'm a little disappointed with his latest book: The Appeal. Although the book begins with all the makings of a classic Grisham thriller, the book stumbles upon plot development, focusing too much on the development of the appeal and political processes, while largely ignoring key themes and character development that has been a consistent part of Grisham style. Regardless, this book is still a good read and does provide some entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disgusting Tale of Cooking the Books, Dirty Elections, and Unrepentant Greed, Feb. 26 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Appeal (Hardcover)
Unless you are dying to read about some of the most disgusting, greedy people who have ever walked into a novel, you can skip this book.

The book has several messages:

1. Don't let judges be elected; appoint them instead.
2. Conservative voters are easy to mislead into voting for candidates who will favor business over consumer interests.
3. Plaintiff attorneys are less slimy than rich business people because they occasionally try to help someone in trouble.
4. Politicians who need campaign funds are in the pocket of a handful of rich business people, whether the politicians realize it or not.

If that information doesn't make you feel good, consider that you'll also read about a lot of people dying and suffering from a fictional company polluting the water supply to increase its profits.

I thought that the book was well written, interesting, and full of good ideas for how to steal elections.

But I didn't need to read this book. I don't think you do either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much ado about nothing, March 23 2008
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Appeal (Hardcover)
I've just finished reading more than 250 pages of filler with nothing worth mentioning at the end of it all, except that the ending "majorly" sucked.

Essentially a sordid tale of big business and politics vs. big verdicts and class action lawsuits, it begins nicely, and gathers steam, then proceeds to continue blowing hot air at the reader until the unsatisfactory quickie ending.

While there's some food for thought regarding how the legal, political, religious and business arenas may all be connected, there's more garnish than meat in a story which could have been cut by about 100 pages of the filler, and sweetened with about 50 more pages of conclusion for dessert.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

1. Large company dumps chemicals in rural community
2. Water changes color
3. People get sick
4. Some die
5. Small law firm files lawsuit
6. Large verdict awarded
7. Big business takes over
8. Money talks
9. Once again, Grisham gets tired of his own rambling and wraps up story in indecent haste leaving most of his ends dangling
10. His ends aren't pretty

I'd like to sue for 50% of my money back, plus loss of productive time, legal costs and mental trauma, and also for punitive damages, but I guess I'd lose on appeal.

Rated: 2.5 stars for half of a good book

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy it, March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Appeal (Kindle Edition)
I hate to see a crook get his way. Very disappointed. Not as good as his other books. Hope the next one is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still reading it, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though I haven't finished reading it, it has my attention. I like it. After reading many Grisham books, there are no surprises but it holds my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plot held up in red tape, Feb. 3 2009
By 
Neil Gilbert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Appeal (Mass Market Paperback)
While reading The Appeal I was greatly anticipating earning the opportunity to savour the sweet taste of improbable victory that is always a main ingredient in any Grisham recipe. This book however is so rich with the mundane proceedings of common court room boredom, legal wrangling, and judicial campaigning that the most important ingredients are not enjoyable. The characters are distant and un-clever, the plot is linear and long, and twists are morose or missing. Please look elsewhere for your fill of exciting drama and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read with a message, Dec 7 2011
By 
David Huntley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Appeal (Hardcover)
A not too improbable story, and a warning as to what is going wrong in society. The people with the money have far too much control. It is a good read with a message. As a thriller it is not up to the standard Grisham set with 'The Firm'; none of his later books have though. I sat up late finishing it - which is a pretty good recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant portrayal of a disturbing world, Oct. 29 2010
This review is from: The Appeal (Mass Market Paperback)
Our world is now full of mass media, soundbites, and 24-hour news cycles. It's not hard for those with money to dominate an election, through legitimate and shady means. There is a lot of polarization which seems to be easily acted upon by those who wish to take advantage of it, and rational discourse and critical analysis seem to be at an all-time low in the search for ratings and profits.

"The Appeal" is set in a world like ours. Grisham sets forth a plausible situation, where those with money effectively manufacture a judge in their efforts to provide a desired result. He doesn't pull punches, though he does manage keep his criticism from being completely one-sided against those in big business. The book is dark, but highly engrossing.

For some real-life situations in this vein, check out The Family: The Secret Fundamentalism At The Heart Of American Power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a Grisham "thriller", Nov. 11 2009
By 
JM (Greely, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Appeal (Mass Market Paperback)
I am officially taking Grisham off my list of authors to read. He has not written a book (this one included) with anything resembling the depth of his 90's releases this decade (2000-2009). I agree with many of the 1-3 star reviewers, i.e., Grisham's most recent books lack research and substance and seem to have been written overnight.

Baldacci, Deaver, DeMille and Iles on the other hand will keep you on the edge of your seat and up well past your usual bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars didn't like the ending, March 19 2009
By 
Book Boss (Calgary, AB CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Appeal (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this was more like the original Grisham style, and hung on right to the end, expecting that the "innocent little guy" would win out at the end over Big Corporation - but no. Left me sad. The plot dragged in the middle, but I learned a lot about politics. Over all an enjoyable read, if you are not looking for a pretty ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Appeal
The Appeal by John Grisham (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 18 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews