Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars innocence under the gun
John grisham who is about to publish this fall an interesting work the racketeer,the same title as famed carole lombard's first film,in one of his early works deals with one of his favorite themes:innocence. All the trademarks are here the alleged criminal and how he is dealt with in the legal system,by lawyers,judges,the medical community and others in the legal...
Published 20 months ago by Anthony Marinelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Visceral Look at Small-Town Justice in an Imaginary South
A Time to Kill is not for those with weak stomachs. In his first novel, John Grisham holds nothing back in describing man's inhumanity to man. If you like reading about violence that would make those with weak stomachs miss a meal, this is your book.

The premise of the book is a thought-provoking one: How would a Southern small town treat a crime by an...
Published on July 29 2008 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CRAP -- UTTER CRAP., May 6 1999
By 
Raymond D. Houlihan "new dad" (Miami, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Okay. Where do I begin? There are so many things wrong with this book. Grisham spends a great deal of time in this courtroom drama dealing with the protaganist's theory of defense in a criminal case. In the end, the theory of defense turns out to be irrelevant -- so the bulk of the book is irrelevant. Grisham introduces characters who are ultimately inconsequential. I kept waiting for the main character's law student sidekick to do something to justify her inculsion. In the end, she comes and goes without doing anything of significance. She could have been cut out of the book without the least impact on the story. If you distilled this book to its essence, you'd end up with nothing. Skip this book; your time would be better spent reading the label on a tube of toothpaste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and manipulative, July 27 1998
By A Customer
This book was highly recommended to me, but it soon became a big disappointment. The plot revolves around a father, Carl Lee Hailey, a black man who avenges the rape of his daughter by two white men. Carl Lee obtains an illegal gun, breaks into the courthouse, and kills the men in broad daylight; in the process, he endangers the lives of others and wounds an officer. His trial is the primary subject of the book.
The problem is that Grisham's inexperience as a writer causes the story to be severely manipulated. I find it impossible to believe that an officer who lost his leg when caught in the crossfire of a revenge killing would not only forgive the assailant but would cheerlead for him in his trial. The appearance of the KKK and the racism seen elsewhere are a feeble attempt to elicit sympathy for the father and to justify his actions. While I could sympathize with the heartache and anger he'd feel, I cannot applaud his decision to take the law into his own hands. I'm extremely disappointed that a law school graduate (Grisham) thinks that, "if it had been my kid I'd have wanted to do the same" is an adequate defense for possessing an illegal firearm, breaking and entering, two counts of first-degree murder (when you spend the night in the courthouse to wait for them, it's premeditated), reckless endangerment, and a few other laws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BLAH!, July 16 1998
By A Customer
This book was great at the beginning..but then at about the middle of the book it came to a haulting stop. I suggest that you go out and rent the movie. I couldn't even finish it...no matter how hard I tried!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Kill, May 11 2004
By 
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
Is race a main factor in our courts today? It all depends who you ask. Some people would say race is irrelevant. This book shows how race determines what the outcome in a trial could be.
It all began in Clanton, a small town located in Mississippi. One day a little girl was walking to the store when all a sudden she was jumped by two white men. The men beat and raped her. The girl's name is Tonya and name of the men are Ray Cobb and Pete Willard. The men were about to be tried in court when the girl's father whose name is Carl Lee decided to take revenge. He blasted Cobb and Willard into tiny pieces. Carl Lee hired a lawyer named Jake to defend him in court. Then the town of Clanton became a national spotlight. Hundred of journalists came to Clanton to cover the trial of Carl Lee. Even the KKK returend to Clanton, who were banned from the town 25 years ago. The trial was a long one. To find out if Carl Lee was found guilty or not guilty you have to read the book.
From my perspective, the book is well written thats why it is good. The book is kind of long, but I thought it was worth it. The only problem with the book it lacks interest half way through. The book was so good I even encouraged my sister and brother to read it. I hope you can enjoy the book the same way I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Kill Should Be Viewed as an American Classic, May 10 2004
By 
Stacey Cochran (Raleigh, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
A reasonable case could be made that John Grisham's A Time to Kill is the single most important work of fiction written in the past twenty-five years. It is the stunningly powerful story of one man's moral retribution in the face of a society hell bent on his humiliation, subjugation, and ultimately, his elimination. Carl Lee is a black man in the white-dominated town of Clanton, Mississippi who murders his young daughter's rapists. It is a chilling act of revenge that any father can identify with, even if they don't have the courage to follow through as Carl Lee does.
Jake Brigance plays a small-town street lawyer in the fictional world of Clanton, who takes on Carl Lee as his client. Jake is white. Carl is black. And the town of Clanton operates as a microcosm for all the racial misunderstanding and hatred in the American South.
It is the most compelling American novel about race since Harper Lee's devastating To Kill a Mockingbird, and one can not help but feel some of the emotional resonance of that American classic as it informs an all-new American classic. That John Grisham has been relegated to "popular fiction" status undercuts the power and profound truth in much of his work. Nowhere is that more evident than in A Time To Kill, the purest distillation of racial misunderstanding in an American novel in the latter part of the 20th Century.
Stacey Cochran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing work............, April 29 2004
By A Customer
This may be the best book I have ever read, and that's saying a lot. Grisham is a master of the courtroom drama, and he proves that with this book. A Time to Kill had everything, suspence, action, and drama. FOR ANY GRISHAM FAN, A MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT NOVEL!!!, April 25 2004
By A Customer
The classic John Grisham novel, A Time to Kill, is a transfixing story of the violent effects of racism in the deep south. Carl Lee Hailey is a southern, black man, whose daughter was beaten and raped by two racist hillbillies. He extracts his revenge through another act of brutality as he guns down the two rapists in front of hundreds of witnesses. In an attempt to free himself from a fate of prison or death, attorney Jake Brigance brings forth his efforts to help the apparently doomed man.
This was a very graphic and powerful story. Grisham focuses on the racial inequality to show how a black man in that situation would be treated. The events throughout the entire story, show the anger of the man whose family was shattered by ignorance. I believe that the best feature is the intense detail. Although at times a bit gruesome, the writing can truly make you feel engrossed in the story along with the characters.
There are plot twists concealed in the midst of what would appear to be a straight-forward story line, which prove to make things a great deal more interesting than merely providing a predictable set of events to thumb through. The book is severely hard to put down due to the
If there are any flaws they are well disguised. The only detail to be considered a flaw is that while Carl Lee murdered two men in his state of rage. Anyone with a family member forced to endure such an inhumane experience, would probably feel this way as well. Though his feelings toward those men were comprehensible, did they bestow a right to take their lives? This is the primary focus of the story line; however, the fact that Carl Lee was black makes you wonder if he was white, would the murders have even been an issue. Overall, the story was good and the writing was amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham thriller, July 27 2004
By A Customer
In A TIME TO KILL, the most inhumane crimes have been committed in a southern Mississippi town. This town is full of racism, but the community is 85% African-American. The Klu Klux Klan is rising from the south once more, and they terrorize homes and other people's lives. A young black girls father takes justice into his own hands by killing the two repulsing men whom brutally raped his ten-year-old daughter. Sound formulaic? It's not. In any other author's hands it would be a disaster, but in the paws of the masterful Grisham it turns to pure gold. Also would recommend another great book I've just come across (though everyone else seems to have heard of it) which is called THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD. Extremely unusual, funny, graphic, and shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a time to kill, May 11 2004
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
A Time To Kill is set in Mississippi during racist times. The book a time to kill tells a story about a young black girl that gets rapped by two white guys. After the rape her the throw her out. Some people found her and took her home. Her father wanted to take justice into his own hands.
One part in the book tells how he got revenge on the two white guys. He shoots them in his face on the stairs and then he is charged for murders of to white men. The rest of the book is mostly about his courts and if he's guilty or not.
This book shows a lot prejudice actions and how the kkk was involved. I enjoyed reading this book and if you want to know more about racist times I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A dissatisfied reader!!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
I recently finished reading a book titled A Time to Kill, and I have to say it was one of the most boring books that I ever had the misfortune of reading. The beginning is good there are these to white guys that rape this little girl, then the dad gets all heroic and shoots them up with an M16. After that the book just crawls on, I felt lucky when something remotly exciting happened every hundred pages or so. Not only that, the ending was very disapointing....well, less disappointing more completly unrealistic. All in all I would rather close my hand in a car door than read this book again, and if it was possible i would have given this book zero stars but the minimum was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3e106d8)

This product

A Time to Kill: A Novel
A Time to Kill: A Novel by John Grisham (Paperback - June 23 2009)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews