march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars315
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2003
I WOULD DO EXACTLY WHAT THIS MAN DOES IF IT WAS MY FAMILY. A GREAT ENDING. A MUST READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 1998
A very good read. Worth buying instead of borrowing. Indefinately re readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 1997
This is yet another masterpiece by Grisham. Beg him to continue writtin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 1998
This is the BEST Grisham book ever. Anyone will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
I enjoyed this book. John Grisham is a master at writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2015
Excellent read. I would recommend it to anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
Excellent read couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Typical Grisham. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2004
Is race a main factor in our courts today? It all depends who you ask. Some people would say race is irrelevant. This book shows how race determines what the outcome in a trial could be.
It all began in Clanton, a small town located in Mississippi. One day a little girl was walking to the store when all a sudden she was jumped by two white men. The men beat and raped her. The girl's name is Tonya and name of the men are Ray Cobb and Pete Willard. The men were about to be tried in court when the girl's father whose name is Carl Lee decided to take revenge. He blasted Cobb and Willard into tiny pieces. Carl Lee hired a lawyer named Jake to defend him in court. Then the town of Clanton became a national spotlight. Hundred of journalists came to Clanton to cover the trial of Carl Lee. Even the KKK returend to Clanton, who were banned from the town 25 years ago. The trial was a long one. To find out if Carl Lee was found guilty or not guilty you have to read the book.
From my perspective, the book is well written thats why it is good. The book is kind of long, but I thought it was worth it. The only problem with the book it lacks interest half way through. The book was so good I even encouraged my sister and brother to read it. I hope you can enjoy the book the same way I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2004
A reasonable case could be made that John Grisham's A Time to Kill is the single most important work of fiction written in the past twenty-five years. It is the stunningly powerful story of one man's moral retribution in the face of a society hell bent on his humiliation, subjugation, and ultimately, his elimination. Carl Lee is a black man in the white-dominated town of Clanton, Mississippi who murders his young daughter's rapists. It is a chilling act of revenge that any father can identify with, even if they don't have the courage to follow through as Carl Lee does.
Jake Brigance plays a small-town street lawyer in the fictional world of Clanton, who takes on Carl Lee as his client. Jake is white. Carl is black. And the town of Clanton operates as a microcosm for all the racial misunderstanding and hatred in the American South.
It is the most compelling American novel about race since Harper Lee's devastating To Kill a Mockingbird, and one can not help but feel some of the emotional resonance of that American classic as it informs an all-new American classic. That John Grisham has been relegated to "popular fiction" status undercuts the power and profound truth in much of his work. Nowhere is that more evident than in A Time To Kill, the purest distillation of racial misunderstanding in an American novel in the latter part of the 20th Century.
Stacey Cochran
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items