Customer Reviews


305 Reviews
5 star:
 (222)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
This is not just a book, it is a spectacle to behold. I was literally biting my nails as this book reached its climax, as Clanton, Mississppi, a small unsuspecting southern town becomes the home of the biggest trial in the nation. The racial tension is this book is palpable, and it is the driving force behind what makes this story so compelling. This small town becomes...
Published on May 25 2004 by Chad Rickman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A compelling story, and a good movie too
Good book. Plausible storyline and characters you really get involved with (I particularly liked Judge Noose, although Ellen's main function seems to be to provide the glamour), and if the pace seems to flag a bit at times, then see in the author's reportage style the languorous effect of Southern dog days. Through the main theme of the book - the revenge killing of two...
Published on March 2 1999


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham's Masterpiece, March 16 1998
By A Customer
This is the BEST Grisham book ever. Anyone will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 28 2014
Excellent read couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Kill, May 11 2004
By 
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
Is race a main factor in our courts today? It all depends who you ask. Some people would say race is irrelevant. This book shows how race determines what the outcome in a trial could be.
It all began in Clanton, a small town located in Mississippi. One day a little girl was walking to the store when all a sudden she was jumped by two white men. The men beat and raped her. The girl's name is Tonya and name of the men are Ray Cobb and Pete Willard. The men were about to be tried in court when the girl's father whose name is Carl Lee decided to take revenge. He blasted Cobb and Willard into tiny pieces. Carl Lee hired a lawyer named Jake to defend him in court. Then the town of Clanton became a national spotlight. Hundred of journalists came to Clanton to cover the trial of Carl Lee. Even the KKK returend to Clanton, who were banned from the town 25 years ago. The trial was a long one. To find out if Carl Lee was found guilty or not guilty you have to read the book.
From my perspective, the book is well written thats why it is good. The book is kind of long, but I thought it was worth it. The only problem with the book it lacks interest half way through. The book was so good I even encouraged my sister and brother to read it. I hope you can enjoy the book the same way I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Kill Should Be Viewed as an American Classic, May 10 2004
By 
Stacey Cochran (Raleigh, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
A reasonable case could be made that John Grisham's A Time to Kill is the single most important work of fiction written in the past twenty-five years. It is the stunningly powerful story of one man's moral retribution in the face of a society hell bent on his humiliation, subjugation, and ultimately, his elimination. Carl Lee is a black man in the white-dominated town of Clanton, Mississippi who murders his young daughter's rapists. It is a chilling act of revenge that any father can identify with, even if they don't have the courage to follow through as Carl Lee does.
Jake Brigance plays a small-town street lawyer in the fictional world of Clanton, who takes on Carl Lee as his client. Jake is white. Carl is black. And the town of Clanton operates as a microcosm for all the racial misunderstanding and hatred in the American South.
It is the most compelling American novel about race since Harper Lee's devastating To Kill a Mockingbird, and one can not help but feel some of the emotional resonance of that American classic as it informs an all-new American classic. That John Grisham has been relegated to "popular fiction" status undercuts the power and profound truth in much of his work. Nowhere is that more evident than in A Time To Kill, the purest distillation of racial misunderstanding in an American novel in the latter part of the 20th Century.
Stacey Cochran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT NOVEL!!!, April 25 2004
By A Customer
The classic John Grisham novel, A Time to Kill, is a transfixing story of the violent effects of racism in the deep south. Carl Lee Hailey is a southern, black man, whose daughter was beaten and raped by two racist hillbillies. He extracts his revenge through another act of brutality as he guns down the two rapists in front of hundreds of witnesses. In an attempt to free himself from a fate of prison or death, attorney Jake Brigance brings forth his efforts to help the apparently doomed man.
This was a very graphic and powerful story. Grisham focuses on the racial inequality to show how a black man in that situation would be treated. The events throughout the entire story, show the anger of the man whose family was shattered by ignorance. I believe that the best feature is the intense detail. Although at times a bit gruesome, the writing can truly make you feel engrossed in the story along with the characters.
There are plot twists concealed in the midst of what would appear to be a straight-forward story line, which prove to make things a great deal more interesting than merely providing a predictable set of events to thumb through. The book is severely hard to put down due to the
If there are any flaws they are well disguised. The only detail to be considered a flaw is that while Carl Lee murdered two men in his state of rage. Anyone with a family member forced to endure such an inhumane experience, would probably feel this way as well. Though his feelings toward those men were comprehensible, did they bestow a right to take their lives? This is the primary focus of the story line; however, the fact that Carl Lee was black makes you wonder if he was white, would the murders have even been an issue. Overall, the story was good and the writing was amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and manipulative, July 27 1998
By A Customer
This book was highly recommended to me, but it soon became a big disappointment. The plot revolves around a father, Carl Lee Hailey, a black man who avenges the rape of his daughter by two white men. Carl Lee obtains an illegal gun, breaks into the courthouse, and kills the men in broad daylight; in the process, he endangers the lives of others and wounds an officer. His trial is the primary subject of the book.
The problem is that Grisham's inexperience as a writer causes the story to be severely manipulated. I find it impossible to believe that an officer who lost his leg when caught in the crossfire of a revenge killing would not only forgive the assailant but would cheerlead for him in his trial. The appearance of the KKK and the racism seen elsewhere are a feeble attempt to elicit sympathy for the father and to justify his actions. While I could sympathize with the heartache and anger he'd feel, I cannot applaud his decision to take the law into his own hands. I'm extremely disappointed that a law school graduate (Grisham) thinks that, "if it had been my kid I'd have wanted to do the same" is an adequate defense for possessing an illegal firearm, breaking and entering, two counts of first-degree murder (when you spend the night in the courthouse to wait for them, it's premeditated), reckless endangerment, and a few other laws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not only bad, but dangerous, Aug. 16 2000
By 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Time to Kill (Hardcover)
"A Time to Kill" is not only poorly written, like most of Grisham's stuff, but it is sick and entertains dangerous notions as well. The action hinges on the a father taking revenge after his preteen daughter is raped. This is a disgusting enough theme, but then the reader is made to believe that such vigilantism is not only justified but perfectly acceptable! At the end of the book, a court ruling is made based on the threat of mob violence. If that isn't enough to chill your blood, all of this is in service of a weak story with cliche characters and an overall lack of imagination that is startling. The reviewer below says reading this book is better than watching television. Much as I love books, I respectfully disagree. Most television shows don't insult the intelligence nearly as badly as this does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CRAP -- UTTER CRAP., May 6 1999
By 
Raymond D. Houlihan "new dad" (Miami, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Okay. Where do I begin? There are so many things wrong with this book. Grisham spends a great deal of time in this courtroom drama dealing with the protaganist's theory of defense in a criminal case. In the end, the theory of defense turns out to be irrelevant -- so the bulk of the book is irrelevant. Grisham introduces characters who are ultimately inconsequential. I kept waiting for the main character's law student sidekick to do something to justify her inculsion. In the end, she comes and goes without doing anything of significance. She could have been cut out of the book without the least impact on the story. If you distilled this book to its essence, you'd end up with nothing. Skip this book; your time would be better spent reading the label on a tube of toothpaste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIS ABSOLUTE BEST BOOK, March 18 1997
By A Customer
need i say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing work............, April 29 2004
By A Customer
This may be the best book I have ever read, and that's saying a lot. Grisham is a master of the courtroom drama, and he proves that with this book. A Time to Kill had everything, suspence, action, and drama. FOR ANY GRISHAM FAN, A MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Time to Kill: A Novel
A Time to Kill: A Novel by John Grisham (Paperback - June 23 2009)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews