Customer Reviews


983 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (209)
3 star:
 (180)
2 star:
 (166)
1 star:
 (190)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent beach book
The book has a decent pace and hits the ground running. That being said, reading this book today in 2012 opens the book up to the charge of a cliched plot.
Published 19 months ago by Joel Wiens

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I understand where the negative comments are coming from but
...I still liked reading this one. It's one of Grisham's lesser works and a bit too preachy but if you're not looking for anything special it WILL keep your interest. A good, rather mediocre read that's entertaining and not like Grisham's other works, which says something...
Published on July 7 2004 by John


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Decent beach book, Dec 24 2012
By 
Joel Wiens (Calgary, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Street Lawyer: A Novel (Paperback)
The book has a decent pace and hits the ground running. That being said, reading this book today in 2012 opens the book up to the charge of a cliched plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham's most deviant story till date, Sept. 16 2003
This review is from: The Street Lawyer (Hardcover)
Most people disappointed with this book complain that it isn't the usual Grisham style. Regardless of whether Grisham is making a political statement about homeless people or not, this book is a GOOD read.
Pro bono work is another aspect of lawyers that Grisham tries to highlight in this book here similar to what he has done with other material like mass torts, mega law firms, racial crimes, underaged witnesses etc. Though this book covers a less glamorous side of the profession (which he openly suggests in the book) which might not make it a fast paces thriller, it is no lesser than any of his other works.
This is the most honest and poignant of his works till date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why.., Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
I don't know why so many people are rating this book so low. I personally loved it and think it deserves MORE then 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I understand where the negative comments are coming from but, July 7 2004
...I still liked reading this one. It's one of Grisham's lesser works and a bit too preachy but if you're not looking for anything special it WILL keep your interest. A good, rather mediocre read that's entertaining and not like Grisham's other works, which says something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I like John Grisham's books but this was really bad, April 28 2004
By 
"lazers51" (Federal Way, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Okay, its been a while but all i know was that the begining wasn't so bad. He and some of his co-workers are kept hostage by some homeless guy and they're all scared about what this guy is about to do with that gun. Then when the Homeless person comes to open the door for the food, the police blows his brains out. Now that part was really exciting so I kept on reading hoping like that would show up again. But it didn't. The rest of the story is how he does pro bono work and goes after his old company and in the end wins by having his old law firm due pro bono work. All in all, a pretty dumb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery complete, Dec 22 2011
This review is from: The Street Lawyer: A Novel (Paperback)
Both books now received. Thank you for replacing the missing order and efficient service. I won't hesitate to reorder with you and recommend your service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, Nothing special, June 21 2004
This was my first grisham and it did not work for me. The Street Lawyer is about a young lawyer, who comes close to death when a homeless man holds him hostage, and his sudden changes of lifestyle and thinking. He quits his current job as a hot-shot lawyer after is encounter and becomes extremely into helping the poor. When he finds out about some wrong-doing at his old law firm, he steals a file that tells all. He thinks he got away with it until he gets into a bad car crash and the file is found by the wrong people. The main character is Michael Brock, who begins the story a lawyer in an unhappy marriage. After his encounter with the crazed homeless man, he realizes that homelessness is a problem in Washington DC, where he lives. He joins a small firm that helps only the poor. He and his wife later separate and he moves into an apartment where he sleeps on the floor in an attempt to relate to his customers. Obviously, the book's title is The Street Lawyer because that is what he becomes. I didn't like this book because it was over-the-top dramatic and preachy. I have never read a book by John Grisham, and I guess I was expecting much more. The ending of the book is the worst part; it simply cuts off on the part that is remotely interesting. Before I read this book, I hadn't thought of poverty being in the streets as much as it probably is in the US, and this is the only thing I've learned from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, Nothing special, June 21 2004
The Street Lawyer is about a young lawyer, who comes close to death when a homeless man holds him hostage, and his sudden changes of lifestyle and thinking. He quits his current job as a hot-shot lawyer after is encounter and becomes extremely into helping the poor. When he finds out about some wrong-doing at his old law firm, he steals a file that tells all. He thinks he got away with it until he gets into a bad car crash and the file is found by the wrong people. The main character is Michael Brock, who begins the story a lawyer in an unhappy marriage. After his encounter with the crazed homeless man, he realizes that homelessness is a problem in Washington DC, where he lives. He joins a small firm that helps only the poor. He and his wife later separate and he moves into an apartment where he sleeps on the floor in an attempt to relate to his customers. Obviously, the book's title is The Street Lawyer because that is what he becomes. I didn't like this book because it was over-the-top dramatic and preachy. I have never read a book by John Grisham, and I guess I was expecting much more. The ending of the book is the worst part; it simply cuts off on the part that is remotely interesting. Before I read this book, I hadn't thought of poverty being in the streets as much as it probably is in the US, and this is the only thing I've learned from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never really gets started, June 8 2004
By 
Tom "tj093" (Oswego, IL USA) - See all my reviews
The opening scene, with 9 lawyers being taken hostage by a homeless man, starts out pretty intense. But, like the whole book, this scene looses it's luster after a few pages. The book just loses its intensity and becomes more of a waiting game. Sure, you keep reading to find out what happens, but you never really buzz through the pages waiting to see what's next. There just wasn't enough going on to really grab me. The entire story could be told in less than 5 minutes and you wouldn't really miss much.
In addition, there wasn't much character development (which may be why I felt like things never really got started). This can be a good thing in some cases, as too many fiction writers find it necessary to tell me how his character got beat up by a bully at age 9. But in this case it lacks too much. You never really know much about Michael Brock's failing marriage except that it's failing. We know nothing about his wife and very little about Mordecai Green, his new partner. As a result, the few storylines that are present come off forced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good lesson, slow story, April 14 2004
By 
Mary Currier (Rowley, MA USA) - See all my reviews
The Street Lawyer is a novel concentrated on the crude and oblivious outlook the "filthy rich" have on the "lower"(poor) people. But on the other side of the story it tries to show that any person, either the rich or poor, CAN change their outlook on the opposite. John Grisham did a good job at showing this theme in the story.
Michael Brock is the main character. He is a top end lawyer, who could have the chance of becoming a partner soon(highest paid type of lawyer). But one day at work his whole life got turned upside down. It started out like a normal day for him. He got on the same elevator as always and pushed his floor number. But someone that he thought didnt belong on that same elavator was. That person was a bumm from the street. He finally reached his floor(after dealing with the stench of the man). And the man then pulled out a weapon and held him and 8 of his fellow colleagues hostage. The man before he get shot by the S.W.A.T team, did get a message through to Michael. He made him realize that he is living life for all the wrong reasons.
Michael then realized he should put more of his time into the poor. So he starts going to shelters and helping a public lawyer help people survive in the blistering cold. While spending this time spent at the shelters, Michael realizes this is a good and rewarding (in a moral way)of living life. So he quits his job at the big firm and becomes an public lawyer.
I to be honest did not like this book. I picked it up and got hooked onto the hostage chapters. But after that it slowed down way too much. I thought the lessons he was trying to get out in the story were good but I think he just stalled and made the book way longer than it should have been. So if your a Grisham fan you should read this, But im warning you its not his best, and I find it at the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Street Lawyer: A Novel
The Street Lawyer: A Novel by John Grisham (Paperback - Nov. 23 2010)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews