march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry Furniture

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars988
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2015
Loved it. As usual John Grisham writes brillantly with a wonderfully thought out plot, characters that give you hope and you wish were standing infront of you and an ending that has you satisified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
It's not Grisham's best work, in fact, where writing style is concerned, probably one of the worst - simplistic, lacking in finesse, a lot of "telling" and not much "showing".

But - it's still a great read, and it speaks of social justice, poverty, etc without the idealism common to people who decide to write about this sort of thing. There's very little black and white here - but lots of shades of grey, through which Grsham navigates masterfully. The work may lack in finesse but the message and its delivery more than makes up for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
a great story...I'm new to reading...previously a TV person...not anymore.
I am definitely a big John Grisham fan...
Street Lawyer was very well written and thought out...Mr.Grisham works with a great crew.
Bravo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Another keeper. I could read Grishams books continuously..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
So far so good !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
The book has a decent pace and hits the ground running. That being said, reading this book today in 2012 opens the book up to the charge of a cliched plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2011
Both books now received. Thank you for replacing the missing order and efficient service. I won't hesitate to reorder with you and recommend your service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2008
Just read The Street Lawyer, The Partner and the Broker. I guess JG writes books that can be made into movies - and they are mostly good movies - and then he writes these other ones. These three stories have interesting characters and interesting issues but the stories are almost entirely undramatic. Sometimes they read like chronicles where main characters get together and describe action which has already happened. There is almost none of the immediacy or visceral thrill in these novels. You might say, fine, JG is writing above the merely crass commercial level of a thriller - he is going "non-linear".

Well, I don't see that as the best way to display his strengths. With The Partner, for instance, I can imagine how straightening the timeline and telling the story as a straight-ahead thriller would make for a terrific novel and would solve the central problem: a main character who is downright annoying in his 'holding all the story cards' thru the novel. I became frustrated and bored in each of these novels with main characters who while aware of their dark, dramatic dilemmas, hardly ever seemed to be really living them.

JG is not an interior novelist. His best work features all the elements present in the these three novels, and make dramatic urgent use of them. At least, that's my guess, not having read the novels upon which so many successful films have been based.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
...I still liked reading this one. It's one of Grisham's lesser works and a bit too preachy but if you're not looking for anything special it WILL keep your interest. A good, rather mediocre read that's entertaining and not like Grisham's other works, which says something...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2004
The Street Lawyer is about a young lawyer, who comes close to death when a homeless man holds him hostage, and his sudden changes of lifestyle and thinking. He quits his current job as a hot-shot lawyer after is encounter and becomes extremely into helping the poor. When he finds out about some wrong-doing at his old law firm, he steals a file that tells all. He thinks he got away with it until he gets into a bad car crash and the file is found by the wrong people. The main character is Michael Brock, who begins the story a lawyer in an unhappy marriage. After his encounter with the crazed homeless man, he realizes that homelessness is a problem in Washington DC, where he lives. He joins a small firm that helps only the poor. He and his wife later separate and he moves into an apartment where he sleeps on the floor in an attempt to relate to his customers. Obviously, the book's title is The Street Lawyer because that is what he becomes. I didn't like this book because it was over-the-top dramatic and preachy. I have never read a book by John Grisham, and I guess I was expecting much more. The ending of the book is the worst part; it simply cuts off on the part that is remotely interesting. Before I read this book, I hadn't thought of poverty being in the streets as much as it probably is in the US, and this is the only thing I've learned from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items