Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down a Dark Hall
Kit Gordy does not want to go to Blackwood boardinng school for girls. But she has no choice because she wants her mom to have a good time on her honeymoon with her new stepdad in Europe. She notices that there is something wrong from the first time she saw Blackwood. She starts having strange dreams as do the other three girls at the school. Kit knows the danger is real,...
Published on Oct. 2 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling
Lois Duncan does it again!! One of her best! This is a spine chilling story about a girl named Kit who gets sent to a boarding school by the name of Blackwood. The school seems to be filled with mystery's and suspicious teachers. There are only 4 girls attending this school at this time but very slowly one by one, strange things occur, like Kit not recieving any mail that...
Published on Jan. 13 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down a Dark Hall, Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Kit Gordy does not want to go to Blackwood boardinng school for girls. But she has no choice because she wants her mom to have a good time on her honeymoon with her new stepdad in Europe. She notices that there is something wrong from the first time she saw Blackwood. She starts having strange dreams as do the other three girls at the school. Kit knows the danger is real, but everyone tells her it's just in her dreams. Or is it? I would recommend this book to people who like mystery stories.Down a Dark Hall is a very exciting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery, May 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Dear Amazon.com
Down a Dark Hall is a great mystery full of Suspense. Kit is a smart and curious character with a lot of pride. She will do anything to keep herself from becoming a Receiver. I loved the way Lois Duncan described Blackwood Academy, it really did seem to give off an evil feel. I loved this book from the time I read the back of the book to the last sentence of the story. It was great and I highly recommend it for teen girls.
From
Jenna, 7th grader in Miss V's Class at Central Middle School
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, March 1 2004
By 
Amy M. Briles "ghostwriter_5" (Largo, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Have been a Lois Duncan fan all my life. This book in particular is one I've enjoyed since I was a teenager. Lois has a unique way of slowly pulling a reader into the world she has created. Like a fish after bait a reader will find themselves quickly hooked and unable to put the book down. After all these years, I still get chills reading this book (as I do most of her young adult suspense novels!).
You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, Jan. 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Lois Duncan does it again!! One of her best! This is a spine chilling story about a girl named Kit who gets sent to a boarding school by the name of Blackwood. The school seems to be filled with mystery's and suspicious teachers. There are only 4 girls attending this school at this time but very slowly one by one, strange things occur, like Kit not recieving any mail that shes suppose to get and the girls get wierder and wierder as the days pass. After a while Kit starts expieriencing wierd dreams and very chilling flashbacks of her father who passed. It is now up to Kit to find out the secret behind The Blackwood school for girls and uncover what these 4 girls are really here for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird, Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
A Review by Jacque
Kit Gordy is a 15year old who is going to an all girl's boarding school in Blackwood. The first minute she gets there she gets this strange feeling. There were only three other girls in the whole school. Their names were Lynda, Sandy, and Ruth. They all had special talents, but only because of ghosts! The ghosts are the ones who have the talent and they're making the four girls do their unfinished business. Will the girls get out in time or will the ghosts take over their minds?
One of the things I really liked was the suspense and mystery that was in this book. For instance, Kit saw someone in the mirror behind her and nobody else saw it. Or when Lynda started to paint significant pictures and she had never taken classes or anything. Another thing I liked was when all of the creepy stuff happened. Especially when I was home alone and jumping at little soundless things. Like this one thing in the book where suddenly a paper in the fireplace lifted out of it. It was pretty weird. I also liked it because whenever I predicted, I was almost always right.
I recommend this book to readers that like to read suspense and mystery. Maybe also readers that like to predict, because sometimes you just have a need to predict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of Reading, Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
As Kit Gordy and her parents enter the gates of Blackwood boarding school she notices something strange. Around the mansion there's a feeling of evil that can't be ignored. The headmistress, Madame Duret, soothes Kit's worries slightly but still the feeling of danger and mystery hangs over the school like a dark cloud.
Things get even weirder when only four students attend the school despite the fact that many applied, including Kit's best friend, Tracy, who is of a higher brain level.
Then something really strange starts happening. The girls develop talents that they have never posessed in their lives. Lynda can produce works of art, Ruth can do extremely hard math problems, the girl who I can't remember her name is writing poetry that is worthy of Emily Dickinson, and Kit is playing extremely difficult piano pieces.
Then their talents begin to haunt them. No matter how hard Kit tries she can't fall asleep without having dreams of playing the piano. Lynda never comes out of her room because she can't stop painting and the other girls talents are plagueing them as well.
Down a Dark Hall was a thriller but not my favorite so far of Miss Duncan's works. It did give you a great chill while reading it but I felt that something was missing from it. The suspense in this story is amazing but the ending may leave some wondering (I know it did for me). All in all it's definetly read worthy but but quite a five star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Locked In Time, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Nadine (Warman, SK Can.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a very good book. I love how Lois Duncan can write horror and mystery without having to use blood and gore in every chapter. It's a nice change. My facourite part is, well, all of it. I enjoyed seeing Kit Gordy go through a new change, going to a new school, that seems just a little too odd to her, and i liked seeing her try to escape. I recommend this book for people who are tired of all the blood and gore books, but even if you still like those kind of books, still read it. Trust me, you'll enjoy it, because it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole mysterious, yet intruiging novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars down right awesome, Sept. 20 2003
By 
A. Gilliland "brain freeze" (ARNOLD, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is good. What i like about it is how she untells it all and it really makes you think about the "what ifs" in life and if this sisuation she created is fair. This book is really good and I think you should go read it......right now....or in some cases go reread it because you might notice something you didn't before!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I never expected it!, May 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Down a Dark Hall is one of the best books by Lois Duncan. I think it's tied with A Gift of magic. Down a Dark Hall is pretty scary until you know what's going on. It's about a teenage girl who goes to a school, supposedly to learn, but through the book they find out otherwise!
You have to read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I never expected it!, May 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Down a Dark Hall is one of the best books by Lois Duncan. I think it's tied with A Gift of magic. Down a Dark Hall is pretty scary until you know what's going on. It's about a teenage girl who goes to a school, suposidly to learn, but through the book they find out otherwise!
You have to read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down a Dark Hall
Down a Dark Hall by Lois Duncan (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 1990)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews