Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down a Dark Hall
Kit Gordy does not want to go to Blackwood boardinng school for girls. But she has no choice because she wants her mom to have a good time on her honeymoon with her new stepdad in Europe. She notices that there is something wrong from the first time she saw Blackwood. She starts having strange dreams as do the other three girls at the school. Kit knows the danger is real,...
Published on Oct. 2 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling
Lois Duncan does it again!! One of her best! This is a spine chilling story about a girl named Kit who gets sent to a boarding school by the name of Blackwood. The school seems to be filled with mystery's and suspicious teachers. There are only 4 girls attending this school at this time but very slowly one by one, strange things occur, like Kit not recieving any mail that...
Published on Jan. 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down a Dark Hall, Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Kit Gordy does not want to go to Blackwood boardinng school for girls. But she has no choice because she wants her mom to have a good time on her honeymoon with her new stepdad in Europe. She notices that there is something wrong from the first time she saw Blackwood. She starts having strange dreams as do the other three girls at the school. Kit knows the danger is real, but everyone tells her it's just in her dreams. Or is it? I would recommend this book to people who like mystery stories.Down a Dark Hall is a very exciting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird, Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
A Review by Jacque
Kit Gordy is a 15year old who is going to an all girl's boarding school in Blackwood. The first minute she gets there she gets this strange feeling. There were only three other girls in the whole school. Their names were Lynda, Sandy, and Ruth. They all had special talents, but only because of ghosts! The ghosts are the ones who have the talent and they're making the four girls do their unfinished business. Will the girls get out in time or will the ghosts take over their minds?
One of the things I really liked was the suspense and mystery that was in this book. For instance, Kit saw someone in the mirror behind her and nobody else saw it. Or when Lynda started to paint significant pictures and she had never taken classes or anything. Another thing I liked was when all of the creepy stuff happened. Especially when I was home alone and jumping at little soundless things. Like this one thing in the book where suddenly a paper in the fireplace lifted out of it. It was pretty weird. I also liked it because whenever I predicted, I was almost always right.
I recommend this book to readers that like to read suspense and mystery. Maybe also readers that like to predict, because sometimes you just have a need to predict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of Reading, Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
As Kit Gordy and her parents enter the gates of Blackwood boarding school she notices something strange. Around the mansion there's a feeling of evil that can't be ignored. The headmistress, Madame Duret, soothes Kit's worries slightly but still the feeling of danger and mystery hangs over the school like a dark cloud.
Things get even weirder when only four students attend the school despite the fact that many applied, including Kit's best friend, Tracy, who is of a higher brain level.
Then something really strange starts happening. The girls develop talents that they have never posessed in their lives. Lynda can produce works of art, Ruth can do extremely hard math problems, the girl who I can't remember her name is writing poetry that is worthy of Emily Dickinson, and Kit is playing extremely difficult piano pieces.
Then their talents begin to haunt them. No matter how hard Kit tries she can't fall asleep without having dreams of playing the piano. Lynda never comes out of her room because she can't stop painting and the other girls talents are plagueing them as well.
Down a Dark Hall was a thriller but not my favorite so far of Miss Duncan's works. It did give you a great chill while reading it but I felt that something was missing from it. The suspense in this story is amazing but the ending may leave some wondering (I know it did for me). All in all it's definetly read worthy but but quite a five star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lois Duncan Does It Again., Nov. 3 2002
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
I'll start off by saying I am a huge Lois Duncan fan. I read Summer of Fear and I Know What You Did Last Summer. I loved both of them. This novel blew me away; I could not put the book down at all. When Kit Gordy, a teenage girl, gets accepted to an exclusive, private, all-girls school little does she know what she's getting into. Her parents signed her up because they are honey-mooning all around Europe. Kit gets there and immediately suspects something is "evil". When Kit arrives she finds that she has only three roommates. This confuses her greatly. Throughout the course of the book Lois Duncan foreshadows dark happenings. Sooner or later it happens. All four students begin having abnormal dreams. Not dreams with little bunnies and rainbows, dreams of terror. I'll let you read the book to find out the mystery of Blackwood School For Girls. If you get the chance read this book and I promise you will like it. Lois Duncan is a literary genius in my point of view. She brings everything into a teen's perspective...except I'm not a girl, not that it matters. I enjoyed it greatly and I hope you do to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THis book is hard to put down!, April 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Have you ever read a book and you were on the edge of your seat the whole time? Down a Dark Hall, by Lois Duncan is a suspenseful and engrossing book.
A fourteen year old girl named Kit Gordy is sent away to an all girls' school called Blackwood. Madame Duret is the head of the school and the other teachers are her son Jules and Professor Farley. Kit and the other girls that applied had to take a "special test" that determined if they had "special powers" in order to be accepted. Kit has a bad feeling about the place from the minute she arrives. She then realizes there are only three other girls that will be attending the school Sandy, Ruth, and Linda. A few months after they arrive, famous dead people started taking over their bodies. The famous piano player Franz Schubert took over Kit, the poet Emily Bronte took over Linda, and the two other girls were taken over by more than one person. Do they escape the dangerous Blackwood school?
I never wanted to put this book down. It had a plot that was twisted and the details through out the book were incredible. It is the kind of book that makes a person scared to walk through his own house after he reads it. Lois Duncan made it feel like I was actually there, in the story. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read suspenseful books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, Aug. 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
"Down A Dark Hall" has something of a cliched start, like a typical horror story, but its storyline quickly snowballs into a tale of terror that is extremely well written, gripping and very compelling.
The story is about a fourteen year old girl named Kit whose mother and new stepfather are going to honeymoon in Europe while she goes to a boarding school in the States. Sound simple enough? She immediately gets a foreboding feeling the moment she sees the place, even though it seems to be perfect: very exclusive and high end, complete with a solitary room fit for a queen and a handsome young French teacher. However, as the story progresses, something's very wrong. There are only four girls at the school, the teachers are downright eerie and the students start to have frightening dreams. The danger and tension mounts into true horror as we realize what the real point of the exclusive school is.
"Down A Dark Hall" is certainly worth a read, it's superb for its genre, and gave me chills even on an 80 degree summer afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FREAKY, GOTHIC, SCARY and VERY, VERY, VERY fun to read!!!, April 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
In my sixth grade english class we had just finished reading "The Dollhouse Murders" and we were going to read this new book called "Down a Dark Hall. Before we started to read it we did some research on what the book's subject is "GOTHIC". Which if you read this book you will see all the elements through out it! It is one of the BEST books I have read!!!
The main character Kit is upset that she has to stay at Blackwood Boarding School for girls. She also doesn't like the fact her friend isn't going. At the end of Chapter One she knows something is wrong. Later on the book you find out that there are only 4 students. THere she meets, Sandy, Lynda and Ruth. They all try to find out what's going on. Later on physco teachers Madame Duret, and Profeser Farley they're possessed by Issac Newton, Thomas Cole, and Franz Shubert. Also Kit falls for a guy there, Jules Duret. Madame's son. At the end of the novel with a big fire! If your looking for gothic, read this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FREAKY, GOTHIC, SCARY and VERY, VERY, VERY fun to read!!!, April 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
In my sixth grade english class we had just finished reading "The Dollhouse Murders" and we were going to read this new book called "Down a Dark Hall. Before we started to read it we did some research on what the book's subject is "GOTHIC". Which if you read this book you will see all the elements through out it! It is one of the BEST books I have read!!!
The main character Kit is upset that she has to stay at Blackwood Boarding School for girls. She also doesn't like the fact her friend isn't going. At the end of Chapter One she knows something is wrong. Later on the book you find out that there are only 4 students. THere she meets, Sandy, Lynda and Ruth. They all try to find out what's going on. Later on physco teachers Madame Duret, and Profeser Farley they're possessed by Issac Newton, Thomas Cole, and Franz Shubert. Also Kit falls for a guy there, Jules Duret. Madame's son. At the end of the novel with a big fire! If your looking for gothic, read this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do you dare to walk down a dark hall?!, March 22 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
Down a Dark Hall was an EXCELLENT book!:) I thought that is was the best book I have ever read because I like cliff hangers. The story was about a girl named Kit Gordy who was fourteen years of age. Her mom was getting remarried and getting ready to go on her honeymoon. Kit was sent away to an all girls school called Blackwood. But not anyone one in particular could go to the school. Each girl would have to take a "special" test. Whoever had what Madame Duret wanted... went to the school. Well, when the time came, the four girls that passed the test made it. Their names were Kit, Sandy, Ruth, and Linda. Each one of the girls had a special power called ESP. While attending the school, a famous person each took over their bodies. Franz Schubert took over Kit and Emily Bronte took over Linda. The rest of the girls were took over by more then one person. Down a Dark Hall was an excellent book. I am not going to tell you anymore so you are just goping to have to read it for yourself!:)( I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, June 3 2000
This review is from: Down a Dark Hall (Mass Market Paperback)
The story of "Down a Dark Hall" whirled around in my head a deep fog. I was completely entranced by the novel and for the hour or so that it took me to read it, all I knew was the highly creepy world of Blackwood boarding school. As usual it started off slow, like all Lois Duncans book seem to do (I have read about six or more), accelerating more and more until you couldn't tear yourself away the story if your life depended on it! This book had a creepy element to it's tale, and it sends a chill straight down your spine. It's style in writing was very similar to many other Lois Duncan books, and like everything else I've read by her- the plot and writing entranced me every time! (Exactly where does she get these wonderful ideas?) I definitely recommend this book, I just finished reading it fifteen minutes ago and wanted to read other readers' responses to the book immediately! Other great reads by Duncan I recommend are "Killing Mr. Griffin" (phenemonal), "The Third Eye" (highly captivating!) and anything else you can get your hands on by her! She is truly an amazing writer, very suspenseful! She's fantastic at the genre she seems to have focused on in her writing career- teen suspense novels. One might glance at a book cover and brush it off as a silly novel, but the cover of these paperbacks honestly don't her stories justice. The amazing words are what count. Well if this hasn't convinced you to read it, I'm not sure what will! So, c'mon...why aren't you at the bookstore, library, or adding this to your "shopping cart" by right now? :) Get to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down a Dark Hall
Down a Dark Hall by Lois Duncan (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 1990)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews