Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes us ponder obscure circumstances.
Joan Lowery Nixon's plethora of awards were for youths but she didn't churn out fluff. Far beyond creating a mystery and worthwhile coming-of-age commentary: "The Other Side Of Dark", 1986, makes readers think. Uncomfortable stretches of imagination in obscure, seldom-trodden circumstances.... and yet based upon enough reality that we decide we ought to plan how to...
Published 2 months ago by Carolyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side of Dark
Thirteen year old Stacy McAdams wakes up in a room that she does not reconize, she is very confused and her leg is sore. She soon finds out that she has been in a coma for four years due to a gunshot to her leg. Her mother is dead, and the killer is still out there. Without having anytime to recover the killer is back in her life trying to stop her from identifing him by...
Published on Oct. 3 2003


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes us ponder obscure circumstances., May 22 2014
By 
Carolyn (Manitoba) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Joan Lowery Nixon's plethora of awards were for youths but she didn't churn out fluff. Far beyond creating a mystery and worthwhile coming-of-age commentary: "The Other Side Of Dark", 1986, makes readers think. Uncomfortable stretches of imagination in obscure, seldom-trodden circumstances.... and yet based upon enough reality that we decide we ought to plan how to react, lest such a thing occur! She was mistress of little touches that lent dire possibilities credence. If a writer's chief task is to give her readers the capacity for grasping how her protagonists feel, I unhesitatingly say Joan possessed this gift.

I don't know if this is science fiction or a known medical affliction but after being shot, Stacy is semi-comatose. She awakens at long enough intervals for eating, exercising, and growing but her conscious memory laid dormant for four years. Thus when she snaps out of it at seventeen and very naturally asks for her Mother: she needs to be told her Mother was killed by the intruder and that she isn't the thirteen year-old her mind and body were last aware of. Most striking to me, which I wonder how many people grasped, is the very dramatic cusp of the era! It already takes wrangling to absorb that our best friend would wear make-up, date, and drive. But consider the societal leaps from 1982 to 1986. Just for instance: we went from the word `computer' being futuristic jargon, to the average business employing one - including the police.

My four-star rating is due to there being no mystery that could be solved through investigative talent. Recognition would have to strike Stacy. Also a newspaper man's intrusion was absurd, given the sensitivity of murder and a hospital patient. I admire the staggering originality, heightened emotions, and deft twisting of what we anticipate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side of Dark Review, Dec 22 2003
By 
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are a person interested in mystery books, The Other Side of Dark by Joan Lowery Nixon is a great book for you. I enjoyed this book very much. I recommend this book to young adults. I say this because it is a murder mystery. I was hooked on this book. I had to keep on reading to find out what happens next. The Other Side of Dark is filled with tremendous surprises.
The Other Side of Dark is about a girl named Stacy McAdams who was shot when she was thirteen years old. She has been in a type of coma for four years. Stacy's mother was also shot at the same time Stacy was, unfortunately she died from her gunshot wound. Stacy wakes up from her coma when she in seventeen, she is confused about everything that happened. She finds out her mother died. Her sister Donna got married and is expecting a child and her father is working two jobs to pay off all of the family bills. Stacy missed many things in four years. She not only missed four years of schooling but she didn't know the new fashion sense or how to put on makeup or that girls were eventually suppose to like boys.
Stacy is so upset at the person who shot her and murdered her mother. She is the only one who has seen his face. However, Stacy has problems remembering that far back. Occasionally she has flashbacks and remembers minor details. Stacy's friends Jan and B.J fix her up with a new person in town, Jeff. Stacy grows to really like Jeff; he becomes her first love. Jeff, Stacy, Jan and B.J all go to a party given for Stacy. There at the party, Stacy is having conversation with the killer and she doesn't know it. He tries to take Stacy away and is caught she finally realizes it is him. " It's you, You're the one who killed my mother." The killer disappears before the police can get to the house where the party was. Will Stacy ever find the killer? If you want to find out the ending, you should read this book. It is great it keeps you hooked the whole time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF NIXON!, March 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
This may be one of Joan Lowery Nixon's best book. This is also my all-time favorite. It really makes you want to read more and more until you finish the book. This book deserves even more than 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF NIXON!, March 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
This may be one of Joan Lowery Nixon's best book. This is also my all-time favorite. It really makes you want to read more and more until you finish the book. This book deserves even more than 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Catching Book!!!!!!!!!!!!, March 25 2004
By 
Maddie (Cherry Hill, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
It was wonderful. if you like mysterys this is the perfect book for you. It was so hard to put it down. I loved it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!, March 15 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "Real name Ali" (Idaho Springs, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is one of the greatest books i have ever read. It's about a girl named Stacy waking up from a comma after four years and seeing how her life has changed. Also, the person who killed her mother is on the loose and she is determined to find out who he is. She can picture his eyes, but not his face. It's a great book and recommend to everyone who is up for a book that will take you out of your seat!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars O_o, Jan. 5 2004
By 
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Ever wondered what it would be like going into a time machine into the future? Well that's what happened to 13 year-old Stacy McAdams, though instead of using a time machine, she was shot into a 4 year coma by an unknown murderer. When she finally awoke from her seemingly perpetual slumber, her whole life and even herself had changed, literally. Her friends have matured, complete with a totally different style and attitude. Her sister has married without her as the maid of honor and just recently became pregnant. As she tries to straighten these overwhelming thoughts and emotions, Stacey is soon presented with the perfect thing to top it all off: her mother was murdered, the killer is still at large, and Stacey was the only witness to see her mother's assassinator. The only catch: she can't seem to remember his face! Fueling with determination to solve this ambiguous and malicious crime, Stacey must race against the clock to try and figure out who really was the cruel man that ended her mother's life and flipped her own life around... before that man goes off and finishes the job...
I thought this book had a very creative plot and twist to it. It has everything a good book needs: a load of suspense, a handful of adventure, some specks of romance, and a touch of humor here and there. Although the ending WAS kind of predictable, I still love the book anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side of Dark, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Kaja (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Stacy McAdems wakes in a body that she does not reconize and in a room that's definitly not hers to find she has been in a coma for four years and is now sixteen going on seventeen. Her sister is married and pregnat and her dad is single. Why? The day Stacy got shot in her leg was the day her mom was also shot, and died.
Her best friend is not the way she left her and there seems to be relitivly new boy in town.....she trusts no one on the account of the scene where she was shot, keeps playing over and over again, the screen door slams open, but she can't see his face!
In this suspenceful non-obvious novel it all comes together to a joyful, happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side of Dark, Oct. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
Thirteen year old Stacy McAdams wakes up in a room that she does not reconize, she is very confused and her leg is sore. She soon finds out that she has been in a coma for four years due to a gunshot to her leg. Her mother is dead, and the killer is still out there. Without having anytime to recover the killer is back in her life trying to stop her from identifing him by any means necessary. She is receiving calls from the killer. Now Stacy has to watch her back everywhere she goes and trust no one but her family. I think this book is very good and I would recommend it to any young adults who like mystery novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great mystery Thrill, May 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side of Dark (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book.It was about a girl named stacy,who was seventeen. she had got shot and had gone into coma.When she finally woke up she was 17 years old.When she woke up she found that,her sister was pregnant,all the styles changed,and her mother was murdered.She didn`t even know who she was anymore.Don`t forget to read thie fantastic book,by Joan Lowery Nixon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Side of Dark
The Other Side of Dark by Joan Lowery Nixon (Mass Market Paperback - July 1 1987)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews