Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting, character-driven tale.
"The formidable Lyon's Pride," as a character in the next (and final) book of the Talent series calls them, are the children of T-1 Damia Gwynn-Raven and T-2 Afra Lyon; and that "T" rating is a measure of the Talented one's power. Telepathy and telekinesis keep Human and Mrdini commerce operating by moving travelers and cargoes instantaneously across vast reaches of...
Published on March 22 2003 by Nina M. Osier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lyons too Proud......
I listened to the audio version of Lyon's Pride, and enjoyed it, with a few caveats. One: there was a distinct lack of plot, and two: very little actually happened. Sure, we got a peek into the perfect world of Damia and her Children, but the plot seemed to meander...And the hive 'menace' was not really much of a menace at all.
Pet peeves: Personally, I found the...
Published on Dec 2 2003 by Serene Night


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Lyons too Proud......, Dec 2 2003
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
I listened to the audio version of Lyon's Pride, and enjoyed it, with a few caveats. One: there was a distinct lack of plot, and two: very little actually happened. Sure, we got a peek into the perfect world of Damia and her Children, but the plot seemed to meander...And the hive 'menace' was not really much of a menace at all.
Pet peeves: Personally, I found the parents (and grandparents) meddling and matchmaking to be annoying. I also thought the gifts of the t-1's and how they manipulated the emotions of the lesser talented to be manipulative, and downright scary. Who says the t-1's have a right to mess with people's emotions? It was quite intrusive of Zara, to mess with the mind of Kincaid while he was sleeping, even if her intentions were good. Such powers can quickly become abusive and Damia's children seem to have no boundaries, despite their motivations.
Also, I liked the character of Kincaid, but nothing was really resolved with him. We never really found out the details about what happened to him on the deep space mission, and the character seems to be dropped halfway through the book. Other romances seemed flat to me. Roger's romance with his cousin Asia was tepid. Asia was just too timid, and Roger too self confidant. Plus there was the cousin thing...Errr, sorry, Anne, that didn't work for me.
Overall, despite these peeves, I liked Lyon's pride. It just didn't go anywhere; and the assumptions and liberties the 'talented' made towards those with lesser gifts were supercilious and grating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting, character-driven tale., March 22 2003
By 
Nina M. Osier (Augusta, ME USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
"The formidable Lyon's Pride," as a character in the next (and final) book of the Talent series calls them, are the children of T-1 Damia Gwynn-Raven and T-2 Afra Lyon; and that "T" rating is a measure of the Talented one's power. Telepathy and telekinesis keep Human and Mrdini commerce operating by moving travelers and cargoes instantaneously across vast reaches of space. Those same Talents enable the two allied species to battle successfully against a third: the implacable Hivers, who covet the same kind of real estate as do Humans and Mrdini.
All eight of Damia and Afra's children have Talent ratings of T-1. All are destined, as adults, to be known as Primes. Some, like eldest daughter Laria, will operate commercial transfer towers - a prestigious and powerful position, but one that can take a young Prime far away from home. Some, like sons Thian and Rojer, will carve out new roles for Talents in service aboard naval vessels. Second daughter Zara's strongly empathic Talent fits her for the career of healer - after it enables her to do what no one else can manage, by communicating (on however rudimentary a level) with a captured Hiver queen. The Lyon's Pride is, indeed, formidable. Its four eldest are reaching adulthood just in time to play key roles, as the Human-Mrdini alliance begins to solve the Hiver threat that first loomed when their grandparents were young.
An exciting, character-driven tale, which only occasionally bogs itself down with shipboard protocols and politics. If you can get past those pacing problems, you'll be glad you did; because "The Tower and the Hive," the next volume in the Talent series, provides a worthy conclusion to the long-running Gwynn-Raven saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Average compared to others in this series, but worth reading, Sept. 13 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
Lyon's Pride was a Pyrrhic Victory: it didn't lack the flair and prestige of Anne McCaffrey that made the Rowan Series famous, but the storyline made too little of a progress with this book.

The previous book in the series, Damia's Children, was a shining star in all of McCaffrey's books, but it lacked one thing: a good ending. Upon the last word of the last page several tales drop away, leaving the reader on multiple cliffhangers and wondering what happens next. Lyon's Pride sews all of those cliffhangers together seamlessly, so perfectly that the two were probably written as one. Lyon's Pride is filled with the realism and unique storyline of the Rowan Series. Its protagonists meet tragedy, danger, exhilaration and even romance head-on, making the book hard to put down.

No book is without its share of flaws, and Lyon's Pride unfortunately has two big ones. The first is that the storyline has made very little progress. Holes in the patchwork before were sewed up here, and even questions all the way from the first book in the series are answered, like just what happened to the baby Cera Gwyn-Raven after her life and mentality were laid on the line. But in sewing up the holes to some of the previous problems Anne also ended some of the stories. Readers expecting the captured queen Hiver to do something in this book will be disappointed, especially since that was one of the tallest pinnacles of the previous book.

And the last flaw? The book ends with another not-so-good ending, making a sequel necessary. The longest running plot here, the dilemna of coping with an alien species bent on purging the galaxy of all life forms, is unfinished in Lyon's Pride. You'll want to read this book to have your questions about Damia's Children answered, but not too much happens here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars McCaffrey's muse seems muted, May 1 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading DAMIA'S CHILDREN I ran around looking for the next book in the series, desperate to find out how the plot would follow on. I wasn't entirely disappointed, but then again I wasn't exactly riveted by the story at the beginning. As in the other three books in the TALENTS series (THE ROWAN, DAMIA, DAMIA'S CHILDREN) some scenes which could have been really descriptive and enthralling were scrimped on. The last battle between the Talents and the Hivers was very disappointing. There was little sense of achievement, of a legend being made. But if you're not one for descriptive writing, and prefer a fastpaced, intricate plot, you'll enjoy LYON'S PRIDE. Just make sure you've read the other TALENT books first, or you'll really miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read worth the time., March 26 2003
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
What makes this book worth reading is the that we are able to follow the lives of Damia's children as well as the rest of the extended family. For me that is always what made this series worth reading was the family's dedication to each other in-spite of their egos and talents. This 4th book in a series of 5 Lyon's Pride by Anne McCaffrey is set in the universe we have come to expect of her Talents series. The story continues on with Humanity and it's Allies continued fight against the hivers. There are several subplots that are set up or carried along for conclusion in the 5th book. But it is worth the read if you like this series, and McCaffrey in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a plot, unlike other McCaffrey books, Aug. 23 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
This book wasn't as good as the other books in this series (The Rowan, Damia, Damia's Children) because nothing happened. I mean, what really did they achive in this book? It was really confusing. This also follows in the pattern of Anne McCaffrey's notorious endings---it doen't end. There was a potentially good part somewhere in the latter part of the book, but Ms. McCaffrey kept going on. I think she should learnto write good resolutions. That way, her book would beed even better than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT WAS A PRETTY GOOD BOOK, July 14 2000
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
this book had just about everything i wanted to know about Damia's kids ecept i wanted to know more about Laria and how things were going with her.And the talk about the palent M-5 was a bit confusing and wasn't Asia Rojer's cousin or was she Rohid's cousin? But anyway I WOULD try to sumarise this book for you but so many things happen that it would be impossible.Overall, this is a really goodbook and i would reccomend it to anyone who likes action,tears,and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, July 8 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
Lyon's Pride is great, I've read P.E.R.N. and Acorna, but my favorite of McCaffrey's seris' is the Rowan seris. It is interesting to see a family, born from a orphan, grow to be the largest influence around. THe children face hardships that can occur, and they deal with them. It's a realistic book/seris other than the telempathic-kenetic abilities. I loved Rowan and I have enjoyed the seris through Lyon's Pride. Its is wonderful. I suject anyone read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars reply, June 12 2002
By 
L. Horton "happgrl" (AR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
Yes Asia was Rojer's cousin but 2nd or 3rd she was Rohid's sister out of ten kids. M-5 planet is the kind of planet it is I am not sure but I think the M-5 can support life. This was a good book I read all 5 books in 2 days. Of course it was not as good as the pern books but what is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyon's Pride, June 17 2000
This review is from: Lyon's Pride (Mass Market Paperback)
Anne McCaffrey just keeps getting better and better. It has everything a good book needs, action, adventure, loss and love. This book mainly foces around the action, but In still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lyon's Pride
Lyon's Pride by Anne McCaffrey (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 25 2012)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews