Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A werewolf or a vampire for a lover... Decisions, decisions!
Once again, Laurell K. Hamilton hits a home run with this exceptional novel. The Lunatic Cafe is the fourth Anita Blake installment and my favorite thus far. Though this one has a bit of a slow start action-wise, it has a far more compelling plot that centers on Anita's personal life. Anita is dating Richard, something that doesn't sit well with Jean-Claude, the vampire...
Published on June 26 2004 by CoffeeGurl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best
Anita Blake is a definite favourite of mine. But Anita! You really disappointed me in this one. The story and the storyline was, as usual, great. Anita has to deal with some horrible murders with a distict supernatural touch, and from the beginning it becomes clear, that this book is not so much about vampires as it is about shapeshifters. There is something wrong about...
Published on June 4 2004 by Louise


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A werewolf or a vampire for a lover... Decisions, decisions!, June 26 2004
Once again, Laurell K. Hamilton hits a home run with this exceptional novel. The Lunatic Cafe is the fourth Anita Blake installment and my favorite thus far. Though this one has a bit of a slow start action-wise, it has a far more compelling plot that centers on Anita's personal life. Anita is dating Richard, something that doesn't sit well with Jean-Claude, the vampire Master of the City. Jean-Claude wants Anita as well and he, too, wants to date her. She's always said she wouldn't date one of the monsters, yet she is involved with a werewolf. But Richard has great human qualities. He is a schoolteacher, a genuinely nice guy, a boy next door of sorts -- minus the small fact that he's the leader of a pack of shape shifters with a secret and animalistic penchant for a mixture of blood, sex and violence. Jean-Claude is the proverbial bad boy -- a fearful leader and a shameless seducer who doesn't bother to hide his monstrous side, but irresistible all the same. In order to keep Jean-Claude from killing Richard, Anita acquiesces to his proposal of dating both men at the same time. But the reader knows that Anita is attracted to Jean-Claude, no matter how much she denies it. If this interesting little love triangle isn't bad enough, she has to find out why eight shape shifters and lycanthropes are missing. There are various twists throughout the novel...
This is the most exciting part of the series I've read thus far. Laurell K. Hamilton keeps you in suspense from beginning to end. Richard is a great character, but he's nowhere near as compelling and sensual as Jean-Claude. I am still hoping that he and Anita will get together. The building of tension is so slow it's torturous! But the aforementioned tension is delectable beyond compare. The characters are always excellent. The most interesting character in this series is Edward. He's a caricature of a character with an unreadable personality. Perhaps this is intentional, but I'm not sure. I hope to get to know this character in a deeper level in the future. Anyway, as said earlier, this is the best Anita Blake offering. I cannot recommend The Lunatic Cafe enough. A great summer read to enjoy resting on a hammock overlooking the sunset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, June 18 2004
By 
Tanya "Tanya" (San Diego, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
I havnet read the series, my friends recommended "The Lunatic Cafe" to me so i started reading and i LOVED it! It's face paced, intriguing and a great read! This may be the best book I've read in a long time! I cant wait to read more by Laurell K. Hamilton in the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Novels and her other works! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Richard got annoying..., June 11 2004
By 
"celes1" (Havre de Grace, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
One of the better books in the series. This read through reminded me how much I use to like Richard. It made me feel all nostalgic. Sadly, Richard and the wolves get on my nerves in a big way now but I'll always have the memories. I really liked the mystery(s) in this one and it was great to read about Anita interacting with her cop buddies again. Jean-Claude is kind of scarce in this book which may annoy some of his hard core fans. It's not really a big problem for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, June 4 2004
By 
Louise (Copenhagen V, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Anita Blake is a definite favourite of mine. But Anita! You really disappointed me in this one. The story and the storyline was, as usual, great. Anita has to deal with some horrible murders with a distict supernatural touch, and from the beginning it becomes clear, that this book is not so much about vampires as it is about shapeshifters. There is something wrong about these murders, apart from the supernatural aura about them. Someone or something is on the loose, and pretty soon, Anita is too close to the trail for comfort. And on the same time, she is having major second thoughts about her boyfriend Richard. In the last book, she found out that he was a shapeshifter, and in this book, she is trying to deal with that fact. Another reviewer has written about Richard and the difficulties for the reader accepting him as Anita's boyfriend. I agree. I find Richard disgusting, no matter how beautiful he is supposed to be when not being a werewolf. This is why I can 'only' rate this Anita Blake book with 3 stars. But, apart from this, Lunatic Cafe is a light, funny, scary and good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Werewolf or vampire, that is the question, May 10 2004
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Up until this point, the main character in the series, Anita Blake, has been staying away from love. Anita is an animator and vampire slayer, who has been wooed for quite some time by the master vampire of the city, Jean-Claude. On the previous book, "The Circus of the Damned", we saw Anita moving away from the enchanting vampire to start searching for love in what she thought was a normal human. She was surprised when, after a vampire tore out the throat of his suitor, he did not die. Richard is a werewolf, and Anita is trying to reconcile this information with her own feelings for him. Anita's reluctant acceptance of love may have to do with the moment in time in which Laurell K. Hamilton wrote this book, since she was pregnant and delivered a baby girl named Trinity.
With each book, the reader gets a clearer idea about what the place in which Anita lives in is like. For example, we find out that there are creatures that we did not know existed in this world, like dragons, gargoyles and trolls. Also, we learn that discrimination against lycanthropes is illegal but existent nonetheless. In this case, everything starts when the husband of one particular lycanthrope shows up at Anita's office looking for help, since his wife is missing and he cannot go to the authorities for fear she will be fired if the "secret" comes out. In addition to this, Dolph, who works with the preternatural unit of the police department, summons Anita because there has been a murder of suspicious nature. Anita determines that the murder was committed by a shapeshifter, denomination that includes werewolves.
Besides the "usual" type of situations Anita faces, she has to deal with her relationship with Richard, and his battle for the leadership of the wolf pack with an alpha male called Marcus. Jean-Claude will not go away without a fight, and he is trying to get Anita to date him instead of the werewolf. To complete the picture, there is a female vampire that is in love with Jean Claude and thinks that the only way to get her prize is to eliminate her competition. Anita describes this situation perfectly: "Bully for me!"
Hamilton is perfecting a world and a character that grab the attention and the heart of the reader without letting go. As the story progresses, we learn more about Anita's past, her relationship with her mother, her previous experience with love, etc. Also, the reader comes to cherish some of the characters that at first seem unlikable, like Edward, the "gun for hire". A friend told me that the series will get kinkier as it progresses, and I already saw this happen in this book, but this change in tone matches perfectly the mood of the main character. The truth is, I cannot get enough of Anita Blake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fourth in the Anita Blake series., Dec 24 2003
By 
James Yanni (Bellefontaine Neighbors, Mo. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As with the previous three books in the series, this book is a tremendously fun read, mostly because the character of Anita Blake is one of the best characters in fiction since Randall P. McMurphy in "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest". The background world, the other characters, the plots and such are all okay, but nothing particularly out of the ordinary. It is Anita that makes this series work, and boy, does she.
This book was at least as good as the first three in the series, although I suspect that some fans will feel that it spent too much time (that is to say, any) on the soap opera that Anita's personal life is becoming, at the expense of the cover-to-cover action that we've come to expect. Others, myself included, will find the closer look at previously unexplored aspects of Anita's character fascinating, and will point out that there is no shortage of action here.
Although this is book four of the series, and I have read the previous three, I have the impression that one could read this book without having read the others without being hopelessly confused. Hard to say, though. Probably best to start with "Guilty Pleasures" and be safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, Dec 22 2003
By A Customer
This book is still good entertaining fun, just as the rest of the Anita Blake series. And plenty of body count for those who keep count ;)
However a key element in stories is for the reader to identify with the main charecter. In this book that means we have to see the new love interest 'Richard' in the same dreamy light that the main charecter Anita Blake does. The relationship is stressed enough in this book that there's no just ignoring it...
I could not bring myself to follow along with Anita where Richard is concerned. Richard gets an enthusiastic thumbs down from me.
The fact that it is so imensely frustrating should tell you that Hamilton know's how to write and hook the reader. But her main charecter lost me in this book. I gave some of her other books higher ratings.
still a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite!, Dec 13 2003
Lunatic Cafe is one of my favorite Anita Blake novels. This one lets us delve deeper into the lives of werewolves. Anita finds herself sucked into a power struggle between alpha werewolves and on the run from a vampire who wants to kill her out of jealousy for Jean-Claude. Life is never easy, or quiet, in Anita's world. The book juggles several plot points, but Ms. Hamilton handles deftly -- her writing style and technique continues to improve. I really enjoyed learning more about the world of the werewolves, and this book really establishes Richard as a strong, but troubled, leading man in Anita's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Dec 1 2003
By 
I've been reading this series for a while - Ms. Hamilton's spin on a world where the supernatural (vampires, werewolves, etc) are real and part of every day life is very cool.
Main charcter: Anita Blake, vampire executioner, is a deadly babe herself and when she falls for the boyscout type of guy (and finds out a few interesting details about him) you wonder how these two will get along! (but that's for the next few books to cover).
Although, relationships play a strong part in this story. This is not a girl book - the body count and mayem will appeal to a very broad audience.
Though I do have one question: What the heck is up with the new book jackets? Until you reach book nine, there really is no explicit sex, but it certainly seems that's what the publisher is selling the whole series as!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Screaming Love for Three, Oct. 31 2003
By 
A Review by Rachel
Anita Blake has fallen in love with the leader of a local pack of werewolves but the master if the city (vampire) will not let it happen. Anita tries to keep them from killing each other and keep her self out of line of fire and try to find out what happened to eight missing lycanthropes.
I loved how this book had no drags and that almost every little thing led to something big so it had no wasted time or drags. All the characters had an important role that made the story really came a live and with Anita's wits I really got inspired by the fact she looks out for her self and doesn't let a man do stuff for her even if she is having a hard time with it. The third best thing about this book was that there was not only a few high points here and there but they were every ware. Danger and suspense incased this book and won't let you go until you pass out from lack of sleep.
I would recommend this book to any vampire, lycanthropes, and mystery and romance lovers. It's a real adventure to read and it is very smooth to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lunatic Cafe
The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K. Hamilton (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews