Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind
Few novels combine popular storytelling technique with artistry as well as The Anubis Gates. I enjoyed this novel because it is intelligent without becoming pretentious. A fast paced, yet twisting, plot keeps the reader guessing by tossing a somewhat broken Everyman 200 years in the past where he is beset by characters both vividly grotesque and charmingly romantic...
Published on April 29 2004 by Megan Lambert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action and a bit of fun.
Being harsh on this one I have to say that it is more in the realms of fantasy or occult than Science Fiction. There is a distinct avoidance by the author of any logical explanations for what happens. We have people swapping bodies, magical gates opening through time, magical "hooks" to bring you back, and lots of macabre cripples and characters in the sewers...
Published on Aug. 19 2002 by Sailoil


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind, April 29 2004
By 
Megan Lambert (Pittsboro, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
Few novels combine popular storytelling technique with artistry as well as The Anubis Gates. I enjoyed this novel because it is intelligent without becoming pretentious. A fast paced, yet twisting, plot keeps the reader guessing by tossing a somewhat broken Everyman 200 years in the past where he is beset by characters both vividly grotesque and charmingly romantic. Ironically, the time traveler's smug assurance of his superiority as a human from an advanced civilization is turned on its head when he immediately finds himself an alien in a world he can't relate to and persecuted by powers he doesn't understand. The characters and settings were depicted so well that I felt like a set director as I imagined each scene in my head. The only drawback to the book is that there are no others like it. If you want exciting storytelling that still maintains high literary standards, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to write a time-travel story, Jan. 19 2004
By 
J R Zullo (São Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
It's hard to define "The Anubis gates" genre. Science-fiction? Historical fiction? Techno-fantasy-science-historical fiction? It doesn't matter. Tim Powers has created a story that's so amazing and different that the only comparison I can make is with Neal Stephenson's books.
Brendan Doyle is the Coleridge specialist that's invited to a time travel experience that will change his life. And I mean really change. Trapped in the early XIX century, Doyle will have to overcome a band of gipsies connected with egyptian magicians, street mugglers and beggars governed by a clown that makes experiences with human bodies, and a dog-faced murderer with the hability to... well I don't want to spoil the eventual reader's fun, because a large part of this fun is to disclose the many implications between the unusual characters in the story. At times, it is confusing, and this book clearly requires a commiment from the reader; otherwise the story is filled with such crazyness that the unnatentive reader may loose interest in the book. But, believe me, there's order and method in this crazyness.
Tim Powers seems to me an author blessed with an immense immagination to create different and fantastic stories, and this book is one good example. I was amazed by the size of this adventure. And I'm not talking about physical size, but mental and enjoyment size.
Grade 9.0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an extraordinary ride!!!!, May 7 2003
By 
"gubietay" (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
Excellent!! This book and George R.R. Martin saga of "The Song of Ice and Fire" I think are the best science fiction novels I have ever read. "The Anubis Gates" delivers a phenomenal and unique story from start to finish. What I most love of the novel was the author originality in establishing the plot of the story and the constant turns and surprises the story delivers. There is no point in this novel where the story gets boring or too 'slow paced', on the contrary, the more you read, the more intriguing. I hope you decide to add this book to your collection, enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, Dec 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
This is one book where (my) words aren't adequate to describe how wonderful it is to read. Although the story the complex, reading it is effortless - it's a great adventure which, more surely than many other books, transports you to the world constructed by the author.
I was actually hungry to carry on reading and find out what happens next in the story - get, and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling work, Oct. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
Tim Powers is one of the most original writers around. I had been meaning to read The Anubis Gates for some time, and was not disappointed when I finally did. The pace is feverish, the story is fascinating, and as other reviewers have mentioned, Powers avoids all the cliches of time travel. The story never fails in its logic, even when dealing with myriad wonders. An unforgettable, literate, fun book.
James Stoddard
Author of "The High House"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deliriously Delightful, Oct. 22 2002
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
If Charles Dickens had ever taken it into his head to write a science fiction novel about time travel he might have come up with something along the lines of Tim Powers THE ANUBIS GATE. In an at times delightfully delirious manner he blends the gods of Ancient Egypt, the worlds of 1983 and the 17th Century(briefly), early 19th Century London and Egypt (the bulk of the book), dancing ape mania, London's underworld, gypsies, a derranged clown thief lord named Horrigan, things bumping about in the dark in the sewers of London, the English poets Coleridge and Byron, the eggshell fleet
and holding it all together a literature professor. I might add that is but a short list and Powers amazingly manages for the most part to hold it together. It is a grand time that you really don't want to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beware, Sept. 20 2002
By 
California Dreamin "sr538" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
If you start reading this book you will probably end up wanting to buy and read everything else Tim Powers has ever written. If you have not yet read his stuff you have a treat ahead. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action and a bit of fun., Aug. 19 2002
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
Being harsh on this one I have to say that it is more in the realms of fantasy or occult than Science Fiction. There is a distinct avoidance by the author of any logical explanations for what happens. We have people swapping bodies, magical gates opening through time, magical "hooks" to bring you back, and lots of macabre cripples and characters in the sewers of London. Really the stuff of horror and occult books.
But all that said - it is a good read. The pace is blistering and you have to keep up to remember who is in which body today. The story rips around the globe like an Indiana Jones movie, with the added attraction of leaping through time.
I don't want to give too much away, but I really felt it was a bit rich to have the main character give away all his good clothes upon his entry to old London, and accept rags - thereby sealing his fate at the bottom of the food chain. Had he been robbed it would have been more plausible.
As for Horrobins "Mistakes" - a bit of explanation would have been useful. What exactly was he trying to make? Beats me!
I think Powers would have done better to put a bit more logical motive into his story, to hold it together. I liked Horrobins character, and Dog-Face Joe. The description of the "Master" could have been filled in a bit more.
As I say, a fun book - but a bit uneven in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating original novel about time travel, July 24 2002
By 
Jexii "Jexii" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
As a regular reader of sci-fi and fantasy, I have come across numerous variations on the time travel concept, Tim Powers, does it with originality and creativity that few others offer. If you're in the market for sci-fi/fantasy that is original and not just a retelling of the same old story with a new cover than this book is for you. From the moment I picked it up, I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite keeper, May 30 2002
By 
Veejer (Cape May, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anubis Gates (Paperback)
What a great pleasure it is to stumble onto a wonderful author whose work you were previously unfamiliar with. I saw Tim Powers name on a Sci-Fantasy web site and decided to give him a try. This is a superb novel, intricately yet smartly plotted and nicely weaved together by a very talented writer. Most of the story takes place in early 19th century London, brought vividly to life by the author. The story contains (among other things) time travelers, sorcerers, werewolves, a maniacal clown, historical poets Lord Byron and Samuel Taylor Coleridge, fictional poet William Ashbless, and Brendan Doyle - our time-traveling hero from 1983. Powers gives us a unique perspective, with fresh ideas. This one is a keeper. I'm looking forward to more of Tim Powers work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anubis Gates
The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers (Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews