Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The triumphant third book in the Laws of the Blood series
The first two books in Susan Sizemore's Laws of the Blood series are quite good, but Companions is really something special. The dual protagonists are as dynamic as they are fascinating, the expanded commentary on Sizemore's unique fictional universe of vampires and companions is impressive and illuminating, and the action-packed storyline is a true page-turner. Mention...
Published on April 12 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps you need to start at the beginning of the series.
I picked up Companion early last week, and enjoyed it. However, at all points during the book I wondered if it wouldn't have helped me to have read The Hunt or Partners first.
Ms. Sizemore does not do a good job of explaining the premise of the book. She sometimes writes in vamprish,like spanlish, in which a reader who is not familiar with the subject matter is left...
Published on May 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The triumphant third book in the Laws of the Blood series, April 12 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
The first two books in Susan Sizemore's Laws of the Blood series are quite good, but Companions is really something special. The dual protagonists are as dynamic as they are fascinating, the expanded commentary on Sizemore's unique fictional universe of vampires and companions is impressive and illuminating, and the action-packed storyline is a true page-turner. Mention of Istvan has been made in the previous books - whispers of his unparalleled prowess among the Enforcers of the vampire laws - and I must say he lives up to his reputation in spades. In Companions, we learn his remarkable story, but even Istvan, with all of his might, wisdom, and power, pales somewhat in comparison to Selena, the most unusual of vampire companions.
Istvan is a dhampir born over five centuries ago - he actually worked for Count Dracula for awhile. He hates vampires and has killed many over the centuries; even though he was turned into a vampire himself (a dangerous mistake rectified in the laws soon thereafter - there is no more formidable vampire killer than a dhampir who has been turned) and works ceaselessly to defend vampire law, he has always kept himself apart from a traditional vampire lifestyle. That includes the taking of a companion, a practice virtually all vampires engage in. A bit of deception, though, brought him together with Selena Crawford two years earlier; he has fought the bloodbond that was forged between the two, however, and pretty much left Selena alone. She herself both hates and likes the situation; while she wants nothing to do with Istvan, the bloodbond is a powerful force that cannot be defeated by even the strongest of personalities - and Selena happens to have one of the strongest personalities you will ever encounter.
Now, Enforcer and companion are brought together once again, however, in the search for a vampire killer roaming the streets of Chicago. Selena is a homicide detective, but she knows that a beheaded vampire dumped in an alley falls under a very different jurisdiction than her own. While the local enforcer Ariel and eventually Istvan take over the "case," Selena does plenty of work on her own, identifying the killer and, blaming a particularly despicable vampire for indirectly causing all the trouble, takes the initiative to do something about the evil perp. Companions are not supposed to even know of each other's existence across the different cities of the world, yet there is a cybersecret support group for them, and this connection with others like herself provides Selena the support she needs to stage a mini-revolution among the ranks. In essence, she takes on the role of Enforcer among vampire companions.
The story of the killings and the thrilling conclusion of events makes for an engaging read, but it is the relationship between Istvan and Selena that makes this book such a triumph. Selena does not act like a companion; while the heat of the bloodbond keeps driving her and Istvan together in the most physical of ways, she refuses to fawn upon him or allow his actions to go unchallenged. This both antagonizes as well as delights the chief Enforcer of them all. Their sporadic relationship is remarkably human in several ways, boasting the kind of give-and-take you won't find elsewhere in the vampire world. Heck, she even tries to kill Istvan a couple of times, and that is something companions are really not supposed to do. You'll find a lot of humor in these pages alongside plenty of vampire action, but the heart and soul of Companions is the amazingly nontraditional relationship between vampire and companion. If you are tired of the same old vampire plots of old, you would do well to give Susan Sizemore a chance to impress you with her increasingly beguiling reworking of the vampire myth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the First and Second, March 11 2004
By 
Allen L. Marshall (Columbia, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this right after reading Partners. I don't recommend that. I recommend waiting at least a week between the two books. I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but certain characters from the previous books reappear. They don't necessarily behave as you would expect.
Istvan is a lot more fun to read about than Char or Selim, but nowhere near as fun as Valentine. Some day, Ms Sizemore is going to have to write a book that's just about Valentine's past. There's a scene from the past recounted in this book that'd be a good focal point for that story. (Just my opinion here.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!, Dec 25 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
This time the setting is Chicago. Selena Crawford is a Chicago homicide detective. She is the unwilling companion of Istvan, Chief of the Enforcers. Istvan is considered "the Enforcers' Enforcer." He is the dhamphir. Due to the bond between vampire and companion, they cannot help but come into contact with each other. But they try their best to meet as rarely as possible.
The Law of the Blood states "A companion is a vampire's property. They may do with their companions as they will." It is a law that many companions want changed. But for a companion to even think of changing things is like an act of treason, with a high punishment. Even so, there are a few brave ones. They have an elite chat room where they secretly speak with each other and plan what they will do differently once they have grown fangs. None of them knows the real names of the others or where they reside. The ID of each is gender-less. No one speaks of what they do for a living. They vent about their "Friends" and make plans.
Selena and Istvan must join forces to investigate the murder of a vampire and maintain the secrecy of the vampire race. But when they find the killer and learn her motive, they find out that there is an even bigger threat and it hits even closer to home! Things are about to get very, very personal.
***** Outstanding! Author Susan Sizemore has outdone herself in this one! The story is well written, believable, and the main characters are so wonderful that I could not help but like them. There are even a few cameos, which I did not expect to happen so soon in this series. Highly recommended! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part Vamp part cop/detective story...all good., June 29 2003
By 
Jenna Leigh "Jenn" (Louisiana, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
I like these books of Ms. Sizemore's. I say like and not love because of all the convoluted politics going on that I don't understand. Maybe she will shed more light on it in futher books, I certainly hope so. Don't let that stop you from enjoying these as they are a fastpaced, delicious read. I've read all 4 so far and will buy the 5th as soon as it is available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One BAAAD Enforcer, One Tough Female Cop!!, April 8 2003
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
This has to be my favorite of the series so far! "Laws of the Blood: Companions" is a great read! Selena Crawford is a Chicago Homicide Detective, she is also a non-magical member of a gypse family, she also happens to be the personal property of the head Enforcer in the USA. "Steve" and Selena rub each other the wrong way...well maybe its the right way all the time, when their not fighting of course.
Vampire Politics mingled with the possibility of an extreamly rare pregnacy make for a wonderfully twisted and exciting read! It is Definately Worth reading this book and this series!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Sizemore: Keep em coming, Feb. 12 2003
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
I have alot of books and some I keep and some I eventually pass along..this is on my keep always shelf in my bookcase!!!
Ms Sizemore writes well and has strong characters. I feel the storyline and dialogue flows really well too!!
I highly recommend this to any that like modern vampire tales!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Thrilling Vampire Story", Nov. 16 2002
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are into Vampire stories with mystery as a subplot then, "Companions," by Susan Sizemore, is the book for you. Ms. Sizemore does an excellent job mixing the two genres, her characters are fun and exciting, the dialogue moves along nicely, and the plot is interesting. (Even though this book is part of a series it stands very well on its own which is a plus as far as I'm concerned.
John Savoy
Savoy International
Motion Pictures Inc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Partners, Sept. 22 2002
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the story of Istvan, the head Nighthawk, and his companion, Selena, a psychic, and homicide detective. She was not willing to become his companion, and he really didn't want one, which leads to many complications. When someone starts killing vampires and leaving them for humans to find, he actually suspects her. A very old vampire from Istvan's past has designs on her cousin, so Selena enlists the help of a group of unwilling companions to save her, since Istvan is gone, or is he?
This is an even better novel than the one before. The main characters are more evenly matched, and we find that the Enforcer of Enforcers has weaknesses and a previous life. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average, July 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
Not good, but not bad. The plot was VERY predictable as soon as the cast of characters was introduced. If you've read one romance novel, you've read them all- male & female protagonists dislike each other, but fall in love ("soul mates"), etc., etc. The book is not particularly coherent, but seems to be some sort of mishmash of somewhat conflicting ideas.
I wish the library had had a copy so I didn't have to buy it. I won't buy any more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average, July 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Laws of the Blood 3: Companions (Mass Market Paperback)
Not good, but not bad. The plot was VERY predictable as soon as the cast of characters was introduced. If you've read one romance novel, you've read them all- male & female protagonists dislike each other, but fall in love ("soul mates"), etc., etc. The book is not particularly coherent, but seems to be some sort of mishmash of somewhat conflicting ideas.
I wish the library had had a copy so I didn't have to buy it. I won't buy any more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laws of the Blood 3: Companions
Laws of the Blood 3: Companions by Susan Sizemore (Mass Market Paperback - June 26 2007)
CDN$ 8.99
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews