Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted
Started the Sookie Stackhouse series and didn't stop until all 13 were read.
Only to start back at the beginning again.
Published 9 months ago by Heather A. Jack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first two.....
Ok so this is the third book is Harris' southern vampire novels. In this one Sookie has to deal with the fact that her vampire boyfriend Bill is being held captive and she is forced to save him. However this comes after he may/may not have actually left her for a female vamp he used to have a thing with.

Despite the confusion she still goes to help, and in this...
Published on March 19 2007 by Kelly Brianna


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Addicted, July 11 2013
By 
Heather A. Jack (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Started the Sookie Stackhouse series and didn't stop until all 13 were read.
Only to start back at the beginning again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ENTER ERIC AND ALCIDE- this is going to be fun, Feb. 12 2011
By 
Buggy "SUNNIE Day reader" (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
CLUB DEAD is the third instalment from the Sookie Stackhouse series and I really enjoyed this one having finally come to terms with the fact that this is urban fantasy (and not paranormal romance) I was able to focus on the action, horror, humour and mystery aspects here and just let the romance take a back seat. Sookie is starting to feel like a delightful, adventurous friend who I can't wait to hear from to learn what adventures she's been up to lately. And with the broadening of sub characters and reappearances and "sightings" from others this series feels alot like coming home.

Charlaine Harris continues to entertain with a fast paced, easy writing style and original ideas. She also manages to still keep Sookie relatable enough, despite her progression into the supernatural world that we can discover every bizarre occurrence right along with her. Sookie toughens up in this book, makes some new `friends' and sort of comes into her own. And although I was at first disappointed by Harris's storyline choices for Bill (what an arse he turned out to be) Eric and arrival of Alcide sure made up for his absence. Leaving things wide open and this reader very curious as to where exactly things are heading in the romance department.

Lately Sookie's vampire boyfriend Bill has been a little absent, having more of a relationship with his computer and "project" then with her. When he suddenly announces that he's taking an extended business trip to another state Sookie realizes something other than vampire business is going on. Before long the bodies start piling up at work again, after a werewolf gang member tries to abduct Sookie and ends up face to face with some hard hitting but simple blue suede shoes.

Enter the ever sexy and cheeky Eric, who informs Sookie that Bill's been kidnapped while spending time with an old flame in Mississippi. (So much for business) Now Eric needs Sookie's mind reading abilities to help locate Bill before they torture him to `real' death. Despite the obvious betrayal Sookie agrees, although she might just kill him herself once she finds him.

Sookie soon finds herself under the care of one fantastic and yummy werewolf named Alcide Herveraux. They have an immediate connection and make a great team although romantically their timing is never quite right (what with all the body dumping, ex fiancé's and flying vamps coming to call) Alcide is to act as Sookie's date and guide while in Jackson, gaining her access into the otherwise off limits, Club Dead. This is where the vampire king of Mississippi hangs out whom they assume is responsible for Bills disappearance. Before long Eric turns up in another of his quirky disguises and general carnage ensues. The action in this book is non-stop with vampires and humans alike getting staked and of course it's a full moon which brings every beast in town out to play. It's a ton of unputdownable, blood spattered fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the reason I read this book ..., Sept. 27 2009
By 
Chris (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
... is because I am a fan of "True Blood" and I will be reading the next one, too! Though the plot was suspect, there were many riveting scenes involving Bill, Eric, Weres, and blood. The prose was inviting and Sookie is an endearing character (more so in the novel than in the show). Until next time at Merlotte's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first two....., March 19 2007
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok so this is the third book is Harris' southern vampire novels. In this one Sookie has to deal with the fact that her vampire boyfriend Bill is being held captive and she is forced to save him. However this comes after he may/may not have actually left her for a female vamp he used to have a thing with.

Despite the confusion she still goes to help, and in this book we encounter a new character Alcide, a werewolf and another guy who seems to be drawn to Sookie.

Of the the three books I've read in the series so far I would probably say this was my least favorite but it's still a good read. Harris' way of writing the supernatural and mixing it with humour and relatibility is fun to read and easy to get into. I know I will continue reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Annoying and Cutesy, Nov. 5 2004
By 
Ez (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
When vampire Bill Compton goes missing, telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse goes searching for him in Jackson, Mississippi. Sookie is still too annoying and cutesy for my liking. (C+)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best One Yet! (Well, haven't read the 4th), July 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I give it a 5 of 5, not because it's perfect but because if you read the first two this book is exactly what you think it should be, hope for, and expect.
Sookie finds out that Bill (the dullest and most tedious vampire ever imagined) has been cheating on her! (A-ha! knew I didn't like him for a reason). He's working on a secret mission for the Queen of LA (yes the sate) and he direly tells her if he goes missing to check her crawl space.
So, scene two, Bill goes missing (yipee!). She finds some computer disks but doesn't look at them, wierd, then Eric, Bill's boss asks her to find him.
She finds out he was leaving her for his vampire lover when he was kidnapped in MS. She has to investigate that kingdom and her entree in is sexy werewolfe Alcide.
So she goes to find her errant lover and shack up with the very tempting wolf. Eric comes in disguise to follow her repeatedly almost seducing her (lord but he's so much sexier than Bill, I wish she'd chose him) and the hijinks begin. It's a little darker than its predcesors, but the characters grow as you'd expect them to.
Sadly, Sookie has a few TSTL (too stupid to live- got that from another reader) moments. I mean, she wants to forgive Bill even though he was leaving her and had been cheating on her. Gimme a break, no man is worth that humiliation. And she turns down Eric though she wants him badly, even comes dagerously close to full blown sex. In fact, what they do would be considered in many countries sex, but not by most Americans' standards.
It's highly entertaining and had me laughing more then the first two and the characters seem so much more fleshed out, so much more real. Totally worthy read! The ending had me hooting with laughter and I've got to read the fourth. Once again I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series with a sense of humore, May 1 2004
By 
Kristy D. S. (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I rate all three books so far in the series a 5. It's rare you find a good story written with a sense of humor and a protagonist who is flawed but you like and respect. These stories have all of the above. There is plenty of action and interaction with more than a touch of romance. Charlaine Harris does an excellent job of balencing all aspects of the story - romance, fantasy, action without falling too heavily into one genre. I love the Anita Blake series as well, but this is much lighter and funnier. And the Blake series has entirely too much dialog that rehashes the "I'm tougher than anyone on the block"- we get the point. No similar complaints here. Can't wait for the fourth in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It ain't no country club..., April 26 2004
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Club Dead is, by far, my favorite installment of the Southern Vampire series.
Club Dead tells the story of Sookie's adventures to find and rescue Bill, who has mysteriously gone missing. With the help of Eric and Alcide (a newly introduced Werewolf), Sookie travels to Mississippi to immerse herself into night culture to find out was has become of Bill.
The first two books were introductory books where we were given overall assessments of all the characters. The marvel of this book is that we are now neck deep in DEVELOPMENT!!! All of the characters go through believable changes, just as We Real People go through changes in our own lives. We find out what kind of "person" Bill really is; we get a better look at Sookie and her insecurities and emotional quirks; and at the same time, we meet some new people too! And let me not forget to mention the better glimpse of Eric; which, by the way, I am reluctantly waiting for the other shoe to drop. But I must wait for the 4th book to see if it ever does drop.
Club Dead has about the same amount of violence as the first two books and about the same of sex as Dead until Dark. The plot of Club Dead a little weaker than the plots of first two books, but it is not detrimentally so. It still carries its own weight within the series especially considering the growth of each of the characters, which is this book's strongest point.
If you have read Dead Until Dark and Living Dead in Dallas, I recommend you read this one for some interesting and frustratingly entertaining developments - it's amazing how this book sensibly mirrors real people and how we can be disappointed with and hurt by one another.
If you have NOT read Dead Until Dark or Living Dead in Dallas, DO NOT read this one. You MUST first read Dead Until Dark then Living Dead in Dallas in order to fully appreciate the characters' growths that Club Dead represents in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Avid Reader & Reviewer, April 25 2004
By 
Alisa McCune (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Sookie and the Vampire Bill are once again thrust into trouble in Club Dead. Sookie is very unhappy with the Vampire Bill. It would seem she is being dumped, but no one knows for sure where Bill is and what he is doing. What is a girl to do? Just accept some financial settlement or try and stake the cad who left her without even a goodbye? While Sookie is nursing her broken heart, it would appear the Vampire Bill has met some foul play. With Eric and Bubba for back-up, Sookie heads to Shreveport to try and find Bill.
Sookie has one major clue to find Bill, Club Dead. With the help a very sexy werewolf, Alcide, Sookie gains entrance to the illustrious club that caters to vampires, shifters, and other oddities. As usual, things do not go as planned.
Club Dead widens Sookie's group of admirers and brings a great deal of conflict with them. How could a girl choose between the Vampire Bill, Eric the Viking Vampire, and Alcide the very warm werewolf? The politics of the vampires make Sookie's head spin - let alone the addition of werewolves and shifters.
The first two books in the series, Dead Until Dark and Living Dead in Dallas really just introduced us to the full cast of characters. In Club Dead, Charlaine Harris shakes up Sookie's world and gives her more perspective on life. Sookie is finally able to see Bill's weaknesses and decide for herself if she wants to try and work through them.
Club Dead is a very fun book to read. Charlaine Harris has a wonderful sense of wit with a tongue in check approach to the story line. How could anyone keep a straight face with the image of Bubba, Elvis has not left the building, and his cat fancy? The Southern Vampire series is one of my favorites for its humor and characters. My only complaint is in regarding the ending. It was very abrupt and left me wanting more.
Charlaine Harris is the other of three more Sookie novels; Dead Until Dark, Living Dead in Dallas, and Dead to the World, to be published May, 2004. She is also the author of two popular mystery series; the Aurora Tegarden series and the Lily Bard Shakespeare series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite of the series, April 24 2004
By 
"der_gelbe_schein" (new york, new york United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Club Dead is the third book in the Southern Vampire series and I have to say it was the most impressive. I originally started reading the series while looking for light vampire reading and for some unknown reason was unable to stop. The first two books had interesting plots and strong characters, but Club Dead topped them all. It's really relieving to find a book with a strong female leading character as opposed to the usually subservient or unintelligent ones. She's a great contrast and really shows her intelligence and independence in this novel, moreso than the others. It would have been a perfect climax to the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1247c24)

This product

Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel
Club Dead: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel by Charlaine Harris (Mass Market Paperback - April 29 2003)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews