Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly awesome adventure!
Do you like serpents? How about giant serpents? Or maybe your taste is for pure white ferrets who are master swordsmaids? Or maybe squirrel master swordsmaids, giant battles, and huge sea voyages? It's all in this book.

In this book there are three slaves called Triss, Shogg and Welfo who escape in a boat. They run into a peaceful island called Peace Island...
Published on June 23 2006 by A grade 4 student

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite a disappointment
I am an avid Redwall fan and have been reading Redwall books for over 6 years. So when Triss came out, I eagerly rushed to the bookstore and bought it. I was disappointed.
After the Taggerung, which is my favourite book of the series, Triss seems very... shallow. The 'puzzle' is ridiculously easy, the characters, especially Triss, are almost undeveloped and very...
Published on Dec 3 2002 by riversarl


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A truly awesome adventure!, June 23 2006
By 
A grade 4 student (First Avenue P.S., Ottawa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triss (Audio Cassette)
Do you like serpents? How about giant serpents? Or maybe your taste is for pure white ferrets who are master swordsmaids? Or maybe squirrel master swordsmaids, giant battles, and huge sea voyages? It's all in this book.

In this book there are three slaves called Triss, Shogg and Welfo who escape in a boat. They run into a peaceful island called Peace Island. There they run into a tribe of peaceful hedgehogs. When they leave the island they do not know about something very important . . . PIRATES!!! Meanwhile in Salmandastron, the badger lord's son, Sagaxus, was going on a long trip with his best friend Bescarum the hare. Once they had met Kroova Wave Dog (the sea otter) they were sailing away in the "Stopdog". At Redwall, the dibbuns (little ones) were out picking whortleberries when two of the dibbuns got lost, and found a hollow tree stump. It had a door with these markings on it B OK AL. Inside they found something gold with weird symbols on it, and something terrible . . . Giant snakes!!! Do the two slaves escape the pirates? Do the Salmandastronians return home safely? Do the Redwallers return with their lives? Read to find out.

I think this book is truly awesome and I recommend this book for all kids who love adventure. You may visit Redwall any time you like by reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WOT WOT! and all that jazz, March 18 2004
This review is from: Triss: A Novel of Redwall (Mass Market Paperback)
Evil. Princess Kurda is a one of the most evil known. She has grown tired of using vegetables to practice her sword fighting on. Now she wants to use the slaves that are rebellious to practice her sword fighting moves.
Triss is the last book in the Redwall series by Brian Jacques. It is the 16th book in that series. The characters in this book are all different. The villains are cruel and pitiless and the heroes are brave and courageous. This book has all kinds of different things in it. It has sword fighting, friends, enemies, attacks, captures and much more. The adventures in this series and book are interesting and they show all of the characters points of view in a story. They all have their own personalities. This makes the story a lot more enjoyable to read.
All of the characters in the Redwall Series are animals. My favorite animal out of all of the characters is the hare. They always say "Wot wot!" and "flipin" and "blinkin." The hares always make me laugh because they eat enormous amounts of food and then say it was a "little morsel of scoff". These books are hilarious and exciting at the same time. Brian Jacques is one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Power!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Sept. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Besides 'Mariel of Redwall,' 'Triss' is another book that shows just how brave and strong girls can be. Triss, the main character, is a slave on the island of Riftgard, though bending under the whip of the slavemasters and the evil Princess Kurda,plans a daring esacpe with her friends, the otter Shogg and hedgehog Welfo. I can relate to Triss well; though she's set on avenging her friends, she's not focused on it the whole time. Meanwhile, in Salmandastron, three other friends, Sagax the badger, Scarum the hare, and Kroova the otter, set out from their home for a very different reason; they're bored stiff at home! And in Mossflower Wood, two Dibbuns, Ruggum and Bikkle, discover the legendary Brockhall, home of the Badger Lords. Brian Jacques wrote this book beautifully, and I like how most of the main characters are female. You don't see alot of us as main characters like that, at least, I don't think so. If I could choose five charcters that are my favorite, I'd put Triss, Sagax, Shogg, Scarum, and Grubbage, only because he can't hear half of what Plugg, a Freebooter captain, says. This my favortie book in the Redwall series; when Triss fights Kurda with Martian's sword is my favorite part, and I can't wait to read Brian Jacques latest novel. They are books that are full of courage, fun and imagination. Good thing they got published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Faded Glory, Sept. 29 2003
By 
Andrea H. (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triss: A Novel of Redwall (Mass Market Paperback)
Brian Jacques' novel Triss, the fifteenth book in the Redwall series, is a perfect example of a popular author beating a dead horse. In a word, Redwall has lost its novelty and sparkle, and the author would best abandon it for his other projects, including Castaways of the Flying Dutchman.
I bought Triss because (unlike many of the recent Redwall books) the plot actually sounded interesting. Unfortunately, though Jacques can still set a story quite well, he can no longer take advantage of his own plots. The book was highly predictable, to offset which Jacques filled it with reversals of fate and twists and turns that did not really alleviate its predictability. Similarly, the characters are merely caricatures of Jacques' more memorable creations, and the settings are no longer settings but set-pieces. For instance, Brockhall plays a role in this book, but in an entirely boring way. Also, Jacques now feels compelled to insert a song in virtually every chapter, as well as to repeat descriptions of food verbatim. He also uses the same jokes over and over. That said, there were some genuine laugh-out-loud moments, and I was glad to see that female characters are now evenly placed among warriors and villains, instead of just abbey-dwellers.
I was at one point a diehard Redwall fan, and the first seven books in the series are still some of the best books I own. However, the fire has gone out of Jacques' writing; I do not think any of his Redwall books will ever stir me as much as Mossflower, Salamandastron, or my other favorites did and still do. So save seven bucks and go reread them, or better yet, something else. However, all this being said, I will still probably read the next book in the series, 'Loamhedge,' because I can't quite give up the ghost myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Triss Book Review, May 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss is a book with adventure,excitement, and mystery! It captures the mind in a world where there is war, tyranny, and peace. In Triss the Abbey of Redwall plays a large part in this book and so does Salamandastron. This book is the newest editon to the Redwall series. Triss is a well written and great book that all should read.
In the latest Redwall series edition, called Triss, There are a few main characters. The first and most important is Triss. Triss is a strog-willed slave who is kept at a place called Riftgard. She is a young squirl who has a heroic destiny.
The second main character is called Sagax. He is the son of a Badger lord who is the king of Salamandastron. Him and two others, a Hare and an Otter. All three make a journey towards Redwall.
There are many other characters in the book but those are the main ones. The book Triss has many good qualities. It is a page turner that will really suprise you. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read any of the books or is starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triss is a great book, April 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss is a great novel it has adventure, puzzles and excitement. It is the 15th novel by Brian Jacques. The book has a few main characters. Triss a squirrel maid, Welfo a hedge hog, Shogg an old otter, Sagax a badger, Scarum a hare, and Krova another otter. There are also some evil characters such as Kurda the evil daughter of king Aragnu.
Triss, Welfo, and Shogg are enslaved by the evil Aragnu and forced to work all day with little food. Triss and her friends decide to make an escape boat by taking materials from under their noses. They get caught by one of the guards and are sentenced to be sword practice for Kurda. The day before there execution they are kept in and cage in the water. Luckily one of their friends smuggles in a chisel so they could make their escape. They eventually make there escape and take control of the royal vessel, and head off to sea.
Mean while Sagax and Scarum are busily packing for the adventure. Salamandastron hasn't seen as much fighting as it used to so they go off on a search for adventure. Their plan is to go off to sea with their friend Krova whom has a boat called the stop dog.
At Redwall Abby they are having their annual feast when two dibbuns (four-ten year olds) escape out the gate and into moss flower wood. They get scared and sprint through the forest, not knowing where they are stumble on Brockhall. They open the door and released one of the deadliest creature in all of Mossflower.
This is a great book. It refers to the other Redwall books so it would help a lot if you read the others before hand. Another interesting thing about this book is the different dialects like mole talk, dibbun talk, ferret talk, and many more. I loved reading this book and I hope you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is something I know you'll enjoy!, March 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
I always loved Redwall books and have read pretty much of them, so I've got to admit that they are getting a tiny bit boring for me. I was thinking of putting this book for four stars since this book was a little bit like "Martin the Warrior" (which is about slaves who escape an island ruled by vermin and promises to return to free the others), but the action, excitment, humor, and poems made me think, "Oh well, I loved this book anyway!"
Here's the Story:
Triss is a young brave squirrel who is enslaved with many other slaves on the island of Riftgard, which is ruled by the evil King Agarnu and his son and daughter Prince Bladd and the sadistic Princess Kurda. Triss and her otter and hedgehog friend Shogg and Welfo are determined to leave the terrible island and to return to free the other wretched slaves...and to slay the Pure Ferrets to end the evil for once and for all!
Meanwhile, two Dibbuns from Redwall Abbey have wandered off and gone missing in the Mossflower Woods. As they are found about a day later during a storm by Skipper of Otters and Log-a-Log the Chieftain of Shrews, the Dibbuns tell the elders that they had found an oak tree which provided them shelter. The oak tree had a cunningly hidden door, they said and the older Abbey creatures realize that the babies had found the mysterious Brockhall! They decide to find the place. (here's where most of the poems, songs, and RIDDLES comes out!) But some evil beast (or beasts?) are living there and they are determined to defend their home...
At the great moutain of Salamandastron, the stronghold of badgers and hares, the young badger Sagax and his gluttonous hare friend Scarum have runaway from endless chores and from the stern paw of their parents. Meeting their otter friend Kroova, they both sail out into the sea, planning to go to Redwall where food and safety was. (Scarum is pretty happy about the food!)

All paths and purposes of the three main runaways are different, but of course, they all cross at the famous Redwall Abbey!
I thought that this book had all that a book needed: Excitement, suspense, humor, and lots of action! All 402 pages of it would keep you intrigued, although around the middle part it gets a bit slow. I thought that bantering with the Freebooters and Princess Kurda was in a way kind of funny! Scarum is, like all hares, totally exasperating and has that usual 'British accent, wot wot?' I'm sure anyone would enjoy reading "Triss"! My other favorite Redwall books I recommend are:
"Lord Brocktree"
"Taggerung"
"Martin the Warrior"
Of course, other Redwall books are cool too, but these are my favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, adventure filled book, Dec 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Ah, another tale from Redwall. I'm a huge fan, have been for a while, but it seems that almost all of them are the same - with quests, feasts, an Abbey riddle, an evil and cunning enemy (or two), but each book has it's own special flair. Triss is no exception, it is truly a good book, although if you've read the other 14 Redwall books, it feels as if you're almost reading the same thing again. Which isn't nessecarily a bad thing.
Triss is three stories that all come together, quite expertly, in the end. It begins in the northern stronghold of Riftguard, where the ferret King Agarnu and his two children, Kurda and Bladd rule. They are preparing to set out on a journey to find the remains of Agarnu's father, Sarengo, when three slaves escape...
Back in Salamandastron, a young badger, Sagax and a young hare, Scarum, set out on the adventure of their lives. They meet up with Kroova and an old stolen ship and set sail for the seas...
And at Redwall, there's the mystery of Brockhall and a strange, malevolent presence in Mossflower Woods to be dealt with...
What I absospiffinglutely love about this book is the abundance of strong FEMALE characters. The past books have had a lack of both female goodbeasts and especially female villians (there was only one female archvillian in the entire series, and that was Tsarmina in Mossflower, unless you count Silth in Marlfox, but I really think it was Mokkan who was the worst bad guy). Oh, but Triss solves all of this, as the main character (Triss) and the main VILLIAN (Kurda) are both females! And lots of other female vermin too, Tazzin, Sesstra, Riggan...simply teeming with them.
The characters are also quite funny, too. Scarum is like every other token hare you read about in the books, jolly, with a huge appetite. But one of the most amusing characters is Kurda's woefully stupid brother, Bladd.
Well, the book is a good one, full of excitement, adventure, and tragedy. It reads just like the past 14, but in my opinion it's better than Taggerung. Read it, or get it for your kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Redwall Book Sure to be a Hit, Dec 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss, the 15th book in the amazing Redwall series is a sure hit for all ages! Once again Jacques has created a whole score of new and interesting characters for the story, as well as new and terrifying enemies for the creatures of Redwall Abbey. His amazing descriptions of beasts will make your heart pound with fear or excitement, and the good characters are lovable enough to make you cry.
The book starts with the lives of Triss, Shogg, and Welfo, three young slaves working at Riftgard, an island inhabited by searats and ruled by a family of Pure White Ferrets. They hatch a daring plan to escape, and flee the island forever. As they sail away, Triss promises one day to return and free all the slaves.
At the same time a young badger Sagax and his friend the hare Scarum leave Salamandastron with the otter Kroova looking for adventure.
It gets even more exciting when Kurda the ferret princess, asks for the Freebooters (a scurvy crew of searats) for help. They set sail to capture and kill the runaway slaves.
Meanwhile deep in Mossflower, two Dibbuns come across the most ancient Badger Lord hall... Brockhall. The plot twists and turns, and with the help of other good creatures the characters come together for an epic and final battle for Redwall and for freedom from the vermin forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book; one of the best books in the Redwall series, Dec 13 2002
By 
Myra Schjelderup "Ignolopi" (Salt Lake City, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
I liked this book, and really think it should be rated more then four stars, but still less then five.
This book is about a slave squirrelmaid, Triss, who escapes her slavery (at Riftgard) with two other slaves, Shogg, the otter, and a molemaid, Welfo. They are just trying to escape fully so that someday they can go back and free all the rest of the slaves.
And then, at Salamandastron, the badger lord's son, Sagax, a warrior rabbit's son, Scarum, and a seaotter, Kroova, want to go on an adventure. They decide to try and find Redwall Abbey.
At Redwall Abbey, two Dibbuns (babies) 'escape' and go into the forest, and discover the long lost Brockhall ( the most ancient hall of the badger lords). Unfortunately, it is inhabited by three snakes (adders).
Meanwhile, the princess ferret, Kurda, wants to go find the escaped slaves who stole her fathers ship. Her brother, Bladd, goes with her (though he doesn't want to), with a bunch of Ratguards, as well as a shipfull of Freebooters, led by a silver fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Triss: A Novel of Redwall
Triss: A Novel of Redwall by Brian Jacques (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 26 2003)
CDN$ 8.99
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews