Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly awesome adventure!
Do you like serpents? How about giant serpents? Or maybe your taste is for pure white ferrets who are master swordsmaids? Or maybe squirrel master swordsmaids, giant battles, and huge sea voyages? It's all in this book.

In this book there are three slaves called Triss, Shogg and Welfo who escape in a boat. They run into a peaceful island called Peace Island...
Published on June 23 2006 by A grade 4 student

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Triss? It could have been more.
Triss was a very interesting novel only more and more in Jacques's books the entire welcome all trust all themes tend to flood the senses with a gush of ingratitude... Everyone must constantly worry about Redwall and protect it because of this thought process. The book is alright but it's nothing particularly remarkable as it could have or might have been. It is littered...
Published on May 30 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A truly awesome adventure!, June 23 2006
By 
A grade 4 student (First Avenue P.S., Ottawa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triss (Audio Cassette)
Do you like serpents? How about giant serpents? Or maybe your taste is for pure white ferrets who are master swordsmaids? Or maybe squirrel master swordsmaids, giant battles, and huge sea voyages? It's all in this book.

In this book there are three slaves called Triss, Shogg and Welfo who escape in a boat. They run into a peaceful island called Peace Island. There they run into a tribe of peaceful hedgehogs. When they leave the island they do not know about something very important . . . PIRATES!!! Meanwhile in Salmandastron, the badger lord's son, Sagaxus, was going on a long trip with his best friend Bescarum the hare. Once they had met Kroova Wave Dog (the sea otter) they were sailing away in the "Stopdog". At Redwall, the dibbuns (little ones) were out picking whortleberries when two of the dibbuns got lost, and found a hollow tree stump. It had a door with these markings on it B OK AL. Inside they found something gold with weird symbols on it, and something terrible . . . Giant snakes!!! Do the two slaves escape the pirates? Do the Salmandastronians return home safely? Do the Redwallers return with their lives? Read to find out.

I think this book is truly awesome and I recommend this book for all kids who love adventure. You may visit Redwall any time you like by reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WOT WOT! and all that jazz, March 18 2004
This review is from: Triss: A Novel of Redwall (Mass Market Paperback)
Evil. Princess Kurda is a one of the most evil known. She has grown tired of using vegetables to practice her sword fighting on. Now she wants to use the slaves that are rebellious to practice her sword fighting moves.
Triss is the last book in the Redwall series by Brian Jacques. It is the 16th book in that series. The characters in this book are all different. The villains are cruel and pitiless and the heroes are brave and courageous. This book has all kinds of different things in it. It has sword fighting, friends, enemies, attacks, captures and much more. The adventures in this series and book are interesting and they show all of the characters points of view in a story. They all have their own personalities. This makes the story a lot more enjoyable to read.
All of the characters in the Redwall Series are animals. My favorite animal out of all of the characters is the hare. They always say "Wot wot!" and "flipin" and "blinkin." The hares always make me laugh because they eat enormous amounts of food and then say it was a "little morsel of scoff". These books are hilarious and exciting at the same time. Brian Jacques is one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Jacques' Best!, Jan. 31 2004
By 
This review is from: Triss: A Novel of Redwall (Mass Market Paperback)
What more can I say about this wonderful novel? It's got an intriging plot, has wonderfully colorful characters (including Triss and Princess Kurda) who are fully developed unlike some other novels whose dry, dull descriptions leave you wishing you had never opened it. I simply love this book and would also recommend "Les Miserables" for any of the Redwall fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ! Brian Jacques does it again, Dec 8 2003
By 
Hazel M. Flack "H. Flack" (Middletown Pa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Brian Jacques has to be one of my favorite authors for good reason. This is another Fabulous book in the redwall series it displays all of his usual charm and witty songs. I love the new Hare Character and all of the wonderful new additions to redwall abbey. I cant wait to read his next book. I was totally impresssed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Power!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Oct. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Besides 'Mariel of Redwall,' 'Triss' is another book that shows just how brave and strong girls can be. Triss, the main character, is a slave on the island of Riftgard, though bending under the whip of the slavemasters and the evil Princess Kurda,plans a daring esacpe with her friends, the otter Shogg and hedgehog Welfo. I can relate to Triss well; though she's set on avenging her friends, she's not focused on it the whole time. Meanwhile, in Salmandastron, three other friends, Sagax the badger, Scarum the hare, and Kroova the otter, set out from their home for a very different reason; they're bored stiff at home! And in Mossflower Wood, two Dibbuns, Ruggum and Bikkle, discover the legendary Brockhall, home of the Badger Lords. Brian Jacques wrote this book beautifully, and I like how most of the main characters are female. You don't see alot of us as main characters like that, at least, I don't think so. If I could choose five charcters that are my favorite, I'd put Triss, Sagax, Shogg, Scarum, and Grubbage, only because he can't hear half of what Plugg, a Freebooter captain, says. This my favortie book in the Redwall series; when Triss fights Kurda with Martian's sword is my favorite part, and I can't wait to read Brian Jacques latest novel. They are books that are full of courage, fun and imagination. Good thing they got published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Faded Glory, Sept. 29 2003
By 
Andrea H. (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triss: A Novel of Redwall (Mass Market Paperback)
Brian Jacques' novel Triss, the fifteenth book in the Redwall series, is a perfect example of a popular author beating a dead horse. In a word, Redwall has lost its novelty and sparkle, and the author would best abandon it for his other projects, including Castaways of the Flying Dutchman.
I bought Triss because (unlike many of the recent Redwall books) the plot actually sounded interesting. Unfortunately, though Jacques can still set a story quite well, he can no longer take advantage of his own plots. The book was highly predictable, to offset which Jacques filled it with reversals of fate and twists and turns that did not really alleviate its predictability. Similarly, the characters are merely caricatures of Jacques' more memorable creations, and the settings are no longer settings but set-pieces. For instance, Brockhall plays a role in this book, but in an entirely boring way. Also, Jacques now feels compelled to insert a song in virtually every chapter, as well as to repeat descriptions of food verbatim. He also uses the same jokes over and over. That said, there were some genuine laugh-out-loud moments, and I was glad to see that female characters are now evenly placed among warriors and villains, instead of just abbey-dwellers.
I was at one point a diehard Redwall fan, and the first seven books in the series are still some of the best books I own. However, the fire has gone out of Jacques' writing; I do not think any of his Redwall books will ever stir me as much as Mossflower, Salamandastron, or my other favorites did and still do. So save seven bucks and go reread them, or better yet, something else. However, all this being said, I will still probably read the next book in the series, 'Loamhedge,' because I can't quite give up the ghost myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Triss? It could have been more., May 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss was a very interesting novel only more and more in Jacques's books the entire welcome all trust all themes tend to flood the senses with a gush of ingratitude... Everyone must constantly worry about Redwall and protect it because of this thought process. The book is alright but it's nothing particularly remarkable as it could have or might have been. It is littered with exagerated themes and once gain a good against evil battle somewhere up north. A female warrior carries Martin's sword and many follow it to simple dooms which always seem to be the most painful at their typicalness. You'll want to read it of course because it's Brian Jacques, so hey! go ahead, it's not that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Triss Book Review, May 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss is a book with adventure,excitement, and mystery! It captures the mind in a world where there is war, tyranny, and peace. In Triss the Abbey of Redwall plays a large part in this book and so does Salamandastron. This book is the newest editon to the Redwall series. Triss is a well written and great book that all should read.
In the latest Redwall series edition, called Triss, There are a few main characters. The first and most important is Triss. Triss is a strog-willed slave who is kept at a place called Riftgard. She is a young squirl who has a heroic destiny.
The second main character is called Sagax. He is the son of a Badger lord who is the king of Salamandastron. Him and two others, a Hare and an Otter. All three make a journey towards Redwall.
There are many other characters in the book but those are the main ones. The book Triss has many good qualities. It is a page turner that will really suprise you. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read any of the books or is starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triss, April 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
only 2 words 2 describe this book 4 u:
ABSOBALLYLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (wot wot)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triss is a great book, April 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Triss (Hardcover)
Triss is a great novel it has adventure, puzzles and excitement. It is the 15th novel by Brian Jacques. The book has a few main characters. Triss a squirrel maid, Welfo a hedge hog, Shogg an old otter, Sagax a badger, Scarum a hare, and Krova another otter. There are also some evil characters such as Kurda the evil daughter of king Aragnu.
Triss, Welfo, and Shogg are enslaved by the evil Aragnu and forced to work all day with little food. Triss and her friends decide to make an escape boat by taking materials from under their noses. They get caught by one of the guards and are sentenced to be sword practice for Kurda. The day before there execution they are kept in and cage in the water. Luckily one of their friends smuggles in a chisel so they could make their escape. They eventually make there escape and take control of the royal vessel, and head off to sea.
Mean while Sagax and Scarum are busily packing for the adventure. Salamandastron hasn't seen as much fighting as it used to so they go off on a search for adventure. Their plan is to go off to sea with their friend Krova whom has a boat called the stop dog.
At Redwall Abby they are having their annual feast when two dibbuns (four-ten year olds) escape out the gate and into moss flower wood. They get scared and sprint through the forest, not knowing where they are stumble on Brockhall. They open the door and released one of the deadliest creature in all of Mossflower.
This is a great book. It refers to the other Redwall books so it would help a lot if you read the others before hand. Another interesting thing about this book is the different dialects like mole talk, dibbun talk, ferret talk, and many more. I loved reading this book and I hope you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0d19618)

This product

Triss: A Novel of Redwall
Triss: A Novel of Redwall by Brian Jacques (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 26 2003)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews