Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the best Sookie yet
With her vampire ex-boyfriend heading out of town, Sookie Stackhouse looks forward to more peaceful (and lonely) times in small-town Louisianna. But when her brother starts dating a shape-shifter and hunky vampire Sheriff, Eric loses his memory and Sookie finds him running naked near her house, she realizes that the times will be anything but peaceful. With his memory...
Published on July 5 2004 by booksforabuck

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...
I am one of the world's largest vampire fans. There isn't a whole lot of vampire films (even bad ones) or books I haven't read. As being from the south, I really enjoyed this series. The first two books were beyond excellent. I found myself as a mother of two staying up to all hours of the night to finish them, but with these last two books I have been slightly...
Published on July 9 2004 by anprdp


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., July 9 2004
By 
anprdp "anprdp" (Huntsville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
I am one of the world's largest vampire fans. There isn't a whole lot of vampire films (even bad ones) or books I haven't read. As being from the south, I really enjoyed this series. The first two books were beyond excellent. I found myself as a mother of two staying up to all hours of the night to finish them, but with these last two books I have been slightly disappointed in how the book has been led to almost make Bill non-existant. I found him the strongest lead man in the first two books and now I am finding myself missing him. Although Eric is very appealing, I want Bill back!! I like the monogomy in the first two books and I find Sookie being kinda handed around in the last two. All in all, the book has some high points to its appeal. I just miss my vamp man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the best Sookie yet, July 5 2004
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
With her vampire ex-boyfriend heading out of town, Sookie Stackhouse looks forward to more peaceful (and lonely) times in small-town Louisianna. But when her brother starts dating a shape-shifter and hunky vampire Sheriff, Eric loses his memory and Sookie finds him running naked near her house, she realizes that the times will be anything but peaceful. With his memory intact, Eric was a jerk but he's sort of sweet without it--and Sookie has a hard time fighting the attraction. Still, she's made a new year's resolution--no more getting beat up. And if she hangs with Eric and the other vampires, she knows she's going to get hurt.
When her brother turns up missing, though, Sookie realizes that she can't just lay low. And with witches trying to take over nearby Shreveport (where Eric is from), it doesn't take long before she's in the middle of the fight of her life. There is one bit of good news. Despite a great figure and good looks, Sookie's mind-reading always scared away the normal males. But as she meets shifters, witches, vampires, and even a fairy, there are plenty of non-human and half-human males who find Sookie just what they are looking for--assuming she can survive long enough to create a relationship.
Author Charlaine Harris mixes up humor, suspense, magic, and a really nice character in Sookie Stackhouse for an especially strong entry into her Southern Vampire series. In a world where amoral vampires and amoral humans wage war for control, Sookie provides an ethical perspective and a bit of balance. Her concern for her missing brother and her ambivalent feelings toward Eric increase reader empathy with Sookie and our stakes in the outcome.
I've enjoyed each of the Southern Vampire novels but DEAD TO THE WORLD may just be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give the poor girl a break!, July 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
I was going to hold out till this book out came in paperback, so all four in the series would match. My resolution lasted about a month, and I devoured the book yesterday. I've really enjoyed this series, but it's just getting depressing. So my main impression I had as I closed the book was "give poor Sookie a break!"
The first two books were a lot of fun. But the third one made me cry at the end, with the heartbreak that Sookie endures. When I started reading this one, I had hopes, but by the end of the book I was sad again. I don't want to feel sad when I spend $20 on a book and it compells me enough to read it in the space of one day. I enjoy spending time with Sookie in Bon Temps, and the characters that I feel I have grown to know very well in the past four volumes.
But I just want something *good* to happen to Sookie. I want her to find love that will last. (And I had to laugh at the reviewer who called her a "bed-hopping nympho." I didn't realize that sleeping with two guys in 26 years made you a nympho!!) Her self-worth has taken a beating her whole life, I would for once like to see her find someone who respects her and wants her.
Which means, of course, I'll be lining up to get book five, whenever that may be. I just hope it doesn't make me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'd prefer the road less traveled., June 29 2004
By 
N. Nutt "warthoglette" (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
Having devoured the first three books in this series in as many weeks, I was delighted to get my copy of 'Dead to the World' and while the story took you through mysteries and adventures as per Charlaine Harris' usual excellant story-telling, the plot was thin. And Sookie, the main character, after having been initiated into the ranks of womanhood by her vampire boyfriend, Bill, seems to be taking the same path as another literary vampire-befriending female. I've stopped reading that series of books and I'm afraid I'll stop reading this series of books for the same reason if they continue in this vein. (yes, I did it on purpose.) I read books to entertain myself and bed-hopping nymphos aren't anything that trip my trigger, I much prefer a well thought out and written plot line.
There's not much character development in this book, Sookie, maybe due to her brother being missing, seems even more passive in this book. Some new characters are introduced but only peripherally. Eric's character was turned upside down due to the requirements of the plot and that didn't even ring true, there wasn't a coherence to it, it was uneven in the portrayal. The other familiar characters are there and go through the motions through to the big fight scene near the end of the book but it all lacked 'flavor'. It was an OK read but not delightful as the previous ones had been.
I'm still looking forward to the next book in the series but not as much as I had been previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still a great series, June 27 2004
By 
M. Cookson (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
I've liked all the books in the series so far, and I think this book is even better than the previous book. The series centers around Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress who lives in a small town where everyone knows what she can do, even if no one really wants to think about it that much. In this book, Sookie's ex-boyfriend, a vampire named Bill, has left for Peru. This doesn't mean that Sookie's life is quiet, however. She finds Eric running along a road. He was apparently cursed by a witch and now has amnesia. Sookie has to keep him safe from the witches while she and his people try to get his memory back. Unfortunately, the witches also have shapeshifters in their ranks, so Sookie, the vampires, and the werewolves have to work together if everyone is to survive.
Since I've never really liked Bill, I was glad that he was gone for most of this book. Although I missed the old Eric, I loved the relationship that Sookie had with Eric in this book. It was really very sweet, and I even cried a little at the end (not telling you why, though - you'll have to read the book to find out). I love the author's sense of humor, even though there didn't seem to be as many opportunities for it in this book. The book may not have ended with a great big plot cliffhanger, aside from a few things, but it did end in a fairly large character cliffhanger. I can't wait to find out how Sookie deals with her relationships with all the various people in this book. I can't really say much about that without giving parts of the book away, but, if you liked the previous books, this book is a must read. If you haven't read the previous books, there are several recap passages in this book. However, you should probably read the other books first, if you want to fully enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, but the plot hasn't progressed much..., June 17 2004
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
I love Sookie Stackhouse, and if you're reading this review, you probably adore her, too. She's a good person, just discovering the joys of... well, you know what. Unfortunately, as much as I enjoyed Eric's amnesia and Sookie's importance to Eric during this period of time, I agree with the person who commented that she hopes Ms. Harris doesn't go down the nympho-porn path Laurell Hamilton did in her books. Trust me, Ms. Harris (and Ms. Hamilton, if you're reading this), sex in books is great, but sex cannot take the place of plot. Do I want to see Sookie hook up in a more permanent (and at least quasi-monogamous) fashion with Eric? Heck, yeah! But I prefer storyline with a little romance rather than romance with a little storyline. Don't get me wrong - this story is surprising, the plot moves fast with many twists, with lots of action. However, this is the type of book that fits between the novels that show "real" character development or storyline advancement. I'm hoping this book is a segway into something even more spectacular than the other incredible books in this series. Keep up the good work, Ms. Harris, you write beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sookie meets a gentler, kinder Eric, among other things...., June 5 2004
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
This fourth entry in the Sookie Stackhouse and vampire Bill series maintains its quality and adds to the lore of this new world where magic and magical beings meet the 'real' world.
Similar to other books of its genre (mystery meets horror meets romance), our heroine Sookie, a self-declared "uneducated but not unintelligent" bar maid in a small town in the south, has her hands full as usual.
First, her ex-boyfriend vampire Bill takes off for Peru for some research. Then she finds his boss, Eric Northman, running naked and amnesiac down the road to her home. Turns out he's been cursed by a coven that's moved into his territory, planning to take over. Then her brother disappears, possibly kidnapped by those same nasty witches.
After accepting guardianship of Eric (he's not safe at home without his memory), and leaving the coven business to the vampire community, she decides takes matters into her own hands when the local cops don't take her brother's disappearance very serious.
All this leads to the werewolf pack in Eric's territory, another strange pack in another even more remote patch in her own home territory, and eventually a major confrontation of the principals. Along the way, Sookie indulges in a little pillow action with Eric, receives strange and unexpected proposals, and manages to keep her New Year's Resolution, "not to get beat up."
A fun, fast-paced romp. If you like the others, you should like this one. Harris is definitely a better entry in this evolving genre. Some day I'll check out her most conventional mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How Does Something So Good Keep Getting Better?, June 4 2004
By 
Susan Shedd (South Woodbury, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
Wish I could give this one SIX stars -- I can't believe the new and fascinating vistas Harris has opened up in the supernatural arena, and the characters get deeper and more intriguing with each outing.
I rather dreaded the amnesia mentioned in the previews -- such a stale old device, yes? Not this time! Eric's amnesia has the effect of opening a door to a new country for Sookie, and may well have a more lasting impact on her than on him. I was delighted to see Alcide again, and the more Sam, the better! But what happens to Jason...oh, this is TRULY fascinating! Now I'm on pins and needles for the next book.
Harris deserves an extra star just for being able to write about sex in genuinely erotic, but not sick-making , detail -- and for her gentle mockery of the "throbbing manhood" genre at the same time.
And Sookie manages to cling to her resolution to take better care of herself, despite dangerous circumstances over which she has no control. When this series opened, she was a sad and sorry critter, beaten down by a lifetime of being viewed as weird or "wanting in the head." Now that she has spent time viewed as a person with power by others who are very powerful, she's showing real growth as she comes into her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Wait for the Paperback!, May 21 2004
By 
Suzanne (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
Other reviewers have done an excellent job summarizing the plot and style of "Dead to the World." I'd like to specifically recommend Charlaine Harris's Southern Vampire series to readers who don't consider themselves fans of vampire or other supernatural genre novels. Books with these plot and character devices had never appealed to me, and I discovered the Southern Vampire series by accident -- much to my surprise and delight!
After reading recommendations from Sookie fans for the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton, I read several of the books only to be disappointed. I guess Sookie had spoiled me.
I've thought about why I'm so passionate about the Sookie Stackhouse series compared to similar works, and I've narrowed it down to two differences.
First, though it's a cliche, all of the characters in this series are multidimensional and pleasantly confound archetypes. For example, Sookie is neither a passive, timorous "clinging vine," nor is she a warrior feminist. Like most real people, her personality contains elements of both, as well as several stops in between. Likewise, Eric possesses the swagger and arrogance to complement his role as a "vampire on the rise" as well as characteristics that belie his bravado.
Second, a key element of the series is the juxtaposition of everyday routines and realities with the supernatural. Sookie must work at a less-than-glamorous job and the vampires face all the difficulties besetting small business owners. These details lend a unique voice to the novels as well as a satirical touch that boosts their sophistication considerably above most other works in the romance/mystery/horror genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun time with Sookie, May 17 2004
By 
S. Davis "sdvs" (MO, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed all of the Southern Vampire books, but this one is my favorite. Eric is one of my favorite characters, and amnesia or not, he's still an interesting guy. Some reviewers have complained that Bill is notably absent in this book, but he and Sookie didn't exactly end their relationship on a positive note, and readers likely would have felt cheated is suddenly the two of them were happily together again.
That said, I think this book is a set-up for things to come. I knew Eric was going to get a book eventually, and this book did that nicely while not answering any questions about him. His mysterious nature is still in place, but Harris sets up a potentially deeper (and not necessarily sexual) relationship between Sookie and Eric, especially with his ability to sense her emotions. This book softened Eric up a bit and gave the readers a chance to see that maybe there's something deeper to him than what we have seen thus far. We get to see him as a "person" separate from Bill.
The other thing I thought this book did well was show Sookie as a strong woman who doesn't necessarily need Bill (though he's nice to have around). I expect big things from Alcide and I suspect we'll see Calvin Norris again and Sam will become more important in books to come.
I'm also looking forward to seeing Jason in the future. Thus far, he has been a fairly flat and somewhat unlikable character, but the events of this book have the potential to make him a stronger and more influential character in future books.
There's a lot going on in this book, maybe too much for some people, and the book is fairly short for my tastes. However, this is a good read and a primer of greater things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel
Dead to the World: A Sookie Stackhouse Novel by Charlaine Harris (Hardcover - May 3 2004)
CDN$ 29.00 CDN$ 18.18
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews