Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful end to the series
It is unfortunate that Ellis Peters has died. I do not know if this book was meant to be the final chapter in the Cadfael series, but it brings the series to an appropriate ending. Brother Cadfael's search for his son, the end of much of the series political strife, and Cadfael's acceptance and embracing of his clerical life tie up many of the series' themes.
A...
Published on Dec 3 2002 by James McCarty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Left me longing for more
I was disappointed with this book. I am a big Ellis Peters fan and I hate that this is her final book. I was delighted at the reappearance of the character of Olivier de Bretagne; he was always one of my favorites. However, this book has a much darker tone than the earlier ones, and left me wishing for one more "Brother Cadfael", one a little more...
Published on March 29 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful end to the series, Dec 3 2002
By 
James McCarty (Hilliard, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is unfortunate that Ellis Peters has died. I do not know if this book was meant to be the final chapter in the Cadfael series, but it brings the series to an appropriate ending. Brother Cadfael's search for his son, the end of much of the series political strife, and Cadfael's acceptance and embracing of his clerical life tie up many of the series' themes.
A terrific series that transcends usual mystery genre's conventions and limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A double delight: entertaining and edifying, Aug. 3 2002
By 
PATRICK OHANNIGAN (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
Ellis Peters (Edith Pargeter) came to my attention early in the Brother Cadfael series, and has seldom been a disappointment. This novel has an interesting, historically sound plot, a keen grasp of human nature, and great characterization throughout.

More than one reviewer has marveled at the virtuousness of her medieval characters, but when Peters paints a portrait of virtue, it is never cheap, sentimental, or caricatured. In a 21st-century culture trying to light the dead wood of honor and chivalry with the fickle tinder of cynicism, warrior monks like Brother Cadfael were and are a welcome breath of fresh air. Those reviewers who dismiss Cadfael as too saintly have let his faithfulness to Benedictine rule and Catholic orthodoxy blind them to his literary kinship with the good-but-not-to-be-messed-with likes of Huckleberry Finn and Phillip Marlowe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Conclusion, May 31 2002
By 
John D. Costanzo "johndc" (Bensalem, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading Ellis Peters' 20th and last Cadfael story I can't help but feel a little sad knowing that there will be no more coming. The Cadfael novels were all finely written and satisfying as mysteries and historical novels. In this last installment, there is a murder mystery, but Cadfael ends up solving much more than a crime. In fact, the crime solving aspect is a small part of this story that mostly surrounds the relationships between a father and an estranged son. I think most fans will agree that it isn't one of the best three or four, but it was very good, and is a fitting conclusion to the Cadfael story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn, nice period detail, Sept. 4 2001
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
The twentieth and final book in the popular series, Brother Cadfael's Penance finds the title character drawn out of his home at the Benedictine Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul in a quest to free a young man taken prisoner in a war between the Empress Maud and her cousin, Stephen. Betrayal at the hands of Robert, one of the Empress's most trusted soldiers has landed Olivier de Bretagne in prison, where he seems destined to rot. But word of his fate reaches Brother Cadfael, who knows he must leave the Abbey and come to the aid of the young man-who is the monk's only child, sired before his vows during the time he fought in the Crusades. He must also keep Olivier's impulsive brother-in-law safe, and solve the murder of a rogue lord who supported Robert. A fascinating story on many levels, Brother Cadfael's Penance combines the best of adventure stories, mysteries, and historical fiction into one seamless, well-realized tale. Everything about the story-especially character, setting, and historical detail-rings true. Peters' knowledge of Middle Ages customs, language, and beliefs, honed through years of writing, is extensive and makes the era come alive. Cadfael, now the subject of a twentieth story, feels as familiar as family. Torn between his vows and his duty as a father, Cadfael places his son first when he decides to travel to Coventry to seek help and information. But such a decision comes at a cost to Cadfael's peace of mind. Here is where Peters' familiarity with her character becomes noticeable. Cadfael's faith is tested, as is his devotion to the way of life he has chosen. Peters makes his internal struggles seem genuine, the natural outcome of having his world turned upside down; yet he emerges from his travails stronger in both spirit and character. The secondary characters, such as Olivier, Yves, and Robert, are also fleshed out and realistic. The conflict in the story is based on real history, yet the fictional aspects of the story blend very well with the historical facts. Sometimes the plot becomes too thick for its own good, and there are times when there seem to be more characters than necessary. But the story progresses well, and is never boring. Interestingly, Cadfael's search for his son takes precedence over the mystery, which seems almost an afterthought. (It does tie in with the main plot, though). The identity and motive of the murderer is well-hidden until the revelatory moment, and ultimately the story is left with a few plot threads hanging. It is possible that Peters intended to write another book but died before it was realized. The resolution of the main plot thread, though, is very satisfactory and allows the story to end on a positive note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a splendid ending to Cadfael's legacy!, Jan. 26 2001
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
This final installment of the mysteries of Brother Cadfael finds Ellis Peters in outstanding form- what prose this Englishwoman conjures! Of all the Cadfael mysteries, this is one of the finest! The writing is typically adroit - wise, full and redeeming, and the passages found toward the last third of the book, describing the interior heart of Brother Cadfael towards Olivier, his 'unknown' son, are as beautifully trenchant as anything one will find in popular prose writing. In this series of books, the mysteries themselves are always well-placed and fascinating, authentic and without tricks, but again, it is the superlative writing of Ellis Peters, the warmth of the language and the architecture of its comeliness, that captivates; indeed, she has permanently raised the genre of mystery novel to a new plateau of genuine literary interest. P.D. James, eat your heart out! All 20 Cadfael mysteries highly recommended - an addiction to treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Peters we will miss you!, Dec 20 2000
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
BUT! Now Brother Cadfael belongs to history, and the readers who love him so.
Start at the beginning and READ THIS SERIES! Miss Peters had an unparalleled gift for conjuring the most beautiful images with her words. I mean, how many people can write about the grim and gritty middle ages and almost make you want to live there? When Cadfael digs in his garden and breathes in the scent of his herbs, you are there, my friend.
In this volume we again meet Olivier, Cadfael's son. That would make it worth buying alone, but we also get a brilliant story with EP's usual marvelous characters. What a marvelous ending to this stand-out series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent final volume for the Cadfael saga, Aug. 2 2000
By 
J. W. Johnson (Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
Ellis Peters has again delivered an outstanding Brother Cadfael book. This adventure combines all of the elements we have grown to love - a pivotal event in the war between Maud and her cousing Stephen, Cadfael's relationship with his son and Cadfael's relationships within the Abbey. And of course a mystery or two to be solved along the way.
If you're a Brother Cadfael fan, this book is definitely for you. I feel it is one of the best books in the series. Unfortunately, with the death of Ellis Peters, this is the final chronicle of Brother Cadfael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cadfael is set to pay the price!, June 19 2000
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
...it should come as no surprise that BrotherCadfael feels he must pay penance for his, as well. And in this20th--and final--chronicle of Brother Cadfael, Ellis Peters takes us a giant step forward in her characterization of the good Benedictine monk, a man once a member of the Crusades and now wrestling against sin behind the cloth.
In "Brother Cadfael's Penance," Peters permits Cadfael to come face to face with another aspect of his life--a time before his monastic vows. It is 1145 and the great civil war rages on between King Stephen and Empress Maud. However, there is hope. A meeting between the two factions is scheduled for Coventry and Brother Cadfael secures permission from the Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul in Shrewsbury to attend. Known widely for his skills in diplomacy, as well as crime solving abilities, Cadfael, however, wishes to attend for a very personal reason. He is seeking news of a young knight, Olivier de Bretagne. Olivier is Cadfael's son, from his days fighting in the Holy Land as a crusader. His holy vows aside, he feels he must do all within his power to save his son.
Peters, as always, presents Cadfael as more than human--she gives us a man for all seasons, as it were. In addition, she presents the good brother in a realistic but incredibly humane manner. He is a man whom we can love, respect, yes, even
cherish. Peters' ability to draw out these characteristics is perhaps what makes the series so fascinating. Hers is a series not to be missed. One probably should read them in the order they were written; or at least, read earlier ones before this one, as the poignancy of the meeting between father and son is so much more dramatized when the reader has the background to appreciate such a climactic episode. I cannot imagine a reader being disappointed!
(Billyjhobbs@tyler.net)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Left me longing for more, March 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
I was disappointed with this book. I am a big Ellis Peters fan and I hate that this is her final book. I was delighted at the reappearance of the character of Olivier de Bretagne; he was always one of my favorites. However, this book has a much darker tone than the earlier ones, and left me wishing for one more "Brother Cadfael", one a little more light-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but...., May 25 2000
By 
Cynthia L. Mclendon "czaerana" (Memphis, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Cadfael's Penance (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a Brother Cadfael fan but also an Empress Matilda (Maud) fan, so I was very disappointed that Peters chose to portray her as the stereotypical vengeful "dragon lady" queen. Matilda has gotten a bad rap from male historians (particularly those of her own time who found her "unwomanly"), and I was sorry to see Peters perpetuate this view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brother Cadfael's Penance
Brother Cadfael's Penance by Ellis Peters (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 1996)
CDN$ 19.35
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews