Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, entertaining, and names names
I enjoyed this book from start to finish. Carlson is not only witty and entertaining in describing his experiences with contemporary politicians and pundits, he almost always (and, often, surprisingly) names names. I suspect his candor may come back to haunt him at some point in his career, but a large part of his appeal is that he genuinely doesn't seem to care. He...
Published on March 22 2004 by anonymous

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Caught in the Crossfire.
In Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites: My Adventures in Cable News the author provides a pleasurable read even if imparting little in the way of political wisdom.
Carlson's narration spares few details and one has the feeling that his publishers were pleasantly surprised with the richness of his account. His onscreen adventures began, improbably enough, with the...
Published on June 9 2004 by Bernard Chapin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Cutie!, June 21 2004
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
I always knew that Tucker Carlson's dad was a major player in the right wing media/think tank world. So it's easy to see how Tucky's connections helped him. He's such a cutie! I'd love to pinch his ice cream cheeks! (I wonder if Arianna did!) And I'll bet he wouldn't have a comeback to *that*! What I *did not* know, is that Tucker comes from authorial royalty, if you will. His parents penned the classic: Don't Sweat the Small Stuff in Love: by Richard Carlson and Kristine Carlson. Obviously, Tucker hasn't fallen too far from the tree, as he doesn't sweat the small stuff in politics! The beauty of Tucky is that he doesn't question the status quo, or any quo at all. He knows that politics is for fun and profit, to be joked about in the DC/media echo chamber. And now we get a front row seat! Luckily, Tucky lets us in on the fun (not the big joke, that we don't get paid for *our* relative nonsense), that policy - or the personalities and sound bites that "front" real policy - shouldn't be taken seriously. Don't sweat the small stuff! In other words, if you've got enough bread, enjoy the circus! "My Adventures" is non-threatening, fluffy, and self-preserving, as cotton candy (light blue or pink, whatever!)! Tucky stays true to the current political era, where the son rides pop's coattails, but isn't so darn serious! Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Carlson Blasts (liberal) Partisans, (liberal) Parasites, June 18 2004
By 
gsundar (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
In this highly thought-provoking and entertaining autobiography, Carlson, the smug, bow-tie wearing, neo-conservative bibble-di-babbler blasts those commmentators and politicians whom he feels are liberal partisans. He also depicts liberal commentators as parasites, as opposed to conservative commentators, who he desribes as "gods".
The pre-pubescent looking Carlson, who achieved super-star status along with several thousand other novice commentators during the hugely lucrative O.J. Simpson and Lewinsky eras, looks back fondly on his colorful career and recounts the trials and tribulations of being one of the fify-thousand cable tv commentators who enlighten the masses day after day after day after day after day after day with their eternal yakkety-yakkety-yakkety-yakkety-yak.
One of the more memorable events which Tucker brilliantly chronicles here is how upset he was when the OJ Simpson verdict was announced. The gut wrenching agony which he experienced in that moment is presented here for all of America to see what a complex, humane soul is this man. Another equally painful and tragic moment which Tucker writes so forcefully about is when he saw Bill Clinton shake his finger and say he didn't have "...relations with that woman". Tucker relates that historic event and all that followed with such passion and vigor, that the reader is driven to put on his own bow tie and loudly crack wise with juvenile sexual inuendo while grinning widely. The climax, and I won't give anything away here, has to do with how Gore disgraced America by trying to steal the election.
Tucker fought the Viet Cong in the jungles of North VietNam in 1967-68 and lost his arm during hand-to-hand combat during the Tet offensive. Tucker came back to the US and served in the US senatee as Majority Republican leader from 1976 to 1980. He left the Senate to become editor and publisher of the National Review, before becoming Cairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff under Ronald Reagan. This was followed by his current infuential and highly praised position as expert commentator on CNN. He is a great patriot and hero who has served his country well, and his thoughts on what is going on in the world today are invaluable and must be heard by every American, living and dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Caught in the Crossfire., June 9 2004
By 
Bernard Chapin "Ora Et Labora!" (CHICAGO! USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
In Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites: My Adventures in Cable News the author provides a pleasurable read even if imparting little in the way of political wisdom.
Carlson's narration spares few details and one has the feeling that his publishers were pleasantly surprised with the richness of his account. His onscreen adventures began, improbably enough, with the OJ trial in 1995. It seems that the offices of The Weekly Standard were called by Dan Rather's booker in the hopes of finding a reporter to provide a conservative take on the trial, and Carlson, as he was the first one back from lunch, accepted the invitation.
A few years and many appearances later, our author was transformed from a chain-smoking journo to a smoke-free, media celebrity. He even got falsely accused of rape by a stalker fan (which says all one needs to know about his renown). Carlson briefly had his own show with Bill Press called Spin Room and currently he is one of the hosts on Crossfire.
Before relaying more specifics about the book, let me state, as a disclaimer, that I am personally not a fan of this author. Previously, I've always anticipated his views on politics with the same interest that I have in glasses of room temperature skim milk.
Carlson himself cites the concerns that Congressman Tom Delay had about his representing the conservative side before the nation. He believed Carlson "too liberal to represent the Right on the air." Frankly, I agreed with the Congressman before reading a page of the memoir and, after finishing it, I still agree with him. CNN needs guys like Carlson to be rightists in name, as the rest of us would not let Bill Press or Paul Begala dominate us with their informercials.
The author has warm affection for the likes of James Carville and Bill Press. He also seems to lament Senator McCain's loss to President Bush in the 2000 Republican primary, which is rather disturbing as McCain's goal, in regards to the Republican Party, was that we should "burn it down."
It may well be worth buying the book just to read about the catty way in which Carlson deals with Barney Frank after the Congressman berated a producer who tried to adjust his blazer (the horror!): "I made a mental note to devote the rest of my life to subverting Frank's career." He does a noble job.
This is by no means a philosophical work, but it was a great deal of fun to read. As many liberal comedians have painfully illustrated in the past, you do not have to be on the exact same ideological page as your audience in order to entertain. Tucker Carlson was on a mission to lightly and gleefully depict some of the strange politicians, partisans, and parasites that he has known on from cable news and he has succeeded admirably. Now if he could just lose that bowtie. Anyway, if you're short a present or two, you might consider his memoir for just about anyone who likes to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very forgettable book......precious little substance, April 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
I find myself in the distinct minority on this one but much to my surprise I really did not enjoy this one very much at all. Perhaps I am missing something or maybe the humor just went right over my head but for the most part I found this offering to be neither informative nor very humorous. While I have enjoyed some of Tucker Carlsons work on television I found his writing to be rambling and at times tedious. The book contains very little of a substantive nature. I find books like this to be largely a waste of my time. Perhaps this is what cable news has become as well. Continuing coverage of people discussed in this book like Monica Lewinsky, Jerry Falwell, James Traficant and Dick Morris, to name just a few, contribute little to an intellgent discussion of important national issues. Maybe if you are just looking for a chuckle this will fill the bill. Otherwise, there are many other better ways so spend your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, entertaining, and names names, March 22 2004
By 
anonymous (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book from start to finish. Carlson is not only witty and entertaining in describing his experiences with contemporary politicians and pundits, he almost always (and, often, surprisingly) names names. I suspect his candor may come back to haunt him at some point in his career, but a large part of his appeal is that he genuinely doesn't seem to care. He strikes me as a "let the chips fall where they may" kind of person and one who is sometimes bewildered by the oddities of the well-known characters he encounters. (He offers plausible theories for some of the more outrageous patterns of behavior that he's observed.) Regardless of your political views, I predict you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Irreverent & Witty, March 4 2004
By 
Chris Salzer (Gainesville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
If you are a political aficionado, regardless of your partisanship, you owe it to yourself to pick this book up. Yeah, you learn intriguing insider tidbits and some sleaze on politicians, pundits, and the like, but that's just the tip of the proverbial iceberg. For instance, Tucker reveals how his "biggest fan" claimed that he violated her in a restaurant in plain view of others, and in a bloody manner to boot, only to send him an email a month after the supposed incident proclaiming, "You're great."
From a deranged psychiatrist who went coastal on Tucker claiming he was crazy to his hilarious fan feedback that he sent back to demented fans to the ingenious letter that he composed to bail out his college roommate from an econ midterm, you'll laugh out loud almost incessantly. Tucker tells of his drunk radio interview from the infamous Dick Morris suite and of the other Tucker Carlson and how he was mistaken before a speech as this individual(hilarious). His tells of hi interviews with an admittedly drunk Jim Traficant who, by the way, groped the CNN makeup girl.
A few months later, after he was facing 60 years in prison and $2 Million in fines for rackateering, extortion, and bribery, Traficant came on again, this time safely by remote, pleading, "Tell the girls at CNN that if I get convicted, I'm going to be looking for conjugal visits." Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, witty, and laugh out loud funny..., March 1 2004
By 
"ahugh81" (Hattiesburg, MS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
Tucker doesn't waste time into pulling his reader right into the heart of the tumultuous world of cable news, from the ill-fated Spin Room to his seat on the CNN flagship Crossfire. Anyone who watches Crossfire knows Tucker to be the most informed, and without a doubt most reasonable "conservative" voice on television, and his first book doesn't disappoint.
That said, the book is no policy wonk manifesto, as it is concerned mainly with his experiences, anecdotes and cocktail party stories of his (brief) career to date. Each are well chosen, and he uses them to amplify the handful of maxims he has gleamed from his time in the business.
If your looking for a fun and light read on the characters in our nation's capital, Tucker will be glad to serve as your personal guide!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Highly Entertaining Read, Jan. 15 2004
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
Tucker Carlson, who co-hosts CNN's Crossfire has written an enlightening and amusing book on his three years at CNN.
I have watched Crossfire only rarely, but I happened to hear Tucker speak about his experiences at a televised book conference in Miami, Florida not too long ago.
He described, with dry wit and obvious fondness, the colorful characters he interviewed and worked with in the most powerful and weirdest medium there is. I was entranced by his insight and intelligence and immediately ordered his new book, Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites.
This book was one of the most entertaining reads I have had in a long time. His intimate portraits of Al Sharpton, John McCain, James Carville, Ralph Nader, Jesse Jackson, and many others are not to be missed.
Tucker has seen television from the inside and describes it without rancor and without pulling any punches. Both in his speech and in the book, he mentioned expecting to be fired at anytime because of his enthusiasm for airing his views.
I hope it doesn't happen soon, because we need more TV personalities with his sense of humor. To get the flavor of Tucker's humor, see his interview by Kevin Holtsberry in August of this year.
He has written a great book. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing look into politics and media, Jan. 2 2004
By 
Rem Koning (santa monica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
I had to read this book for my government class and I found it very enjoyable. I had watched Crossfire on CNN with Tucker before I read the book and always thought him to be an amusing guy. This book reads just like how he talks on the show, full of wit and bite. The stories he tells will make you laugh and his love for the game of politics is refreshing in a world of people who think politics is some sort of religion with no funny faults. I would recommend this book for any one looking for a short and funny read with a focus on the absurd of politics and media.
PS: His section on the McCain 2000 presedential campaign is brillaint. So if you like McCain it is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bow-tie bonanza., Dec 25 2003
This review is from: Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites (Hardcover)
Although I am a very ardent liberal, I both enjoy and respect Tucker Carlson. He has principles, which is always nice to see in the opposition. That his writing is so damn entertaining only adds to this favorable perception.
The book is a very light read, and I enjoyed every page of it. If you've ever seen him on TV and been entertained, he maintains that level in the book. If you weren't impressed with one of his appearances, try the book anyway. It's very entertaining, and not written with any overt political motive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3649aa4)

This product

Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites
Politicians, Partisans, and Parasites by Tucker Carlson (Hardcover - Sept. 15 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews