Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon is Jericho
Chris Jericho is a fascinating person-- an outstanding performer, confident yet humble in his own shortcomings, an incredible talent. The masterpiece that is this book only adds to his credibility as a genius in his own right (and not just in the wrestling ring). Not only is Chris talented, but he realizes that talent only gets you so far. He is willing to work twice...
Published on May 16 2011 by Clinton K. Bernes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good bio
I never got chance to read Jericho's first book " A Lion's Tale " however the first chance i get i plan too. This book takes place from what i heard right after he put down his pen to the first one. I dont expect a tell all from a star currently employed with the WWE cause well that would be silly however im hoping he puts one out after his career in wrestling comes to...
Published on April 2 2011 by LEE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon is Jericho, May 16 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
Chris Jericho is a fascinating person-- an outstanding performer, confident yet humble in his own shortcomings, an incredible talent. The masterpiece that is this book only adds to his credibility as a genius in his own right (and not just in the wrestling ring). Not only is Chris talented, but he realizes that talent only gets you so far. He is willing to work twice as hard as the guy next to him, and is willing to change and adapt and improve constantly, never satisfied.

The discussions of Chris Benoit in the book are the most emotional in the book. Jericho's perspective on the life of Chris Benoit is worth the price of the book alone. However, there are also great chapters in the developing career of a superstar in both the wrestling ring and the musical stage. This is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jericho Really Is The Best At What He Does, Feb. 5 2014
By 
Brandon Kern - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
I can't really go in depth explaining this book other than just to say PICK IT UP AND READ IT. Jericho is honestly a great writer and when you read it you can't help but laugh and enjoy every moment he describes. Whether your a Jericho fan, a wrestling fan or you use to be or even if you're not I'd still recommend you get this book. The book while yes based in the wrestling world is such an interesting read you won't want to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, Oct. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a great read. Lots of interesting insight into his life, his band, the industry, and his wrestling career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Froot Novel but what else would you expect from the amazing Y2J "Jeff" Jericho!, Aug. 8 2011
By 
J. Small "Coach Jimmy Swizz" (Moncton, NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
Yes, I know his name is Chris but you'll have to read the book to know why he's amazing, he's a "frooty" dude and was at least once referred to as Jeff Jericho and loved it. I love my cup and I love this book. I hope there are more tales to tell Mr. Jericho as you are an amazing writer who has lived a most interesting life. I'd love to see one more run for the Ayatollah through the WWE to show the world how it's done one more time! If you haven't read his first novel, do that first, you'll understand a lot more of his references in this novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good bio, April 2 2011
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
I never got chance to read Jericho's first book " A Lion's Tale " however the first chance i get i plan too. This book takes place from what i heard right after he put down his pen to the first one. I dont expect a tell all from a star currently employed with the WWE cause well that would be silly however im hoping he puts one out after his career in wrestling comes to an end. Bret Hart's book gives way more insight to the backroom hidden politics that none of us get to see every week on any of the tv shows. Jericho's Undisputed does tell some however ie: Seeing Droz seconds before his career ending match, witnessing Shawn Michaels the numerous times he showed up for work stoned out of his mind and most of all his history/relationship that he has with WWE owner and Ceo Vince Mcmahon. If you are thinking before you pick this book up that its strictly about his wrestling career then think again as Jericho also spends a majority of the book talking about his history with his band Fozzy (Alot of interesting tales around those stories so no worries) Overall a book thats not easy to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, March 23 2011
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
This book follows Chris Jericho starting where his last book ended, at his on screen debut for WWF, and ends when Jericho took a break from wrestling after 15 years. A pretty huge feat when you realize wrestling has no off-season. Undisputed chronicles many historical moments and Chris' personal thoughts on every one of them. From his debut, considered one of the greatest debuts in the company's history, becoming the first person to ever hold both the WWF and WCW world championships at the same time, his Hell in a Cell match with Triple H that forever changed the way Hell in a Cell matches are performed, the first ever elimination chamber, to his performances with The Rock in Japan and Hawaii, Chris gives you all the dirty details, mistakes and personal feelings in a book that is nothing short on wrestling information. A major part of this is the focus of Chris Jericho's relationship with Vince McMahon. It's gives great behind-the-scenes insight on how Vince treats his stars. It also gives rise to a new section that was barely touched on in his last book. Chris Jericho's band, Fozzy, or as he was known in it, Moongoose McQueen. A fun little cover band performing in run down little venues, growing to eventually drop the character act of Moongoose and becoming a full fledged original band. The things that I mention here aren't even the best part of the book though. Just like in Jericho's last book, the greatest parts that'll have you laughing out loud are the personal moments where he spends his free time stealing a hat, getting drunk and smashing glasses, declaring himself King of the Diner, playing baseball in a loaded parking lot at Ozzfest, failing to throw a TV out the hotel window and instead playing a prank on a fellow wrestler, and getting arrested for DUI (which was actually a reckless driving charge). It will also give insight on sad moments. How he reacted to his mother's death and his reconciliation with the man who put her in a wheelchair forever, and how the wrestling industry reacted to the death of Eddie Guerrero and Chris Benoit. This book has so much to offer the reader, and demands to be read by anyone and everyone, not just wrestling fans.

There are some problems though. This book didn't quite live up to the greatness of his Chris' last book, A Lion's Tale. He went overkill on pop culture and music industry references, using them sometimes 7 or 8 times a page. The book jumps around. By that I mean it's not in chronological order. Instead of differentiating between when the company was called WWE and WWF, he just kept to calling it WWE the entire way through. Why did he do this? Probably because of the chronological issue. He jumps back and forth between his years in the company, and it would get confusing to read a story about something that happened in WWF days, then an event in WWE days, and then back to events in WWF days. He doesn't even mentions the switching of initials or how Vince or the rest of the company reacted to it. He never once even mentions the initials "WWF" once in the book. He only refers to it at the end of the book in an author's note as "what Vince McMahon's wrestling company was called in 1999". He jumps back and forth between wrestling and fozzy a lot, which wouldn't be a problem if it were in chronological order. It feels messy and unorganized. Something I personally didn't like though was his creation of a new word that he uses frequently throughout the book: Froot. Everything is froot. I think the "ricockulous" word he used in his last book was pretty funny, even his fellow band member's habit of describing everything awesome as "your dad" was funny. Froot was not...

You have to take the good with the bad though. This book has it's flaws but it's absolutely worth buying and reading. If you enjoyed Chris Jericho's first book, you will definitely enjoy this one guaranteed. If you haven't read his first book, I highly suggest you go do so before picking this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, March 21 2011
This review is from: Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps (Hardcover)
This is a great book, Chris has had quite the life. And as a little selfish as he kind of sounds, it is his book. I find it funny how Chris just so happens to be in a lot of big moments in history.. He's there when Hogan tells The Rock he should go to Hollywood full time.. Or seeing Owen Hart a minutebefore he died..

A few typing errors aside, ones that should have been spotted in editing, this is a must read for wrestling fans. Very funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps
Undisputed: How to Become the World Champion in 1,372 Easy Steps by Chris Jericho (Hardcover - Feb. 16 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews