Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down.
This book is fantastic! Not just the way it was written but the fact that they are a company who is transparent and wants everyone to be happy. What a concept - make people happy and they will want to do good work for you, buy from you, refer your business and be honorable in supplying you. I absolutely recommend this book to anyone who wants to be a forward and out of...
Published on Nov. 3 2010 by SnowMan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting stories
The stories are good. Need more connection to what business idea or practise being talked about within the stories. If you are a creative thinker you will have no problems understanding the stories.
Published on Aug. 13 2010 by Margo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down., Nov. 3 2010
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic! Not just the way it was written but the fact that they are a company who is transparent and wants everyone to be happy. What a concept - make people happy and they will want to do good work for you, buy from you, refer your business and be honorable in supplying you. I absolutely recommend this book to anyone who wants to be a forward and out of the box thinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "First, they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win." Mohandas Gandhi, Aug. 10 2010
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
In this volume, Tony Hsieh (pronounced "SHAY") shares all of the business lessons he learned from success and (especially) from failure prior to and then during his association with Zappos.com, first as an adviser and investor in 1999 and then as CEO, a position he continues to occupy after the acquisition of Zappos by Amazon in 2009. He has organized the material in this book as follows: "The first section is titled `Profits' and consists mostly of stories of me growing up and eventually finding my way to Zappos...The second section, `Profits and Passion,' is more business-oriented, covering many of the important philosophies that we believe in and live by at Zappos...The third section is titled `Profits, Passion, and Purpose.' It outlines our vision at Zappos for taking things to the next level, and will hopefully challenge you to do the same." As Hsieh explains, the name Zappos is derived from the Spanish word "zapatos" meaning shoes. The company's gross sales exceeded $1-billion in 2009.

As I began to read the book, I was especially interested in sharing Hsieh's thoughts about subjects such as these:

Why he sold a company he co-founded, LinkExchange, to Microsoft
Why he became involved with Zappos initially
Why he agreed to become CEO
What the drivers of Zappos' extraordinary growth have been
How Zappos has differentiated itself from its competition
Why Zappos offers $2,000 to some of its new hires to quit
How and why everyone in the company is customer-centric
Those who have had the greatest influence on his development as a leader and manager
Why he agreed to have Zappos acquired by Amazon
How both he and Zappos have been able to retain an entrepreneurial spirit

Near downtown Dallas, we have a Farmers Market at which some of the merchants offer sample slices of fresh fruit. In that same spirit, I now offer three brief excerpts that suggest the thrust and flavor of Hsieh's insights.

"One day, I woke up after hitting the snooze button on my alarm clock six times. I was about to hit it a seventh time when I realized something. The last time I had snoozed so many times was when I was dreading going to work at Oracle. It was happening again, except this time, I was dreading going to work at LinkExchange." He was co-founder of a company whose culture, over time, had changed from an "all-for-one, one-for-all" team environment to one that was now "all about politics, positioning, and rumors." (Page 48) Hsieh realized then that the most successful organizations are those whose people love what they do and do what they love.

After Zappos was literally "saved" by a line of credit provided by Well Fargo Bank, Hsieh sent an email to Zappos' employees, vendors, and friends. After citing the increased sales (from "almost nothing" in 1999 to $32 million in $32) and noting that the company is "on track" to reach $60-65 million in 2003, he warns against carelessness and overconfidence. Zappos will continue to be customer-centric, not because it has to do it to achieve shirt-term results but because "we believe that in the long run, little things that keep the customer in mind will end up paying huge dividends" to everyone. "There will be a lot of changes ahead as we grow, but one thing will always be constant: our focus on constantly improving the customer experience." On this very special day. Hsieh reaffirms the company's commitment: "Deliver WOW Through Service."

Whenever asked what he would have done differently if doing Zappos all over again, Hsieh responded, "I do wish that we could have done things faster." He makes that point again on another special day when he sums up everything in one sentence: "Getting married to Amazon will allow us to fulfill our vision of delivering happiness to the world much faster... To me, that one moment [of celebration and appreciation] represented success far beyond what I could have possibly imagined would be achievable ten years ago...[The moment signified that] half intentionally and half by luck, we had found our path to profits, passion, and purpose. We had found our path to delivering happiness."

True to character, Hsieh devotes the final chapter of his book to his reader to whom he speaks directly and frankly, asking tough questions and making practical suggestions because he is determined to help his readers - as he continues to help Zappos colleagues - to find their own path to profits, passion, and purpose...a path on which they can also "deliver happiness."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivering Happiness delivers, June 7 2010
By 
Robert Bartlett (Regina SK Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
The book is all about Zappos and their culture which they feel drives business results.
Looking at the book from a learning and development angle I take 3 things out of it.
1. We need to be sure that our learning interventions connect people to purpose, community and their world.
2. There is no substitute for hard work and repetition. The were able to achieve results by working hard and practicing. Are we giving learners that chance with the training we design.
3. You can formalize informal learning,Zappos practice of having a library and those books being part of a formal development curriculum are a great example of informal learning furthering business results.
I was disappointed in one element of the book.Tony glosses over a central element of his success, his skills as a software developer are glossed over. All the culture and warm feelings in the world won't help you without technical expertise, great processes and skills at doing something. Expertise, process and skills are the ticket to entry and it's culture that allows you to last and enjoy success.
It's a worthwhile read for learning pros. From [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have read so far on service, Dec 4 2012
By 
Raymond Martin (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
Best book I have read so far on service. Shows you how to create great service and also motivates you to deliver great service. It's easy to fixate on the little bit crazy aspect, but none of their results could have been achieved without the basics: getting the orders out fast without any mistakes and great unsurpassed employee training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, interesting and inspiring, July 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
Not your typical autobiography book. History of Zappos and some autobiography elements from Tony's life nicely woven into interesting story. And you get your share of "howto" in business culture and building business in general.

To me, most valuable part(s) of the book is story of building company culture and sense of belonging and connection to your job. The other one, maybe not so obvious, is how many times Tony's bussinesses were hanging on a brink of bankruptcy. Something you don't read about often and something that is very, very common. This story teaches you that if you want to succeed in what you are doing there's no giving up and it is not a walk in the park if you want to make big things.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zappos - Great Story, July 25 2011
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the book as it provided insight into real life situations.
I was able to relate to the different things that went on and found some of the solutions to real problems both creative and enlightening.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is dreaming of starting a company to a seasoned CEO looking to keep his culture fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Fabulous Book Will Inspire You, Nov. 2 2010
By 
J. A. Broad "Julie Broad (http://www.revnyou.... (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
Imagine building a company from scratch, having a big company like Yahoo! offer to buy it for $20M and turning it down. Not because you thought it was a bad offer but because you realized that you would enjoy building that company more than you would anything that money could buy you.

"I had decided to stop chasing the money, and start chasing the passion" says Tony Hsieh early in his book.

Of course, it wasn't as simple as that, and you find out the struggles, the sacrifices and hard decisions Tony made during his career to date (which by the way is not a long one ... he's so young!).

His story is one of blazing your own trail when the one everyone else uses just doesn't quite work for you. It's about creating vision and purpose for your business, your team and yourself. And most of all it's about contribution - to yourself, to your company, to others.

And a big bonus at the end is Tony's advice on happiness. What is happiness to him and how you can find more happiness in your life, your job or your business. His purpose is to contribute to a happiness movement to help make the world a better place. Pretty powerful isn't it?? So is the rest of the book. READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting stories, Aug. 13 2010
The stories are good. Need more connection to what business idea or practise being talked about within the stories. If you are a creative thinker you will have no problems understanding the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story.... Other companies CEO's should read., July 25 2010
By 
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
Wonderful background story that lead to Zappos! This should be mandatory reading for anyone planing to start a small business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book You Need To Get, June 2 2010
By 
Jason Coysh (Niagara Falls, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose (Hardcover)
Just received your book Tony, and I can't put it down! This is going to help a lot of people in their quest for greatness. I just want to thank you for putting what made you who you are in a book, to prove to people it is possible to live your dream, be happy, and pay the bills along the way.

Anyone who reads this. Do something selfless today. Deliver happiness to a stranger or loved one, no matter how small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfa3cf3c)

This product

Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews