Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun thriller
A great read from start to finish! This is an exciting book that grabs your interest right at the beginning and has you hooked throughout.

This book is hailed as the “blistering follow-up to the international bestseller “The Whole Truth”. I have not read that book, and it isn’t necessary to enjoy the sequel. I am, however, going to...
Published 9 months ago by Diana E. Young

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not his best ...
David Baldacci returns with another thriller! Deliver Us From Evil is the second book in the Shaw and James series.

Shaw and his partner Frank are surveilling a businessman named Evan Waller in Provence, France. Waller's latest deal, if completed, would lead to the deaths of many. Unbeknownst to them, another group, including female operative Reggie Campion, is...
Published on July 8 2010 by Luanne Ollivier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun thriller, July 25 2013
By 
Diana E. Young "Diana Young" (Vernon, B.C., Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great read from start to finish! This is an exciting book that grabs your interest right at the beginning and has you hooked throughout.

This book is hailed as the “blistering follow-up to the international bestseller “The Whole Truth”. I have not read that book, and it isn’t necessary to enjoy the sequel. I am, however, going to order that book though, because if it is half as good as the sequel, I’ll be in for a treat.
The story does have its’ dark side with the “good guys” chasing the monsters of the past, such as Nazi torturers and other evil people who have caused thousands and thousands of deaths. During the chase there are lots of twists and turns, all woven around personal relationships that add depth and interest to the tale.

Now, I’m hoping there will be a sequel to “Deliver us from Evil”. Loved it!

Diana Young World-Traveler - currently sailing in the South Pacific & #1 Amazon Best-selling author [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keep writing these characters, Jan. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great job. I like these characters. Shaw is very interesting. Love suspense books. Love shaw and his stories. Keep writing. Don't quit. Reader#1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not his best ..., July 8 2010
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deliver Us from Evil (Audio CD)
David Baldacci returns with another thriller! Deliver Us From Evil is the second book in the Shaw and James series.

Shaw and his partner Frank are surveilling a businessman named Evan Waller in Provence, France. Waller's latest deal, if completed, would lead to the deaths of many. Unbeknownst to them, another group, including female operative Reggie Campion, is also watching Waller. But they know him as Fedir Kuchin, ex KGB and wartime mass murderer.

The two groups eventually become aware of each other. With different agendas, can they work together to bring down an evil man or will he get to them first?

Baldacci provides lots of action, international intrigue and a plot that's very current. But, the descriptions of Waller/Kuchin's torture tactics were too gruesome for this listener. They detracted from the story rather than adding to it. Some of plotting seemed a bit far fetched. The plans laid by Reggie's group are overly 'cinematic'. The decision by some of her group to walk into certain death seems unrealistic. A romantic triangle involving Reggie, Shaw and Katie James (from the first book in the series - The Whole Truth) provides an interesting subplot. However, Deliver Us From Evil is full of non stop action and is definitely an entertaining listen.

This book was narrated by Ron McLarty - one of my all time favourite readers. His voice is rich and expressive. He creates a 'voice' for each character and they are easily identifiable.

For me, not one of Baldacci's best, but still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the pack Thriller., Jan. 15 2011
This review is from: Deliver Us from Evil (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an entertaining, well paced thriller with plenty of action and over-the-top characters. The action at points was unbelievable and there are too many references to an earlier book I don't remember well, I expect more from Baldacci. In spite of these complaints this makes for a light read on the beach or plane. The pages turn and makes time pass. For an original thriller with plenty of action check out "A Tourist In The Yucatan!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `Does a man need a reason to pursue justice?', June 30 2010
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deliver Us from Evil (Hardcover)
Evan Waller has built a fortune through his willingness to buy and sell anything to anyone. In the present, his activities have drawn the attention of the enigmatic Shaw (introduced in The Whole Truth) and the shadowy organisation he represents. At the same time, Waller's past has been investigated by a secret vigilante group based in the UK and their agent, Reggie Campion is also seeking him.

Independently of each other, and for very different reasons, Shaw and Campion arrive in a small village in Provence in pursuit of Waller. Both Shaw and Campion are encumbered by their pasts and while the Campion story is covered in this novel, relevant aspects of the Shaw story are in `The Whole Truth'. While you don't need to have read `The Whole Truth' to follow this story, the character of Shaw and his reactions will make more sense if you have.

This is fast-paced, not always believable fiction. There are some detailed scenes of torture and violence, which are not for the squeamish. These scenes serve to paint a detailed picture of the bad guys involved, just in case a reader needs additional reinforcement.

Overall, while I found this an interesting page-turning escapist read I didn't enjoy it as much as `The Whole Truth'.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome Villain within an Unsatisfying Plot, June 5 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deliver Us from Evil (Hardcover)
"The faithful man has perished from the earth,
And there is no one upright among men.
They all lie in wait for blood;
Every man hunts his brother with a net.
That they may successfully do evil with both hands--
The prince asks for gifts,
The judge seeks a bribe,
And the great man utters his evil desire;
So they scheme together." -- Micah 7:2-3 (NKJV)

What's to be done with monsters? David Baldacci offers two alternatives in this book about eliminating evil: Leave them alone if they aren't harming you or erase them at any cost. He stacks the deck in favor of the latter solution.

If you are looking for a philosophical novel, this isn't it. The book's strength is its as compelling a portrayal of a horrifying villain as I remember in recent years. If you are a sensitive person, this book will upset you . . . as it's intended to do.

The portrayal of Evan Waller loses its punch in the book's second half, and the plot seems anemic without it. What happens is pretty predictable and not that satisfying.

Shaw, the main character from The Whole Truth, is portrayed in very superficial terms. He barely exists as a character aside from his guilt and skills.

Unless you are very devoted to reading David Baldacci's books, I think you could easily skip reading this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really a 3.5 star book, Aug. 10 2010
By 
PoCo (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deliver Us from Evil (Hardcover)
I gave the book 4 stars only to offset the 3 star reviews that already existed. I think this is a case of a book being a 3.5 star. I liked the book and it kept me truning the pages. The chapters were all pretty short so it was a great book for reading on the run as well.

The plot itself was decent but nothing overly different from the multitude of Ludlum-like books. I agree with a previous reviewer that the focus on torture may be a little much for the reader to take (it was too much for me too).

I also thought there was a little too simplistic of a "oh well" attitude amongst the characters. Two volunteered to walk into likely death when that was not needed, one character forgave an attempted killer with no more than an "aw shucks", other characters awkwardly betrayed at strange times for not apparent reason.

So while it was mostly a fun read it isn't a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb03fd0cc)

This product

Deliver Us from Evil
Deliver Us from Evil by David Baldacci (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 2011)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews