Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
Great book. Captivating from the first page. Would definitely recommend it. ( but why does a review require minimum words?)
Published 2 months ago by ck022

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Story is engaging
But the writing leaves a lot to be desired. The opening line tells you what you're in for: "He gripped the steering wheel loosely..." According to Webster's, grip means to seize or hold firmly, so by definition, gripping cannot be done loosely. This is the sort of annoying, unprofessional writing you have to look forward to throughout the novel. If you're just...
Published on July 17 2004


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, Feb. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Captivating from the first page. Would definitely recommend it. ( but why does a review require minimum words?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense and Suspension of Disbelief, Feb. 20 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Mass Market Paperback)
David Baldacci's first novel is a strong opener, enough like John Grisham's work to satisfy Grisham fans but more unique than a simple knock-off. Luther Whitney is a crime story cliché: the career burglar who steals things "only from those who can afford to lose them." He avoids violence toward himself and others. As Luther burgles a Virginia mansion, he demonstrates an expected facility with electronic surveillance systems, locks and assorted tools and techniques of his trade. But it all goes wrong.

Fleeing from unexpected visitors, Luther hides in a room-sized vault with a one-way mirror view of the master bedroom. There he watches Christie Sullivan begin an adulterous affair with the philandering President of the United States, Alan Richmond. Their night goes badly, too. Rough sex turns to anger, then violence. He hits her; she slaps him, he beats and tries to strangle her. When Christie defends herself with a letter opener, Richmond screams. His Secret Service detail rushes in and shoot her dead. Now everyone's evening is ruined.

The rest of the story plays out as the President, his Chief of Staff Gloria Russell, and his two trusted Secret Service agents, Bill Burton and Tim Collin, try to cover up their involvement. Luther escapes immediate detection, but his burglary provides a convenient trail for the investigation. Along the way we meet a well-developed cast of characters. Luther's daughter Kate has been estranged from him for years, but returns to his life in the middle of its current crisis. Jack Graham, who Kate once intended to marry, turns from his lucrative law practices and ludicrous, high maintenance fiancé to help his lost love and her father. Seth Frank is a hard-driven Virginia homicide detective who drill's for the truth through layers of loyalty and deception. And Walter Sullivan, Christie's aging, billionaire husband, brings his resources into play in the hunt for his wife's murderer.

The story is worth your time. There are a few surprises along the way and a few telegraphed events that the reader can see coming. And there are a few details that require some suspension of disbelief. Chief among them is how much mischief the four White House characters can cause without anyone around them noticing. Don't be distracted from your enjoyment by this--just watch the play without pointing out that some of the props don't look real. They are real enough for the characters, and it's the interplay between the characters that make the story good.

The book is highly recommended. If you have enjoyed the movie version of Absolute Power starring Clint Eastwood, you will still enjoy the book. There are enough differences to keep you surprised and entertained. Luther Whitney comes across a bit...flat in the book, but the other characters make up for it. I have a renewed appreciation of how much additional depth Eastwood brought to the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL PAGE-TURNER, April 22 1999
By A Customer
This is the second David Baldacci book I have read-and it won't be the last. The plot seems improbable at first, but you quickly get caught up in the suspense. Jack Graham is an appealing hero, but his romantic interest, Kate Whitney, never quite seems believable. The other characters, notably Gloria Russell and Bill Burton, add nicely to the spine-tingling anticipation of wanting to know what happens next. I really enjoyed this book, to the point I will buy my own copy when I can (the one I read was from the library). David Baldacci has a new fan! One criticism, albeit minor: I would recommend that Mr. Baldacci study the work of Robert Ludlum to see how to improve his characterizations and narrative detail. Regardless, I intend to read everything he writes from now on. I am thrilled to encounter such a major new talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting read for a holiday., July 22 2011
By 
M. D. Barnicke Belleghem "Author, Consultant,... (Burlington, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Mass Market Paperback)
There are too many leaders who believe they are above the law and they are the most dangerous. I love when villans are held accountable but it can be a dark and dangerous process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Annoying, Sept. 3 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am so annoyed with this book it took me a month to read it. I wanted so bad for the premise to be good. How often to you hear about an original story line. This book is way to long. At best there is about 150 pages worth of material. All of the characters have to much useless background which doesn't move the story along. I fond myself skipping hold section about lawyers and firms which made me less mad at this rag.

I also notice how Jack makes me thing he is the same guy as Sean in the King and Maxwell serie. Keep your money, buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The first of Baldacci's bestsellers...., March 26 2010
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of David Baldacci's political thrillers for a while now, but realized I had never read Absolute Power - the one that started his string of bestsellers. (17!)

Luther Whitney is a master burglar. For the last twenty years, he's tried to keep his nose clean. But he pulls one last job for an old friend. He breaks in without incident, but is suddenly forced to hide when the owner and some others come home. He is stunned when the unthinkable happens - even more unbelievable is the perpetrator - the President of the United States.

Luther turns to lawyer Jack Graham - the ex boyfriend of his estranged daughter.

What a great premise for a story! And Baldacci does it masterfully. The plotting is tight and the action non stop. I enjoyed discovering Baldacci's 'beginning.' He has made the secret service/White House thriller genre his own.

But the reader in this case was fantastic. Scott Brick is an award winning audio book narrator. His voice is rich and resonant, conveying the suspense of this novel, keeping me on the edge of my chair. His voice conveys so much, from the malevolence of the bad guys to the uncertainty of a bewildered daughter.

There was a bonus short story included on the last disc (17!) of this set. I didn't realize that this book had been made into a movie starring Clint Eastwood and Gene Hackman in 1997.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Story is engaging, July 17 2004
By A Customer
But the writing leaves a lot to be desired. The opening line tells you what you're in for: "He gripped the steering wheel loosely..." According to Webster's, grip means to seize or hold firmly, so by definition, gripping cannot be done loosely. This is the sort of annoying, unprofessional writing you have to look forward to throughout the novel. If you're just looking for an engaging story, you will have to suspend quite a lot of disbelief, but you may find the idea of this novel intriguing. If you consider quality of writing to be important, don't get this one. It was bad enough that I have not been willing to spend my money on another Baldacci novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power corrupts absolutely, June 27 2004
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Hardcover)
Here we have a book where the President of the United States is the bad guy.....and the criminal is the man of honor. This book is a thriller with political intrigue and takes place mostly around the Metro D.C. area.
The book starts with an aging burglar, Luther, breaking into a billionaire's well protected mansion. He is suprised, but not caught by none other than the President of the good ol'USA. Who happens to be with the billionaire's young wife. Luther who is hidden in a safe with a two-way mirror, watches as the President starts to beat on the young woman. The woman in an act of self preservation, grabs a letter opener and stabs the President. The ensuing struggle and yell from the President, brings the very effective Secret Service Agents into the room. Where they shoot and kill her.
The scheming Chief of Staff hatches a quick course of action to start a cover up. But no one is aware of Luther who has watched the whole horrid affair. The story begins to pick up speed when Luther decides he has do what is right and set things straight.
You can tell this is Mr. Baldacci's first book. But worth the read. I read Total Control first, and find that book of a much higher quality. I think he will only improve with each book he writes. There were parts in this book where I just had to read one more section before I put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 19 2004
By 
Fred Black "Black Beard" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolute Power is a fast paced,highly suspencful novel.When Luther goes to work, no one knows about it.For he would be arrested if they did.Being in his 60's Luther dreams of one last job to put him into retirement permanantly.He would then have nothing to worry about ever again.Except one thing,the love of his daughter that he had lost.He still heeps in distant touch with the love of his daughter's past. But when it comes time to pull this last job off.There were a few major complications, to keep Luther from easilly pulling this off without the knowledge of others.When people start to die for what was witnessed that particular night.Luther begins to wonder what to do next.And why the president has anything to do with this whole mess of untimelly circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Negitive -10 stars, April 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Power (Hardcover)
Here we have the president of the US screwing his mentor's, the richest man on earth, way too young wife. The Pres and the girl are stinking drunk. Turns out the Pres is a violent screw and starts to choke the girl. She fights back, the Pres's two body guards hear the noise, burst into the room and blow her head off. The Pres passes out on the bed. His Chief of Staff, a woman, is also there and when she enters the room decides they will clean up the mess and make it look like a burglary. So she tells the two body guards to go put on a pot of coffee cuz it's gonna be a long night. As soon as they leave she runs over, locks the door, jumps over the dead girl's body, stripes off her panty hose, straddles the naked, unconscious Pres and proceeds to rape(?) him till she gets her rocks off. Then puts herself back together and unlocks the door. IS THAT SICK OR WHAT!! What the heck was Baldacci and his editors thinking of when they left that Chief of Staff part in.
I never made it past that scene when first I tried reading this book a couple years ago. This go round I forced my self to read on. It gets better for a very little awhile....then falls apart when the eye witness (a burglar) to all the above , who's been arrested for the murder, refuses to talk to his lawyer (a long time friend) about what he saw. YEAH RIGHT. Give me a break. I don't know about you but if I witnessed the above murder I'd be talking my head off ASAP. And then the bodies start to drop, starting with the eye witness. Too many bodies are dropping with out any one making a fuss. I mean the richest man in the world is killed and nothing happens.
An utterly ridiculous book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa53d63cc)

This product

Absolute Power
Absolute Power by David Baldacci (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 2010)
CDN$ 11.00 CDN$ 9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews