Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ✨A brilliantly stimulating read!!!✨
[...]
[...]

When Lute Pettijohn is found murdered, not many in Charleston mourn his passing. That doesn't mean to say that his death doesn't have an effect.......it does......it loosens up enough dirt in the town's upper social circles to shake its foundations.

And caught in the centre, as Assistant District Attorney, is Hammond Cross. Of course...
Published 7 months ago by Ripe for Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Potentially good story
If Sandra Brown were a beginning writer, I would be much more understanding of the shortcomings in her writing technique. In The Alibi, she doesn't seem to have listened to her editor - or worse, her editor wasn't paying enough attention. The story itself has a great deal of potential, but the characters are flat, the dialogues stilted, descriptions inconsistent and the...
Published on Aug. 24 2002 by M. Milesi


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ✨A brilliantly stimulating read!!!✨, Aug. 27 2013
By 
Ripe for Reader "Margreet" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Alibi (Kindle Edition)
[...]
[...]

When Lute Pettijohn is found murdered, not many in Charleston mourn his passing. That doesn't mean to say that his death doesn't have an effect.......it does......it loosens up enough dirt in the town's upper social circles to shake its foundations.

And caught in the centre, as Assistant District Attorney, is Hammond Cross. Of course it doesn't help that the night of the murder he had the most amazing encounter with a beautiful woman, who turned out to be his number one suspect.

Dr. Alex Ladd hadn't intended for things to go this far. All she had hoped to accomplish was to stop her past from creeping up on her and threatening her carefully built, respectable life. She should never have allowed her feelings to weigh in on the decision to spend the night with the handsome man from the county fair.

Now Hammond and Alex each have dangerous secrets that can mean the other's salvation or their downfall........

*****

Perched on the edge of my seat until the very last page!!!!

I have always loved Sandra Brown's books, great suspense with just enough romance to keep it interesting.

THE ALIBI is a prime example of her excellence. A story set in a city steeped in history, old families, social circles, old boy politics and golf course nepotism, and the one man who chooses to stand for his moral and ethical convictions instead.

The build up of the protagonists' characters was slow, but oh so effective. The pace of getting to know the main characters was imperative to the building tension in the story line. Each little snippet of information I learned, gave me an opportunity to work out a possible scenario for myself and thus keep me engaged the entire span of the book.

Every turn of the page awarded me with a piece to the puzzle and at times I flipped back a few pages to check my previously gained information. I love it when stories allow you, as reader, to become so engaged, that you don't just swallow whole what the author feeds you, you take the snippets, and try to run off with them on your own! The best part is when, on the last few pages, you discover that you miscalculated, and the author had one last twist up the sleeve, one you will be unable to discount......once all the evidence is laid out.

THE ALIBI is an intricately woven tale of deceit, ambition, envy, love, jealousy, justice and morality.

✨A brilliantly stimulating read!!!✨

**ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing in return for an honest review.**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder+mystery+sex, Dec 20 2002
By 
Beverley Strong (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another of Sandra Browns murder mysteries,written in her own unique style, with pacy dialogue, a good plot and some exciting sexy bits thrown in for good measure.
One of Charlestons most prominent businessmen, Lute Pettijohn, is found murdered in his hotel suite. Hammond Cross, an ambitious,young Assistant Attorney, is given the case which,if he proves successful in bringing the murderer to justice, would be his final stepping stone to the job of District Attorney.There is no shortage of suspects as Pettigrove was a ruthless and disliked man, but when the main suspect is proved to be a beautiful young phsycologist.Dr Alex Ladd, the story becomes interwoven with leads,red herrings and other people with a real reason for wanting Pettijohn dead.
A good,fast and engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Potentially good story, Aug. 24 2002
By 
M. Milesi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
If Sandra Brown were a beginning writer, I would be much more understanding of the shortcomings in her writing technique. In The Alibi, she doesn't seem to have listened to her editor - or worse, her editor wasn't paying enough attention. The story itself has a great deal of potential, but the characters are flat, the dialogues stilted, descriptions inconsistent and the repetitions in vocabulary very very annoying. There is nothing more irritating than being told the obvious: that someone is acting hysterically because he or she is hysterical, for example. She and her editors would do well to re-read some of the truly great tight thriller writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Heck of a Great Read, April 6 2002
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
With this book, Sandra Brown has made the jump from romance to ace mystery writer--there's no turning back now.
"The Alibi" is a fast-paced, terrific mystery with more plot twists, red herrings, mysterious would-be murderers, and all-around interesting characters than the law allows. It follows the story of urbane, charming, and gorgeous wunderkind Hammond Cross, whose Charleston, South Carolina family is one of the oldest and most respected in the tight-knit upper-class world he calls his own. He's in line to be the next DA, and rightly so. Then, in one fateful night, his world falls apart.
A woman he knows intimately may or may not have murdered the town's wealthiest and most hated citizen, Lute Pettijohn. Even the reader is not sure whether sophisticated psychologist Alex Ladd has done the deed. There are so many other suspects: the un-grieving widow Davee, whose friendship with Cross goes back to their privileged childhoods; most of Pettijohn's business associates, all of whom hated him--and Cross's own upper-class father.
Cross is in this murder up to his neck. If he successfully prosecutes the cops' key suspect, he is a shoe-in for the DA spot. If he doesn't, he may be brought up on charges of obstruction of justice. Along the way, he has to contend with his own tangled and uncharacteristically personal feelings about the case; his jealous and ambitious partner, the acerbic and unlikeable Steffi Mundell; his longtime nemesis, supercop Rory Smilow; and his own cold, judgmental father.
I thought I guessed the murderer after the first 100 pages. After the next 100, I was positive I was right, and had a smug "I knew it" attitude, just wondering how Brown was going to unravel the plot. Then I wasn't so sure. Then I was turning pages almost faster than I could read. Then I was positively racing to the end. I was wrong about the murderer, wrong about the end, and blown away by the ingenious plot twists that all came about effortlessly in the end. And it even ended with a cliff-hanger that made total and perfect sense.
You want a good read? You want a book that keeps you off the computer and the TV and has you walking into walls? This is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Alibi, Sept. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Alibi (Kindle Edition)
Good book with a suspenseful plot and interesting characters that keep you reading. Lots of twists. Enjoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first book by SB, Sept. 30 2008
This review is from: The Alibi (Hardcover)
I was hooked on SB after this book. Such a great description of the South, its leisurely pace, of the competition in the DA's department, of the life the rich folks have.......the plot twists and turns.....the love story is simmering with suspense since the two characters are on both sides of the law.......great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner that will keep you guessing to the very end!, March 15 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alibi (Audio Cassette)
The Alibi was a great read. 'Who-done-it' type novels have always been my favourite (the ones with mystery but without all the gore). Sandra Brown is now one of my new favourite Authors. This book was never boring, and I had to pace myself so that I wouldn't read too quickly! Anyone looking for a page-turner, with a bit of passion will enjoy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charmed, April 12 2004
By 
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
I had a few years break from Sandra Brown's novels nad only recently have reached for them again. The plot is absolutely mesmerizing. On one hand you don't want to put it down from the moment you opened the book for the first time, but on the other you don't want to finish it too quickly, cause you know you'll miss the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Whodunit, April 12 2004
By 
bookworm (Wenatchee, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this was a great book and it held my interest to the very end. Just goes to prove once more that indiscriminate sex and lies weave a tangled web that will snare you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brown Strikes Again, Sept. 20 2002
By 
Chris S. "cscotts" (atlanta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
Sandra Brown's THE ALIBI is a nice change-of-pace for the author in that it's the rare instance in which her main character is male rather than the bordering-on-cookie-cutter female protagonists that have littered some of her recent work. Set in Charleston, the novel focuses on ADA Hammond Cross, who is brought a murder case involving one of the city's most prominent figures. It doesn't help that the victim wasn't particularly liked--by anyone--which leaves a laundry list of potential suspects. Unfortunately for Cross, the prime suspect is someone who has a fairly airtight alibi--him. You can pretty much see where this is going, which is fine because Brown has never exactly trafficked in brain surgery. But it's not helped along by Brown's cheesy, overly florid writing style when it comes to the "romantic" detours the book takes throughout. Nevertheless, this remains one of Brown's best, along with EXCLUSIVE, and should ease the pain of those who read the really awful STANDOFF before they got their hands on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbe496480)

This product

The Alibi
The Alibi by Sandra Brown (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 1 2000)
CDN$ 9.50 CDN$ 9.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews