Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder+mystery+sex
This is another of Sandra Browns murder mysteries,written in her own unique style, with pacy dialogue, a good plot and some exciting sexy bits thrown in for good measure.
One of Charlestons most prominent businessmen, Lute Pettijohn, is found murdered in his hotel suite. Hammond Cross, an ambitious,young Assistant Attorney, is given the case which,if he proves...
Published on Dec 20 2002 by Beverley Strong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ran full speed into a brick wall
Unlike other reviewers, I thought "The Alibi" had a GREAT story and characters and that is was really building up for a great ending. However, the conclusion was disappointing and made me feel like I'd run full speed into a brick wall. I hadn't guessed the killer, but the killer's motives didn't blindside me (as in "Mirror Image" or "Where There's Smoke"). And then the...
Published on March 20 2002 by PetersonSC


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder+mystery+sex, Dec 20 2002
By 
Beverley Strong (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another of Sandra Browns murder mysteries,written in her own unique style, with pacy dialogue, a good plot and some exciting sexy bits thrown in for good measure.
One of Charlestons most prominent businessmen, Lute Pettijohn, is found murdered in his hotel suite. Hammond Cross, an ambitious,young Assistant Attorney, is given the case which,if he proves successful in bringing the murderer to justice, would be his final stepping stone to the job of District Attorney.There is no shortage of suspects as Pettigrove was a ruthless and disliked man, but when the main suspect is proved to be a beautiful young phsycologist.Dr Alex Ladd, the story becomes interwoven with leads,red herrings and other people with a real reason for wanting Pettijohn dead.
A good,fast and engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brown Strikes Again, Sept. 20 2002
By 
Chris S. "cscotts" (atlanta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
Sandra Brown's THE ALIBI is a nice change-of-pace for the author in that it's the rare instance in which her main character is male rather than the bordering-on-cookie-cutter female protagonists that have littered some of her recent work. Set in Charleston, the novel focuses on ADA Hammond Cross, who is brought a murder case involving one of the city's most prominent figures. It doesn't help that the victim wasn't particularly liked--by anyone--which leaves a laundry list of potential suspects. Unfortunately for Cross, the prime suspect is someone who has a fairly airtight alibi--him. You can pretty much see where this is going, which is fine because Brown has never exactly trafficked in brain surgery. But it's not helped along by Brown's cheesy, overly florid writing style when it comes to the "romantic" detours the book takes throughout. Nevertheless, this remains one of Brown's best, along with EXCLUSIVE, and should ease the pain of those who read the really awful STANDOFF before they got their hands on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Heck of a Great Read, April 6 2002
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
With this book, Sandra Brown has made the jump from romance to ace mystery writer--there's no turning back now.
"The Alibi" is a fast-paced, terrific mystery with more plot twists, red herrings, mysterious would-be murderers, and all-around interesting characters than the law allows. It follows the story of urbane, charming, and gorgeous wunderkind Hammond Cross, whose Charleston, South Carolina family is one of the oldest and most respected in the tight-knit upper-class world he calls his own. He's in line to be the next DA, and rightly so. Then, in one fateful night, his world falls apart.
A woman he knows intimately may or may not have murdered the town's wealthiest and most hated citizen, Lute Pettijohn. Even the reader is not sure whether sophisticated psychologist Alex Ladd has done the deed. There are so many other suspects: the un-grieving widow Davee, whose friendship with Cross goes back to their privileged childhoods; most of Pettijohn's business associates, all of whom hated him--and Cross's own upper-class father.
Cross is in this murder up to his neck. If he successfully prosecutes the cops' key suspect, he is a shoe-in for the DA spot. If he doesn't, he may be brought up on charges of obstruction of justice. Along the way, he has to contend with his own tangled and uncharacteristically personal feelings about the case; his jealous and ambitious partner, the acerbic and unlikeable Steffi Mundell; his longtime nemesis, supercop Rory Smilow; and his own cold, judgmental father.
I thought I guessed the murderer after the first 100 pages. After the next 100, I was positive I was right, and had a smug "I knew it" attitude, just wondering how Brown was going to unravel the plot. Then I wasn't so sure. Then I was turning pages almost faster than I could read. Then I was positively racing to the end. I was wrong about the murderer, wrong about the end, and blown away by the ingenious plot twists that all came about effortlessly in the end. And it even ended with a cliff-hanger that made total and perfect sense.
You want a good read? You want a book that keeps you off the computer and the TV and has you walking into walls? This is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ran full speed into a brick wall, March 20 2002
This review is from: The Alibi (Hardcover)
Unlike other reviewers, I thought "The Alibi" had a GREAT story and characters and that is was really building up for a great ending. However, the conclusion was disappointing and made me feel like I'd run full speed into a brick wall. I hadn't guessed the killer, but the killer's motives didn't blindside me (as in "Mirror Image" or "Where There's Smoke"). And then the very last line of the book doesn't suffice as an ending - it's a beginning to a whole new problem!! An epilogue explaining what happened in the months or year following the press conference whould have earned this book an extra star. Or I guess it could be lead-in for a sequel, but it's not. As it was, when I finished the book I was mad, confused and felt cheated for some reason.
I realize that SB has been changing styles over the years from romance to romantic suspense and now suspense with just a little romance. I've liked all styles and she's had great success with all. Some of my favorites have been "Mirror Image" "Best Kept Secrets" "Breath of Scandal" "Envy" and HOLY COW "Exclusive" and "The Witness" were absolutely amazing. I also really liked "Unspeakable" which has received very mixed reviews.
For me SB has proven to be an amazing writer, so a few minor disappointments won't make me stop reading. Please don't give up on SB if this is your first experience. Try some of her earlier works that I listed above and you will realize why she is a NYT Bestseller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is this your alibi?, Dec 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
USA Today describes Sandra Brown as a masterful storyteller, carefully crafting tales that keep readers on the edge of their seats. I absolutely agree with that statement. The Alibi is an intriguing tale of murder, suspense, and emotion and how all these elements affect people in many ways. Lute Pettijohn, a powerful businessman of Charleston, South Carolina is murdered in his brand new hotel building. This earth shattering event confuses the city as they search for the murderer and gives Hammond Cross, assistant district attorney, the biggest case of his life. The night of the murder, Hammond Cross wanders through the countryside to a carnival where he meets an anonymous and beautiful woman. After one night of passion, Hammond wants to know more about the mystery woman who sparked his interests. As the murder investigation continues, the only possible suspect with no alibi is Dr. Alex Ladd, the mystery woman. A shocked and surprised Hammond Cross must continue the murder investigation, maintain a relationship with the suspect, and keep his spot as next in line as district attorney. As the story unfolds Hammond realizes the truth about Dr. Alex Ladd, her alibi, and the real murderer of Lute Pettijohn.
Throughout the story, Hammond Cross realizes his strenghts and weaknesses. As the main character he is an intelligent, well trained, and ambitious man. His main weakness is his heart. Hammond is faced with the problem of losing his job and the case because of a woman he barely knows, and thinks he might love.
Sandra Brown's choice of title was perfect and accurate. Hammond Cross is continually checking suspect's stories, and his alibi, and fearing he might be the alibi for Alex Ladd. The idea of unknown or hidden character alibis made the story interesting and exciting. I definitely would recommend this book to anyone. The characters are well developed, the plot is suspensful, intense, and the ending is completely unexpected. These aspects make The Alibi a wonderful book. The ending alone would make the book a best seller. The ending was a complete surprise yet logical when all the events, facts and dialogue were added up and put together. (This book has taught me to watch what you say because it may come back to haunt you.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Sandra Brown please start writing again...., Oct. 3 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. SB has put out another SNOOZER. Literally, I fell asleep reading this book.
I used to wait on pins and needles for her next book. But not since I read "Fat Tuesday". And this latest book, "The Alibi", was more of the same. Her earlier books (before "Fat Tuesday") left me feeling close to the characters, like they were real. There was romance, danger, mystery and I've read them 'til they fell apart. This book left me not caring about the characters at all. They were so unremarkable, I had to keep reading back to remember who was who and with whom. They were so shallow, there was nothing admirable in any of them. The Rory character almost made it (dark, brooding, if you like that kind of hero) but wasn't developed enough to go beyond "interesting". Davee was a rich-witch with no redeeming qualities. Hammond was a wet noodle trying to be a tough guy. Alex was just plain pitiful for all her education and occupation. (Hammond and Alex deserve each other) The Steffi character had a patently male attitude on sex and careers ("gimme some quick, I've got a meeting") I couldn't empathize with either character when Hammond dumped her.
I'm left, once again, sorry I spent money on a Sandra Brown book. If I read her again, I will wait until I can borrow the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Alibi, Sept. 5 2000
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
This was another 5 star read, hands down for Sandra Brown. The characters were great. Rory Smilow is a heartless detective, whom plays his role to a T. Alex is a perfect citizen, shes a psychologist, with a admirable list credentials. Hammond Cross is a district attorney with a excellent track record and good moral standards. I think my favorit was Davee Pettijohn, shes a straight shooter, not caring what anyone thinks of her, and tells things as they are. The plot was strong, just when I thought I knew who the murderer was I changed my mind ... I did that several times.
Detective Rory Smilow is called to the Charles Towne Plaza when a maid finds the dead body of Lute Pettijohn in his penthouse suite. Whe the murder scene leaves hardly any evidence, every one that doesn't like Pettijohn is now a suspect. And that list is a never ending one, for Lute Pettijohn is a tycoon business man and he didn't get there by playing nice.
This novel was fast and great. Sandra Brown is a wonderful writter and this novel is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzz, Aug. 21 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Alibi (Mass Market Paperback)
Not sure what all the fuss is about. Rich, bad man getsmurdered. Everyone is a suspect, everyone has a past. Plot twist, plot twist. True love, and some form of police work, prevail. Murderer Apprehended! News at 11 . . .
Hated Hammond, hated Alex--both deadly boring people who jump in the sack and call it a relationship. And this is before they exchange names. (In what universe does this stuff occur? Please tell me: I too would like to have several degrees before I'm thirty, thin thighs, perfect sense of style and morals, ... all in the span of a week. Wow. No time for real work in that world.) Good notes: Davee--she's a blast; and Rory--uptight, with a hidden inner life. Too bad nothing went anywhere--they were definitely more interesting than the snoozer main characters.
Has anyone else noticed how people in this book (and similar books)end up being ultra-successful before most real people can actually be out of graduate school? With all these potential Doogie Howers flying around, it's a wonder no one figured out who the murderer was before page 500 or so. I did--somewhere in the first 50 pages. Maybe that's what made the rest of the book so boring.
Skip it. Save the trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S ALWAYS AN "ALIBI", June 18 2000
By 
Nancy Martin (Pennsylvania (orig. NY)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Alibi (Hardcover)
While my two favorite books by Sandra Brown are The Witness and Exclusive, this book runs a close second in the suspense, with a little bit of romance thrown in, category.
Hammond Cross is a county solicitor with aspirations of becoming the next District Attorney in Charleston, South Carolina. And, he should, because he is honest and ethical -- two traits that should be sought after in this position. Hammond's semi-downfall in this book is his attraction to the beautiful Dr. Alex Ladd who unfortunately is suspected in the murder of Lute Pettijohn, a wealthy, local businessman. Hammond and Alex spend an unbelievable night together and that night of "passion" becomes Alex' "alibi".
Other characters enter into this scenario especially Steffi Mundell -- who wants to be the next county prosecutor, Rory Smilow -- the chief detective and ex-brother in law of the murdered man and Hammond's own father who had some disreputable dealings with Lute Pettijohn himself. While many of the characters could have reasons of their own for killing Lute, the prime suspect is still Alex Ladd. Hammond Cross can't believe this is true and sets out to prove that someone he feels this strongly about could not possibly be a murderer.
Sandra Brown weaves a tale of corruption, romance and tension. You'll be on pins and needles until the conclusion of this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Alibi, Jan. 24 2000
This review is from: The Alibi (Hardcover)
The truth is out there! Sandra Brown is not just a writer, she's a ROUNDER. She not only plays the cards, like the pros she plays the people -the reader - page after suspenseful page. The Alibi proves her prowess, and whets her growing fan base for another steamy fast paced read. South Carolina's ambiance is a perfect backdrop for the seedy intrigues of the legal profession. Enter the hero, dignity intact. Enter the heroine whose background is as colorful as Jacob's coat. One night. Sex. Sweaty sheets. Hero's dignity down the toilet. Fingers point to his clandestine lover. Murder! Who pulled the trigger? He can't get her out of his mind. Now she is the prime suspect in Charleston's most nefarious homicide. Everyone wanted Lute Pettyjohn dead. Alex Ladd is in the hot seat, so is the prosecutor, Hammond Cross. Prosecute her? Not what he has in mind. Fully rounded, sympathetic characters leave you wondering. Hold on to your hat. Wild ride included in the cover price. Thank you, Ms. Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Alibi
The Alibi by Sandra Brown (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 1 2000)
CDN$ 9.50 CDN$ 9.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews