Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Novel, Unexpected Thriller That Satirizes Politics and Government
The Camel Club is not your ordinary thriller . . . or your ordinary David Baldacci novel. If you simply want the tried and true formula put together in the usual way, avoid this book. If you want to expand your vision to see the silliness of politics and government as practiced now, The Camel Club will be your favorite thriller of 2005.

The Camel Club takes the...
Published on July 15 2006 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
This is a good read but not as exciting as some of Baldacci's work. A bit of a stretch in some instances.
Published 1 month ago by Lois B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Novel, Unexpected Thriller That Satirizes Politics and Government, July 15 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Camel Club (Hardcover)
The Camel Club is not your ordinary thriller . . . or your ordinary David Baldacci novel. If you simply want the tried and true formula put together in the usual way, avoid this book. If you want to expand your vision to see the silliness of politics and government as practiced now, The Camel Club will be your favorite thriller of 2005.

The Camel Club takes the patriotic outsider's view of citizenship. As the Founding Fathers said so often, a government is as strong as its citizens' willingness to be intelligently active.

The Camel Club is made up of four unlikely candidates for improving government. Oliver Stone, a made-up name, is a cemetery caretaker by day who protests across from the White House at night. Caleb Shaw is a bibliophile who dresses like a 19th century salesman. Reuben Rhodes is a veteran who did some spying who's down on his luck, but is still a powerful hulk of a man at sixty. Milton Farb is a genius who has obsessive-compulsive disorder which makes him quite unusual to be around. They meet to find ways to track government wrongs and right them.

As the book opens, the Camel Club members find their meeting is intruded upon by two thugs murdering someone . . . and making it look like suicide. It's a scene reminiscent of the Vince Foster death. The thugs spot the Camel Club and gun shots are fired.

In a parallel thread, veteran Secret Service agent Alex Ford finds himself attracted to a lovely, young bartender who is a DOJ attorney by day. To his surprise, she asks him out.

In his day job, Ford finds himself partnered with an annoying rookie with friends in high places. By a weird coincidence, Ford is assigned to investigate the death the Camel Club observed.

In the background, someone is preparing the granddaddy of all terrorist attacks on U.S. government officials.

As the story develops, you follow many different characters as narrators and plot threads until they all overlap in the book's second half.

By the time you are done, you'll have a different perspective on how terrorism can attract attention and influence behavior.

I liked this book very much. I found several characters to be appealing and interesting. That sympathy made the story work much better for me. By contrast, in most thrillers the characters are barely made out of cardboard (comic book paper would be a better description). Baldacci takes the time to develop several characters into reasonably identifiable human beings. The plot relies on your sense of the characters as well as an intricate imagination to provide a lot of interesting surprises. It's only in the last few pages that the book seems to settle down into the comfortable old formula. One sequence there reminded me of the end of The Man with the Golden Gun.

Beyond that, the book is very funny. Baldacci knows how to make government pretensions seem to be about as ridiculous as possible. At times I felt like I was reading a Jon Stewart script.

Baldacci has also written a book that is very easy to visualize. I found myself running a movie in my head as the action developed. This will be a great film!

As I finished the book, I found myself hoping that there will be more Camel Club books in the future. These characters can go the distance to support a very entertaining and satirical look at government lunacy.

Well done, David Baldacci!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real thriller, July 5 2007
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Camel Club (Paperback)
The plot has lots of twist and turns, very intriguing and compelling. This thriller makes high-level conspiracy entertaining and exciting but the story is totally unbelievable. I enjoyed it just the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Intrigue, June 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Camel Club (Mass Market Paperback)
Baldacci has yet to disappoint me with any of his books.
Good intrigue that keeps your interest throughout the story.

There are many characters in this novel
and I would have appreciated having a list of names and their role.
.
I have noticed that some authors are beginning to do this and it makes
for easy reference, as opposed to going back and finding where the character first appeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Camel Club (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. Keep writing. Can't wait until I download the next Camel Club book. Very interesting the story line in this book. Scarey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Camel Club (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read but not as exciting as some of Baldacci's work. A bit of a stretch in some instances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Contrasts and Intrigue, Dec 30 2009
This review is from: The Camel Club (Mass Market Paperback)
Usually in Baldacci's books the parts or subplots fit together rather neatly in a carefully constructed overall plot. The Camel Club follows this pattern, and the characteristic is both a strength and a weakness. The storyline marches along at a fast, plausible interconnected pace but after a certain point the overall pattern becomes visible as one begins to see how all the parts fit together. The members of the Camel Club, the "misfits" who stand apart from the society and also the treacherous activities of politics in Washington, DC, seemingly would be unable to make a difference but here they do, pursuing truth and justice as they get caught up in a crime and international intrigue. There are two main heroes in this book who stand on opposite sides of the fence: Oliver Stone, the man who tends a small church cemetery, and Alex Ford, a secret service agent, who gets the scent of foul play in a crime. To the detriment of his career he strives to ferret out the truth. The book brings in many interesting details of the sights of DC and of various federal agencies. The plot moves along quickly for the most part and there is romance to spice up the story.The Griffon Trilogy: Part I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Thrill, Dec 4 2006
By 
Susie Sharon (Orleans, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Camel Club (Paperback)
The Camel Club was oddly disturbing in that it shadows our current world situation. The plot makes you sit back and wonder : what if? What if this was going on right now? How close have we come to total destruction from our own allies?

The book itself is well written, fast-paced and interesting. Not as political as I first thought. Ludlum-like in it's conspiracy, twisty kind of way. Hard to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the first of the series., April 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Camel Club (Hardcover)
In the light of the Boston Marathon killings and the two in Canada recently charged adds to the contemporary nature of the novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but to much useless history, Aug. 6 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Camel Club (Mass Market Paperback)
First I like the camel club characters. All four are lovely,funny and entertaining people. My beef with this book is the history and ethnic lesson, although I love reading this information I fond it useless in the story line. It was very actual in time which make the book more realistic. It's a good summer book. I wouldn't write home about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camel Club a good read but..., Oct. 22 2007
By 
R. Hansen "rob_slick" (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camel Club (Hardcover)
David Baldacci's The Camel Club moves along well through the first 3/4 of the book as a fast-paced espionage thriller with members of several of the American Intelligence communities investigating a sensitive murder.

The last quarter of the back speeds up considerably with shorter chapters and shorter scenes, pushing you toward the unlikely climax.

I was a little disappointed with the resolution of the "why"'s at the end. It just didn't really seem to make sense to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Camel Club
The Camel Club by David Baldacci (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 2006)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews