Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very descriptive, Feb. 15 2005
By 
John Egbe (Atlanta,GA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hour Game (Hardcover)
Hour Game is a novel with a deep look into the mysterious world of a killer's mind, full of dark passions and morbid fear. The cold bloodedness of the killer is entirely credible. The way David Baldacci portrayed him gives us a clue as to how to figure out killers in society. Though rich, the characters in this book are predictable, dreary and mean. The plot of revolving around this psychopath is rich. Based on Sean King and the Michelle Maxwell who are determined to catch the serial killer, this page-turner will keep you on the edge of your seat to the final page. The book has enough suspense and mystery to thrill a reader
You can also read DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and Clever, Sept. 9 2014
By 
Debra Purdy Kong (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
PIs and former Secret Service agents Sean King and Michelle Maxwell are hired to prove Junior Deaver’s innocence in the burglary of the wealthy Battle family. Matriarch Remmy Battle has had the contents of a secret drawer stolen, as has her husband Bobby. Compounding the family’s problems is Bobby’s sudden stroke. Meanwhile, someone is going around town of Wrightsburg and killing people copying the styles of infamous serial killers. A growing connection between these murders and the Battles, plus the police request for help, place Sean and Michelle in a game of cat and mouse with a very clever killer.

Hour Game is a terrific read. The plot was complex but not confusing and the characters intriguing. David Baldacci is one of those writers who deftly weaves description, action, dialogue and backstory to create a truly gripping read. The tension continues until you can’t stop turning the pages. I learned interesting stuff about civil war re-enactments.

My only quibble is with the method the suspect uses to escape police custody at one point. For me, it stretched credibility. Maybe the author got the idea from reading about an actual experience, but even so, the book would have worked just as well without the ploy. Still, Hour Game is one of the best thrillers I’ve read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filled with suspense..., Aug. 7 2008
By 
WP "momto3" (Vancouver, BC, Ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hour Game (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first David Baldacci novel and I really enjoyed all of the twists and turns. It was a quick read and difficult to put down. As for the story, it was based on the mind of a stone cold serial killer, with scenes that turn your stomach, but for me personally, I can't say it was one of the best books I've read. It was complicated in some parts, but very predictable in others.....I didn't get that 'Wow' feeling once I was done, but I would still highly recommend this book if you're looking for a page turner and break away from your usual Genre or Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual suspects, Nov. 23 2004
This review is from: Hour Game (Hardcover)
I've always avoided Baldacci ever since I tried "Split Second" and didn't like it. So it was with hesitation that I decided to read "Hour Game." But less than two chapters into the book, and I was hooked. I really enjoyed the melding of plot and characters and would highly recommend this to anyone. I also recently read two other books that I enjoyed, though both were TOTALLY different from "Hour Game" and not "thrillers." The first was "Runaway" by Munro, and the second was "The Children's Corner" by McCrae. Both are short stories and both are excellent. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super book, March 26 2014
By 
Michael Paterson (oakville,Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story keeps you in suspense till the very end. Both detectives are very detailed in their work hence the success in their efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, March 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy all of his books and this one was no exception. Good plot line for sure. Awaiting the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars k, Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a excellent written book . Enjoyed every page could not have guessed the main killer. Well done .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Sept. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very compelling story as expected from baldacci. Lots of twists and turns with an unexpected out come. a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, July 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish!!!!! Looking forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Game, Jan. 31 2005
This review is from: Hour Game (Hardcover)
Two Secret Service agents turned private investigators, Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, have been hired to prove a man's innocence in a domestic burglary. As the two investigate the burglary, they are pulled into a separate case, one involving a series of murders based on the criminal methods of the most infamous killers. As the bodies begin to pile-up, Sean and Michelle race to stop a killer, as well as save themselves, but just as they are about to uncover the truth they are hit with one last surprise... 'Hour Game' is a can't-put-it-down, up-all-night page turner that truly deserves to be called a page turner. I don't want to spoil any of the surprises by going into the plot any further, however, I will say that the novel is a bit of a venture into new territory for David Baldacci. This time around Baldacci has decided to write about serial killers, with some forensic detail thrown in for fun and he does so flawlessly. Full of suspense and interesting characters, 'Hour Game' proves David Baldacci is a master of his craft and ranks as one of his best books. Expect to see 'Hour Game' dominating the top spot on the bestseller lists. A MUST read!
Also recommended: BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and a book called GOOD GRIEF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hour Game
Hour Game by David Baldacci (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 1 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews