Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a good book
Sherman Alexie does such a good job with this novel. He brings the characters to life, and gives readers an understanding about what life on a Reservation might be like. Through the events that take place in the book, he shows the strengths of the characters and how they deal with occurrences other than what goes on in their daily lives.
He paints such a bright...
Published on June 23 2004 by Nikki Grenier

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Well to start off i have never read any books like this. Some parts were amusing, and some parts were dispurbing. Sherman Alexie is a very skilled writer, and i would like to read more of his books. Sometimes I find myself confused at what he is writing. Some things seem so random, I don't know if there is some deep and phiosophical meaning or he is just throwing it in to...
Published on Nov. 12 2002 by dudeofdestiny


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a good book, June 23 2004
By 
Nikki Grenier (Solana Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
Sherman Alexie does such a good job with this novel. He brings the characters to life, and gives readers an understanding about what life on a Reservation might be like. Through the events that take place in the book, he shows the strengths of the characters and how they deal with occurrences other than what goes on in their daily lives.
He paints such a bright picture of the setting and even the parts of the book that seem unreal come to life as if it were a normal thing.
This book is excellent for many things: a class on ethnicity and identity, a fun summer read, or even just for gaining insight on the life of Native Americans.
This book is worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Nov. 12 2002
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
Well to start off i have never read any books like this. Some parts were amusing, and some parts were dispurbing. Sherman Alexie is a very skilled writer, and i would like to read more of his books. Sometimes I find myself confused at what he is writing. Some things seem so random, I don't know if there is some deep and phiosophical meaning or he is just throwing it in to make the readers confused and go searching for something that isn't there. Through out the book, I was sort of uncofortable. The Sherman Alexie does something that makes me feel bad about being white. I don't know if he ment to do this but it makes me feel ashamed to have ansestors that ran the natives out of there land. Also he talks about things that would seem unacteptable to most people. For example: One of the women characters has a dream about sleeping with a cathloic priest. Now i am not cathloic, nor am i even religious, but something about that made me also feel uncomfortable. I don't think i would recomend this book for all people. Either it if full of metaphors so deep that I can't understand it, or it is full of meaningless stuff that i can't understand, I can't tell. If you like books that do that to you then go for it, but also at the same time, even if you don't like the deep philosophical stuff, this book is worth reading, I don't how much truth is behind it, but I think it gave me a greater understanding about how Native American life is, or might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story. . ., Aug. 26 2002
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
I am neither a fan of the genre of Native American mystical fantasy nor into the interpretation of dreams. But, I really, really enjoyed this book despite the fact that those were two recurring themes!! I have to also add that I have no idea if the book's depiction of modern life on the reservation was accurate, though I'm willing to assume that it was. The book was a recommendation from my younger son, Joey, and I have since learned that no one knows my tastes like my family.
What the book did have was a great story, great characters, lots of rock and roll, and a strong resemblance to the writings of Tom Robbins. And these are all things that I enjoy immensely. The book was a linguistic treat with enough offbeat characters to definitely be reminiscent of Robbins at his finest. It will be a long time before I forget the man-who-might-be-Lakota and Simon, the man who always drove his truck in reverse. I also found the book to have appeal to the senses - I could picture the barrenness of the reservation - as well as a deep sense of poignancy - the friendship between Victor and Junior ran much deeper and truer that we were originally led to believe. The casting of Robert Johnson was also a stroke of genius.
This was the first work of Sherman Alexie that I read; it will not be the last. Higher praise than that I cannot give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning and beautifully tragic tale, July 5 2002
By 
Rebecca Blazzard (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
Incredible is the talent of Sherman Alexie. In this masterfully written story of a rock band and dreams, love and blind hate, unbridled humor and memories, Alexie blends reality with a world that, though doesnt exist can be understood by any human being. This story is about life, and is written in such a way that reading it is one of the most rewarding and moving experiences one can hope for when devouring a book. Music and imagination permeate it's very puncuation and the results are spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reservation Blues, April 23 2002
By 
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
Sherman Alexie uses mysticism and abstractionism in order to tell this magnificent story. In this book Alexie take the reader on a journey with Thomas Builds-the-Fire and his band made up of other reservation Indians. Through out the book the character shortcomings are made clear and understandable. Their emotional baggage eventually ends up causing their downfall.
The main characters are Junior and Victor, the local reservation bullies. Junior once was a promising student who left the reservation to peruse an education but soon failed and came back and got a job driving. Victor is Junior constant companion and only true friend who tends to cause trouble. Chess and Checkers Warm Water who are members of the band from a near by tribe, who join the band after their first concert. They also have the emotional damages that is caused by being "a lesser people." Finally there is Thomas the cornerstone of the book and group. Thomas is a lovable, and somewhat crazy, man who has always been the wimp who Victor and Junior pick until he starts the band and his strength and love comes in order to lead the band.
This book is a thought provoking and exciting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Native American point of view for this terrific storyteller, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
A member of the Cour d'Alene tribe of Native Americans, Sherman Alexie grew up on the Spokane Indian reservation. His first book, The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven, introduced the characters and setting that appear again in Reservation Blues. With irresistible humor and a very distinctive point of view, Alexie tells what happens when the guitar of a blues legend passes into the hands of Victor, a troubled guy who becomes the troublesome but extremely talented member of a rock group, Coyote Springs. The bulk of the story follows Victor and 2 friends as they try to pull themselves from the hard-scrabble poverty of the reservation to cope with the possibility of stardom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, July 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
I finished reading this in 1 day. Bitter, gritty, some sweet. Dreams, myths, personal and community. Not so subtle on the historical message, but nice handling in its descriptive and metaphorical delivery. Worth reading twice. Yes, I can picture a movie from this one, but it has to done well to give the story justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Native Struggle, March 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
This is a brilliant example of Native American literature. It has a magical sense of the Indian experience. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. I had mixed emotions towards the characters and the effects. Sometimes it would make you want to laugh and other times it would make you feel saddened. It gives you the reality of the Native American people which is usually blown way out of proportion by movies and t.v. shows. After reading this novel it gave me an interest in Native American literature and other Sherman Alexie books. I would reccomend this novel to anyone looking for an adventure through an exciting cultural experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Native Struggle, March 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
This is a brilliant example of Native American literature. It has a magical sense of the Indian experience. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. I had mixed emotions towards the characters and the effects. Sometimes it would make you want to laugh and other times it would make you feel saddened. It gives you the reality of the Native American people which is usually blown way out of proportion by movies and t.v. shows. After reading this novel it gave me an interest in Native American literature and other Sherman Alexie books. I would reccomend this novel to anyone looking for an adventure through an exciting cultural experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Native Struggle, March 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reservation Blues (Paperback)
This is a brilliant example of Native American literature. It has a magical sense of the Indian experience. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. I had mixed emotions towards the characters and the effects. Sometimes it would make you want to laugh and other times it would make you feel saddened. It gives you the reality of the Native American people which is usually blown way out of proportion by movies and t.v. shows. After reading this novel it gave me an interest in Native American literature and other Sherman Alexie books. I would reccomend this novel to anyone looking for an adventure through an exciting cultural experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reservation Blues
Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie (Paperback - Sept. 1 1996)
CDN$ 15.33
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews