Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars This mystery book is better for pre-teens than teenagers.
This book was called The Sting of the Scorpion by Franklin W. Dixon. It is one of the many books in the once popular Hardy Boys series. This book is mainly a mystery about a zoo that has problems because two businessmen try to buy it off of the owner, Pop Warner. It also focuses on blimps and the new interest in them. The Hardy Boys, like the amateur detectives that...
Published on June 1 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This "SCORPION STING" Has No Venom
After Frank and Joe witness a explosion from a blimp and decide to look into the matter. Clues lead them to a wild world park outside of Bayport. They receive a letter telling them to meet somebody and turns out they are threathened to stay out of a case that their father is working on.

Meanwhile the parks owner Pop Carter is having trouble of his own. He's...
Published on Feb. 12 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars This "SCORPION STING" Has No Venom, Feb. 12 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
After Frank and Joe witness a explosion from a blimp and decide to look into the matter. Clues lead them to a wild world park outside of Bayport. They receive a letter telling them to meet somebody and turns out they are threathened to stay out of a case that their father is working on.

Meanwhile the parks owner Pop Carter is having trouble of his own. He's being pressured into selling the park off to a real estate developer that wants the land for other purposes. More trouble at the park is also occuring that threathens the animals and visitors at the same time.

Clues lead them to an island where they are attacked once again. Upon return they discover a message wrote on the front door of their house written in a oriental language. They eventually find out that the gang their after is the Scorpio Gang.

This book was slow at times and didn't maintain very much interest. It had good interaction but lacked the suspense of others in the series. The ending was really rushed I thought and could have been spread out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This mystery book is better for pre-teens than teenagers., June 1 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
This book was called The Sting of the Scorpion by Franklin W. Dixon. It is one of the many books in the once popular Hardy Boys series. This book is mainly a mystery about a zoo that has problems because two businessmen try to buy it off of the owner, Pop Warner. It also focuses on blimps and the new interest in them. The Hardy Boys, like the amateur detectives that they are, attempt to figure out who the man is that tries to scare Pop Warner away. The case gets even more interesting when the Scorpion gang tries to stop the Hardys! This book takes place in a city near New York City some 10 to 20 years ago, but the setting doesn't really matter. It is the actual book that is the main focus of the readers. I don't really recommend this book to anyone because it wasn't really that good. It was probably fourth grade level, so I suggest it to fourth graders. I also suggest it to British children because this book seems to be a British type of novel. The reasons I liked this book were that it was short, had a decent plot, and had some action. The reasons I disliked the book were the fact that no one ever gets hurt even though there is a gang involved, it had very little action, and it was just too far below my reading level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Author Forgot Something, Jan. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
Frank and Joe help the owner of a local animal/amusement park and the owner of a blimp manufacturing company when unknown enemies threaten to ruin their businesses. Mr. Hardy tracks down a terrorist group. I think the author forgot to include something in this book, like a plot. The book doesn't really seem to be about all that much. What story there is, is incredibly boring and terribly unoriginal. The book is lacking in both action and excitement. Only about 2 or 3 of the chapter endings made me want to read more and I found that I wanted to get through the book only to be finished with it. The title of the book is not very appropriate. The terrorist group is called the Scorpio gang, but they could have been called the Barbie doll gang with little rewriting of the story. The whole book is uninteresting, don't waste your time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Boring, Jan. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
Frank and Joe try to find out who is trying to sabotage both the owner of an animal/amusement park and the owner of a blimp manufacturing company. Mr. Hardy tracks down a gang of terrorists. There really wasn't much to this book. The plot was boring and unoriginal. The action was almost impossible to find and the story dragged on throughout most of the book. The only good thing that I could say about this book was that the Hardys stayed in Bayport for a change and all of their friends were included in the book. In my opinion, this is probably the 4th or 5th worst book of the hardcover editions. Only buy this one if you want to complete your set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Blast of a Mystery!!!... by David House, Jan. 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
One blast of a mystery! I can't beleive that other reveiwers don't like this book at all!(maybe they're mystery haters...no offense.) The Sorpion Sting is about when the Hardy Boys find the Safari Queen drop two things out of the sky. A small object that exploded, and a elephent that also explodes. The Hardys go an investigate and can't because of the gaurd's orders not to let them in. The Hardy Boys later find themselves scrambling in another mystery. The rest I have no time to tell because I going to Sandiego to compete in a Teakwondo(karate)tournament in an hour. Make sure you this book carefully.(if you haven't)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, March 31 2003
By 
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
The Sting of the Scorpion by Franklin W. Dixon is a great example of a Hardy Boy book. It is about a new dirigible that is being sabotaged. Also an animal park owner is being pressured to sell out. Can the Hardy boys stop the evil Scorpio gang in time? Franklin W. Dixon writes nothing but mystery stories. People who like suspence would love this book. I give this book 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, Jan. 4 2003
By 
Scott Thiel (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
This book indeed ranks among the worst in the series and gets my vote for one of the 10 worst. It has none of what we expect from the Hardy Boys. There is no suspense, no adventure and very little mystery. At least the brothers are in around Bayport for a change. The volume was lackluster. The artwork was disgusting. The cliff hangers had little to do with the mystery. RATED F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Run out of gas, Sept. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
I always thought that from Volume #36 on, the writers had run out of gas. They cranked out only a few good books after 1956's The Secret of Pirates Hill. The Sting of The Scorpion was no exception. It was certainly not the worst in the set but it is down there. I think by that point, the essence of what the Hardy Boys were had been lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Drab, July 13 2002
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
This volume lacked any real punch or any kind of mystery. The setting was very modern and unsuspenseful. To be honest, writing a review about this book is as boring as the book itself. It definately ranks among one of the worst in the series. YAWN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book to end the Hardy Boys mystery stories!, Aug. 22 2001
By 
Nathan (Etobicoke, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion (Hardcover)
When I looked on the computer about "The Sting of the scorpion" I thought it was a bad book to read but when I read it I went on the computer and rated it. The book IS a great book to end the Hardy Boys mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion
Hardy Boys 58: The Sting of the Scorpion by Franklin W. Dixon (Hardcover - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews