Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Keene Very Keen on Mystery Books
Nancy's Mysterious Letter is only one of many well-written books by Carolyn Keene. Keene does it again. With each book, the action starts on page 1. Sometimes it's so suspenseful that I actually worry about Nancy's predicament. Keene's vivid descriptions of the characters really bring out the color in them. I haven't read this particular book in a few years, but the style...
Published on June 11 2004 by Tracy Wythe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nancy's Mysterious Letter Review :)
In "Nancy's Mysterious Letter", Nancy receives a letter from London. Not just any letter though, it tells of her inheritance of a small fortune. Unfortunately, the inheritance is for a different Nancy Drew. But before all this, Nancy invites her elderly mail carrier, Ira Nixon, in the house for some hot chocolate because it was winter and very cold. When Ira has bid Nancy...
Published on Oct. 17 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars " MYSTERIOUS LETTER " Needs Some White Out, Feb. 28 2009
By 
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
When the mail is stolen from the mailman at the Drew residence Nancy Finds out there was a letter addressed to her from England. She finds out later that the letter was intended for a heiress also named Nancy Drew.

Nancy then begins a search to track down the missing woman. It later becomes obvious that a man is preventing Nancy from find the missing woman. A suspect named Edgar Nixon becomes the subject of her investigation. Through clues Nancy finds out that Edgar is planning to marry the heiress and then plans to steal her inheritance.

She also discovers that Edgar is engaged in swindling racket that involves many innocent and trusting people. Perilous situations seem to be the norm for Nancy throughout the mystery.

Although the book started off very good I thought it lacked finish. It seemed that near the end it was more filler then mystery. The finish had no real big climax. It was too rushed I thought. I gave it two stars for this particuler reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keene Very Keen on Mystery Books, June 11 2004
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
Nancy's Mysterious Letter is only one of many well-written books by Carolyn Keene. Keene does it again. With each book, the action starts on page 1. Sometimes it's so suspenseful that I actually worry about Nancy's predicament. Keene's vivid descriptions of the characters really bring out the color in them. I haven't read this particular book in a few years, but the style of Keene's writing is still fresh in my mind. This series of mystery books is a must-have for Nancy Drew lovers abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nancy's Mysterious Letter Review :), Oct. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
In "Nancy's Mysterious Letter", Nancy receives a letter from London. Not just any letter though, it tells of her inheritance of a small fortune. Unfortunately, the inheritance is for a different Nancy Drew. But before all this, Nancy invites her elderly mail carrier, Ira Nixon, in the house for some hot chocolate because it was winter and very cold. When Ira has bid Nancy farewell and is about to leave, he discovers his mailbag has bean stolen! Then later on, Nancy discovers the thief who stole Ira's mailbag is planning to marry the other Nancy Drew for her fortune. Meanwhile, nobody told the other Nancy Drew about her inheritance! Nancy's out on a mystery to discover who stole the mail, and who the real heiress to the fortune awaiting in London is.
Overall, it was ok. Maybe if it had more suspense and action, I prefer those kinds of books. I'm not sure if this was just a dud, or if all the Nancy Drew books are like this because this is the first one I've read. The thing that bugs me is that everything works out so perfectly through the story, so it gets boring, and there's no surprise in the ending. Just because I don't care for it though, don't you not read it. If you like innocent mysteries and old-fashioned stories, you'll probably love this. *_~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a books by its cover :), Sept. 2 2003
By 
"shae99" (United States) - See all my reviews
This book has to be the very first Nancy Drew book that i ever read. True it may not be as exciting as her other books and the drama may not be so convinving. But if you think about it, what Nancy went through in the older versions of these books was a lot for people "way back in those times" I recommend this book for any young, middle aged, or older aged reader. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!!!, May 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
This review concerns the original 1932 edition as well as the revised 1968 edition which tells a story similar to the original. Nancy mistakenly receives a letter intended for another Nancy Drew, informing her that she has inherited a large sum of money. Also, when Nancy invites her elderly mailman in for a drink of cocoa, his mailbag is stolen from Nancy's porch. Nancy sets out to find the other Nancy Drew and to locate the person who took the mailbag so that she can restore the tarnished reputation of her mailman. Personally, I found this book to be very boring. The mystery is not exciting and there is very little action in the book. Nancy solves the mystery in the end, but it is not through brilliant detective work, it is because she attends a football game at Emerson University. I know that chance encounters always play a big part in solving the case in Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mysteries, but this was just pure dumb luck and nothing else. I wouldn't even waste your time on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roxie's Review of a magnificant Book, Feb. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
I thought it was a awesome book, especially if you love mysteries and old fashioned fun. When I read it, I just couldn't take my eyes off of it. It is fun, frightening, and wonderfully entertainig. at first, I thought I was going to be scared to death, but it was really cool. I totally recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Mystery For Kids, Jan. 3 2003
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
When beloved teen sleuth Nancy Drew receives a mysterious letter from London informing her that she is the heir to a fortune, she sets out to find another person named Nancy Drew, who is the real heir to the fortune. But what she finds is mystery in every turn.
This was an exciting Nancy Drew mystery, that young readers will relish in. They will get to join Nancy on a mystery of a lifetime, and see if they can solve the case before Nancy herself. A very enjoyable book, and a must have for Nancy Drew fans everywhere.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy's Mysterious Letter, Nov. 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter (Hardcover)
I loved this book! I read 2 hours on a weekend just to get it finished. I liked the mystery and the clues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an intriguing letter from London, Nov. 9 2002
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Nancy receives a letter from London that, although it is addressed to her, is meant for another Nancy Drew. The young sleuth sets out to find the intended recipient, and another fascinating mystery begins.
Ned Nickerson, a student at Emerson college, takes a role in solving this one. Nancy, Bess and George spend a weekend at Emerson and enjoy football game festivities while they unravel the mystery.
Brave, kind, tactful and intuitive, Nancy is a role model for generations of young girls. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Mystery Ever, Dec 2 2001
By A Customer
Nancy Drew receives a letter from a London person. She reads the letter and descovers large amounts of money. She figures there is another Nancy Drew to be found and so she goes on a mission to find this other Nancy Drew.Her friends Bess and George tag along to help her solve this Mystery. To find out more read this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter
Nancy Drew 08: Nancy's Mysterious Letter by Carolyn Keene (Hardcover - Jan. 30 2002)
CDN$ 9.50 CDN$ 9.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews