Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect "TEN"; real love and heart-stopping sensuality...
...I've come to be quite spoiled by Nicole Jordan's books, and DESIRE continues that oh-so-satisfying tradition...
Brynn Caldwell is wonderfully drawn , strong, full of love for her protective older brother Grayson and her endearingly real younger brother Theo , whom she raised from birth when their mother died 12 years before. Their father is dead, and they are...
Published on July 13 2004 by Mary K, Public Librarian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sensual and satisfying
DESIRE continues Nicole Jordan's highly entertaining, emotional, and provocative Notorious series, which began in THE SEDUCTION and continued in THE PASSION. DESIRE is the Earl of Wycliff Lucian Tremayne's turn at center stage -- and he does it so well.
Lucian finds himself in Cornwall, searching for clues to the identity of the mysterious Lord Caliban, who has been...
Published on Jan. 20 2004 by Riley Merrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect "TEN"; real love and heart-stopping sensuality..., July 13 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
...I've come to be quite spoiled by Nicole Jordan's books, and DESIRE continues that oh-so-satisfying tradition...
Brynn Caldwell is wonderfully drawn , strong, full of love for her protective older brother Grayson and her endearingly real younger brother Theo , whom she raised from birth when their mother died 12 years before. Their father is dead, and they are making a living , but only just keeping ahead of their creditors....
Brynn's life is changed forever when Lucian, the Earl of Wycliff, spies her rising out of the warm waters off Cornwall after a private swim, Venus-like. Their chemistry is instantaneous, and Lucian is a very experienced lover, being one of the more illustrious rakes in the Hellfire League, whose members are featured in all of Jordan's NOTORIOUS series. Brynn doesn't know (and we don't either, at first) how disillusioned Lucian has become with the empty loveless paths he's traveled, and how deeply involved he is now with the war effort, conducting espionage for Britain as she battles on against Napoleon Bonaparte, the Corsican tyrant.
But I digress. I read romance novels for romance, both emotional/spiritual and physical, and DESIRE *delivers*.... Ms. Jordan does not disappoint, giving readers a thrillingly hot love scene in the first few pages, set up as a prologue... WOW. All I can say is WOW...
In a nutshell, Brynn's afraid to marry him because a curse has been placed on all the females in her family; if she falls in love with any man, he will die. It's already happened to her once... and I was amazed when Ms. Jordan was able to draw *me* into the mystery of the curse, just as Brynn draws Lucian effortlessly to herself; he wants her more than he's ever wanted anyone, and offers for her hand almost immediately. He wants a son, badly, having had a recent brush with death which resets his priorities.
Brynn only accepts (although Lucian's beauty is hard to deny...) because if she weds Wycliff , her brothers would no longer have to smuggle luxuries into England , untaxed, to make a living. Grayson, the older brother , is already training young Theo to smuggle , when really the boy belongs in a good school, having a brilliant mind for science. Theo is , in a word, adorable.
Brynn weds Lucian reluctantly, and the fireworks begin... all kinds of fireworks... the very best ones being in the love scenes.
And I won't give it all away, but oh, that warm wedding night on the soft moonlit beach!!! Brynn is still an innocent, and Lucian is an exceedingly generous lover. At first he really does only want her so that he can sire an heir, but that changes quickly, as he grows to love her more and more --- much to her dismay. She doesn't want him to die.. it's the curse. Lucian scoffs at it, and early on, the reader does too, but not for long.
The plot becomes increasingly complex, but never boring, as Lucian becomes aware that Grayson is perhaps diverting enormous shipments of gold meant for Britain's allies over to the French.... not dealing at all with small stuff, such as brandy and silk...but he doesn't know Grayson is being blackmailed, his siblings facing certain death unless he complies....
Then Lucian suspects Brynn herself, his own wife, of being a part of the traitorous web, and Jordan makes this completely believable. I usually don't care for plots with much intrigue, but she makes it WORK, like magic. The intrigue is completely interwoven with the love....
She makes it so believable that you're sucked (willlingly) into the story, there with them. He's fallen hard for her, and now what will he do? And it gets even more complex. After all, they've been trying for a few months to create a child...
Brynn finds that there MAY be a way to break the curse; she loves Lucian desperately and fears daily for his life. Not going to give that part away, but it 's brilliant, too... brilliant all around.
Their marriage starts out on very shaky ground( not telling why) and we see Lucian deciding -- after several weeks of wedded strife (caused by his own arrogance) -- to start from scratch and woo Brynn tenderly, slowly, sweetly... it is to die for, dear readers. Wait till you get to page 292.... the pages nearly caught fire in my hands!
And that's only one incredible love scene. There are several more, each one unique, each one so believable that you feel you're there. Jordan is fantastic at making each love scene really COUNT.... each one advances the storyline, each one has a *reason*, each one deepens their love in a new way.
Her books are so addictive....
I'm astounded at how she resolves several very complex plotlines in the very final pages; my jaw drops in a couple of places, not in disbelief but in admiration.
And I feel so much affection for her characters here, as in her other novels; they are that well-drawn, that real, that compelling. These rakes start out as selfish libertines (to put it politely) , and then we come to see that they are far more complex and vulnerable than that. I love all the characters in the NOTORIOUS books. I experience their passions and heartaches and (thank the Lord) VERY satisfying endings. And I'm slightly sad when each book is done, wanting to know what will happen to them next ...
Bravissima. More, more, more. I'm reading THE LOVER next, and I already have THE LORD OF SEDUCTION on pre-order from Amazon. Thanks for hours and hours of reading pleasure, Ms. Jordan! And now I'm going to re-read page 292. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sensual and satisfying, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
DESIRE continues Nicole Jordan's highly entertaining, emotional, and provocative Notorious series, which began in THE SEDUCTION and continued in THE PASSION. DESIRE is the Earl of Wycliff Lucian Tremayne's turn at center stage -- and he does it so well.
Lucian finds himself in Cornwall, searching for clues to the identity of the mysterious Lord Caliban, who has been betraying England to France in a myriad of spy schemes. Caliban's latest trick has been to steal gold from England and use it to fund Napoleon's armies. Given the disappearance of the latest gold shipment, Lucian is sure that Caliban's henchmen are at work in the area and he is determined to bring them to justice. But his all-business trip takes a surprising turn when he meets Brynn Caldwell. Her beauty is breathtaking and he is immediately and powerfully drawn to her. He knows his feelings are real, despite her protests that they are the result of a gypsy curse laid upon the women of her family, to be fatally attractive to men. Once he realizes that Brynn is a respectable young lady and not the housemaid he originally suspected her of being, he pushes for marriage over her loud protests, ultimately manipulating the situation to attain his desires. Brynn can't refuse Lucian when he offers to pay her family's debts, but that doesn't mean she has to be happy about it either.
Lucian is called away on their wedding night to deal with the Caliban affair, and this event sets the tone for the conflict within Lucian in the rest of the novel: the idea of duty to country vs. the idea of commitment to love and family. This inner turmoil ends up playing a large role in the tale, as Lucian uncovers damning evidence that could destroy his marriage. Coupled with the fact that Lucian is fighting Brynn's (rightful) belief in the curse, the plot becomes highly twisted and emotional.
When I first read the back cover and saw the bit about the gypsy curse, I was leery. But I needn't have worried. The curse is not some paranormal plot device bandied about to give Brynn a flaw. Jordan handles the idea in such a manner that a believer or a skeptic can appreciate it. Lucian, while he longs for Brynn to give up the idea of the curse, does not push her to do so, but waits for her to deal with it in her own way -- a fact I found extremely refreshing and unexpected in light of Lucian's alpha personality.
What I love about Jordan's works is her devotion to character development and the pure feelings of the protagonists for each other. DESIRE is no exception; Jordan lets readers see the mental and emotional workings of both Lucian and Brynn, letting us feel as torn as they themselves do. Accompanying these revelations is the palpable chemistry between the hero and heroine, which is satisfyingly and beautifully fulfilled in love scenes that are lush with sensuality, but never ripen to excessive purple prose.
Characters first seen in the previous Notorious books make brief appearances here. We get to see Damien Sinclair and his wife Vanessa, and we hear about Nick Sabine and his wife Aurora. Raven Kendrick, who first appeared in THE PASSION, is further developed here, and Dare Clune, the devil-may-care Hellfire League leader, shows a surprisingly sensitive and vulnerable side of himself. Raven now has her own story in ECSTACY, and Dare, I was delighted to discover, gets his time in the spotlight in the current release THE PRINCE OF PLEASURE.

Fans of this series will be more than satisfied with this entry. Jordan satisfies with her characteristic deft hand at plotting and luscious prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another just miss from Jordan, but still a great read!, Dec 2 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been reading Jordan's books for over a decade, and I keep coming back despite troubling problems with each book. WHY? Because she creates such strong, intriguing characters. Often, they are infuriating, but I figure she is pushing the right buttons in me to provoke such a response. Even when they are infuriating, I long remember them after I put them down.
This book - the third installment in Jordan's Regency era Notorious series - has another of the arrogant alpha males, Lucian Tremayne, Earl of Wycliff. He is a spy for the English government. He comes upon comes across Brynn Caldwell as she is gets out of the water after swimming. He immediately proposes (o-kay) but Brynn says no, that she - and all the women of her family are curse. The curse is a they lure men to love them to their death - sort of like the Leannan Si of Ireland.
Well, a wee curse is nothing to a master spy, so Lucian does not let this stop his pursuit. He finally convinces Brynn to marry him. This creates troubles as Brynn and her family have been smuggling to make ends meet,and Lucian has been sent their to stop the flow of gold going to France. Despite a rocky start to their marriage bed, Lucian and Brynn share desire, though both keep their emotions locked away.
Where I got a wee ticked was his wanting the child and she saying she would give him a son for her freedom. Women just don't carry a child for 9 months and then turn their back, and this is a little trite to boot. Then he says if she wants a child she will have to pursue the conception? Shakes head? I felt like Jordan changed characters on me.
She is a strong writer that keeps me coming back time and again.
Just one of these days she is going to get it perfect and WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To my surprise ... a most wonderful read!, Oct. 5 2003
By 
Streakblondie "streakblondie" (Lower Hutt, Wellington New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Hmmmmm, well it has taken me some time to read "Desire" ... this was initially because I was somewhat disappointed in "Ecstasy".
However, to my pleasant surprise Desire far exceeds the disappointment of "Ecstasy" and is well worth the read!
A novel based on mystery, mistrust, and passion ... an unlikely mix, but certainly a good read!
Brynn Caldwell, an impoverished gentry living in Cornwall, forced into 'free-trade' to make ends meet .... Lucian, the notorious Lord of Wycliff, working for the Foreign office in search of traitors to the crown ... a curse pushes them apart but their unwanted attraction pulls them together: a battle of wills ensues and in the end will love win out?
Overall a really great read; a real page turner, and interesting until the very end .... (although the ending seemed slightly, only slightly, cliched to moi); I must admit that romance novels that pit hero vs heroine, in respect to fighting their feelings to the bitter end, don't endear themselves to me but this was a very well written book and I thought quite outstanding.
A word of warning though: don't read a Jordan novel unless you like a more "risque" romance novel .... this is not for the TIMID as the sex scenes fairly drip off ("steamy" if you get what I mean) the pages!!
Anyways, definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Desired to throttle both of them, May 19 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Our ´¿hero´¿ is said to be a great master spy-so how come everyone knows what he´¿s up to?
Except his wife, of course, who is treated like a brood mare for him to make pregnant so he can have a son. He doesn´¿t really want to be married, but a recent brush with death makes him long for a son. No love or trust is ever really developed in the relationship, especially when he initiates their wedding night by saying she is going to have to go ahead and consummate the relationship sooner or later so she might as well get on with it. When she says no a second time later on in the book he just plows on ahead anyway.
Then she makes the bargain that as soon as a son is born she can leave. Well what woman in their right mind is simply going to dump their baby? He agrees to it and tells her fine, but if she wants the baby she has to initiate all the lovemaking from now on. Whoa´¿he was the one who wanted the baby. So he makes her jump through hoops to ´¿please him´¿ in every way while he just lies back and occasionally participates. It is about as romantic as watching grass grow. Finally he decides she has betrayed him and is going to kill her.
Her ambivalence in the marriage has been a-she has no idea who he is because he never spends any time with her apart from forcing his conjugal rights. And b-part of a supposed gipsy curse and she decides she loves him despite everything.
The paranormal aspect is thin but seems the only explanation for her putting up with the appalling way he treats her throughout the entire marriage right up to the last 20 pages of the book. Another turkey from an author who thinks that sex scenes equal romance, and can´¿t avoid the word erotic. The definite is ´¿ending to arouse sexual desire. The only thing these scenes arouse in me is a desire to throttle any author who portrays non-consensual sex as a given which women just have to put up with, and really like after all anyway because no one in their right mind can resist a rake. Revolting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It let's you know right off the bat, Jan. 24 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
You read the first page and you pretty much know whether it'll be your thing or not.
It starts off intriguing--I mean, anyone would be curious as to why he's (the hero's) thinking what he is about his wife. You wonder if she's the heroine at first or if it was a previous wife of the hero's or a million other things because the book isn't eased into. The author makes you plunge. It works from the ending of the middle, out and while the conflict seemed flat at times, with the political scheme way too contrived and impractically plotted out, it managed to flow. It didn't seem to struggle and had a fairly good pace, not really lagging in too many places. The emotional conflict is based mainly on the gypsy curse which surrounds the heroine. It was original and not badly thought out.
My biggest beef with this was that it got so sappy and predictable around the ending. Things like: "Oh, how ever will you forgive me?" and "I hope you can believe I really love you" were spouted off by the characters. I hate the latter. Most likely, if a writer scrolls that, it means they even think that they should have made it seem more substantial an ending, which it could have been. That the ending may have been cut a little too short and wrapped up to sloppily. The sensuality in this is a given, just look at the cover. Other than minor flaws, it's a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for steaminess, 1 star for plot., Nov. 20 2001
By 
Sarah "sssspro" (North East, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Lucian has got to be one of the most arrogant alpha males I have come across in a long time. His biggest redeeming factor, and he does redeem himself, is that he (eventually) realizes what he has done and how it effected the heroine Brynn. There are elements of "The Big Misunderstanding" but they are handled well and took up a very small part of the plot, and actually enhanced it. (If I sound surprised, I am, because this is the first time I have ever thought that particular plot devise worked.)
The sex scenes were hot and well done, as Ms. Jordan is known for, though I found it a little hard to buy into how much they lusted after each other, especially since they really did not seem to like each other all that much for most of the book. As the book progresses she does an admirable job showing how each lead develops their feelings towards the other, so I have no complaint in that department.
My problem with the story was how the "suspense" plot was handled. Lucian is an intelligence agent in Britain during the Napoleonic Wars (big surprise). He is after a traitor high up in the aristocracy. He has been chasing the traitor for some time and continues to do so throughout this book. The problem is that this plot is not needed at all considering nothing is done to further it. By the end of the book Lucian is no closer to catching the bad guy than he was in the beginning. The only thing accomplished was setting up the scene for what I assume will be the next sequel. I felt cheated with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 stars - Not Bad Yet Not Memorable Either..., Nov. 16 2001
By 
Abbys (Moreno Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I have waited for this third segment of Nicole Jordan's Notorious series with high expectations because I've enjoyed both prequels very much. I find myself a bit disappointed on this one, however. Lucian and Brynn's story was a bit simple for me. The plot have some pulling moments but needed more enhancements for full exciting effect. The gypsy curse was interesting in the beginning yet not properly resolved towards the end for me to find it credible enough. I was also not specially taken with both the hero/heroine's characters. They are well liked, yes but not to the extent for me to find them hearty. They're not quite as challenging as Damien and Vanessa in THE SEDUCTION nor were they intriguing as Nicholas and Aurora in THE PASSION. However, the intimacy of Lucian and Brynn is consistent with the prequels. It does have full sensual effects. It's fun, tasty and not lurid in my opinion.
Another niggle about this book is my own personal preferences. See, I LOVE book sequels/trilogy/series. I enjoy keeping track of the characters on my books, especially those I favor. However, I also expect authors to write updates of the previous characters. Even just a tiny bit. It brings back old fun memories and it's heart warming to read some short new infos of how these characters are doing. It is afterall what a sequel or series is expected of, isn't it? In this particular book, it is so unbelievable that Damien Sinclair (who happends to be a very good friend of the Earl of Wycliff) and Nicholas Sabine (who's a cousin of Lucien) didn't have any appearance in this book at all. Just a mention of their names but no appearances whatsoever. I was very disappointed in this matter.
Compared to THE SEDUCTION and THE PASSION, DESIRE unfortunately fell short. It's not what I have expected. However, it is still somewhat an enjoyable read.
The fourth book of the Notorious Series is ECSTACY, Story of Raven, Nicholas Sabine's sister. Coming Fall 2002. I hope Raven's story would be more to my liking and would include UPDATES of the previous characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DESIRE scorches with top-notch passion, Nov. 14 2001
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
With DESIRE as the third installment of the romance around members of the scandalous HELLFIRE LEAGUE, NICOLE JORDAN weaves a tale of passion between the rake Earl Of Wycliff, Lucian Tremayne and the gypsy enchantress, Brynn Caldwell. It was love at first sight for Lucian when he spied on the luscious beauty at the Cornish beach and his life-threatening job as a British spy has fired his impulse to marry Brynn for her to bear him a son. Ironically Lucian got more than he had bargained for; Brynn was a temptress that gnawed at his passion and soul, and when he craved love from Brynn, she refused his offer because of a visceral atavistic fear that the gypsy curse would stake its claim on Lucian just like it did on her first love.
DESIRE, following the tradition of PASSION and the splendid SEDUCTION triumphs with sensual delights between Brynn and Lucian. The love scenes sizzles and scorches to a pulsating, dizzying beat. Intrigue takes a secondary seat with the subplot of a gold-smuggling contraband with Lucian as the investigator. As with any romance theirs is one overwrought with difficulties. Lucian has to learn to trust his wife and conquer his demons of having killed his betraying friend Giles. Brynn is caught in a dilemma between his smuggling brother, Gray and Lucian.
Ms. Jordan's bold and passionate style keeps DESIRE a smoldering read, but it lacks the poignant tenderness in THE SEDUCTION and propulsive intrigue in THE PASSION. New fans who savour heated historical romance will no doubt be enthralled, but those already mesmerized by her style from her earlier works will find it somehow lacking that spark of surprise. Ms. Jordan is such an engaging storyteller that DESIRE leaves the reader desiring for even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate intrigue, Nov. 3 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Lucian Tremayne, Earl of Wycliffe and legendary spymaster, has a chance encounter with beautiful and fiery Brynn Caldwell when she is swimming near her home on the Cornish coast. A recent brush with death has convinced Lucian of the need to marry and produce an heir and when he discovers Brynn is an eligible, but impoverished noblewoman, he decides she will make the perfect bride to bear him a son.
Brynn however is a firm believer in a gypsy curse which will mean death to any man she comes to love and so is determined never to wed. Despite her strenuous objections Brynn is forced into marriage with the Earl to save her family from poverty, but as both Brynn and Lucian are equally determined not to fall in love, the marriage is to be purely a business arrangement and love is not part of the bargain!
Soon after their marriage, Lucian begins to suspect his new wife and her brother may be embroiled in a treasonous plot to aid Napoleon. He is tormented by his growing feelings for his wife yet torn by his duty to his country. Brynn's belief in the gypsy curse means that she will not allow herself to care for Lucian, despite the overwhelming attraction she feels towards him. Set against a background of suspicion and treason, the passion Brynn & Lucian feel for each other explodes as intrigue and the search for stolen gold brings the tension between the lovers to a dangerous climax.
Once again Nicole Jordan delivers a passionate and sensual romance in DESIRE, which is the third book in the Notorious series, following THE SEDUCTION and THE PASSION. Set in 1813 Regency London and Cornwall and with the elements of intrigue and danger added to the romance, most readers will enjoy this latest instalment. I thought it lacked some of the character and plot development of Nicole's earlier novels and it would also have been nice to see more development of Brynn and Lucian's relationship outside the bedroom. Lastly, a minor gripe. Unfortunately the setting of the novel never really had a Regency "feel" and in fact it could have been set in any time period. It didn't really come across as a Regency, especially when compared to THE SEDUCTION and books such as those in Jo Beverley's brilliant COMPANY OF ROGUES/THREE GUYS CALLED GEORGE Series (all of which are excellent!).
Still DESIRE was a enjoyable read and will ensure that readers will be eagerly awaiting the fourth book in the series, ECSTASY (due in 2002), which will continue the story of Raven, who first appeared in THE PASSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desire
Desire by Nicole Jordan (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 30 2001)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews