Customer Reviews


576 Reviews
5 star:
 (499)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in a long time
It feels like you're right there, living the action. Breathtaking!
Highly recommended for anyone who's into horses, horse racing, sports, etc.
Published 2 months ago by Caroline F

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit
The story of Seabiscuit is absolutely remarkable. Out of a nation in crisis rises an incredible symbol of hope and out of the depths of poverty rises a man with a passion. Red Pollard and Seabiscuit are an American legend. Though Laura Hillenbrand attacks this novel with great enthusiasm, she seems to lack a much-needed sense of emotion. She becomes too overwhelmed...
Published on Dec 1 2003 by Joseph Longo


‹ Previous | 1 2 358 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration, April 15 2004
By 
Jin Daikoku "daikoku53" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
Although this book starts slowly, building a foundation for the novel, it gradually accelerates until the pages fly by, much like a horse race. As a Middle Distance runner, I found this book to be very inspirational. Seabiscuit is one of my favorite books of all-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, June 17 2005
"SEABISCUIT" is not so much a story about a horse, but rather a story about the lives of the men which that horse changes.
Red is an orphan of the depression. Scrapping to get by after abandoned by his parents, Red is half blinded as a "boxer" in human-versions of warehouse dog fights. He turns to horse racing. Although technically too big to be a jockey, he starves himself to make weight.
Buick is a bicycle repairman who stumbles into automobile manufacturing and makes a fortune. When he loses a member of his family in an automobile accident, the family crumbles.
Red and Buick are broken men who come together because of Seabiscuit. Buick is the owner of the scrappy horse, and his broken cowboy trainer insists Red is the only jockey with the scrappy fire to ride it. "SEABISCUIT" is as much their story as that of the horse.
Ironic that a story about a horse can end up being such a "human" story.
Judged on those merits "SEABISCUIT" is a gripping drama that is in the same league as "SECRET LIFE OF BEES, " "MY FRACTURED LIFE" and "THE DA VINCI CODE."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flaws Make the Greatness, March 2 2005
By A Customer
This isn't the story of a great racehorse or a great jockey. That would be pretty formula. This is the story of a mediocre at best racehorse and a fairly unqualified jockey who somehow beat the odds to achieve greatness. That's what makes it a great book. The flawed characters in life are the most interesting. Whether they fail or succeed, it is their flaws that make them compelling. Somewhat like "My Fractured Life" and "The Secret Life of Bees", this is an amazing story that celebrates the flawed heroes among us and takes the reader's emotions for a ride that few have experienced and you can't help celebrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful, Feel-Good Story of an American Champion, July 13 2004
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
If you ever stand silently and look into a horse's handsome face, you see that they are intelligent, gentle creatures. Laura Hillenbrand's wonderful story conveys this, as well as the excitement that racing fans feel when horses round the turn and charge into the homestretch. More than that, she describes beautifully the heart and soul of a remarkable horse. Seabiscuit didn't look like a champion, but he had heart, hustle, a perverse sense of humor, and he could run like the wind. His owner, his trainer, and his jockey saw what he had, and he took them to such dazzling heights in 1938 that he became more famous than world leaders. Laura Hillenbrand has done an outstanding job of tracing the career of this magnificent horse. Reading her story is pure enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A TREAT, June 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
I am much enamored with the extraordinary number of historical efforts, both fictional and non-fictional, which have been published in the last year. This book is a revelation: Ms. Hillenbrand works things into this story that make your jaw drop. The chapter on a starving jockey hallucinating because of his hunger is extraordinary. Her observations are as good as any novelist's: "Charles Howard was like a great charging locomotive, you either climb on board or moved out of the way."
She managed to make a horse more interesting than most writers could make a human being. There are some other extraodinary historical efforts: if you have not read Eric Larson's Isaac's Storm, about the Galveston Hurricane of 1900, or Devil In A White City, in which Larson alternates chapters between Daniel Burnham and celebrities like Thomas Edison at the 1893 World's Fair and a deranged serial killer who stalked the Fair Grounds, you are missing two masterpieces. And on the fiction side, a book that has gotten no attention from any critics but is quickly becoming the darling of readers, 1906, an extraordinary tale of the great San Francisco Earthquake by James Dalessandro, is not to be missed. Any reader will love how the Italian singer Enrico Caruso steals the show in 1906. Kudos to all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome, June 9 2004
By 
J. S. Kaminski "j_s_k" (Aberdeen, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Seabiscuit" is easily one of the most inspiring stories of the last century. Set against the backdrop of Depression 1930s America, a team of misfits (owner, trainer, jockeys and horse) come together to forge a winning team that few could have foreseen.
Each had his own obstacles - the jockey's blind eye, the trainer's unorthodox methods, the owner's western roots - and that's not even mentioning the horse. Seabiscuit had even bigger problems. He didn't look like a champion, for starters. And he was raced far too much as a 2-year old, which stunted his progress and made him appear to be a joke to much of the racing establishment.
But once these men began to work with Seabiscuit, it was not long before his true promise came to be realized. Seabiscuit won numerous races, set many track records, and retired as the leading money winner of his time. Not bad for an "also-ran!"
Hillenbrand tells Seabiscuit's story while also managing to give many details about "big picture" stories as well - e.g., life in 1930s America, the trials and tribulations of jockeys, the up-and-down popularity of the sport of horse racing. Telling all of these while keeping the reader not only interested but riveted, Hillenbrand has written an exceptional book.
I did not know the story of Seabiscuit before this book came along; now, I will never forget it! His is one of the great "underdog" stories of all time.
Five stars. Absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit, America and the Great Dream...., May 29 2004
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
Hillenbrand has hit the track running with this marvelous book which is at once the biography of an unlikely athletic hero and a superb social/political overview of America just before and during the great depression. Her moving text and unvarnished portrayal of Seabiscuit and the humans around him captures a moment in American history that is long gone and deserves to be shown to current generations. Hillenbrand takes the individual threads of each peron's *horse's* life and weaves them together into a glorious tapestry that will satisfy even the most finicky of readers. If you like horses, racing, American history or a tale of the underdog then Seabiscuit is for you. If you don't read non-fiction, then I challenge you to pick up Seabiscuit this summer...it will redefine the standards by which you choose your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit, What A Guy!!!!, May 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
This book is one of the best I've ever read, and I am an avid reader. Laura Hillenbrand brings the story of the Depression era horse Seabiscuit to life in this fascinating narriative that is full of fascinating historical information about the sport of horse racing.
Her discription of the brutal existance of jockeys is riviting, not just about the punishing regimens followed to "make weight", but also the callous disregard of the jockeys as human beings. I will never forget her discription of the 17 year old jockey, who was crushed in one of the primitive starting gates and left was left to die in agony on a table unattended.
Hillenbrand is a master of descriptive pharasing and her writing can be very lyrical, which I liked. When she describes Seabiscuit biting down on his bit before a big push, I felt like I was riding Seabiscuit myself!
Her descriptions of Seabiscuit's personality really brought him to life for me as well.
You don't have to know anything about horse racing to enjoy this book. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit, May 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
I read Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand in February because it came with the Seabiscuit DVD. I first wanted to read this book because I'm a horse lover. Being a horse lover also helped me enjoy this book. This book is full of loss, gain, triumph, and all of the other elements that make up a good book. I recommend this book to everyone because this book is good, even if you're not a horse lover. As I said above, this book contains all of the elements of a good story. This book should be read by everyone who enjoys reading.
I can relate to this book in several ways. First, I enjoy horses. I've also the experienced feelings of joy, triumph, and loss that are illustrated in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit--All Heart!, April 20 2004
This review is from: Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Paperback)
I know little to nothing about horses, but this book captured me from beginning to end. SEABISCUIT is as much about people as it is about horses.
Charles Howard, the bycycle repairman turned automobile entrepreneur.
Howard's beautiful Mexican wife, Marcella
John (Red) Pollard the poetry-quoting little jockey with the booming voice and a way with horses
Tom Smith, the legendary man of the plains who could communicate with horses almost as though he was one of them.
These characters along with other jockeys, horsemen, horsewomen, entertainers (Bing Crosby) and reporters make SEABISCUIT come alive. Hillenbrand is meticuous in describing the economic and historical conditions surrounding the circumstances in which Seabiscuit came to prominence. She is especially good bringing the reader into the world of horses through the eyes of the jockeys, stable boys, trainers, and reporters.
After listening to this entire book in CD form I am well satisfied. The book reads like fiction. The people come alive. There were parts that brought me to tears.
I thank Laura Hillenbrand for bringing the world of SEABISCUIT to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 358 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3aa6978)

This product

Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand (Paperback - March 26 2002)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews