Customer Reviews


365 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic View of War
I received the Kindle copy of "All Quiet on the Western Front" immediately after having ordered it. Having read the paperback edition a number of years ago, I recalled just how vivid the description of conditions on the front from the German point of view are in this book. The Kindle edition is of course faithful to the original print version and I have been...
Published 11 months ago by Lance

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than interesting, but very educational
All Quiet on the Western Front is a great book to read for anyone. That is if you dont mind reading unnecissary repetition.
Although the same thing seems to happen over and over again in this book, it is still a great anti-war book that teaches a lot about the horrors of war and pushes the reader to look beyond the drawing boards of war and see it for what it really...
Published on March 15 2004 by Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic View of War, Aug. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the Kindle copy of "All Quiet on the Western Front" immediately after having ordered it. Having read the paperback edition a number of years ago, I recalled just how vivid the description of conditions on the front from the German point of view are in this book. The Kindle edition is of course faithful to the original print version and I have been finding my long-buried thoughts to have emerged full strength. The book is excellent, heart-felt and is not written for the faint-hearted reader. There is much brutal realism here that cuts to the heart of the matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of fiction about the horrors of war, July 14 2013
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was torn about whether or not to give this book four or five stars. At the time it was released, it was definitely a five star book. It removed the fog of war from the battlefield and allowed readers to be transported to the horror of war. Remarque was not the first veteran to comment on the horror of war. U.S. Civil War general/hero Sherman said, "I am tired and sick of war. Its glory is all moonshine. It is only those who have neither fired a shot nor heard the shrieks and groans of the wounded who cry aloud for blood, for vengeance, for desolation. War is hell." So Remarque wasn't saying anything new here about war. What he did do that was new was talk about it in depth and include the effects on the men who survived. For even those whom war didn't kill, war destroyed. That's perhaps a little strong, but there's no doubt that war causes deep, deep mental and emotional scars on almost all soldiers who are thrust into the thick of combat.

So why only four stars? Well, I've read a lot of real war memoirs before turning to this fictional WW1 story. And for me, real memoirs hit home harder. If anything, it is sadly the truth that reality is harsher than fiction when one reads the stories of brutal war veterans (brutal war, not brutal veterans). Books like Blood Red Snow: The Memoirs of a German Soldier on the Eastern Front, With the Old Breed, or Japanese Destroyer Captain are all real, non-fiction stories that equal or surpass the horror and impact of All Quiet. So for me personally, it didn't have the impact that it might otherwise have.

Having said that, I have no problems with someone else rating it five stars. It certainly is a profound introduction to the horrors of war. I can understand why it's a classic, and even though I might recommend non-fiction before it, I definitely have no reservations about recommending this work of fiction for anyone who wants to understand war. If anything, it is less exaggerated and horrible than the real accounts. Most importantly, fiction or not, these kinds of books remind us all that while war may sometimes be an absolute necessity (e.g., against Hitler), war is about as close to hell as you can get to on this Earth. That, along with the sacrifices made by veterans for us, is something we should all never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story of the horrors of war, Oct. 22 2008
By 
Craig Jenkins (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like many others here I was incredibly impressed with this remarkably genuine and frank story of the horrors of war. Trapped in a series of trips back and forth to the front and the incredible difference from the world he once knew, the young Paul Baumer spirals further and further from hope. As his friends fall around him, his isolation and sense of vulnerability drives him towards what seems like an inevitable end.

Fantastically paced, filled with the horrors and little joys of life on the edge of life. Very highly recommended. More than a little Das Boot in this wartime slice of life from an earlier era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a lasting impression, April 18 2014
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
All Quiet on the Western Front chronicles the story of Paul Bäumer and his classmates, a group of twenty-year-olds who volunteered for service in the German army during the First World War.

Most of the novel focuses on their time near the front and the horrific experiences therein—the terror of artillery bombardment, near misses by enemy snipers, and the gruesome wounds beyond the capabilities of 1916 medicine. The most distinctive part of the novel (to my eye, anyway) occurs when Paul momentarily loses his bearings and jumps into an unfamiliar artillery crater during a patrol. In the darkness, he hears another man jump in, and Paul immediately and unflinchingly stabs him in self-defence, without even verifying his allegiance. As the sun rises, Paul is relieved to find the soldier a Frenchman, but is horrified to see that he's still clutching to life, dying a slow, agonizing death.

Other parts of the novel detail Paul's time on leave or in the hospital after moderate injury. Overall these passages highlight the gaping chasm separating life on the front from life at home (though the hospitals are made out to be nearly as bad as the front itself). Similarly, there is also a huge disconnect at the front between downtime (in which the soldiers play cards and trade black humour) and the terror of actual combat. The overarching theme in all of this is the loss of youth to the horrors of war in all their forms, and Paul's loss of hope of ever returning to a normal life.

One detail I appreciated about All Quiet is its historicity—at the beginning, Europe is locked in trench warfare, but by the end, improvements in technology (mainly tanks) have helped to break the stalemate in favour of the Allies. Rumours of a ceasefire start to swirl in the summer of 1918, but Paul has mixed feelings: killing is all he's known for years—how will he adjust if he makes it out of the war alive?

Final remarks: All Quiet has been labelled "the greatest war novel of all time". As in my review of Dune ("science fiction's supreme masterpiece"), I don't think I can make a well-qualified judgement on that ranking, but Remarque's book certainly makes a lasting impression, and I can definitely give it a solid four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are there, Dec 30 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Erich Maria Remarque did a great job with his story. Being first person in view gave you the feeling that you were there. To add to this he is a very good writer.

Not being in the Great War, I can only imagine the technology of the time and trust in old war movies. In addition, this is a foreign culture in a foreign time. People there had a tendency to trust and respect their elders unquestionably.

Being of the Vietnam era, I could however relate to the parts about the different personalities and some of the war situations and attitudes. I could appreciate the river crossing at night and the defending of the deserted town. I even liked the cat that they befriended in the story. We had a dog that was named Followme, which was one of the few that did not end up in a pot. I even could feel the anxiety of not fighting and just waiting for action. The only major difference is the question of do you want the people to be behind you to push you on or cheer you on, or doing the same job with people that are indifferent or not supportive?

Anyway even with the graphic description of the actual battle is more of a description of war, not a reason to sue for peace at any cost. The story is more of a, "don't let someone pull the wool over your eyes," with the talk of the glory of war. A movie with that theme is "The Americanization of Emily" (1964)". Also, don't let Authority blindly lead you into the army with the condos as in, "Private Benjamin" (1980).

This is not the end but the key statement that pretty much sums it up, "He fell in October 1918, on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front, that the army report confined itself to the single sentence: All quiet on the western Front."

All Quiet on the Western Front (Universal Cinema Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Nov. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
A great story about the great war. Easy read and definitely a classic. Very affordable and good size. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All quiet on the waterfront, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read this book and saw the movie a long time ago, but now with Amazon, I can find these forgotten treasures once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books ever., Aug. 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All Quiet on the Western Front (Mass Market Paperback)
This has to be my favourite book of all time, it is from the German perspective in WW1 and it depicts the gruesome battles and sights these soldiers must go through. I initially bought this for an assignment, but then I fell in love with it and it was not tedious in any way! BUY IT! READ IT! ENJOY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are there, April 14 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Erich Maria Remarque did a great job with his story. Being first person in view gave you the feeling that you were there. To add to this he is a very good writer.

Not being in the Great War, I can only imagine the technology of the time and trust in old war movies. Also this is a foreign culture in a foreign time. People there had a tendency to trust and respect their elders unquestionably.

Being of the Vietnam era I could however relate to the parts about the different personalities and some of the war situations and attitudes. I could appreciate the river crossing at night and the defending of the deserted town. I even liked the cat that they befriended in the story. We had a dog that was named Followme, which was one of the few that did not end up in a pot. I even could feel the anxiety of not fighting and just waiting for action. The only major difference is the question of do you want the people to be behind you to push you on or cheer you on, or doing the same job with people that are indifferent or not supportive?

Anyway even with the graphic description of the actual battle is more of a description of war, not a reason to sue for peace at any cost. The story is more of a, "don't let someone pull the wool over your eyes," with the talk of the glory of war. A movie with that theme is "The Americanization of Emily" (1964)". Also don't let Authority blindly lead you into the army with the condos as in, "Private Benjamin" (1980).

This is not the end but the key statement that pretty much sums it up, "He fell in October 1918, on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front, that the army report confined itself to the single sentence: All quiet on the western Front."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A Must Read... Is there a better way to experience history than through the experiences of those who have been there. I don't know how I missed this one over the last 70 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Quiet on the Western Front
All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque (Mass Market Paperback - March 12 1987)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews