Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the lost generation...
...the other one being (for me) "A farewell to arms" by Hemingway.
"No passionate, happy love relationship between two common human beings possible as the entire world is about to experience one of the most brutal and violent spells of it's long and tormented history". This seems to be the main leitmotif of the lost writers, an idea taken and...
Published on Jan. 4 2002 by G. Shkodra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly For Remarque Lovers
Except for All Quiet On The Western Front and Spark Of Life, there is a strange sameness to all of Remarque's novels. It's as if he spent his life attempting to perfect a specific theme populated with a specific set of characters. Invariably, the main character is a life-torn man, outwardly bitter and cynical, yet emotionaly informed by a romantic core which allows...
Published on Oct. 24 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the lost generation..., Jan. 4 2002
By 
G. Shkodra (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
...the other one being (for me) "A farewell to arms" by Hemingway.
"No passionate, happy love relationship between two common human beings possible as the entire world is about to experience one of the most brutal and violent spells of it's long and tormented history". This seems to be the main leitmotif of the lost writers, an idea taken and retaken over and over again by the great Hemingway himself and others writers of his generation.
The story takes place in 1928 in the Weimar Republic right before Adolf Hitler's coming to power at the dawn of the Third Reich, just when the survivors were trying to heal the wounds caused by the WW1 and starting to hope for a better life, with another havoc hanging over their heads. Remarque writes about a life-torn, cynical man, a story of friendship and love, both being the only things that matter to him, as the world seems to go towards destruction and there's little to love or live for. Going quickly and easily through this novel pages (Remarque's writing style is simple and yet so fluid and attractive), one can almost smell the violent, melancholic, hopeless atmosphere of the pre-war hyperinflation period.
Fatality and pessimism - that seems to be the frame of almost every single work of this great writer, like "The Arch of Triumph" and "The Black Obelisk" for instance. But if one knows well the life he lived and all that he's been through, one can't argue at the idea that he had no much of a choice of writing about anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a journey into the depths of the human spirit, May 2 2000
By 
alexandra (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
this is the book that got me hooked on Remarque. the story takes place in 1928. world war 1 is over, but its traces are conspicuously intertwined with the characters' lives and the world around them. the story is told through the eyes of the youngest comrade- Lohkamp. the three lead a monotonous existance in this world of violence and melancholy, an existance sweetened by the cherished bond between the three. later on, Pat, a third party, enters the life of the main character. with her presence, events unfold that bring the comrades to closer to one another, and allow them, as well as the reader, to delve deeply into the intricacy of the human spirit. overall, it is a story of life, love and war's aftermath, and anyone could learn from the humanity and occasional eccentricity i so admire in Remarque's characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot do it justice., May 3 2002
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
It is a crime that Remarque is only widely known for All Quiet on the Western Front in America. Not that that's a bad book or anything; it's one of the best books of all time. I like it very much indeed. But the fact is that Remarque never wrote a bad book, and that he wrote a great many books after Western Front. All of them are worth reading. Black Obelisk, A Life for a Life, A Time to Live and a Time to Die, Shadows in Paradise...all of them. But above all, there is Three Comrades, very much my favourite book of all time. Have you read Hemingway's The Sun Also Rises? What about Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby? Those are always the books one names when talking about literature of the Lost Generation. And they're great books too. But why isn't Three Comrades ever mentioned? It is a mystery!
Three Comrades takes place in Weimar Germany. We see hints of Hitler's rise to power. They help us picture said rise, even if they don't explain it. But the book isn't about politics - like The Sun Also Rises, it's about genuine people caught trying to find love, grace and dignity in a world increasingly devoid of all three. And they succeed, finding strength in love and friendship. And that's what this book is about - human friendship and human love, the two most important and beautiful aspects of life. The works of Remarque always feature an odd dichotomy - a sort of clash between a Romantic, highly idealized worldview and grim, bland, prosaic reality. It is this that makes his works so great - the promise that it's possible for the former to exist surrounded by the latter, hard though it may be. It is this that also allows Remarque to see the humanity present in any individual, no matter how debased or outcast (witness his attitude towards the prostitutes). It is this that makes Pat and Robert's romance the sweetest and most believable one in any book I've read. It is this, all in all, that made me genuinely sad, not only at the ending, but at having to leave the world and the people Remarque created. And no higher praise is possible.
My words can't do it any justice, so I won't go into further detail; you'll just have to read it. Hey, Mr. Publisher: how about releasing a new edition that's priced a little lower so people will actually want to buy a great book? Is that so much to ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarque is Remarque, Dec 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
If you love Remarque's work, and have yet to read Three Comrades, it is one of his best.. If you've never read Remarque, this book is as good as any as a place to get "hooked." I realize we all had to read All Quiet on the Western Front, but this remarkable writer captures and expresses not only a particular, and personal, feeling for and of an important period of our history, he also brings it alive for us in a haunting, poetic manner. Indeed, The Road Back should be every bit as required reading when it comes to Remarque's work as "All Quiet." Still, you cannot go astray if you begin your journey reading in Remarque with Three Comrades. After you've finished with Remarque, read all of Graham Greene; these two writers are kindrid spirits--true 20th C. "romance" (and I do not mean Harlequin) writers of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in a while, April 19 2011
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
Remarque is such an underrated author. I couldn't find any book of his other than All Quiet on the Western Front at the major bookstores. This is just as good if not better than that one. He writes so simply/starkly that you imagine you are there. You feel what the characters feel. This is a classic I highly recommend and will definitely read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
I can't remember the last time I read a book that left me with tears running down my face. This one did. The last sentence echoed in my head for days after I got done reading. Maybe not the best book of all time, but beautifully written and very touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - A True Classic, Feb. 4 2004
By 
Richard A. Mitchell "Rick Mitchell" (candia, new hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
This is a book of three veterans of World War I trying to continue life in Germany after the war. They are like the Three Musketeers - all for one and one for all. When the narrator character falls in love, the girlfriend becomes the D'artagnon.
The characters think they have seen all that can be seen of death and are immune from any feeling relating to it. They learn otherwise as the girlfriend has a terminal injury and there is another death close to them.
Remarque is a terrific writer. He captures so well the characters and the times in which they live. The characters - both main three-four and the supporting cast jump out of the pages at the reader. (He reminds me of a German Steinbeck in the way he able to portray characters.) As the three friends plod on fighting to live well and happily in a depressed economy and a depressing time, one finds himself rooting them on.
Somehow, Remarque makes the reader have complete empathy with characters - even though we are now eighty plus years away from when they lived. Only one of the best writers of the last century could accomplish such a feat.
I rate this above Night in Lisbon and as good, if not better, than All Quiet on the WEstern Front
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books i ever read, Jan. 19 2004
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
three Comrades + 1. Remarque turned their car, Carl, into another comrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OML, Jan. 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
Believe it or not, but this book is one of only few that help you resist the cynicism of the modern society. Great reading from the great author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe My Favorite..., March 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Three Comrades: A Novel (Paperback)
Remarque, Vonnegut, and Boll (though not necessarily in that order) are the big three for me, although Remarque tends to be predictable and cheesy. Predictable and cheesy or not I've never been drawn into a book the way I was into this one. It brought me up and tore me down right along with the characters, and left me with a weird feeling in my stomach for a week. There's not much more I can say...It's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Comrades: A Novel
Three Comrades: A Novel by Erich Maria Remarque (Paperback - Jan. 27 1998)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews