Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Needle is a Must Read
Brilliantly written and researched novel of a fascinating period in history. Every word of the blurb was true. Ken Follett is a master.
Published 2 months ago by Hugh Gray Fraser

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Brilliant! It's Absurd!
How can a book that starts out so brilliantly collapse so completely halfway through? That's when the title character, The Needle, a WWII German spy who has thus far thwarted the best efforts of several nations to stop him, is forced into a showdown with -- get this -- a beautiful young Englishwoman. And of course the fate of the free world hangs in the balance, etc.,...
Published on Dec 4 2000 by Paul Epps


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Brilliant! It's Absurd!, Dec 4 2000
How can a book that starts out so brilliantly collapse so completely halfway through? That's when the title character, The Needle, a WWII German spy who has thus far thwarted the best efforts of several nations to stop him, is forced into a showdown with -- get this -- a beautiful young Englishwoman. And of course the fate of the free world hangs in the balance, etc., etc.
Now in any sort of plausible universe, our hero would dispatch this broad faster than you could say "Heil Hitler." So why are there still 150 pages left in the book? Let me just say this: Prepare to have your patience and credulity stretched to really painful dimensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over all, not a bad book, Jan. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am used to his epics Pillars of the Earth (which I read twice) and World without end, and do enjoy his work overall. This started as a page turner and suspenseful, but was a bit disappointed with the "love story within a suspense" style book, and its sappy ending that I felt it ended up being like a Harlequin Romance. He may be hopelessly romantic, but espionage is espionage and if you are looking for a silly, over the top romantic book, you can buy Danielle Steele or Harlequin. Or you can watch an old cheesy 007 movie with Sean Connery. Silly romance and happy endings have no place in espionage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Needle is a Must Read, May 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Paperback)
Brilliantly written and researched novel of a fascinating period in history. Every word of the blurb was true. Ken Follett is a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Follett at his best, May 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Kindle Edition)
Again, another compulsively readable tale of heroism and genius set during a time in our not so distant past. I am biased. I do love this author and his ability to bring life to the written page. His books are like great historical movies. His characters become so human, the settings so palpable, the plots breath taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recommend, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Paperback)
I liked the way the story tied everything together. Fast paced. Enjoyed reading this novel Would definitely recommend for reading. Anyone who enjoys reading spy novels will like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deceit Abounds, Sept. 26 2013
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Kindle Edition)
For those just getting around to this novel keep in mind that it was published in 1978. So the story and plot devices may not seem fresh because you will have probably read similar works. But those similar works are a result of Follett providing the template. So it is for that reason that the book gets five stars. The brilliant sleeper agent, earnest pursuers and an unanticipated wrench in the plan now seem familiar but was freshly executed by the author.

The pace is fantastic as is the wide cast of characters including real historic figures. The book is all about deception from a German agent to a fake army to a ruinous marriage, deceit abounds. It was also a bit racy with a graphic coupling I had largely forgotten from my first pass years ago. This is a great beach or fireside read. Enjoy!

***Spoiler Alert***
In the film The Iron Lady is a scene in which the retired Margaret Thatcher is shown reading Eye of the Needle while her husband Denis Thatcher remarks "In the end she kills him, you know."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!!!, July 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Kindle Edition)
One of his best books.I would recommend it to everyone.
His stories are historical fiction. This one certainly held my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Needle, May 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best of the books from Ken Follett. An amazing story that is full of surprises and intrigue. The ending was so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, May 3 2013
By 
Douglas (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eye Of The Needle (Kindle Edition)
Love Follett novels and this one didn't disappoint. Bonus is that it's less than hi usual thousand pages. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The eye of the needle, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read it years ago.Dated now of course but still a good read interesting to compare those times to todays world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Follett Ken : Eye of the Needle
Follett Ken : Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett (Mass Market Paperback)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews