Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, sassy, funny!
Brilliantly vitriolic, witty, and sassy, this is one of the most engrossing and readable dramas you are likely to come across. At its most basic level, this play is so simple - just four characters, one room, and all the action taking place in the space of a few hours. But in terms of substance this is a powerfully rich and complex work of genius. The writing cuts like...
Published on Nov. 18 2003 by Matthew Krichman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the worst.
This is the worst,boring book I've ever read. I don't like it at all... and the title doesn't fit to the book. I hate this book.
Published on June 17 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, sassy, funny!, Nov. 18 2003
By 
Matthew Krichman (Durango, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliantly vitriolic, witty, and sassy, this is one of the most engrossing and readable dramas you are likely to come across. At its most basic level, this play is so simple - just four characters, one room, and all the action taking place in the space of a few hours. But in terms of substance this is a powerfully rich and complex work of genius. The writing cuts like a sharp knife, the characters are exquisitely developed and original, and their chemistry is charged with an undeniable energy.
The characters are at odds with each other throughout the play, and yet it is difficult to takes sides with only one of them. They are all both likeable and dislikeable at the same time. George is a mean-spirited passive-aggressive with a huge chip on his shoulder, but it's impossible not to root for him as he joyfully attacks his wife, Martha, for her fondness of the bottle and various other sins. Nick's demeanor is just a tad holier-than-thou, but it is easily forgivable given the outrageous treatment he is forced to endure throughout the evening. Honey, his wife, is a ditz and a lush, but loveable in the same way as an Irish Setter. Any one of the four could easily carry the show, and together they create a powerful tension that keeps the play moving at a brisk pace.
It is easy to see why Albee's writing has earned him a Pulitzer Prize. What is surprising is that is was another, lesser-known play and not this one that he won it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George and Martha...sad, sad, sad..., Sept. 6 2003
By 
Sassi Angel (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
This play is not for the faint of heart or for those who think it's about Virgina Woolf. I won't go into a summary of the play as many reviewers have already done. However, I will say this is definitely one of the best plays I have ever read (I read it cover to cover in under 2 hours). George and Martha remind me very much of my own parents with the exception of the drinking and the fact I'm not imaginary. It was a bit hurtful to read this play and find such a comparison to the people I love but it was refreshing. Below all the humilations and torture George and Martha place on each other through there 'games' they love each other and ultimately appear to have a healthier and happier marriage than the seemingly innocent Nick and Honey. This play is not a happy one so if your looking for a full of laughs play with happy go lucky ending look elsewhere. Who's Afriad of Virginia Woolf falls along the lines of O'Neil's Long Day's Journey Into Night or Miller's Death of a Salesman and All My Sons. Have tissues handy when you read it, see it performed live if you can, or watch the Taylor & Burton film. But above all see it LIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Near Perfect Literary Execution, Feb. 20 2003
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
Considered by some to be Albee's masterpiece, Virginia Woolf presents all of the playwright's main themes in this tightly compressed play. In a mere three acts, Albee breeches social as well as physical masochism at its most malevolent while displaying its truth-revealing effects while exposing its subconscious motivations. As for other Albee-eque motifs, there is his presentation of truth verses reality, linguistics aerobics, and, as par, a heavy dose of black humor. Albee remains faithful as a master of literature in that he never lapses into didacticism even when his characters voice personal soliloquies. As an aside, the play does differ from the famous film in that the former takes place within the confides of George and Martha's household, thus keeping their guests, Nick and Honey, as metaphorical prisoners throughout the night. Perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of the play, upon a close reading, is Albee's almost virtuoso execution of symbolism, especially Christian (comparable to Henry James). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Has to be the Best Play Ever Written! I Loved It!, June 20 2002
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow. I never thought I could like a play so much. I had to read this for a class in college, so I admit that I didn't know what I was in for. I would've never thought that I would enjoy reading a play. This is a work of art with every line having meaning and significance.
A quick summary of the story without giving too much away: This is the story about an elderly couple who seem to hate each other with a passion. They're rude, loud, offensive, and insulting. When they invite a younger couple to their house, things quickly start to get out of control, while the elderly couple use their guests as sheilds and pawns in their brutal arguements and such. The story ends with a shocking resolution that will catch you off guard.
The dialogue in this play is so beautifully written. It reads like the way people actually talk. That is why I enjoyed it so much. It also enriched the characters that much more. Edward Albee did a magnificent job of weaving a tale that seems so realistic it's as if we are there at that house on that very night. There are no minor characters; everyone is important in a very significant way. It is refreshing to be able to get to know each character and the hopes, dreams, ambitions, and the conflicts that lie within.
I really enjoyed reading this wonderfully structured play. Much so that I have already read it at least seven times. It is a very easy read. And since it is mostly dialogue, it really doesn't take long to read. You could easily finish it in a day or two if you really put your heart to it. Even if you don't enjoy reading novels, maybe this is the solution. There is no lengthy descriptions of what color the characters' eyes are or what they're wearing. Just good old dialogue that will have you hooked from the very beginning. "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" is an outstanding play that will forever remain a true classic in American Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tense and shocking, March 28 2002
By 
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this play so the movie (which I haven't seen)would make some sense. I started reading it and didn't realy get into it until after Nick and Honey arrive at Geoarge and Marthas.The first act starts with just some harmless cruel jokes, ok first of all you must be thinking ,"Thats what you call harmless" well just you wait for the next to acts. I thought the second act pretty grusome I couldn't believe George would take advantage of Honey, but then you realize there is more to her than you think same goes with Martha and George. Personally I thought Nick was just to self righteous but that was the point of the character. I dare not give away what happens in the third act properly entitled "The Exorcism". You are in for a shocker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best dramas on man/woman misunderstanding, Jan. 12 2002
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the stuff real drama is made:the human soul.And we see four torn, ravaged soul caught in a maelstrom of bitter emotions caused by frustration,unrequited love,anger and guilt feelings. Martha can't understand George's despair, that his apathy is generated by his ultimate failure to find a source of hope and meaning in his life; George can't understand the frustration of Martha, her own feeling of failure being incapable to connect whit him, to save him from his passive/aggressive depression; nor can Nick and Honey comprehend them, and indeed themselves. The sadistic rituals of games are like pagan sacrifices, made by the characters to the god of modern angst to know the truth on themselves. As the sad truth is revealed, they emerge maybe purified, surely wiser.This drama is like an interpretation of Eliot's Wasteland . The spirit,expecially in the final scenes,is very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "You're right at the meat of things, baby", Sept. 25 2001
By 
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
Edward Albee's play "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" is one of those plays that is also a great read as a book. The play involves an older college professor who, with his foul-mouthed wife, plays sick mind games with a younger prof and the younger prof's wife. Albee creates some taught drama with these four characters.
I understand that this play was considered quite shocking when it premiered on Broadway in the early 1960s. Some of its language ("monkey-nipples"?) and revelations will probably sound tame, or even quaint, to contemporary readers. But the play as a whole really stands the test of time. And much of the dialogue remains sharp and memorable (like the suggestive line I borrowed to use as the title of my review).
The three acts of the play are suggestively subtitled: "Fun and Games," "Walpurgisnacht," and "The Exorcism." "Who's Afraid..." is a memorable text, filled with bitter humor, rage, and despair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Communication Problem, May 13 2001
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
Edward Albee truly explores and humiliates the human fallacy of communication and insecurity in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? with the use of repetition and a critical and satirical tone. In the play, Albee creates a tension between the two main characters of George and Martha. Throughout the play, Martha repeatedly sings "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" Although this song correlates to the title of the play, it also contains a deeper and more stylistic purpose to it. It basically means "Who's Afraid of life without false illusions?" according to Albee. When Martha sings George this very song, she is really asking him if he can continue life without lying to himself, but rather be honest with himself and live with the truth. This repetition of questioning with the song creates the feeling of insecurity within the characters. It arrives to the question if they can really handle the situation. In another example of repetition, Albee repeatedly has the characters of George and Martha suspiciously talk of and mention about their son. The repetition of this illusion by these characters creates the fantasy, which they live by, and how they carry on with this fantasy to fulfill their happiness. This correlates to the problem of insecurity Albee wishes to create through the use of the characters. Not only does Albee use this repetition to carry out his philosophical views on human existence, but he also validates the communicable issues with the satirical and critical tone throughout the play. The satirical tones of the sick games the couples fancy during the play spark a disturbing appearance toward the characters and their disgusting communication. Albee truly makes a disturbing communication problem when Martha plays "Humiliate the Host". She picks and edges at George's weakest aspects and embarrassments. This satirical tone demeans the couple's communication as Martha humiliates her husband in front of the guests. These disturbing game shows the true disgust of the American society as Albee demonstrates. Not only does his writing open a new door for us to look in to, but it also helps to pinpoint our nation's problems. The use of the character's insecurities not only relate to Albee's purpose of demonstrating a couple's in ability to cope and deal with life, but it also deals with society's problems. The stylistic strategies of Albee aid in our discovery of his purpose in the play but also in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars using x to show y, May 7 2001
By 
jordan gottlieb (Arlington, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
In his most famous play, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Edward Albee uses a seemingly non-violent and peaceful setting, coupled with sarcastic and very violent dialogue, along with a game motif to give the reader a sense of what true love is. The play opens with an older couple, George and Martha, who have just returned from a party at the college at which George works. The two invite a newly hired professor, Nick, and his young wife, Honey, to some over afterwards. Even before Nick and Honey enter, George and Martha are arguing and bickering over what seems like nothing, who should go and get the door. Nick and Honey timidly enter into the whirlwind of cut-downs and the constant apologies. They enter into a game, a number of games in fact, that leads to their confessions of true love for one another. George uses sarcasm and a friendly tone to cause Nick to open up to him and befriend him. George uses this newly found companionship to coerce Nick into sleeping with Martha, which just furthers her intuition that George is the only man that makes her truely happy. Albee, throughout all of these transgressions, shows a complete and total understanding of the human psyche. The characters constant bickering and their reactions to one anothers insults, holds true to mankind. The not always pleasant dialogue, and sexually explicit happenings allow the average reader to feel connected to this story. It reads like a soap opera, with innumerable plot twists and incessant back-stabbing. And, as most of us know, the vast majority of soap operas end in a confession or discovery of love. Through his use of many different situations, plot twists, and dialogue, Albee allows his characters George and Martha to realize how much they love one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its hilarious, May 6 2001
By 
jordan gottlieb (Arlington, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Mass Market Paperback)
The play opens with a married couple, george and martha, who have just returned from a party at her fathers house, who happens to be the head of the college at which george is a professor. The two have invited the recently hired nick, and his wife honey, to join them at their house after the party. George and Martha have what i can only describe as a love-hate relationship. They constantly bicker and argue, but love each other all the more for it. Nick and Honey, caught in the middle of this game, unwittingly play a major role in it. The "game" is a major motif in the book. All of the characters have a personality varying between playfulness and anger, but they always seem to know that it is a game. George is developed more thoroughly than any of the other characters. His cynical attitude and sarcastic humor bring him always into the middle of the conflict. George controls the vast majority of the final act and is succesful in bringing the timid Nick out of his shell. George uses his ability to control people, to force Nick to sleep with Martha, which only furthers their "game". The brute language and sexually explicit scenes allow this book to keep the reader interested and connected with the characters. Though some of the book does seem harsh, it is all within context of the situations described. i absoluetly loved this play. I read it cover to cover in one night and was thoroughly inpresseed with Albee's understanding of the human psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4008018)

This product

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee (Mass Market Paperback - March 7 2006)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews