Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of love's lost and found
He wakes up in the men's room at Union Station. He can not remember who he is or how he got there. One shocking look in the mirror tells him he is a bum however he can not believe it. Now he must find out who he is. Watch answer leads him in a different direction and we are intrigued to find more about what let to this situation.

The only positive thing I can...
Published on Aug. 20 2006 by bernie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, captivating page turner
Although I am a Ken Follet aficionado and continue to unabashedly wave his banner "Best adventure thriller writer alive today" this was not his best work, nor his second best work, but it is a good, captivating page turner none-the-less.
The momentum builds in the first half but peters-out in the later half, like a roller coaster that almost reaches the pinnacle, but...
Published on July 12 2004 by fdoamerica


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible book, Jan. 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Not worth the paper it is printed on
One of the worst books I have ever read...and I read a lot. The author uses a well-worn plot: spies from Russia against the spies from US. Yet he cannot make any of it credible. Everything in this book conforms to your worst expectations. Shallow characters, stereotypical actions, simple plot.. The plot is easy to enough see from the beginning of the book...It has short sentences and a fluent writing style that make it an easy read...Still what a waste of time....I was interested in this book because of its context in late 50's space exploration....but I learned almost nothing on it from this book....
If you want to read a good spy book, read John Carre. If you want to read a good book, read Hemingway or other equally great writers. Don't waste your time on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of love and deception, Dec 5 2003
By 
Tadashi Kobayashi "caxton" (Shizuoka Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Luke woke up to find himself sleeping on the floor of a public toilet with a bum named Pete. It was a staggering start of a novel. Luke couldn't remember even his name. His street life began. These anecdotes of homeless bums are quite different from those of Street Lawyer by John Grisham.
Soon a woman named Elspeth appeared. So the woman knows about Luke. The tale returned to the past; the year was 1941, and the relationship was unfolded between Luke and Elspeth, Luke and his colleague Anthony, and Luke and Billie Josephson who was dangerous to Elspeth's happy life with Luke.
The tale was back to the present. The year was 1958. Luke was loitering in the city for his lost memory. He sensed he was followed by two people. His friend Anthony Carroll was now Luke's enemy. Somehow Anthony was responsible for his loss of memory. Luke was Dr. Claude Lucas responsible for space programs of USA. A rocket was to be launched soon, but something was wrong and Luke knows the reason behind his lost memory. He must get back his lost memory to save USA. Untold story by Luke's side was mysterious enough.
I knew the enemies of Luke, but the enigma was Elspeth whose intention was not apparent. She is Luke�fs wife, but acts against Luke�fs welfare. The drama unfolds with lightning speed. Every chapter consumes only half an hour. Luke moves, Anthony counter-moves, Billie enters, and Elspeth spins the wheel.
This setup was superb enough to attract and grip my heart to read along faster and faster to the final mind-numbing conclusion of this splendid masterpiece of love and deception. You won�ft regret holding this book in your hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting historical novel, Sept. 26 2003
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Follet's Code to Zero shows me that the horrible "Third Twin" is just an abberration on his otherwise great collection of novels.
Code to Zero, written in 2000, covers the 2 days preceding the launch of the United States' first successful satellite rocket launch.
The story revolves around 4 friends who met at Harvard before WWII. Follet throws in some background about Luke, Anthony, Elspeth, and Billie's days at Harvard and then time spent as spies during the war. The lives of the four are intertwined till the very end and there is love and betrayal at every corner.
Follett's strength is his charactarization and his research of the time period and the subject matter. This is a solid novel that is fun to read, but the end isn't a jolting climax, just a logical ending to all that preceded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, Sept. 25 2003
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Ken Follett's novel is set in the time of the Cold War. Just in time where the US and Russia start their race to explore the space.
The book starts when a man wakes up in a public restroom, dressed in rags, terribly hungover and without a clue how he's got there. In the next hours he finds out that he is an important rocket scientist...but still he doesn't know how he's lost his memory. Then it comes to mind that someone made him lose his memory as he might know more than he's allowed to. With the help of some friends he finds out that he's involved into a big conspiracy, which threatens his life.
Follett's book is interesting, well-written and fun to read. Nevertheless a big minus of "Code to Zero" are the strange coincidences that are sometimes hard to believe. Not too good is also the end that simply doesn't keep up with the high quality of the rest of the novel. But I have to say that these things are less important..."Code to Zero" is a good book and definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Idea, But Follett Got Lazy with His Language, Sept. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Is this the same guy who wrote Eye of the Needle and The Key to Rebecca? This book recounts an allegedly fictional story behind the headlines of the "space race". The time period is that which precedes and follows the Soviet launch of Sputnik.
Reading like a spy thriller, Follett's book races to the final countdown of the launch of the Explorer in January 1958. Its main character (whose name I won't reveal) wakes on the floor of a railway station and remembers nothing of his past, including his name. Clearly he is a key player in the drama and much of the rest of the book is about his quest to recover his memory in time to save the space program. This is a very interesting storyline to think about and much of what is recounted here is plausible in an historical sense. However, the "memory struggle" of the book's main character becomes repetitive and tedious and the language between characters hollow.
It's a shame that this book wasn't better having come from a very good author equipped with an interesting story line. Perhaps the author was thinking too much about Hollywood and too little about a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Idea, But Follett Got Lazy with His Language, Sept. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
Is this the same guy who wrote Eye of the Needle and The Key to Rebecca? This book recounts an allegedly fictional story behind the headlines of the "space race". The time period is that which precedes and follows the Soviet launch of Sputnik.
Reading like a spy thriller, Follett's book races to the final countdown of the launch of the Explorer in January 1958. Its main character (whose name I won't reveal) wakes on the floor of a railway station and remembers nothing of his past, including his name. Clearly he is a key player in the drama and much of the rest of the book is about his quest to recover his memory in time to save the space program. This is a very interesting storyline to think about and much of what is recounted here is plausible in an historical sense. However, the "memory struggle" of the book's main character becomes repetitive and tedious and the language between characters hollow.
It's a shame that this book wasn't better having come from a very good author equipped with an interesting story line. Perhaps the author was thinking too much about Hollywood and too little about a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody has his own point of view, Aug. 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in less than 3 days, I gave the book to my wife and at least 3 friends and they enjoy the book the same as I, I don't know why some people are disappointed with this book, when I read their reviews I didn't wanted to post mine, but I really enjoy reading this book so I will recommend it to all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Code To Zero, April 29 2003
By 
Nathan (Ravensdale, Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
The title of the book that I am reviewing is "Code To Zero," by Ken Follett. This is one of my favorite books. It is a mystery/suspense story. The main character is a guy named Luke and the supporting characters are Anthony, Billie, and Elspeth. There are a few more characters, but they're not very important so I won't name them. The story takes place in several different places. The year is 1958, but there are a lot of flash-backs, so it's kind of hard to keep up with the story. The Cold War is just ending and America is still in the space race with Russia. NASA keeps delaying the launching of the Explorer 1 because of weather conditions. But, the real reason is because there was word of a soviet spies who plan on sabotaging the launch of the rocket.
The soviet spies found a way to destroy the Explorer 1 before it can exit the earth's atmosphere. If they succeed they can stop America's last chance to beat the Russian's and win the space race. There are only two people who know what is going on and can put a stop to it. Luke, the main character, is a who just wants to know the truth. In the beginning of the story, Luke wakes up in the men's-room of a subway with no memory of his past. He doesn't even know his own name. He's dressed like a bum so he automatically guesses that he is a hobo and drank all of his memory away. But, later in the book he finds out that he is really a rocket scientist and somebody deliberately erased his memory because he knew some very valuable information. With the knowledge he had, he could guarantee the outcome of the space race.
Anthony was Luke's best friend in collage until he switched sides. Now, his mission in life is to stop America from beating Russia in the space race and making sure that Luke dose not interfere. His causes are really unknown so I'll just call him a traitor. Billie is helping Luke get his memory back and stop Anthony. She is also in love with Luke, but you will find out more about that if you ever read the book. Elspeth is Luke's wife, but there is more to her than there may seem. To bad telling you that would ruin most of the story for you. This is a great book with lots of action and suspense. But, even it has some cons. The beginning of the book is kind of slow and there are a few pauses in the middle, but that just builds it up for more action and suspense. If you don't mind those small flaws then you will love "Code To Zero".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good idea, bad implementation, April 13 2003
By 
Nicole "nix100" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
1 star for mr. follett and his creative juices coming up with the story
another star for a fast paced novel that makes a good read on the plane
and the last star for keeping me entertained
i withhold the last two stars: good but not great, and the other follet books are GREAT. also, i felt it was flat, i really like the idea of the story, but never felt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, March 8 2003
By 
Oscar L. Vazquez "Oscar" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Code to Zero (Mass Market Paperback)
The awakening of Luke - in a public Washington washroom - with amnesia lead us through the intriguing world of espionage, mind control techniques, CIA intrigues, KGB spies, the growing of the american space program, flashback stories of Luke, his wife and friends in his search for the true in several locations like Washington, DC, Huntsville, Georgia and Cape Canaveral in Florida. A very well written thriller recommended for those who like this kind of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Code to Zero
Code to Zero by Ken Follett (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 9 2001)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews