Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to start your financial education off with
This book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to increase their financial intelligence. Although, many of the ideas in the book arewhat some people would call "common sense", it is the delivery of these ideas which make this book a gem. Every financial principle that this book presents is encased in a fable and repeated more numerous times. It is the...
Published on Feb. 14 2005 by Cameron Malchow

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, good ideas, could use more meat on action items
This book is great for people who tend to make a decent amount of money but foolishly squander it. It is written in some older English, but it is not too difficult to follow since the stories are easy reads. It mainly talks about ten key ideas.
1. Save 10% of what you earn
2. Don't get involved in investments that you do not understand or don't invest in...
Published on Jan. 26 2002 by Vivek Thoppay


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to start your financial education off with, Feb. 14 2005
By 
Cameron Malchow (Spruce Grove, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to increase their financial intelligence. Although, many of the ideas in the book arewhat some people would call "common sense", it is the delivery of these ideas which make this book a gem. Every financial principle that this book presents is encased in a fable and repeated more numerous times. It is the presentation of the principles which truely allow people to internalize them and apply them in their everyday lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tried and True Path to Riches, Jan. 3 2010
By 
Ian Robertson (West Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
George Clason's book "The Richest Man in Babylon" should be read by all investors. First published in 1926, the book is a classic, and reminds us that the path to riches is based on some very basic but sound principles rather than on the "New New Thing" (as Michael Lewis chronicles) or the latest hot stock or industry sector (for example technology, commodities, or housing). The prose can be a bit archaic, partly by design as the parables are set in Babylonian times, and partly because it was written almost a century ago. That a book this old still offers sound guidance is in fact one of the important lessons - lessons that should be especially relevant to today's stock market investors, real estate speculators and those financing their lifestyles through home equity lines of credit.

Clason's wisdom is encapsulated in seven lessons: start thy purse to fattening; control thy expenditures; make thy gold multiply; guard thy treasures from loss; make thy dwelling a profitable investment; insure a future income; and increase thy ability to earn. Each lesson is covered through anecdotes and parables, and the book's short length makes it an easy read over one or two sittings. Others have provided similar guidance over the years, perhaps none so well as Canadian author David Chilton with his "The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning" book. Chilton covers a broader range of topics (e.g. life insurance) over more pages and in a more contemporary fashion, but his basic message is still the same.

Read this original book and be reminded that the true path to riches is within everyone's grasp. The path isn't found on-line in analysis of companies' regulatory filings, or by expanding one's credit lines, or through games of chance such as lotteries, ponies or casinos. This book deserves to be read as a reminder that others before us, both in Clason's time and in Babylonian times achieved success through hard work, spending less than they earned, and investing in themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, good ideas, could use more meat on action items, Jan. 26 2002
By 
Vivek Thoppay "Financial Advisor" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great for people who tend to make a decent amount of money but foolishly squander it. It is written in some older English, but it is not too difficult to follow since the stories are easy reads. It mainly talks about ten key ideas.
1. Save 10% of what you earn
2. Don't get involved in investments that you do not understand or don't invest in someone else' idea unless it is in the area of their expertise
3. Don't gamble or get involved with quick rich campaigns
4. Focus your energies on improving what you do so that you can increase your earnings
5. Be true to your word - pay back debts and build relationships
6. Invest wisely - mainly invest in your area of expertise or with a good friend in his or her area of expertise
7. Be decisive - don't take too much time in deciding an investment is right. If you wait too long, the opportunity may be gone. This is a fine line because you don't want to rush in either.
8. Invest in yourself so that you can improve your skills in the future
9. Be a person of action - luck comes along with hard work
10. Have a strong determination that you will succeed.
The book was a very quick read - I read it in about hour or so. Much of it was a bit repetitive - I guess it helps to ensure that you got the points. Honestly, I thought I would get a lot more out of this book. I already knew of most of ideas, and in the places where I could use some help like being decisive it did not give me suggestions to improve in that area. I guess it will just take some more practice on my part. I would suggest stopping by your local library to pick up this book. If you like it enough, go out and get it and add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lean Purse is Easier to Cure than To Endure, Sept. 11 2002
By 
Wendell A. Betton (St. Louis, MO.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
My title is a maxim that Clason wrote in the inside title page of this book.
This is truly my favorite book on how to handle money in your life! Clason uses the language of the King James Version of the Bible (although this book is not at all biblical) to create anecdotes set in ancient Babylon that tell you (the modern-day reader) how to handle your money. The amazing thing is that the advice is not at all outdated. It's right on the mark and shows money knowledge that hardly is taught in school. It's easy to read and understand and highly entertaining. In fact, one of its stories, "The Luckiest Man in Babylon" is almost enough to bring you to tears.
It is shown in this book that when you are in debt, you are a slave to what it is that you agreed to go into debt for and you must pay it off to regain your freedom (are you a five-year slave to a car [or the institution that financed it] like I was?). Look at the state of the nation's economy and you'll see we live in a nation of slaves.
That's why you must get the reverse into action; make money a slave that is working for you.
Many people have heard the popular phrase from this book, "pay yourself first." I highly suggest you read this book first so you can see how you should go about paying yourself first; there is a method to it.
This book is truly a classic and should be required reading for all classes on money or for anyone going into business for oneself. If you're getting into Network Marketing then you've really got to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the Financially Challenged, July 6 2001
By 
Erdos (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Before reading Clason's The Richest Man in Babylon, I had high expectations. How could I not given the lofty Amazon rating (5 stars strong with many reviewers) and the book jacket's promise as "the book that holds the key to personal wealth"? This book does not disappoint
I would recommend the book because the parables do help describe Clason's points in an engaging way.
To help in your purchase decision, the following is a summary of the book's contents:
(1) Save a portion of your income (Put away X% of your income every paycheck)
(2) Control your expenditures (Don't spend more than you need to)
(3) Invest your money (If you are unable to invest effectively, get someone else to invest your money)
(4) Purchase a home
(5) Increase the amount of money you earn
(6) Protect your wealth against losses
In effect, the book can be summarized by the following statement:
Maximize your wealth inflows (Points: 1, 3, 4, 5) while minimizing your wealth outflows (Points: 2, 6).
If this all seems very basic to you, then this is NOT the book for you. If you scratched your head on one of the above points, I would get the book.
Paul Erdos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading over and over, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
I think that some people underestimate this book due to it's small size. This is NOT a book that you will want to read only once and put away, you will NEED to read this over and over untill the ideas saturate both your conscious and subscious minds and untill the ideas become habits. Then you will achieve some real results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 10, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richest Man in Babylon (Audio CD)
Anyone who has dreasms of becoming wealthy, this audio book is the first step.
You need to understand the history of money and how it actually works to be able to handle it when it does come your way.
Motivating, inspiring and a few laughs along the way. I want the paper copy to go along with it because I am sure it would have been just as great on paper. The man who narrates this book is a genius and makes it come alive. You have got to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the financial planning you'll ever need, June 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
Someone tried to GIVE me this book when I was 13 years old. Sadly, I didn't have the sense to see how valuable this book was. It would be another 12 years before I finally sat down to read it. It drives me nuts to this day that I wasted those 12 years.
This book introduced me to the concept of "pay yourself first." Thanks to George Clason, I now realize that getting rich isn't a matter of how much you make--it's all about how much you keep.
Babylon's basic premise is to save no less than 10% of every dollar you make; and not only save it, but put it to work. Do that consistently and continually, and you can't help but get wealthy. Why work like a dog only to hand over your paycheck to the landlord, the grocery store, the credit cards, etc? Much better to keep the 10% and have something to show for your effort. Once you accumulate enough, the money does all the work.
Not sure this is for you? Go ahead then--keep living paycheck to paycheck. We'll see who comes out ahead. As one of Clason's characters puts it: "hast thou the soul of a free man? or that of a slave?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better the fifth time around!, March 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
I first heard about this book 17 years ago. At that time, I was in a direct sales company and had the good fortune to attend a seminar conducted by a businessman named Jim Rohn.
Mr. Rohn talked about his early mentor, a man named Earl Schoff and went on to tell us how Mr. Schoff turned him on to personal development and pointed him to the right books to read. One of the most important books, said Rohn was The Richest Man in Bablyon.
Rohn had made and lost a fortune but came back and made another fortune and gave credit to the principles in The Richest Man in Bablyon for helping him accomplish that feat.
I read The Richest Man in Bablyon and have to admit, I hated it! I thought it was stupid, like feel good stuff that has no substance. When ever friends came over, I hid the book. I felt so ridiculous.
But Mr. Rohns words of wisdom kept echeoing in my mind. So I read it over and over untill the principles were imbedded into my conscious and subconsious mind.
Soon, after the fifth reading, the the principles became habits for me. My wealth esculated at a very rapid rate. I was no longer wasting money. I was now investing the first 10% of my income, tithing 10% and investing another 10% in capital like no load mutuals, real estate, discounted mortgages, tax liens and my own business.
The Richest Man in Bablyon has 7 basic principles:
1) Start thy purse to fattening - save/invest
2) Control thy expenditures - watch out for self serving brokers
3) Make thy gold mutiply - use powerful investments
4) Guard thy treasures from loss - watch out for brokers with
their hot tips.
5) Make of thy dwelling a profitable investment - rental properties, your own home---but stay within your means.
6) Insure a future income - do work that you love to do. Become excellent at it.
7) Increase thy ability to earn - education never stops. Keep reading good books like this one, The Millionaire Next Door, Rich Dad Poor Dad and so on.
The Richest Man in Bablyon is an excellent book. Although only 145 pages, it is packed with powerful information that can be life changing. It has helped some people like Jim Rohn and others become millionaires.
George Samuel Clason was born in Louisiana, Missouri, on November 7, 1874. He attended the University of Nebraska and served in the United States Army during the Spanish-American War. Beginning a long career in publishing, he founded the Clason Map Company of Denver, Colorado and published the first road atlas of the United States and Canada. In 1926, he issued the first in a series of pamphlets on thrift and financial success, using parables set in ancient Bablyon to make each of his points.
These were distributed in large quantities by banks and insurance companies and became familiar to millions, the most famous being "The Richest Man in Bablyon," the parable which has impacted the lives of millions of people. These "Babylonian Parables" have become a modern inspiritional classic.
The Richest Man in Babylon is must reading for anyone who wants to achieve maximum financial success. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book the first time I read it...., March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
The Richest Man in Babylon is a story that focuses mainly on a man named Arkad who is the richest man in all of Babylon. This wealthy individual is commisioned by the King of Babylon to teach his fellow man the basics of wealth creation. (Smart king if you ask me)
This book has 7 cures for a lean purse (wallet/checkbook/bank account whatever)
1. Start thy purse to fattening - Basically save 10%+ of what you earn.
2. Control thy expenditures - Never spend more than you earn (I don't think a house counts on this though)
3. Make thy gold multiply - Put your saved money into something that will grow such as a mutual fund
4. Guard thy treasure from loss - Make relatively safe investments (you wren't planning on using your entire IRA on an option were you?)
5. Make of thy dwelling a profitable investment - In other words own you own house
6. Insure a future income - Save for your retirement
7. Increase thy ability to earn - Study for more skills, keep on learnin'
I really enjoyed this book the first time I read it (in fact this book actually got me off my but and I started my brokerage account because of the power of Mr. Clason's writing), however this second time around I am not nearly as pleased, one of the reasons for this is the text is written like it is that time period (hundereds of years B.C.).
Reed Floren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Richest Man in Babylon
The Richest Man in Babylon by George Clason (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 3 2015)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 10.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews