Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to start your financial education off with
This book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to increase their financial intelligence. Although, many of the ideas in the book arewhat some people would call "common sense", it is the delivery of these ideas which make this book a gem. Every financial principle that this book presents is encased in a fable and repeated more numerous times. It is the...
Published on Feb. 14 2005 by Cameron Malchow

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, good ideas, could use more meat on action items
This book is great for people who tend to make a decent amount of money but foolishly squander it. It is written in some older English, but it is not too difficult to follow since the stories are easy reads. It mainly talks about ten key ideas.
1. Save 10% of what you earn
2. Don't get involved in investments that you do not understand or don't invest in...
Published on Jan. 26 2002 by Vivek Thoppay


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, good ideas, could use more meat on action items, Jan. 26 2002
By 
Vivek Thoppay "Financial Advisor" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great for people who tend to make a decent amount of money but foolishly squander it. It is written in some older English, but it is not too difficult to follow since the stories are easy reads. It mainly talks about ten key ideas.
1. Save 10% of what you earn
2. Don't get involved in investments that you do not understand or don't invest in someone else' idea unless it is in the area of their expertise
3. Don't gamble or get involved with quick rich campaigns
4. Focus your energies on improving what you do so that you can increase your earnings
5. Be true to your word - pay back debts and build relationships
6. Invest wisely - mainly invest in your area of expertise or with a good friend in his or her area of expertise
7. Be decisive - don't take too much time in deciding an investment is right. If you wait too long, the opportunity may be gone. This is a fine line because you don't want to rush in either.
8. Invest in yourself so that you can improve your skills in the future
9. Be a person of action - luck comes along with hard work
10. Have a strong determination that you will succeed.
The book was a very quick read - I read it in about hour or so. Much of it was a bit repetitive - I guess it helps to ensure that you got the points. Honestly, I thought I would get a lot more out of this book. I already knew of most of ideas, and in the places where I could use some help like being decisive it did not give me suggestions to improve in that area. I guess it will just take some more practice on my part. I would suggest stopping by your local library to pick up this book. If you like it enough, go out and get it and add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to start your financial education off with, Feb. 14 2005
By 
Cameron Malchow (Spruce Grove, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to increase their financial intelligence. Although, many of the ideas in the book arewhat some people would call "common sense", it is the delivery of these ideas which make this book a gem. Every financial principle that this book presents is encased in a fable and repeated more numerous times. It is the presentation of the principles which truely allow people to internalize them and apply them in their everyday lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tried and True Path to Riches, Jan. 3 2010
By 
Ian Robertson (West Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
George Clason's book "The Richest Man in Babylon" should be read by all investors. First published in 1926, the book is a classic, and reminds us that the path to riches is based on some very basic but sound principles rather than on the "New New Thing" (as Michael Lewis chronicles) or the latest hot stock or industry sector (for example technology, commodities, or housing). The prose can be a bit archaic, partly by design as the parables are set in Babylonian times, and partly because it was written almost a century ago. That a book this old still offers sound guidance is in fact one of the important lessons - lessons that should be especially relevant to today's stock market investors, real estate speculators and those financing their lifestyles through home equity lines of credit.

Clason's wisdom is encapsulated in seven lessons: start thy purse to fattening; control thy expenditures; make thy gold multiply; guard thy treasures from loss; make thy dwelling a profitable investment; insure a future income; and increase thy ability to earn. Each lesson is covered through anecdotes and parables, and the book's short length makes it an easy read over one or two sittings. Others have provided similar guidance over the years, perhaps none so well as Canadian author David Chilton with his "The Wealthy Barber: The Common Sense Guide to Successful Financial Planning" book. Chilton covers a broader range of topics (e.g. life insurance) over more pages and in a more contemporary fashion, but his basic message is still the same.

Read this original book and be reminded that the true path to riches is within everyone's grasp. The path isn't found on-line in analysis of companies' regulatory filings, or by expanding one's credit lines, or through games of chance such as lotteries, ponies or casinos. This book deserves to be read as a reminder that others before us, both in Clason's time and in Babylonian times achieved success through hard work, spending less than they earned, and investing in themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, June 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A book everyone should read, a great book to be part so the school material . I did like this version of the book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was easy to read and to the point. Value packed in a few pages worth more than a bundle of books put together. Want to learn about the value of money, this is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 10, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richest Man in Babylon (Audio CD)
Anyone who has dreasms of becoming wealthy, this audio book is the first step.
You need to understand the history of money and how it actually works to be able to handle it when it does come your way.
Motivating, inspiring and a few laughs along the way. I want the paper copy to go along with it because I am sure it would have been just as great on paper. The man who narrates this book is a genius and makes it come alive. You have got to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Money Management at Its best, April 6 2014
By 
O. Stephen Peart (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a practical lesson in managing your money and your life (period)
Don't think there is anything else I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stories are simple but really catch your attention. I bought this on impulse but could not put it down. Great book and I will be rereading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. MUST READ., May 20 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book should be an obligatory read at school and there should be a whole class around personal finance with this book as an introduction. What is great about this book is that the whole subject is covered really quickly before the first half is over, so you don't even have to read the whole thing to get most of it. Even better is the fact that every basic concepts in this book should apply to ANYONE reading it. Really, it's common sense/good judgment stuff and everyone needs that.

The "language" used in some places may be distracting for some readers (i.e. "old" english).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading over and over, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Richest Man in Babylon (Mass Market Paperback)
I think that some people underestimate this book due to it's small size. This is NOT a book that you will want to read only once and put away, you will NEED to read this over and over untill the ideas saturate both your conscious and subscious minds and untill the ideas become habits. Then you will achieve some real results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Richest Man in Babylon
The Richest Man in Babylon by George Clason (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 4 2014)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 10.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews