Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic New Amateur Sleuth Series
Thirty-year-old Abby Rose is simply out of motivation. She's finished with school, and doesn't really do much for work, seeing as her Father's technology business (which was left to her and her twin sister, Kate, when he passed away) pretty much runs itself. So she spends her days lounging by the pool, and wondering what she could possibly do next with her life. That is,...
Published on June 10 2004 by Erika Sorocco

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an engaging and enjoyable read
The first book in a new series, and the authour's debut novel, "Pick Your Poison" was an enjoyable read on several levels: it's smooth and colourful narrative style, the intriguing storyline and the series' taking and engaging heroine, Abby Rose.
Still recovering fromt he death of her father, Abby Rose has spent the last few months vegetating next to the...
Published on May 13 2004 by tregatt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic New Amateur Sleuth Series, June 10 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Thirty-year-old Abby Rose is simply out of motivation. She's finished with school, and doesn't really do much for work, seeing as her Father's technology business (which was left to her and her twin sister, Kate, when he passed away) pretty much runs itself. So she spends her days lounging by the pool, and wondering what she could possibly do next with her life. That is, until Abby is hit with another tragedy, when she discovers her gardener, Ben, dead in the greenhouse one afternoon. But when a cute detective from the Houston Police Department informs Abby that Ben's death wasn't accidental, but murder, Abby realizes that she'll finally have something to do with her time: solve a crime. And, much to the chagrin of everyone close to her, Abby does just that. But what she doesn't expect to do when investigating Ben's death, is unlock secrets about her own past, that just might change her future.
I will admit that initially the cover is what attracted me to this wonderful new batch of mystery fiction known as PICK YOUR POISON. However, the story is what kept my interest. From page one Abby was a fun, interesting character, who was filled with spunk and childlike innocence. Her constant talk about iced tea and lemonade, and her love for hacking into computer systems will keep readers laughing out loud until the very last page is turned. Leann Sweeney has created a remarkable new series, filled with a captivating, young, amateur sleuth by the name of Abby Rose. I am now eagerly anticipating the release of A WEDDING TO DIE FOR.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an engaging and enjoyable read, May 13 2004
By 
tregatt (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book in a new series, and the authour's debut novel, "Pick Your Poison" was an enjoyable read on several levels: it's smooth and colourful narrative style, the intriguing storyline and the series' taking and engaging heroine, Abby Rose.
Still recovering fromt he death of her father, Abby Rose has spent the last few months vegetating next to the pool. But she's soon shaken out of her state of listlessness when she discovers her gardener, Ben Garrison, dead in the greenhouse. The police claim that Ben was murdered, and that he was actually Ben Grayson, a man suspected of having murdered his first wife, Clovis, for insurance money. To begin with Abby cannot believe that the gentle gardener she knew was a murderer, and then there is the primary detective's attitude that is really beginning to tick her off. And so Abby decides to do a spot of investigating herself, and finds herself involved in a twenty-something year old murder case that may involve secrets about her past and her beloved father's...
If you're able to buy that Abby has the kind of personality that makes perfect strangers take to her and confide in her, then reading "Pick Your Poison" will be a fun read. The smooth and colourful narrative style also helps make reading the novel an enjoyable one as well. But I did think that the book could have done with a few more plot twists, and more in depth character development -- esp where Abby's twin sister, Kate was concerned. Otherwise, "Pick Your Poison" turned out to be a charming and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dandy amateur sleuth, April 29 2004
By 
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
After their adoptive father died, Abby and Kate became heiresses, inheriting the mansion, the business and the art. Abby spends her days by the pool and avoiding the advances of her ex-husband. One day the yardman Ben tells Abby that he needs to speak to her and Kate later that evening. She agrees and falls asleep by the pool only to be awakened by the dog barking.
She finds Ben dead in the garage and later learns that he was the victim of cyanide poisoning. She also finds out that he was a suspect in the killing of his first wife, also by cyanide poisoning. Ben's second wife convinces Abby that her husband was innocent and asks her to find his killers. A determined Abby does just that and her investigation leads to revelations that put her at the mercy of a ruthless killer who know secrets that were kept from her.
This is Leann Sweeney's debut novel and it is a dandy amateur sleuth novel once you accept Abby investigating a crime. What helps is that the protagonist is stubborn and determined, a woman intending to keep an impulsive promise though secrets that are decades old come to light and hurt the living. PICK YOUR POISON is fast-paced and contain many action scenes but it is the characters that make this who done it a cut above the average. This author has talent with a capital T.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut, June 24 2004
By 
Sara Rosett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished PICK YOUR POISON by Leann Sweeney. I'm a Texas girl myself, so I always look forward to reading anything set in my native state. When Abby Roses' gardener, Ben, is murdered Abby shakes of the grief and lethargy brought on by her father's death a few months earlier and determines to find the killer. Abby's sleuthing takes her from Houston, to Galveston, and to the rural community of Shade, Texas. She discovers that her questions impact not only the murder investigation, but also her own life, even her own identity. There's a nice touch of romance and a great set up for Abby's sleuthing to transition into many more adventures. I'm looking forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pick Your New Favorite Author, May 16 2004
By 
Eric Dalen (Orange County, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this book. I have heard few voices that jump out from the first page as well as Abby Rose does in Pick Your Poison. All the characters sparkle, but Abby is fresh, spunky and damn interesting. And the mystery works as well. As both a reader and writer of mystery and suspense stories, I was kept nicely guessing, which is no easy trick since I've seen it all. If this is the first of a series, I am really looking forward to the next installment. Leann Sweeney is my new favorite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read!, June 19 2004
By 
P. Hill (Pearland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I was hooked from the first page. It was a smooth read, no jumping back and forth, good flow. The characters were believeable as were their actions. Reading this book was like watching the story unfold right in front of your very eyes.
I've recommended this book to friends and am eagerly awaiting the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good mystery, an engaging story..., May 19 2004
By 
The Island Cowgirl (Langley, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed Ms Sweeney's first murder mystery... Felt like I got to know the characters, and I'm wondering what will happen in the next book... I got a whiff of it in the excerpt at the back of this book... Her style is refreshing and easy, a pleasure to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful first book!, May 20 2004
By 
Jane Arnold (League City, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
I have thoroughly enjoyed Pick Your Poison. Once I opened the book, I could not put it down. The characters and storyline were wonderful and kept me intrigued. I look forward to the next book due out in January.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Murder, May 23 2004
By 
Scott D Mortenson (Aliso Viejo, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery (Mass Market Paperback)
Pick your Poison is a fun, smarmy, well-written novel that just sparkles. Abby Rose had me hooked from the first page. This is a fun mystery with some interesting serious undertones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery
Pick Your Poison: A Yellow Rose Mystery by Leann Sweeney (Mass Market Paperback - May 3 2004)
CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews