Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah.
Carly wants to see everything now that she is no longer blind, and one of the first things her eyes fall on is well worth a second look. Hank Coulter is all man, and their dance goes from the barroom to the bedroom. Then, soon after, Carly discovers she's pregnant, and though Hank made a big impression on her, he can't even remember her name when she calls to tell him. To...
Published on May 27 2004 by Huntress Reviews

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Blue Skies for friend/family trust
I purchased Catherine Anderson's latest title with anticipation. I've read most of her books and enjoyed them consistently. Although Catherine Anderson's obvious writing and plot development skills are again apparent in this latest novel, I was taken aback and dismayed by the general disrespect given to the heroine, a 28 year old adult, by Bess and Hank. Bess...
Published on Jan. 8 2004 by cheshirecat@prodigy.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah., May 27 2004
By 
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
Carly wants to see everything now that she is no longer blind, and one of the first things her eyes fall on is well worth a second look. Hank Coulter is all man, and their dance goes from the barroom to the bedroom. Then, soon after, Carly discovers she's pregnant, and though Hank made a big impression on her, he can't even remember her name when she calls to tell him. To make matters worse, pregnancy will probably undo all the surgery's miracles, leaving her blind once more.
Hank's memory needs some work, but his honor functions well. He immediately wants to do the right thing and marry Carly. She agrees out of need, but as Hank spends weeks caring for her and showing her all she can see before the world goes dark, convenience turns into reality. Hank's world is full of innocent peril, forcing Carly to choose love or life.
(...)Catherine Anderson's name on a book is all that is needed to assure readers of a story that goes on the keeper shelf. It will always be heartwarming, filled with characters who jump off the page to your soul. (...)
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rich in emotion !, Jan. 17 2004
By 
MaryGrace Meloche (Ontario, Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Anderson's writing skills are like a fine wine -- they only grow better with age. Blue Skies and my view? This is an absolutely wonderful book, packed with heart-rending emotion, but deeply satisfying. Anderson again pens the ultimate male hero in Hank Coulter. Tall, rugged, masculine to the core, yet this male oozes kindness and sensitivity.
In true Anderson fashion, she pivots her story around a blemished woman. Here it is the enchanting Carly Adams. Blind since birth, Carly's doctors have given her a new lease on life with a recent eye operation. Her sight restored, she innocently sets out to taste all life's experiences. One of those morsels happens to be the handsome Hank Coulter.
Outside a seedy bar, in the back seat of Ford pickup, Carly and Hank perform the mating game with successful consequences -- they solve the breeding formula. Reality rears its ugly head, and one month later what becomes of two conscientious strangers?
What I most enjoy with an Anderson novel, is the fact her two main characters are always cast together. Her characters must work on their unfamiliar pairing and work they do - but along the way the reader gets to enjoy their effort. This skilled author controls emotion with an iron fist. Catherine Anderson inflames her words with immense passion pressuring her reader to turn the pages.
This is part of Anderson's fine Kendrick/Coulter series and I think it is the best of the lot. I look forward to Zeke's tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Blue Skies for friend/family trust, Jan. 8 2004
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
I purchased Catherine Anderson's latest title with anticipation. I've read most of her books and enjoyed them consistently. Although Catherine Anderson's obvious writing and plot development skills are again apparent in this latest novel, I was taken aback and dismayed by the general disrespect given to the heroine, a 28 year old adult, by Bess and Hank. Bess consistently violates Carly's trust by discussing Carly with Hank - a man Bess doesn't even know! She even suggests the despicable tactic Hank eventually uses to initially win over Carly's approval to his "solution" to their problem. This trend continues when Carly's father also reveals information to Hank without Carly's permission. The final straw is when Hank (again with Bess's help) finds Carly and removes her against her will from her chosen place of refuge - with her father's approval and help!! Catherine Anderson has thus painted us a disturbing picture: it's okay to go behind a friend's back, to reveal personal information without permission or even the involved person's knowledge, forcibly move physically challenged persons from where they want to be, refuse them the right to make decisions regarding their own future - all in the name of that person's own eventual good!! The erroneous assumption here is that these people know what that person's eventual good is. It's impossible to know that, and it is extremely dangerous to assume that one does. The pervasive disrespect shown to the heroine throughout the book made this book impossible for me to enjoy. I hope the author's next heroine gets better treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars emotionally packed, July 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
While I agree with cheshirecat that it's not a great thing that Bess goes behind Carly's back and so does her father there was a point. Carly was being stubbornly independent and refused to see the whole picture. She couldn't raise a child both financially and physically with out Hank's help and Bess could see that. Bess went behind Carly's back because she was Carly's friend, not because she felt Carly was stupid or couldn't take care of herself. Same thing for Carly's father.
Aside from that, wow! Amazing book. Very emotional, I cried and laughed and my only regret is that we don't hear more about them in Bright Eyes (Zeke's Story). The characters, even secondary ones, are well developed and you really relate to the heroine (emotionally anyway).
Plus it was just fun seeing the whole Coulter gang again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ~ Wow What A Story ~, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Lisa (Alhambra Ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Anderson as done it again, Wow what a story! I enjoyed reading this book, to think that there are Carly's out there going through what she went through, I don't know if I would of taken it so good going blind again and missing all that is beautiful in the world, I have learned a lot from Carly and what she has went through, now tell me who wouldn't love to have Hank as a husband I just fell in love with him, you could feel the love that he has for Carly and how bad he felt the way they met, when he was looking for only one thing and one thing only and never looking back, I like that way he stay and handle his responsibility's a very good read, Thank you Catherine for Blue Skies that we get to see in this book.
Happy Reading Lisa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a real disappointment, Jan. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read all of Catherine Anderson's books, and by now I can practically write her plots for her. All of her characters are interchangeable, the women are completely helpless (although they are supposed to be strong and independent). But this book takes the cake. While I applaud the author for her use of disabled people, the writing for these two characters drove me insane. Everyone controlled Carly's life, and inbetween ridiculous conversations about why Carly had to live in an unsafe environment through which she could not navigate, we get the doctor's conversations full of medical jargon. This could have been SO much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What happened to Catherine Anderson???????, Jan. 18 2004
By 
Mista (Newark, DE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
She is one of the few authors who ALWAYS make it to my "keeper" shelf. This time???? BIG MISS!!!! I gave this one to the Used Book Store as soon as I finished. Why? The first half of the book was a textbook and the second half was the most forced love story I've ever read. The sad thing is that she did a great job with explaining and portraying a heroine with a disability in Phantom Waltz. In Blue Skies, we get page after page of visual cortex this and visual cortex that.... instead of character development. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, powerful and informative, June 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
I just love how Catherine Anderson can create characters that feel like family. You are right there from beginning to end, experiencing the stuggles and emotions they are going through.
In "Blue Skies," Catherine Anderson has done extensive research on the type of blindness Carly has, and you come away with a better understanding of what she has to face. And Hank turns out to be the best guy to stand by her.
I found the ending to be very powerful and emotional. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars VERY Disappointed in this one!, Jan. 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the authors that I never miss a book from but was really disappointed in this one.
CORNY dialogue and stiff, unbelieveable charectors made this book a real disappointment from this usually great author. People don't really talk like this...especially a "cowboy" and if I would have had to read the term "visual cortex" one more time, I would have screamed! I think we got the idea after the first 10 times she mentioned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyn-A Catherine Fan, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Lighthouse Lady (Melbourne, FL (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Skies (Mass Market Paperback)
What is there NOT to love about Blue Skies and all of Catherine's books?? She knows how to take a tragic situation and turn it into a wonderful romantic 'informative' story. She does so much research into a medical situation and comes forth with all the correct information about it and turn it into a wonderful interesting book that you just can't put down till the last page is turned. Keep up the great work Catherine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Skies
Blue Skies by Catherine Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 6 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews