Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic whodunit with a surprise ending!
Eddie Cochran is dead from a gun shot wound to the head. Whether his death was a suicide or a homicide has yet to be determined by the San Francisco Police Department. To them Eddie is just another dead body and they have no shortage of those to investigate. So Moses McGuire, a local bar owner and Eddie's brother-in-law, enlists the help of his good friend Dismas Hardy...
Published on March 18 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars see john grow
Several reviewers have compared this novel unfavourably to later examples of the Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky series. But the book is the first of the series, and although it's weaker than later examples, it's a good read, with very sympa characters. And as always, the essence of San Francisco is bottled in some very evocative descriptions. So, fair plot, good characters,...
Published on April 20 2004 by Duncmac2


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars see john grow, April 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Several reviewers have compared this novel unfavourably to later examples of the Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky series. But the book is the first of the series, and although it's weaker than later examples, it's a good read, with very sympa characters. And as always, the essence of San Francisco is bottled in some very evocative descriptions. So, fair plot, good characters, excellent setting. Well worth a look, and the later books in the series just get better. Press on.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic whodunit with a surprise ending!, March 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Eddie Cochran is dead from a gun shot wound to the head. Whether his death was a suicide or a homicide has yet to be determined by the San Francisco Police Department. To them Eddie is just another dead body and they have no shortage of those to investigate. So Moses McGuire, a local bar owner and Eddie's brother-in-law, enlists the help of his good friend Dismas Hardy to find out what really happened to Eddie. Hardy is an ex-cop and ex-lawyer who walked away from his career years ago after a personal tragedy and now bartends for Moses part-time. If it was a suicide, as seems apparent, why was the gun found in Eddie's left hand when he is right-handed? Also, there appears to be a suicide note but it is vague and unfinished. No one wants to believe that this bright young man with a prosperous future, a beautiful wife and a new baby on the way would simply end his own life for no apparent reason. Was it in fact a suicide? Or was Eddie caught in the middle of some sort of drug deal gone bad? Or is there another unthinkable factor involved in his death?
This is an outstanding whodunit!! It is also a very well-written story about a close-knit family dealing with the death of a beloved son, brother and husband. The ending was superb and I was totally shocked when I learned who the killer was as it is the very last person I would have suspected!
I recently finished reading Mr. Lescroart's latest novel, "The Second Chair", and was so impressed with Dismas Hardy that I decided to go back and read the series from the beginning. Hardy is a very engaging character. He has no aversion to throwing back more than a few drinks, loves a good dart game ( even carries his own set of darts around with him in his coat pocket) and has both a sense of humor and a great nose for detective work. If you have not read this first installment I advise you to pick up a copy. I'm so glad I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just an average entry in Dismas Hardy series -- slow go, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
This was our first exposure to author Lescroart and his ex-cop, ex-everything else, Irish bartender, Dismas Hardy. Indeed, we must wait til nearly the mid-point of the book before we learn the personal tragedy that has caused Hardy to largely drop out of life. Meanwhile he leans on his old cop connections to fish out clues and check out suspects as Hardy helps investigate (at the request of the family) the questionable suicide of Eddie Cochran. For half the some 400 pages, the cops, Hardy, and worst, we readers, tire of the efforts to uncover clues and chase potential murderers. When the action finally heats up during the second half, we figure out long before the professionals do the probable villain; fortunately, a couple more killings finally lead to the real bad guy and things get tidied up near the end.
We feel little incentive based on this novel to pursue the rest of this series, although other reviewers suggest it might be one of the weakest in the set. For our money, existential writing is fine, but probably not in a whodunit when the audience is panting for some sort of gripping action to make the pages turn. Apparently this average to mediocre example of the Hardy set might as well be skipped by all but the author's ardent fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, Heartbreaking with Page Turning Twists, Aug. 5 2002
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Dismas Hardy is a brooding Irishman who wears the pain of his personal losses like a costume. He is a former marine, policeman, attorney, husband and father and each of these past roles - and their attendant disappointments, pain and loss - play a very big part in his solitary and aloof approach to life. He tends bar at one of his closest friend's, Moses McGuire, neighborhood bar, plays a fairly decent game of darts, and drinks too many Black and Tans. He is a bartender who will listen to your sad tale, provide some bar-side philosophy with a bit of Irish cynicism and take your keys when you have had too much. He is in a slow spiral down until Moses's brother-in-law, Eddie Cochran, turns up dead. The first thinking is suicide but all those who know Eddie are convinced it was murder. Dismas makes it his business to find out.
This is a fast paced novel with many interesting, fully developed characters and enough questions on each page to keep you turning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not blown away by this, June 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Irish (Audio Cassette)
I listened to the audio version, and was pretty disappointed. I'm hoping some of the problem is the abridgement. While the book is ostensibly about Hardy, he didn't really seem to play a major role. It was just a grim tale about a LOT of people messing up their lives, and killing a lot of other people in the process.
In the middle, Hardy gets some romantic action, after reminiscing about the death of his baby, for which he feels responsible. From his description of events, he IS responsible, so that did nothing to endear the character to me.
I saw every plot twist a mile before it happened, and I consider myself a pretty naive reader, so that's not good.
I gather this book is one of a series, and wonder if maybe the author is counting on us to already like his principal character. I'll try another Lescroart book, but if it's like this one, it will be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good characters..., April 13 2002
By 
Isaac Rabinovitch (Portland, Or) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
In fact, way too many of them. Lescroart is so busy marching people on and off stage that he forgets to get the plot going for way, way too long.
The Dismas Hardy series does get better. But unless you're one of those compulsive people (like me) who has to read a series from the beginning, skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping thriller, Feb. 20 2002
By 
Daniel R. Bills (Lafayette, Louisiana USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
This is a great thriller. Hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars much better than his later incarnations, Nov. 22 2000
By 
Orrin C. Judd "brothersjudddotcom" (Hanover, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Dismas Hardy is an ex-Marine, ex-cop, ex-attorney, ex-Catholic, ex-sharkwalker, ex-husband... Since the death of his 7 month old son, for which he blames himself, he has abandoned his marriage, his career & nearly abandoned all hope--"You could put your hope in anything you wanted, he figured, but to put it in hope itself was just pure foolishness." Now he bartends days at his friend Moses McGuire's bar, plays darts almost obsessively & drinks a few too many Black and Tans and Irish Whiskey's. He's just "skimming over the surface" of life, afraid to test the depths.
But when Moses' brother-in-law is found dead--a young man who Moses' little sister says was a younger version of Hardy before life chewed him up--Hardy ends up investigating whether it was murder or suicide. Gradually, & perhaps inevitably, he begins to care again.
I started one of these books a couple years ago & it didn't grab me, probably because it is a third person private eye novel--a major departure from the rules of the genre. But I found this one for fifty cents & figured I'd give it a shot.
I'm extremely glad that I did.
GRADE: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, not his worst, Feb. 22 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Dead Irish is an entertaining novel and Dismas Hardy is an extremely likeable character. For those who have read "A Certain Justice," you'll like this much better. For those who have read "The 13th Juror," this won't match up but it's worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow mystery with too much filler., Nov. 9 1999
This review is from: Dead Irish (Paperback)
Dead Irish is a slow mystery that eventually catches your attention but not until the final 3/4s of the book. Too many characters and subplots that don't have much bearing on the actual mystery was rather confusing to me at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Irish
Dead Irish by John Lescroart (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 2005)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews