Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting story about 4 very different women
I liked reading this book about four African-American women in their 30s in the atypical urban space of Scottsdale, AZ. I found it interesting that Savannah, the character later portrayed by Whitney Houston in the 1996 movie, is an ardent Whitney Houston fan.
My favorite character is Gloria, overweight and mother to a teenager she had when she herself was a teen...
Published on May 18 2004 by momazon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If Ma Rainey were a blues *writer*, she'd write this
The Buddha said: "Enlightenment is progressive disillusionment."
Is there anything more painful--or more artistically exhilarating--than when you realize a psychological illness has become a cultural paradigm?
I was completely turned off at even the thought of reading this book when it replaced the New Testament as the bible through which my emotionally toubled...
Published on June 21 2002 by Earl Hazell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book......., May 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Waiting To Exhale (Hardcover)
if you love lousy writing. Terry Mcmillan's books are a tribute to illiteracy and bad taste. I have no problem with the basic premise: 4 female friends trying to find as fulling a relationship with men as they have with each other. However I felt like I was watching a talk show rather than reading a novel. There's nothing wrong with using the vernacular of the day as part of the story (see Zora Neal Hurston's "Their Eyes Were Watching God") but McMillan displays an utter lack of writing and storytelling skills. Waiting to Exhale is to good writng like Jerry Springer is to good TV: it's simple-minded, moronic, and popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting story about 4 very different women, May 18 2004
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting To Exhale (Hardcover)
I liked reading this book about four African-American women in their 30s in the atypical urban space of Scottsdale, AZ. I found it interesting that Savannah, the character later portrayed by Whitney Houston in the 1996 movie, is an ardent Whitney Houston fan.
My favorite character is Gloria, overweight and mother to a teenager she had when she herself was a teen. Gloria is the most sympathetic one --- she has love for others who will gladly use her and love only themselves. She is the type of woman we both admire and pity, as her nice caring ways often leave her at the mercy of other's cruelty.
Robin proves rather vain -- I love when one character notes, at the gym, that Robin's breasts look like cantalope halves and don't move no matter what she does.
Every last one of them, even the strong Bernadette, have trouble with men but also some success. They just take it as it comes but still strive to make it better. They are not victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars something sad about this..., March 25 2004
By 
A. Shanahan "amybeth68" (Haverhill , MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this was a fun read some years back..well-written..hence my first inclination to give it 2 stars, but taking another look..if a man ever wrote about his "repulsion" over sex with an overweight woman, the way Robin describes sex with Michael, we'd be taking to the streets in protest...there was such an unkindness to it..and this was a woman with a dear, overweight friend...I'm changing my mind..back to one star..too much shallow emphasis on looks, money, etc..it's not a race thing..it makes all women look bad. Well, maybe just these women..I'd like to think some of us are different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the film, Dec 28 2003
By 
Psyche (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
I had not expected much having seen the movie version but I was pleasantly surprised. Waiting to Exhale is wonderfully written with great characters. It has depth and is not a shallow romance. The characters are believable and likeable. It far surpasses the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars INSULT YOUR INTELIGENCE, Nov. 4 2003
By 
MADE FOR LIGHT READING, MAYBE GrADE SCHOOL i hope not.IS this is what little girls dream about becomming? on one level in its designer cum innality THIS BOOK IS brilliant INDICTMENAT OF NUMB SELF ABSORBED,WANT MORE EVERYTHING EMPTY CONSUMERS, IN THE LAND OF YOU BECOME WHAT YOU HEAR, ONSLAUGHT OF DESIGNER SLOGANISM PIMPISM, WANTS WANTS ROMP THROUGH SUOBUORBAN BLAND.INDOCTORNATE AS OPRAHISMS womens wish fill fulling get it while the clock ticks age, gorfor it isms babes,WITH GUSTO ,just around the next aisle future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Magical, July 23 2003
By 
crazyforgems (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Several years before "chick lit" became fashionable, "Waiting to Exhale" was published. While the four main characters are African American, the book transcends all racial, ethnic and national boundaries. All four women share one problem universal to the entire female gender: men.
Savannah is a PR executive who is moving from Denver to Phoenix to be near her best friend Bernadine. Bernadine has just been told by her wealthy husband that he is leaving her for a white woman. Gloria is the owner of an upscale hair salon for black women in Phoenix and the single mother of a teenage son. Robin is a very smart woman at her job at an insurance company and an incredibly dumb woman with men.
The book narrates (two of the stories are told in the first person, two in the third) the dating trials and tribulations of these women. Any woman who has ever dated in her late 30's will recognize the cast of characters: the married men who "plan to leave their wives," the men who have no money and no credit, the commitment phobics, the men who discover they are gay...
I would recommend this book to fans of women's literature: both serious and lighter. If you're a guy, you should pick this book up with caution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting To Exhale, April 20 2003
Wow! Terry Mc Millan's storytelling is Awesome!
I couldn't put the book down!
This is a definite "must-read"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a real friendship is about............................., April 3 2003
By 
Terri McMillian has been my favorite author since forever! I read her books before it became the thing to do (I didn't like the movies!) In this book the bond these women share are genuine and heart felt. You are always closer to your girls and you know that they have you when others can't get you! I love it, the weight issue, abusive men, desperation, single mom, deadbeat dads, stupid husbands and through it all these women are true to one another and that is what we are about. When we think there is nothing you can always count on your girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Movie version was horrible, book was okay., March 24 2003
By A Customer
I watched the movie version of this book and cringed in my seat from embarassment! To think Forrest Whitaker (an African American producer) directed this rather sexually childish movie is a complete disgrace.
The book version, however, was much better than the movie although that's not saying much since the plot is the same:
LORETTA DEVINE'S character is a sexless, fat, loud Black woman with no life of her own (Hattie MacDaniel in Gone with the Wind).
WHITNEY HOUSTON'S mother actually encourages Whitney to sleep around -- even with an obviously married man (horrible).
ANGELA BASSETT'S character was in love with her marital status more than her husband & blamed her husband's White mistress for the breakup (childish) and Angela decides to destroy his possessions (what, instead of him?. Go figure.)
Oh, and LELA ROCHON'S character -- she equates sex with love, a surefire way to be on the losing end with ANY man.
So there's both the book and the movie. Is there any wonder these characters had the lives they deserve? While the author's writing is breathtaking, this book comes off as degrading to Black women and negative on Black males.
I am sure Ms MacMillian made a lot of money off this depressing stuff. Since her "success" there have been far too many mindless writers publishing books with pretty covers and NO real writing ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Profound and just plain honest, March 17 2003
By 
Y. Stewart... (Edmond, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Waiting to Exhale is by far one of the most profound and straight up books on the market. I know the characters of these women too personally and the story scenarios are all too real. Ms. McMillan is a wonderful storyteller. Great story, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting to Exhale
Waiting to Exhale by Terry McMillan (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 3 2010)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews