Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite reads
This is an amazing tale of cross-generational conflict told with masterful insight. This is among those rare books that not only entertained me thoroughly but left me seeing the world in a different light.
Published 2 months ago by Brian Lucas

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped, but palatable
I have been hearing about this book for a while now, mostly on podcasts. It was ok. Not terrific, just ok.
The premise is a little overblown, the technology too farfetched, and I quickly got to the point where I didn't really care about the characters.
I'm sure it would make a fine movie, with lots of action, but no plot.
Published on March 29 2011 by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite reads, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing tale of cross-generational conflict told with masterful insight. This is among those rare books that not only entertained me thoroughly but left me seeing the world in a different light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High tech and action packed, April 3 2014
By 
Rose (Saint John, NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
Fan-freakin-tastic!! This book was a whirlwind of action and high tech. I wasn't expecting to be wow'ed so completely by it. "Why only four stars" you ask, well it's because of the first quarter of the book. There was so much geek-speak I barely understood what I was reading. And there was one chapter that described in detail drugging a 17 year old girl, having her perform sexual acts and broadcasting it out on the internet. It was at that point I almost threw the book across the room, but for some reason I continued on. It improved drastically after that point.

The very basic story is that a wealthy computer genius died. Prior to his death, he put in motion a series of computer-based events on a scale that is almost unimaginable. It is a very intricate plan and we do not learn the full extent of this plan or the desired result by the end as this is only part one.

I know this doesn't sound like much but I can assure you this was an incredible read (after the aforementioned over-technical beginning). It kind of reminded me a bit of Ready Player One because of all the computer game play in virtual reality but this was no YA novel. RPO was fun and nostalgic where Daemon is hardcore. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes a well written, action packed story with a great plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars make sure you get his sequel Freedom to go with it., March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent story, and real thought provoking, one of those books you can't put down, it was so good I got the sequel Freedom, just finished that too, superb again, it really sticks it to the 1% and their control over the world..
If your a gamer or interested in what computer software can do ,this will really make your head spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome cyber era book., Oct. 3 2013
By 
R. Groom (Fredericton, NB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
This really magnifies what the NSA is doing. Although fiction, it highlights the weakness of our digitally connected economy. it is an eye opener, like the book Database Nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, June 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
Couldn't put it down. Everything Suarez whites about in this book (and its sequel) is totally possible in today's internet and computerized world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technology Programmed to Destroy, May 30 2009
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daemon (Hardcover)
Throughout history, technology has usually been portrayed as the deployment of science for the advancement of humankind in areas like personal comfort and convenience, medicine, economic productivity, and protection of the environment. Every so often, the daemons or forces of technology become roguish and throw us a curve and create circumstances that can be potentially harmful to our early existence. Daniel Suarez, in "Daemon", has written a novel that describes how this nightmarish situation can possibly happen under the most subtle of situations. Sobel, a famous designer of on-line games, has just died. Unbenownest to his associates, he has programmed an bad daemon to kick in and start using a particular game platform to initiate a major attack on the Internet's interconnectiveness as a global communications system. The mayhem and mischief resulting from this new dimension in internet terrorism makes for a truly exciting story. First, it will take a lot of human ingenuity to be able to locate and corner this rogue daemon on the worldwide web and, two, it will take an equal amount of savvy and determination to outsmart and finally eliminate it. On both these counts, Suarez does a masterfulk job in keeping his readers guessing as to what the outcome will be in this armageddon-like battle between the forces of oppression and freedom. The heroes in this story are not necessarily the ones who survive the vicious onslaught that results from subverting the Internet, the technology that was always meant to bring us closer together. Suarez reminds us that society, as it reaches for greater freedom through technology, opens itself to the possibility that it will encounter those in the system who want to control it for their own malevolent desires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Internet Killed Them, Aug. 29 2010
By 
A. Taylor (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
As a gamer and an individual who adores technology, and who is married to an IT professional, this book was a great alternate universe of what is truly possible with the speed of technology development in our world today. Daemon deals with the reality that most of the people who use technology today know nothing about it, and they don't realize how much information has become accessible to the wider world at large. It also deals with themes of how digitized our lives have become, and how much of the information about us can be changed, and that there most likely is no physical record of it.

Some of the technological jargon in the book may alienate people less familiar with the IT side of things or MMORPGs, but don't let it detract you from reading this book. Often characters will help describe more of what is going on to less technology inclined characters.

In most cases, the technology Suarez references is modern and available, and isn't merely a construct of his imagination as an author - and that is exactly what lends itself to this book being so riveting and exciting. Our world is moving along at a fast pace, and those with the intelligence and money will be the ones with the capability to manipulate and influence what occurs to all the rest of us.

A great book about a possible avenue much of the world could go down - maybe not in the specifics, but in the generalities. A lot of ideas to think about regarding civilization, advancement of technology, media, governments, and the strain each puts on the other, and their relationship to the common person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, March 2 2010
By 
Paul Balchin (Ottawa, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
As a rule I don't read modern day thrillers. They tend to miss that "epic" quality I only seem to find in the typical science fiction and fantasy setting. This book is an exception to that rule. A modified game AI (the Daemon) is set loose on the Internet by the dying owner of the most successful gaming company in the world. The Daemon manages many smaller, specialized AIs. Some of these are designed to infiltrate major corporations and governments around the world (macro management: think world-building games like "Civilization"), others recruit individuals to handle more specialized tasks (micro management and first-person shooters).

The nice twist is that the AI doesn't try to destroy humanity (a la SkyNet), it *manipulates* humanity to achieve its own ends. Governments, CEOs, hackers, and con artists... every level of society is involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped, but palatable, March 29 2011
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been hearing about this book for a while now, mostly on podcasts. It was ok. Not terrific, just ok.
The premise is a little overblown, the technology too farfetched, and I quickly got to the point where I didn't really care about the characters.
I'm sure it would make a fine movie, with lots of action, but no plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure entertainment when techno-thriller meets cyberpunk, March 26 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Daemon (Mass Market Paperback)
A computer game designer dies and, upon the online publication of his obituary, a daemon--a computer program running in the background, under no human control--is activated, setting off a chain reaction that will lead to numerous deaths and, quite possibly, a new world order.

Daemon is an inventive techno-thriller, blending Michael Crichton with Neil Stephenson. The science feels real, grounded in possibility if not probability, and, in the second half of the novel, as events accelerate and mass together like a careening snowball, Suarez takes us into the realm of cyber-punk as he geeks out on Net-enhanced villains and scimitar-wielding motorcycles.

Stylistically, Daemon is serviceable at best, but this works to the narrative's advantage given that an overwrought style would only take away from the rollicking plot and gleefully outlandish scenes. The characters are two-dimensional, fitting into familiar arch-types, but, like figures in a video game, they are all players in a fantastic new universe, servants of the plot, and meant to be little else. In fact, it is the daemon itself that propels the plot forward. The daemon is by far the most unpredictable element in the story and I wonder if it might not have even given Suarez himself a few surprises. It's such an original concept that I found myself caring less about the flesh-and-blood characters and more about this virulent program's next move--and, impossibly, the novel was actually all the more entertaining and satisfying for it.

It's said that, in a good story, the protagonist must have gone through a substantial change over the course of the narrative. Here, every character goes through changes that cannot even be guessed at when the book is first cracked open and the initial pages read. More importantly, it is the daemon, the plot's driving force--the plot itself--that changes, morphing with every chapter in unpredictable, exciting ways.

Daemon is not great literature but, with an unpretentious, easy and accessible style reminiscent of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, and the cyber-punk sensibilities of Neil Stephenson and William Gibson, Daemon should appeal to fans of both groups. This is a fun, easy read that might actually have you eyeing your PC with a new respect--or fear.

Its sequel, Freedom TM, is available in paperback and on my list of must-reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daemon
Daemon by Daniel Suarez (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 29 2009)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews