Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A moving love story with adventure!
This novel, the last of the "Silk" trilogy is a wonderful read. The main character, Ian Cameron,a British officer assigned to India, has been imprisoned and tortured in "The Black Well" in Arabia and recently freed by his sister and her husband. He returns to India a broken man, having lost his eye and his sexual function. To make matters worse, his fiancee has married...
Published on Dec 5 2002 by phillyfleur

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Just couldnt get into it....
"Veils of Silk" was just not for me. I didnt connect with the characters at all. I thought that Ian's issues were justifiable, but the reasons behind Laura's troubles,I thought, were just stupid. I can understand being upset over her father's death and all of that, but refusing intimacy because of her parents torrid relationship was just such a weak plot device...
Published on Aug. 30 2003 by M. I.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A moving love story with adventure!, Dec 5 2002
This novel, the last of the "Silk" trilogy is a wonderful read. The main character, Ian Cameron,a British officer assigned to India, has been imprisoned and tortured in "The Black Well" in Arabia and recently freed by his sister and her husband. He returns to India a broken man, having lost his eye and his sexual function. To make matters worse, his fiancee has married another man. While in India, Ian learns from his brother that he has unexpectedly become the Baron Falkirk, and needs to return to Scotland. Still depressed, Ian remains in India to deliver a bible written by a Russian with whom he shared his imprisonment. The Russian was later executed, and Ian promised to give Pytor (the Russian) his bible to his niece, Laura (who is also in India). Ian finds Laura in her own private misery, having just lost her stepfather, and notices how she is averse to men being attracted to her. In a bold move, he tells her of his impotence and proposes a marriage of convenience without sexuality, but with fidelity. Laura agrees,although Ian is in the dark as to why she wants no part of sex.
What follows is their marriage, and journey through India to tie up loose ends. This novel has a lot of historical detail about India, the culture, and political problems along the Khyber Pass.
Laura and Ian find themselves in some Indian intrigue, as well as deciphering the coded secrets of the bible Pytor left behind. During this time, Ian finds his impotence was only temporary and now is in a bind. He is attracted to Laura but feels guilty about breaking his promise. Overall, the way they both come to terms with the sexuality issue is interesting and becomes romantic as they do fall in love.
One of MJP strongest suits is that she addresses issues atypical in the romance industry, such as depression and impotence. She is unafraid to push the boundaries of historical romance fiction. In my opinion, this puts her in class that is a cut above the usual.
Overall, this novel is very enjoyable. However, be prepared for lots of secondary Indian politics and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last of the trilogy: Ian finds love, May 6 2001
By 
Dr W. Richards "wmr-uk" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
Ian Cameron, the brother of Juliet and the British officer whom Ross and Juliet rescued from the Black Well in Silk and Secrets, has returned to India, barely recovered in body and not at all recovered in spirit from his ordeal. Rushing to find his fiancee and let her know that he's safe, he discovers that she's already married to a friend of his. Feeling betrayed and lost, he intends to resign from the army and return home - especially after he discovers that he is now Baron Falkirk - but first he has a promise to keep. He needs to find Lara Alexandrovna, the niece of Pyotr Andreyovich, the Russian officer who was his fellow prisoner and who died instead of Ian.
Lara, now calling herself Laura, has just watched her stepfather die when Ian finds her. She is alone in the world, and also, he notices, wary of physical contact with men. One legacy of the Black Well, however, is that it has made Ian impotent; so he offers her what he believes will be a safe, affectionate, but passionless marriage. Laura, who likes Ian and feels safe with him, accepts.
Of course, Ian's disability isn't permanent, so at a later stage they have to deal with the consequences, and Laura has to confront her memories and fears. Ian also has his demons, which haunt his nightmares and sometimes make him difficult to live with. Gradually, over a period of a few months and in the course of their journey across India, these two tortured souls heal each other.
But the romantic/emotional plot isn't all there is to this book, which is why I've rated it less than the five stars I normally give Putney. Again, she has a strong dramatic plot - and I generally prefer her books without them - but she's also chosen to locate the book in colonial India. That, for a start, would have put me off buying the book had it been written by anyone other than Putney; as it was, it was difficult for me to empathise with Ian's feelings as far as that part of the plot was concerned, since my sympathies were with those who would prefer to overthrow British rule!
At one stage I did find myself getting somewhat frustrated with the emotional plot, since it seemed as if any time Laura made a step forward Ian would regress a stage, and vice versa! However, in the end that aspect of the book was satisfying.
I did wonder about Ian's mother: after all, she's the woman who was pestering the British Consul in Constantinople for months on end in Silk and Secrets, trying to get someone to find out whether her son was alive or not; and it was she who sent Ross to find Ian. In neither Silk and Secrets nor this book did we see or hear about Ian's reunion with his mother! And what about the British government, which effectively left him to die?
In relation to the series, I was disappointed not to see more of the characters from earlier books in each successive one; all we get is a brief epilogue at the end of each, which isn't enough for characters we've grown fond of. Putney did better in her Fallen Angels series, allowing other characters to reappear in more substantial roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic locale, sultry romance, what more could you want?, Aug. 9 2000
By 
Marcy L. Thompson (Sammamish, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, some things you might want are believable main characters, an interesting plot that grows out of the historical setting, a cast of supporting characters who each seem so finely drawn as to deserve a novel of their own, and smooth, fluent writing. If that's your wish list for a historical romance novel, this one delivers.
The most amazing thing about this novel is the main characters. Both are flawed individuals whose flaws first seem to fit together beautifully (so they embark on a marriage built around those "flaws"), but as the story unfolds, this fit disintegrates, leaving them with the challenge of addressing their individual demons and coming together, or blowing apart in a maelstrom of hurt and anger. The heroine alternately embraces and rejects her own struggle, in an entirely plausible way, and eventually takes ahold of herself and steps up to the challenge posed by her marriage. The hero, meanwhile, is fighting his own battles against the results of being traumatized (as a minor character in the earlier novel _Silk_and_Secrets_, which I also recommend). In the end, these characters come together as healed lovers, whose healing grew out of their courage.
And it's all believably set in 19th century India. The place and time are evoked beautifully, and the action of the plot is firmly grounded in history. In some ways, the plot is a little over-wrought, but then, so was British India at that time.
This book stands up to rereading wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just couldnt get into it...., Aug. 30 2003
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
"Veils of Silk" was just not for me. I didnt connect with the characters at all. I thought that Ian's issues were justifiable, but the reasons behind Laura's troubles,I thought, were just stupid. I can understand being upset over her father's death and all of that, but refusing intimacy because of her parents torrid relationship was just such a weak plot device. I also just couldnt get into the setting of this book at all. I couldnt finish this story...so why not 1 star? Its a Mary Jo Putney. I have many of her books and think that she is brilliant,unfortunately, "Veils of Silk" just fell flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Trilogy, Oct. 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
What can I say but MJP finished the "Silk" Trilogy with a flourish. Though romance was kept at a minimal in this book compared to the previous two, the exotic setting, high adventures, interesting supporting cast and subplots more than made up for it.
Laura and Ian are tortured souls with their own inner demons. MJP once again brings these two together so that they may complete each other. I had fun reading this series and was sorry MJP did not write David Cameron's own story. I feel that he deserves his own book as he has a lot of potential for his love story to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what can i say?, July 31 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
its a beautiful story about two people who have lost so much, and went looking for the missing peices, but instead found each other and in each other, what they had lost.the emotion was very powerful, it wasn't simply about sex as so many other romance novels are, this one really shows the struggles to overcome one's fears for the love of another. it was a wonderful book that can stand with or without the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just about as average as you can get without,, Aug. 26 2003
Veils of Silk (the entire triology) was as about as average a romance series as one can get. I was glad to have it finally come to an end! I thought overall the series was predictable and boring which left a tired taste in my mouth. I, doubt that I will be buying any more books by Mary Jo Putney anytime soon, I, was that disappointed I'm sorry to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and touching story, Jan. 10 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best historical romances I have ever read. It intricately weaves the politics and history of 19th century India with a touching and beautiful love story. The characters of Laura and Ian were unforgettable. MJP is an incredible storyteller. She integrates history, politics, angst, and love into an incredibly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the triology!!, Jan. 11 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is charged with emotions, adventures .....and of course romance. Personally, I feel that this book has ended beautifully. This book really give me a feeling of satisfaction. There's also a touch of humour in this book. Of all the Silk Trilogy , I find this book the best. I think it's because this book's far more eventful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, April 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Veils of Silk (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third book in the series. I just loved all three. To bad MJP didn't write a fourth on Ian's brother David. All three had wonderful characters with good plots and wonderful romance. You won't be disappointed with any of them. They were a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Veils of Silk
Veils of Silk by Mary Jo Putney (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 15 1992)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews