Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demons and wizards and vampires, oh my
If Raymond Chandler had written about wizards, vampires and fairies, the result might have been something like the Dresden Files series. And it opens on a high note with the gritty urban fantasy "Storm Front," introducing us to a solid wizard hero and a complex new universe.

Business has been slow for Harry Dresden, the wizard PI, so he's eager when two new...
Published on April 27 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mixed bag for me!
I really like the idea for this series. A wizard PI (Private Investigator) is a great premise and mostly I found the book enjoyable and real page-turner. However some things irritated me, like a couple other reviewers have mentioned (I'm obviously part of the the minority here due to the wave of glowing reviews here). Namely some plot holes, lack of realistic motivation...
Published on April 30 2004 by A. Tsurukame


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demons and wizards and vampires, oh my, April 27 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
If Raymond Chandler had written about wizards, vampires and fairies, the result might have been something like the Dresden Files series. And it opens on a high note with the gritty urban fantasy "Storm Front," introducing us to a solid wizard hero and a complex new universe.

Business has been slow for Harry Dresden, the wizard PI, so he's eager when two new cases come at once: a missing husband, and a couple slain in the middle of sex -- their hearts exploded from their chests. Talk about a heart attack. As he tries to investigate both cases at once, he finds himself suspended between a vampire madam and a gentlemanly Mafia don.

Unfortunately, it seems the White Council of wizards also believes that he did it, and with his proximity to some nasty magics, Harry faces execution in just a few days. And as he unravels an increasingly dark web of drugs, demons and sorcery, Harry discovers that he is the next intended victim...

Ever since Laurell K. Hamilton turned to porn, I've been on the lonely long hunt for something similar in theme, but with fewer throbbing body parts. With his wizards, fae, icky vampires and demons, Jim Butcher's series fits the bill -- and exceeds it in every way.

He's got the hard-boiled noir thing down, even in modern Chicago -- dark rainy streets, femme fatales (some vampires), and a literally fiery climax. The entire book is an upward spiral of suspense, with the dual threats against Harry's life getting more intense, until it literally seems like there's no way out.

His writing strikes a nice balance between stripped-down Chanderlian prose, and detailed horror-fantasy (such as our first look at the grotesque vampire madam Bianca). But Butcher knows how to inject some dark humor and action, such as poor Harry trying to battle a toad-demon with an artificially lustful woman pouncing on him. And some nicely snappy dialogue ("Subtle and quick to anger?" "Not so subtle").

Harry Dresde himself is a great lead character -- he's wry, amusing and a little offbeat, but with some dark personal history that tends to haunt him at the wrong times. The only problem with the characters is that in this particular book, most of the human characters seem rather 2-D, compared to Bob the talking skull or Toot-toot the pizza-loving fairy.

"Storm Front" is a solid debut to a solid horror-fantasy-mystery series, with a likable lead and some nicely evocative writing. Definitely a good read, and promises more by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Dresden book 1, May 20 2014
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have never read this series but it has always been on the edge of everything I read. I finally bought book one Storm Front and thoroughly enjoyed it. The combination of mystery and urban fantasy is very appealing, and very well done by Jim Butcher. With the books I have been reading lately it's also refreshing to have the hero of the series not be a twenty something beautiful girl who kicks ass and is misunderstood.
Great series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocky wizarding ride, April 13 2012
By 
Tom Turvey "Priscilla Turvey" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
A good friend of mine suggested I have a read of the fantasy crime novels of Harry Dresden. It took me only four days to read this book because I loved it so much.

This is the first book in the series about a wizard named, Harry Dresden. Thus, the series are called The Dresden Files. As I am new to authour Jim Butcher, I was swept up into his humourously engaging writing about the interesting world of Mr. Dresden.

If you're after a book that's gripping, hard to put down, has a good amount of quick witted humour and colourful characters, then this series is for you. I plan to read more of this series and then start another one that Jim Butcher has written, The Codex Alera series.

I rate this book 5/5

Priscilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mixed bag for me!, April 30 2004
By 
A. Tsurukame (Lomita, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
I really like the idea for this series. A wizard PI (Private Investigator) is a great premise and mostly I found the book enjoyable and real page-turner. However some things irritated me, like a couple other reviewers have mentioned (I'm obviously part of the the minority here due to the wave of glowing reviews here). Namely some plot holes, lack of realistic motivation for some of the character actions. Also Harry Dresden, the first person narrator, seemed a bit too smug in his world-view. After a particularly rough day on the job, Harry ends a chapter with "Do I have a great job or what?" Instead of coming across as a comedic or ironic counter-point to the obvious depression and despair Harry is feeling at the time, it comes across as a bit whiny, cliched and too cute. Sometimes I cringe at the lines Harry utters. Maybe I just read to many PI novels so Harry Dresden seems like a bad cross between the wise-cracking Elvis Cole from Robert Crais books, and the hard-hitting Heronymous Bosch from Michael Connelly series, except without as much humor and toughness from either character (both great series btw). Having read the gritty but fabulous sci-fi noir book, Altered Carbon, featuring Takeshi Kovacs, probably didn't help me endear myself to Harry Dresden either.
The other point I want to make is the lack of intelligence I sometimes feel from Harry Dresden. Often a good PI character is more insightful or more crafty and generally more "with-it" than the reader but a couple times in this book I went "huh, why didn't you do this instead." Case in point, Harry comes across a certain piece of evidence, two duplicate tiny containers if you will.(I don't want to write any spoilers so I'm deliberately vague here). One container holding something important, the other one empty. At one point in the story he reluctantly has to trade the full container to person in exchange for information. During the converstation, Harry, as a form of payback, uses his magic to destroy the container with fire thus foiling the informant's hopes to use it for personal wealth. I'm thinking if Harry is such a high powered wizard, why didn't he trick the person and give the empty container to the person and keep the full one for himself, especially since Harry ends up destroying the traded item anyway before the informant can open and check the container. What Harry destroys would be vital I would think, to his case and to Murphy, his cop friend.
Anyway, despite this I'm curious enough that I'll pick up the next book. The action in the book was nicely depicted and got me turning the pages in the latter half of the book. I hope Harry Dresden's character gets "smarter" and more insightful in the next novels. Sometimes its painful to read the events through Harry Dresden's eyes, especially after reading some books from masters of PI/Noir type novels. Check out a Raymond Chandler, James Ellroy, or Andrew Vachss book for some tough PI characters. Or for some truly funny PI's, check out the Elvis Cole series from Robert Crais, or the PI novels from Kinky Friedman. If those are too traditional and you want a mix of fantasy, horror or sci-fi. Read Joe R. Lansdale's Hap Collins-Leonard Pine series for tex-horror, or Richard Morgan's Takeshi Kovacs sci-fi novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one that starts it all., May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Seriously, read this book. If you love fantasy of any sort, and if you enjoy any sort of noir detective story.. this series is freaking amazing. Just do it. Now. You can thank me later.

DO IT NOW :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Left me unsatisfied, May 3 2014
The Dresden Files series has been compared to Richard Kadrey's Sandman Slim novels. If Storm Front is any indication, it comes well short in my opinion. Sandman Slim is a far more interesting character, who plotwise, finds himself in much more entertaining situation, and is surrounded by better suporting characters. Storm Front has not made me want to rush to read further adventures, whereas I read the Kadrey books one after another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this entire series, March 16 2014
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this entire series, it is a perfect mix of mystery and fantasy.
From the point where I picked up the first book, I finished the last one less than a month and a half later.
14 book in that time. I like reading, but that was a stretch.
Every book in the series always seems to bring some different new type of fantasy creature type into the books, making it feel new and exciting all over again.

I don't know how Jim Butcher does it, but I'm now anxiously awaiting the release of Skin Games out in May.
If you like either of these genres, at any point of your life, READ THIS SERIES. It will consume your attention until you finish it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Feb. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great story, action packed with believable characters in spite of the fact that there are wizards and daemons. The authors' style of writing was refreshing. His main character a hero with human flaws who is quite loveable. An easy read and one I enjoyed immensely. I will move on to other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storm Front started my Dresden Files addiction, Jan. 7 2014
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
Jim Butcher got me hooked on the Dresden Files with Storm Front, right from the start. I love the way Jim Butcher makes his characters so believable, even those that are fantastical. The fact that the story is grounded in the real world with characters that infiltrate the life of a roughened private investigator lends to a premise that is exciting to read in this and all subsequent Dresden Files books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently good series, Dec 29 2013
This review is from: Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought I would put in a plug for the series. Many series run out of steam before they run out of books. I'm up to number 10 and it hasn't happened yet. The ideas are good and the characters build up over time. Some romance, but not the boring soft core type some very good "urban fantasies" have started putting into the stories. Read this series, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files
Storm Front: Book one of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (Mass Market Paperback - April 13 2000)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews