Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's on with the fairies!
I found book four of the Dresden Files the best so far. It was explosive and had some pretty cool plot lines with things like old friends coming back into a storyline and people thought to be dead or trusted, proving to not be so. The series just gets better with each book

Also, I think there may have been a few typos, but less so than previous books. There was...
Published 23 months ago by Tom Turvey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but better than the last one
The first book in this series was outstanding. The second was OK, and the third, frankly, was not much. This fourth effort is a good showing, however, and it's worth the time and money if you were disappointed in the last one. There's more action, and quite a bit of the plot has to do with the protagonist's prior problems and how he's getting out of them, instead of...
Published on Oct. 19 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's on with the fairies!, May 18 2012
By 
Tom Turvey "Priscilla Turvey" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
I found book four of the Dresden Files the best so far. It was explosive and had some pretty cool plot lines with things like old friends coming back into a storyline and people thought to be dead or trusted, proving to not be so. The series just gets better with each book

Also, I think there may have been a few typos, but less so than previous books. There was also a new look and different paper quality to the series starting with book four. Hopefully that means less errors that were missed by editors previously.

I can't get enough of this series and look forward to reading book five next. Definitely a 5/5 book.

Priscilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Dresden, Dec 19 2011
By 
Karen "Word Lover" (Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
It's Jim Butcher. It's Harry Dresden.

Harry continues to mature and stands more alone in this novel than ever before. At times his introspection grows frustrating, as it is the impulsive, emotional Harry that I love so much.

Faced once more with the threat of being vampyre meat, or facing Morgan's sword, Harry continues to be his usual charming, witty self. Harry will not be food for anyone or anything - if he can help it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't believe in fairies!, Sept. 7 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
After three books of battling evil wizards, ghosts, vampires and werewolves, Harry Dresden has a brand-new threat to the world on his plate -- warring faeries.

But worry not -- "Summer Knight" does not descend to drooling over benevolent Tolkienian elves or airy Victorian sprites. Instead, Jim Butcher crafts his fourth Dresden Files adventure-fantasy with plenty of solid action, intriguing characters, wizardly backstabbing, and a brewing supernatural war with plenty of unexpected twists and turns. It's clear that Butcher has hit his stride in this book, turning a merely solid urban fantasy series into one of the best.

It's been nine months since Harry's girlfriend was half-vampirized, and he's spent all that time trying to find a cure. Even worse, the White Council wizards are getting their butts kicked by the Red Court. Oh yes, and it's raining frogs.

The Council is hoping to hand him over to the Red Court in hopes of stopping the war, but he just accepted a case from Queen Mab -- find out who killed the Summer Knight, and stole his power. If he can solve the case, then the Council won't have him killed for peace. And as Harry prepares to do some major-league detective work, he finds an old friend is also involved -- Elaine, his first lover whom he thought he had killed as a teenager.

But Elaine isn't the most surprising thing about his new case -- he finds himself dealing with a little gang of half-fey, hostile wyldfae, pizza-loving sprites, and the various Sidhe royalty from the Summer and Winter Courts. And Harry and his friends are assaulted by some of the nastier creatures from the Nevernever, as he comes closer to finding who murdered the Summer Knight -- and who is trying to destabilize the entire world into eternal summer or winter.

Not many authors can handle the whole "faerie" thing. Most of them come across as twee, drippy, absurd, or just longing for an ethereally beautiful Legolas clone. No thank you.

Fortunately Jim Butcher is not one of those authors, and "Summer Knight" is what faerie-oriented urban fantasy should always be. He handles the world of the fey as adroitly as he previously handled werewolves and various kinds of vampires. Even better, he gives us a deeper look into the heretofore shadowy world of the wizards, by taking us straight into the White Council and introducing readers to its colorful -- and sometimes bizarre -- members.

Even better, this is where Butcher's series transformed from a solid fantasy-noir series to a brilliant fantasy-noir series. The seemingly straightforward mystery story blossoms out into a complex weave of conspiracies, lies, subplots and various potential enemies, all of which are neatly tied together at the end. He builds up a sense of suspense all the way to the grand finale, without losing his sense of humor -- it's pretty terrifying and bloodspattered, but Harry still has enough presence of mind to shriek, "I don't believe in faeries!"

Even Butcher's writing has grown more mature, adding in ethereal details and haunting atmosphere, and even a tinge of horror in some of the scenes. But he hasn't lost his knack for wacky humor ("Generous" TootToot and his little pizza-loving army, including the Star Jump, Loo Tender, Corpse Oral...). And it's dotted with some solid action scenes, where Harry gets beaten up by an ogre, and Murphy defends a Wal-mart from a plant fey... with a chainsaw. You gotta love that part.

Oh yes, and Butcher gets extra points for the Tolkien homage -- a kindly old man named Ronald Reuel, who is described as a "creator of worlds of imagination." Gotta love that, especially in a book with elves.

Harry is wracked with guilt and obsession when the story first begins, and the fact that his fellow wizards seem to hate him doesn't help. So it's nice to see him pulling himself out of his little misery hole, and struggling to overcome some of the nastier hands that fate has dealt him with the help of his werewolf and fey friends. Not to mention Murphy, who still has some nasty psychic scars of her own to deal with, and her own unspoken sorrows to overcome, and a gang of outcast half-fey who struggle to decide whether to be human or faerie.

"Summer Knight" is an intricate little mystery that delves into the beautiful, dark world of the fey, which has been ruined by many lesser urban fantasy authors. But Jim Butcher was just hitting his stride with the fourth Dresden Files novel -- and it only gets better after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, May 7 2004
By 
Marcus Bailey "Marc 'grailwolf' Bailey" (Darnestown, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again, Jim Butcher has created a novel that carries you along on a roller coaster ride leaving you almost literally panting by the end. Being narrated in first person usually robs a book of suspense, because you know that the main character will survive to tell his story. Butcher knows his stuff, however. Rather than focus on whether or not Harry will make it, he focuses on how. Seeing into the mind of a wizard gives a view of the process of magic that is simply fascinating.
Even the mystery in this book is not your standard fare. It's fairly easy to guess the killer a short way into this book. But that's not important. The key is determining the underlying reasons and power struggles which lead to the murder.
Not an easy thing to do when you're dealing with the Fae.
My personal favorite part of this book has to do with Dresden's interaction with his friend and sometime partner Murphy. I won't say exactly what changes, but let's say that Harry begins to finally realize how silly he's been in his dealings with Murph and he begins to correct the situation. Hurray for character development! :)
All-in-all, a very strong installment in a very strong series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars B+ for "Summer Knight", July 1 2010
By 
Zafri M. "Khaldun" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
B+ for "Summer Knight"
Another highly entertaining read from Jim Butcher in his Dresden Files series. This book, while good, was less entertaining for me because more time was spent on unraveling the mystery and escaping baddies than on interacting with other characters. Murphy isn't in this book as much as some previous books, Michael is totally absent, and Susan is gone to South American (for spoilerish reasons). He brought a character from a previous novel into things a bit more, but I found that there wasn't enough character interaction between Dresden and friends. I'd still recommend this book as I've heard from other sources that the books really start to get good around book four. This is still a quick and entertaining read for fans of the series with a few surprises that I didn't expect (and a couple that I could see coming). Check it out, if only to see Dresden come through again after being hit with another impossibly dangerous mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, June 28 2004
By 
Maximira C. Carvalho (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are in doubt about buying this book or not, buy it! You will never regret it. It is has been years since a found a series so interesting, so appealing, so fantastic. And I may say I read a lot. It is really a perfect story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fairie Fight, Feb. 24 2004
By 
Ashley Lambert-Maberly (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
Butcher continues his Dresden Files with another breathless installment that begins bad (bad for Harry, good for us) and the tension rarely slackens.
Harry's caught in the middle in a war between vampires, wizards, and fairies that may be all his fault ... but can he stop it from getting even more out-of-hand than it already is?
If you've read the others, you know what you're in for. This is somewhat less tense, strangely, than Book 3 (other than the wonderful trial sequence at the beginning) but still a darkly comic thrill-ride of a book. Not the world's greatest literature, but unputdownable, and that's fine by me.
Note: a 3 star ranking from me is actually pretty good; I reserve 4 stars for tremendously good works, and 5 only for the rare few that are or ought to be classic; unfortunately most books published are 2 or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This series is great., May 21 2003
By 
R. Hoover (north lewisburg, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
I am re-reading this whole series again. And everytime I read this series it gets better and better. I will not go into a big synopsis of this book let's just say these key words White Court,Red Court. Toot-Toot makes a great renewed appearance in this story and we finally get to meet his first love Elaine and how his young life revolved around her. Start with first book in the series you will understand better about the situation. But, read this series it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harry vs. Faeries in the Windy City, May 17 2003
By 
Jack Fitzgerald "JFD" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
The fourth book of Jim Butcher's "Dresden Files" series continues the adventures of Harry Dresden, Wizard for hire. His girlfriend has left town to deal with issues resulting from book three, and Harry is down in the dumbs. Enter Queen Mab, the Sidhe (faerie) Queen of Winter, with a case for Harry: Find out who killed the Summer Knight. Harry becomes the emissary of Winter.
We see the first gathering of the White Council, and learn some of Harry's allies, such as his second mentor, Ebenezer, along with enemies like Morgan and The Merlin. There is also the shadowy Gatekeeper.
With a battle brewing between the White Council of Wizards and the Red Court of vampires, the wizards need safe passage through the Nevernever world of the faeries. However, there is also a struggle between the faeries of Summer and Winter. Harry must solve the murder and power struggle or be handed over to the vampires by the White Council. There's a lot at stake for poor Harry.
Luckily, Dresden has some allies on the Council, and enlists the aid of the young Alphas, the werewolves from book two. He also begins to regain his friendship with Lt. Karrin Murphy of the Chicago police Special Investigations unit. They have a couple key scenes, including one that involves a fight with an ogre, a ghoul and a plant-monster at a WalMart.
Add to all of this the return of Harry's first lover, the wizard Elaine, plus the various faeries, and we get the makings for a bit of intrigue.
As with his other books, the story is well-paced, with plenty of action along with plot development. Harry's use of magic is always interesting, and his humor carries him (and the reader) through some of the darker periods. There is a good balance of levity with shadow. Harry's character continues to develop, and his talk with Lt. Murphy is a major step forward for him. For the other characters, we mostly see them through Harry's viewpoint, but the way they react to him also reflects some development, if only at a minimal level.
Some of the things I bumped on were the way that characters seem to disappear for large chunks of time. Michael Carpenter, Harry's ally from book three, isn't even mentioned this time. Also the identity of the murdered was no big surprise, but here the who is not as important as the why. There are plenty of twists and surprises to keep a reader guessing.
With book five due out soon, I can only wonder what adventures will come Harry's way next. Will he be able to help Susan? What will become of Elaine? The vampires loom at the edge of twilight, but I suspect that Harry Dresden will be ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's magic, again, with the other great wizard Harry!, April 23 2003
By 
Jonathan Burgoine "bookseller" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files (Mass Market Paperback)
Very very few books that I read in the category of "mind-candy" receive more than 3 stars. Butcher deserved it, and is making me quickly reconsider him as belonging to the mind-candy list at all!

The wait for this one was a tremendously hard one for me. I was lucky enough to receive the "teaser" from Mr. Butcher via E-mail, and then had to wait. Wait. Wait. It hurt.
For a fun read, this series - about the only wizard in the Chicago Yellow Pages - leaves nothing to be desired. But this fourth book turned everything on its edge, and was absolutely fabulous. A haggard Harry is trying to cope with everything that went so terribly wrong in the third book - not limited to, but including a very bad turn in his love life, the starting of a wizards-vs-vampires war (oops), and quite a bit of disfavour among the wizard's council. And then of course, the fae come to collect on Harry's debt, old (and once murderous) love interests show up, and before you know it - Harry's hip deep again in trouble.

As always, it's Harry's character that keeps you going (that and his air-spirit-trapped-in-a-crystal-skull sidekick, the oversexed Bob). Harry is such a wonderful guy to follow that you can't help but feel for him, even as his winning chivalry gets him deeper and deeper into mess. The mystery itself in this one - who killed one of the Fairy Court's Knights? - is just as interesting, and the Fairy culture that Butcher wove together is skillfully plotted.

This was superb, and if you liked Anita Blake, or Tanya Huff's "Keeper" series, you'll love Harry Dresden.

'Nathan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb43f4e94)

This product

Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files
Summer Knight: Book four of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 3 2002)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews