Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A brave new approach to a traditional series
In the first few pages of this book I had to check to make sure I was still reading a "Mech Warrior" book. I was both pleased and surprised to find this book writen in first-person. I've read a few books from the BattleTech series and often wondered what the characters were saying in there heads. The book takes place 50+ years ahead of the previous timeline. It...
Published on March 2 2003 by Adam Flowers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
One would expect more from the book. It gives a very bland portrayal of the events that occurred after the FedCom Civil War. I myself have been acquainted with the Battletech Novels and Mechwarrior Games for over ten years and am dissatisfied with the story that Michael Stackpole has written. Many would agree, as in the forums, that this is far from his best work.
At...
Published on Dec 26 2002 by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Stackpole, March 30 2003
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
I almost thought this book should have been called Stackpole the return. He returns to the First person narrative that I've always loved. his main character is reminiscent of others I've enjoyed in the past I.E; corran horn, Tarrant Hawkins, and of course Phelan Patrick Kell. A very good book. I would have given it 5 stars if there was more Mech action but i guess a book can only be so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brave new approach to a traditional series, March 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
In the first few pages of this book I had to check to make sure I was still reading a "Mech Warrior" book. I was both pleased and surprised to find this book writen in first-person. I've read a few books from the BattleTech series and often wondered what the characters were saying in there heads. The book takes place 50+ years ahead of the previous timeline. It was a new and exciting story that kept me turning pages all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome read!, Jan. 14 2003
By 
"mechmaverick1" (Munster, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is great! It encompasses all thats happened in the inner sphere of late, and you even get to see what an aging Victor-Steiner-Davion would be like. This is also great for those people playing the WIZKIDS Mechwarrior Dark Age game, as it gives you a history of what has happened. This is just an example of how Stackpole(the author)can really write a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Dec 26 2002
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great book if you like Battle tech/mech warrior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., Dec 26 2002
By 
JJ (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
One would expect more from the book. It gives a very bland portrayal of the events that occurred after the FedCom Civil War. I myself have been acquainted with the Battletech Novels and Mechwarrior Games for over ten years and am dissatisfied with the story that Michael Stackpole has written. Many would agree, as in the forums, that this is far from his best work.
At many points of the book you expect great things to happen, but result in further events that are uninventive and boring. When you expect battles, he instead gives you the long and laborious insight by the character. Throughout the book the main character is like, "This person maybe could have done this, or that person could have done that. But that person could get in trouble with that person... etc, etc." This throws the reader into a net of confusion and strays from the world that is battletech.
I'd like to conclude by saying that the only reason one should by the book is to find out what happens to everyone after the FedCom Civil War. Furthermore, the book is bland with only one small Mech Battle in the end and leaves you wondering of who did what and for what reason. Many people are still puzzled of who started the whole thing in the first place. (I.E. who brought down entire the communications network?) This is definitely the worst novel Michael Stackpole has ever written and leaves us asking questions of the plot which in this kind of story is the sign that it was poorly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Stackpole product, Dec 10 2002
By 
G. Swift "97jedi" (Southwestern Missouri) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
Welcome to the Dark Age, courtesy of Michael Stackpole. After a leap of several decades into the future from the last Battletech novel, things have changed far more, perhaps, than during the entire succession wars period. Nearly all the familiar characters from the past are dead, leaving only a very limited tie to the past; in fact there is really only one returning character from the old days.
Humanity is still fractured with regards to any single galactic government, but there has been an inroad to peace, if only in a limited region of space. Unfortunately, though this new principality has been around for a while, it is not so secure as its residents might hope. The initiation of the Dark Age concept actually occurs several months before the book begins, with the centuries-old, high-speed interstellar communications network being sabotaged by unknown conspirators. This has forced all the interdependent worlds to begin fending for themselves for the first time in a long time. The results are frightening, with power being seized by very unsavory individuals.
Writing in the first person, a first for any of the Battletech/Mechwarrior series, Stackpole shows the same brilliant prose and excellent action and intrigue that his readers have come to expect from him. While the game line might not appeal to all the old fans, I think that the new storyline will. Except for a few re-drawn political lines, the universe is still recognizable. And for new readers to the game universe, Stackpole does a good job in bringing the reader up to speed on the past 60+ years of the Inner Sphere. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An auspicious beginning, Dec 4 2002
By 
J. Chovan "bronx" (San Bernardino, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very pleased to see that Michael Stackpole was returning to the Battletech universe. His previous novels were central to the old storyline, and I'm sure he will continue in this new age of 'Mech combat. This novel is written in the first person, which is a welcome change, and it seems that Mr. Stackpole enjoyed playing with the character of Sam Donnely. Having read many of Mr. Stackpole's other novels, I found it quite entertaining to see some scenes and ideas from his fantasy novels (i.e. Talion: Revenant). The story introduces the reader to the new Inner Sphere; The Republic, after several generations of peace, is now coming apart at the seams. Sam Donelly finds himself in the middle of this unrest and must use all of his considerable skills to ensure the innocent are not harmed. While the Mech action found in the old Battletech series is not as evident in this novel, the foundation is laid for the general conflagaration that will soon (it seems) envelop the Republic of the Sphere. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It was well-written and the "overly intellectual" musings of Sam are quite humorous. Of course, it was good to see Victor Davion make a cameo and soothe those who thought that everything from the old Battletech universe was stripped away. Can't wait for the next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stackpole's Return to Mechwarrior Is Fulfilled, Nov. 23 2002
By 
D. Konig (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
Oh how death does walk again... Stackpole's maiden novel in the new Mechwarrior Dark Age Era is, in my honest opinion, the fourth best book in the entire Battletech/Mechwarrior series (the first three being the Blood of Kerensky Trilogy, also by him). Although written in the first person, a new point of view for the series, Sam Lubin is compelling as a mech jockey for hire w/ a penchalant for bad luck and the narrator of the story... his story. The character of Mason Dunne provides an anti-Sam, and Janella Lakewood rounds out the compilation with both a strong authority, and a soft tenderness only a Knight-Errant could provide. The opposition of course is not only portrayed as ruthless, cunning, and abominable... but also beautiful and attractive in this time of crisis. Their true identity is of course part of the guessing game that draws you into the book. The energy Stackpole spends here is not wasted... he does not give Lubin the invincible Victor trait he has been highly criticized for. In fact, it literally looks as if Victor is on his last legs... but his legacy is already present to carry on for him. While much has been revealed, there is still much to be revealed but this is as good a start as anyone could ask for. This is a book for everyone... for old CBTers this is a good way to look at the new era... for new MWDAers this is a bold entry into their new world... and for people who just like a good story with intrigue this is the book for you... or someone you like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Stackpole's best..., May 20 2004
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
I actually give this book about a 3.5... The only flaw with this intriguing introduction to the Dark Age of the Inner Sphere is that, at times, things seem to work out a little too well for the protagonist, Mason Dunne. Most of the time, his plans go exactly as he wants them to go. Also, if he is ever beaten, he just shrugs the bruises off and goes about his life the next day like nothing happened at all. If this doesn't deter a reader, then this novel is worth a chance. Fans of the Battletech series and the Dark Age collectible game would thoroughly enjoy this introduction to the latest saga of the mighty MechWarriors of the 32nd Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The new Battletech universe is wasting Stackpole's talent., May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a great fan of Michael Stackpole, but his talent was wasted in having him write in the new Battletech universe.
The first half of the book is basically a poor introduction to the new battletech universe, which is starts off 60 years after the last book. The explanation for the new political revolution is muddled and vague The main characters of the previous universe and their fates are brushed off. Only one character has been brought back, briefly, but that appears to be a forced attempt to link the old universe to the new. But the worst sin in attempting to explain the new universe, there is no mention of the clans nor their fate. The biggest influence on the battletech universe is unacknowledged.
The second half of the book does picks up quite a bit, but not enough to overcome a lackluster first half. There is a great resemblance to the actions of the assassin in his previous battletech book, Natural Selection, which makes for enjoyable reading, but that period is too short. The greatest disappointment to this book is it's limited scope. Like another reviewer wrote, there are hints of a greater conspiracy, but they never develop and most of book is limited to actions that take place and only influence a single planet. Nothing like the galactic scale of Stackpole's previous battletech books.
In the end, I'd have to recommend against reading this book and definitely have no interest in reading any Mechwarrior Dark Age book. Stackpole is the best of the battletech writers and a great writer on his own, but if this is the best that the new universe can offer, there's no hope that the rest of the Dark Age books written by other authors will be any good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War
Mechwarrior Dark Age 01 Ghost War by Michael A. Stackpole (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 3 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews