Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Glasswright's Test
I loved this series! I like books with heroines in them and anymore it hard to find them that are not made to look good for the guys. These books are about a young girl who finds herself put into questionable situations and does what she believes is the best course of action. Being so young and naive has her at an disadvantage of not knowing what the true scheme of things...
Published on Jan. 30 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still a strong series, but....
I am really enjoying this series, especially with seeing the different lands in this world. However, the character of Tovin seems to be wasted in this book. In the last book, he didn't seem to even think about getting married, but all the sudden, in this book, it's paramount to him. He seems used and abused, and I thought Rani was smarter than that. Also, after being...
Published on June 4 2003 by Mamacat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Glasswright's Test, Jan. 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this series! I like books with heroines in them and anymore it hard to find them that are not made to look good for the guys. These books are about a young girl who finds herself put into questionable situations and does what she believes is the best course of action. Being so young and naive has her at an disadvantage of not knowing what the true scheme of things are and she does not understand why everyone she loves and trusts now hates her for trying to do what she thought was right. This story shows how she grows and matures into a couragous, and strong woman, with the help of her new friends. I definitly reccomend these books, it makes for a fascinating world of reading. Looking forward to the fourth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rani takes charge.. or does she?, Nov. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
Rani is certainly not the girl she used to be in 'Apprentice', and the plot gets ever more complex. The love interests are getting more fleshed out, and once again, Rani gets out of an impossible situation. That's the good part.
On the other hand. Rani seemed caught in circumstances beyond her control, whereas I'd've preferred that Rani get much smarter. Why bring the baby in the first place, for example?
It also seemed too convenient for Rani to get out of things by absorbing a bit of magic power here and there.
It'll be interesting to see how things play out from here. I'd like to see more of Mareka and Tovin too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good character development., Aug. 12 2003
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
I don't believe that Mindy L. Klasky let the characterization "slip." She actually developed the characters. One can not read a series about a teenager, and not expect the character to mature and change. The characters of this story started off as some, naive children, and somme, children trying to find their path in life. The Glasswrights' Test has to be my favorite edition in the series. Not only was it well written, it was enticing from the cover art, to the description on the back.
I reccomend everyone, including those who are not interested by science fiction to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rani's Impossible Task, July 15 2003
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
When Rani trader was thirteen-years-old she witnessed a horrible murder, a murder she was suspected to commit. As a result of this her guild, which was responsible for creating the beautiful glass that decorated Morenia, was all but destroyed by the kings soldiers. The glasswrights fled to Brianta and have learned to hate Rani's name. Years have past and now, more than anything, Rani longs to be reconnected with her broken guild, The Glasswrights. That's why she is delighted when she receives a letter from them, asking her if she wants to become a master at her trade. Rani agrees, bringing Princess Berylina, an exiled Liantine noble who has the ability to feel the thousand gods all around her, Berylina's priest, and Rani's fellow glass maker and lover Tobin Player. Unfortunately there are darker matters at stake here. The Brotherhood of Jair, a secret organization that Rani is a member of, is controlling the glasswrights guild. And if Rani doesn't do what the brotherhood asks of her, she will never become a glasswright and someone might die. Now Rani faces a horrible decision, will she murder her Queen or face the consequences.
The Glasswrights Test is ever better than the other three books (The Glasswrights Apprentice, The Glasswrights Progress, and The Glasswrights Journeyman) in this wonderful series by Mindy L. Klasky. One thing I discovered in this book is real strong character development. Rani finally starts to take responsibility for her actions and finally understands why other people seem to be seeking revenge against her. She emerges as a truly strong woman by the end of this book, a result of the impossible tasks she is put up against. I was also happy to see Princess Berylina, take a stronger role in this book. She is no longer the shy dimwitted child but a devoted and complex woman. Ever Hal, who spends so little time in the spotlight in this novel, seems more like the king he was destined to become. The new country of Brianta is an interesting place that reminded me a lot of the holy lands in our world.
In conclusion this has got to be Mindy L. Klasky's best work yet and it doesn't end here! The final book in the series, The Glasswrights Master, comes out in June 2004. The ending is quite a cliffhanger and I can't wait to see what will happen to Rani, Hal, Mair, Crestman, and the rest of the characters next. I recommend this book to all fans of the Glasswright Saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good!, July 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
Every since I read the first book, I was hooked on the series! I have enjoyed watching Rani growing up and living life as none of us expect it. There is always something she has to struggle with and in a way that is how most lives are. I think Mrs. Klasky is a very talented writer and I can't wait to read her next novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not following anyone else's standard, July 3 2003
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this entry in the series, even if the plot did not proceed the way I would have liked it to (and that is the author's strength on this series). Rani is a strong character, with major flaws and each of the other characters has a unique personality and very fleshed out motivations. I don't expect epic world-building here, but the author has created a solid background and she is staying very consistent in how the geopolitical politics are playing out. Rani is growing and the world around her is changing based on her decisions and that makes a story well worth investing your time in. I look forward to the next book (slated for June 2004) or any other work of this talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not following anyone else's standard, July 3 2003
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this entry in the series, even if the plot did not proceed the way I would have liked it to (and that is the author's strength on this series). Rani is a strong character, with major flaws and each of the other characters has a unique personality and very fleshed out motivations. I don't expect epic world-building here, but the author has created a solid background and she is staying very consistent in how the geopolitical politics are playing out. Rani is growing and the world around her is changing based on her decisions and that makes a story well worth investing your time in. I look forward to the next book (slated for June 2004) or any other work of this talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get your hankies out for this one!, June 13 2003
By 
Dawn Smoker (Mechanicsburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
If the last book in this series ended on a triumphant note for Rani, this is the book where she pays the price for all that has come before. This is definitely Rani's story in this book and all other characters fade into the background, although we do get glimpses into the strange workings of the mind of Princess Berylina.
She accompanies the exiled Princess Berylina, a strange girl who sees and speaks with the 1,000 Gods, on an ill fated pilgrimmage to the homeland of Jair. Then unexpectedly the prize of becoming a Master of Glasswrights is dangled before her nose and she takes the bait. Little does she know that the mysterious Fellowship of Jair is pulling strings behind the scenes, trapping her into a position where she must do as they ask or forfeit her mastery and the life of someone dear to her. And all they ask is something that means betrayal of her core loyalty to her King and Queen...
She struggles in this book, trying to keep all the promises and oaths and loyalties she has created over the last few books. She is torn between oaths of support to Hal, Tovin, Crestman, Berylina, Mair, the Fellowship of Jair, and the Glasswright's guild. In trying to keep pledges to them all, she hurts and loses almost all of them. Her loyalty to Hal is tested to its limits and rather than take a firm stand on who and what means most to her, she tries tricks and manipulation, with some terrible results.
Ranita Glasswright is an imperfect heroine, trying to do her best in a world where she has little real power and where the are plots with plots all around her.
I cannot wait to read what happens next to this multi-faceted and fascinating character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful entry to this series, June 12 2003
By 
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
Eleven years ago, Rani was at the wrong place at the wrong time and as the results of her actions the Glasswright's Guild was destroyed, its guildhall torn down, it's members tortured then sent into exile. Rani stayed in the kingdom of Morenia and became close friends of king. She worked to build up a new Glasswright's Guild and she's sponsored a troupe of entertainers, one of which, Tovin became her lover. All of this should have satisfied her yet she sill yearned to be accepted by her exiled guild now living in Brianta.
The Fellowship, a shadow organization that has members from every walk of life and armies to rule the world, force the Glasswright Guildmaster to invite Rani to Brianta to take the test to become a master in the Guild. When she arrives there, the fellowship contact her and force her to make a choice that will tear her apart.
THE GLASSWRIGHT'S TEST is fantasy the way it was meant to be written. Mindy L. Klasky is a powerful world-builder who crates a kingdom that is rich in culture and history, a place where a highborn princess can communicate with the gods. The heroine is a very independent and determined woman who sets a goal and lets nothing and nobody stand in her way. That character trait is her biggest strength and weakness because it allows her to survive while pushing those close to her away. This reviewer can't wait for the next installment in this creative fantasy saga.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Pity, June 9 2003
By 
This review is from: 04 Glasswrights Test (Mass Market Paperback)
Although this is a strong series, and the world is well-developed, this was a disappointing entry. The characterization seems to have slipped a little, and the plot is degenerating to the point that it's starting to feel like a soap opera.
Klasky can do better; I'll probably read the next one (assuming there is a next one) only because she raised a couple of questions in this book that I'd like to see answered. After that, if the writing, plotting and characterization don't improve I'll probaby wave this series goodbye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

04 Glasswrights Test
04 Glasswrights Test by Mindy Klasky (Mass Market Paperback - May 23 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews