Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gates Have Been Opened...
On an impressively well-written new series. At the heart of this apocalyptic saga is David Valentine, a boy from backwoods Minnesota who begins a bloody journey to avenge his family's brutal demise at the hands of Quislings, human servants of the Kur, a race of galactic soul-suckers who've overthrown Earth and turned mankind into livestock. David becomes an officer of...
Published on July 11 2004 by Gary Zimmerman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try, a little cliche at times.
The format in which this book is done is interesting. I haven't come across this until now. For a good part of the novel, you get what looks like short stories of Valentine's life before the actual plot begins. I understand how some readers thought this wasn't the most perfect way to introduce the story. However I thought it was not only different but a good way to...
Published on Aug. 2 2011 by Karoline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try, a little cliche at times., Aug. 2 2011
By 
Karoline (Richmond BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
The format in which this book is done is interesting. I haven't come across this until now. For a good part of the novel, you get what looks like short stories of Valentine's life before the actual plot begins. I understand how some readers thought this wasn't the most perfect way to introduce the story. However I thought it was not only different but a good way to introduce the main character, and his background, with background information about the setting in this way. You follow Valentine throughout his youth, then you follow him through the period on where he first starts training to become a 'Wolf' (a special elite unit). It's not until a good later part of the book is where the actual plot begins. I liked this kind of introduction. It made getting to know Valentine easier. It gave Valentine a three dimensional form and it chronicles his development in good detail.

The setting is also interesting, however it took me a while to finally get the hang of it (without consulting the glossary at the back). The vampires here are ruthless and evil, so you will definitely not find the romantic stereotype anywhere in this book. There's a blend of post apocalyptic characteristics, with dark fantasy, and science fiction elements. So really you have a good mixture of just about everything in here. Personally, I like the dark fantasy and post apocalyptic parts. Earth really is a bleak place to be and the descriptions, and characters enhance the setting.

Valentine is all right as a character. He does seem like your most awesome hero and at times it could get a little annoying. I wish he could have a bit of a darker edge to him (ie: he could be a jerk once in a while) but he seems to be your average good guy with a troubled past. I suppose that's not too bad although it could be considered cliche and overdone by other readers.

What I did enjoy most about the novel is the overall plot. The pace was good although certain areas did experience a bit of a bump here and there. However all I will ask is for the author to not do any more romantic scenes and I'm shuddering to think if there will be more romance in the other books to follow. I read a particular romance moment and I just about nearly choked. Really? a man would do what Valentine did?? that's just gross! after having a fit for about a few minutes I resumed with the story (Apologies for not being specific. It is detailed and explicit so I won't go further than that). After finishing the book I still found that particular passage to be still unnerving. That's the only part that I strongly dislike in the book. Seriously, just take the romance out of this. It wasn't necessary and the plot was fine without it!

This was a nice interesting start to what looks like an action packed series. I'm definitely going to follow this series for sure. If you like dark fantasy with sci fi elements in a post apocalyptic world try this. Plus, the vampires aren't sparkling. You might just like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gates Have Been Opened..., July 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
On an impressively well-written new series. At the heart of this apocalyptic saga is David Valentine, a boy from backwoods Minnesota who begins a bloody journey to avenge his family's brutal demise at the hands of Quislings, human servants of the Kur, a race of galactic soul-suckers who've overthrown Earth and turned mankind into livestock. David becomes an officer of the Wolves, a unit of warriors whose senses have been honed by Lifeweavers, cosmic cousins of the Kur. The Wolves battle a variety of foes, the worst of which are Reapers, black-fanged vampy bastards who glut themselves on blood while doing the dirty work of funneling life-force back to Kur masters who control them by psychic bond.
What impresses me most about E.E. Knight is his style: He writes with a dry wit, a florid descriptive eye, magnificent metaphors and perfect pacing. This book encompasses the best of just about every genre. His work has been compared to Heinlein, Lovecraft, even Crane. But if you read this book, you'll see -- it's a brand new Knight.
P.S. Check out the author's website, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hungry Like The Wolf, July 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
Simply stated, this is a great book and I look forward to the rest of the series. Although a little shaken at first that the vamps are not your typical ones, (these are from space) the book grabbed my attention and I raced through it. The ending was disappointing only because I didn't want it to end. It was a little difficult investing in the life of Valentine but as the story progressed I found myself liking him more and more. In the end, when love motivates him to heroic deeds, he becomes more human and thus, the ultimate warrior against the hordes of galactic vamps. Grab this book and suck the marrow out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Vampire Fantasy, June 13 2004
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
All that needs to be said is that this is the best book since LOTR!!! And that is saying a lot.
I wish someone would make this into a 3 hour and 30 min move that would be great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., April 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
This title began life as one of the few P.O.D. titles released by iPublish, TimeWarner's now defunct online writing forum, and thats how I first came across it and wrote this review.
The Way of the Wolf tells the story of David Valentine, a resistance fighter living in a future earth ruled by brutal vampiric entities and their vicious minions. Since the Kurians, remorseless beings that suck the aura or life energy from other races arrived on our world through interdimensional portals, society as we know it has been all but obliterated. Humans exist mainly as slaves and snack food, with only the small pockets of resistance in the colder climes hanging on to any ideal of how life should be. These teams of hardened fighters, aided by the lifeweavers (a faction of Kurians who are against the idea of feeding on other races), prevent the Kurian Order from taking hold of the free territories. The story charts the progress of Valentine from the time he first joins up with the resistance, through his training and subsequent magical enhancement by the lifeweavers to joining the Wolves, one of the elite fighting forces that hold the Kurians at bay.
After the initial introduction to Valentine and the details of his newly acquired role in life, the book meanders in an interesting slice-of-life fashion allowing the reader to build up an understanding of the main character and the new world order. About half way through this resolves into a more plotted format when Valentine encounters a difficult situation which he has a personal interest in resolving, and develops more of an aim in life.
The story flows along at an enjoyable pace, explaining the new world order at a pace which makes it easy to get to grips with, while delving into fascinating detail about the Kurian race and their creepy and widely varied minions. It is a book very much centred on the protagonist - attention has certainly been paid to characterisation but a couple of them come across just a little light, and I would have liked to see more depth in the love interest - luckily Valentine's own interest in having a shot at anything carries his actions through believably where the depth of his feelings is less apparent.
The portrayal of Valentine himself strikes a very enjoyable balance between him as an obviously talented fighter and his own inner turmoil and self-doubt. As he rises through the ranks and comes to understand more about the way things work in Kurian society the reader is carried smoothly along on the same very natural learning curve. Again I would have enjoyed being able to get just a little closer to Valentine's thoughts and feelings, but I feel the absence of this is a product of his lack of strong opinions or motivations in the first half of the work, and hope it is an issue that will be naturally resolved as future events unfold.
For me the real interest of this book is held in the way it allows us a small viewing window into an alien society where the mysteries, the rules, and the in-fighting are entirely different to our own, and this window is placed in a way that draws the viewer in yet still tantalizes them with off screen secrets.
There are two more books in the Vampire Earth series, both of which are already written. Although the story wraps quite satisfactorily at the end of this volume it is obvious that a wealth of intriguing information about Kurian society is still to come, and the overarching concept of battling the evil Kurian Order is still left almost completely untouched. All of which leaves the reader eager to read the next volume. While it is still rewarding to read this volume as a standalone the maximum enjoyment is to be had if you're in it for the series.
If this novel turns out to be a reasonable standard to go by I have no doubt that E.E. Knight is going to be a household name in the genre before he's done. This volume is excellent and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kind of fantasy I wish everybody would write, April 6 2004
By 
Jason J (IA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
Dark, detailed and inventive, this is the first book I have cared about the plot, characters and world long enough to actually finish. Better yet -- I'm eagerly awaiting "Cat." Please don't ignore this sleeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, March 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
This has got to be the best futuristic novel I have had the pleasure of reading. Knight set up an elaborate world with strange and interesting creatures. This is a world of terror for any human. In this world, strange vampire like creatures from another world rule Earth. They basically use humans as cattle, feeding on them as need arises. A few humans due their bidding in hopes of earning a brass ring that will allow them to be exempt from becoming food to another passing vampire. Others migrate to colder areas where the vampires are not likely to come. Lastly, a rebel band of people fight to save as many people as possible and perhaps even take back their world. These band of rebels are aided and trained by another alien related to the vampires. The rebel bands are separated into three groups--wolves, bears, cats. Here enters our hero, David Valentine, a Native American whose family was murdered and raped by a scouting group of humans who work for the vampires. When David becomes older, he decides to join the rebels. Knight goes on to describe David's experences as a rebel and the harsh cruelty he and his fellow rebelers are fighting against.
There would be no words available for me to express how vivid and interesting this novel is. I sit on edge waiting for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awe-inspiring, truly impressive debut novel, Feb. 16 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
E. E. Knight's Way of the Wolf: Book One of The Vampire Earth is one of the most impressive debut novels I have ever read. I'm not sure why the author uses a pen name; if I had written a novel this original and absorbing, I would want my real name plastered across it in gigantic letters. Roc has released the book in its science fiction line, but the story strikes me as dark fantasy with militaristic overtones. Proudly drawing on the work of many great authors of the past - men such as Robert Howard, C.S. Forester, and Louis L'Amour - Knight creates a wholly original world that lives and breathes in the imagination of the reader. Readers should not see the reference to vampires in the title and simply dismiss this book as "yet another vampire novel." The vampires in command of Earth in the year 2065 are like no vampires you have ever encountered, and they do not even take an active part in the proceedings recorded in this first volume of a truly noteworthy new series.
Way of the Wolf introduces us to David Valentine, a young Lieutenant in the Southern Command and an extraordinarily human and likeable hero in a post-apocalyptic world. The mythology Knight constructs for this series is rather complex, but basically the earth is, in 2065, under the control of vicious minions from the planet Kur. Long before civilization was borne on the planet, a race of pre-Entities discovered the means for traveling between worlds, arriving on Earth but dying out before the dawn of human history. Another race eventually discovered the secrets of the Interworld Tree, and creatures from the planet Kur invaded and took over the earth after discovering they could essentially live forever by feeding on the auras of other living creatures (namely, human beings). Lifeweavers have long opposed the Kurians, but they exist on earth in numbers insufficient to challenge the Kurian New World Order directly. Their knowledge is passed on to human heroes such as the Wolves, however, men and women who patrol the boundaries of humanity's threatened refuge in the middle of what used to be America. The Kurians have created the ever-dangerous Grogs to help enforce their rule, and some humans (Quislings) have chosen to serve the New World Order rather than perish. It is the Reapers, however, who pose the greatest threat to mankind. Reapers are brutish vampiric creatures able to detect and hunt down human beings; they feed on the blood of their victims while also serving as the conduit for their Overlords' absorption of human auras.
This book basically describes David's life from the time in which his family is killed up through his first year of service in the Wolves. We follow his career from his induction into the order through a number of scouting missions, mourn alongside him the terrible loss of several good comrades, and marvel at his ingenuity, instinct for self-preservation, and innovative offensive skills in a number of deadly situations. Eventually, fate leads him to a farm in a Kurian-controlled zone, and here he experiences "normal" life to a degree he has not known since the time before his parents' deaths. Love now enters the mix alongside bravery, duty, and honor, making this an even more poignantly human tale. All of this leads up to a riveting conclusion, one which satisfies the reader while setting the stage for what is to come next in the series. I can't wait to rejoin David Valentine in the forthcoming second volume of The Vampire Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Congrats to Mr. Knight, Jan. 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
I won't bore you with a long review. A nice read with a believable main character. Looking forward to the sequel in May of 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new writer to check out, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Alisa McCune (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth (Mass Market Paperback)
In 2022 the world as we know it comes to an end. Aliens who call themselves Kurians have taken over Earth. The Kurians are not harmless and have very sinister designs on humanity. Each Kurian controls a group of Reapers - a vampire like wraith who prowls the night stealing a human's lifeforce or aura. The auras are the means with which the Kurians remain immortal. The Kurians have some of humanity in league with them. Many people have agreed to help the Kurians by selling out their neighbors. Most of humanity is now a farm animal for the Kurians.
David Valentine has had to grow up very fast. His entire family died a senseless death. It wasn't Reapers - but humans. Valentine was forever changed that day. When Southern Command, the remnants of the military protecting everyone from the Kurians, comes calling for volunteers, Valentine is intrigued. His father was a Wolf, an elite military unit that engages in guerrilla warfare. By becoming a Wolf, Valentine is driven to find a way to defeat the Kurians and salvage what is left of humanity.
Way of the Wolf is the first of the Vampire Earth series. As such, much of the book is spent creating the post-apocalyptic Earth and setting up Valentine as our hero. Valentine is very well fleshed out and likeable character. He endears himself to the reader. The story line of Way of the Wolf is slow to start, but once the action begins, it does not let up. The action is gripping and enthralling. The dichotomy of an 'elite' group with immunity from the Kurians and all the other 'sheep' presents many opportunities for the story line to take unseen twists. Who is more devious and deadly? The Reapers or your neighbors?
Way of the Wolf is E.E. Knight's first book. The sequel, Choice of the Cat will be published in May, 2004 with a third novel, titled Tale of the Thunderbolt to follow in 2005. Lara Croft: Tomb Raider: The Lost Cult, an adventure in the Tomb Raider world will be published in August, 2004. E.E. Knight has a very extensive website at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth
Way of The Wolf: Book One Of The Vampire Earth by E.E. Knight (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 2 2003)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews