Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book
I think this is her first and only attempt at writing a fantasy book (?) I love reading fantasy books (like Robert Jordan, Anne Mcaffery, etc) and I thought this book was written fairly well..it doesn't have the descriptive and detailed world of Robert Jordan, but it is still a good read. I was disappointed when I found out there wasn't going to be a sequel or series for...
Published on Jan. 10 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obviously an early book...
Of course after enjoying most of the Anita Blake books (the first 10 are fantastic), I was delighted to find something else by Ms. Hamilton. It was obvious that the publishers printed this work just because it was a Hamilton work, albiet an early work, and they shouldn't have.
Writing was okay, but I kept thinking that with all the references to earlier actions by...
Published on July 8 2004 by CN


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obviously an early book..., July 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
Of course after enjoying most of the Anita Blake books (the first 10 are fantastic), I was delighted to find something else by Ms. Hamilton. It was obvious that the publishers printed this work just because it was a Hamilton work, albiet an early work, and they shouldn't have.
Writing was okay, but I kept thinking that with all the references to earlier actions by the character that there was another book prior to this - which there isn't.
This is a good idea that was written by a freshman writer. Unclear plot and poorly structured.
Borrow it from the library and save your money for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment!, April 8 2002
By 
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
"Nightseer" is Laurell K. Hamilton's first published novel, and it is, for the most part, well written and highly entertaining. This book is action-packed and filled with interesting characters who live in an intriguing fantasy world.
"Nightseer" is a little slow at the beginning, and it takes a while to become familiar with the alternate reality Hamilton has created, but once the story gets going it moves at a lightning fast pace.
The story revolves around noble half-elf Keleios Nightseer, skilled prophet and master enchanter. Upon reaching adulthood, Keleois found herself gifted with the power of sorcery, and so she was forced to relinquish her master status and return to the magic school at Zeln's Keep to learn to control her new power.
Entering a state of prophecy, Keleios has a terrible vision - the Keep under attack and on fire and the students and masters taken prisoner or killed. Keleios barely has time to warn the residents before the attack is under way, the Keep betrayed by Keleios' roommate Fidelis, a student of Harque, the evil witch who killed her mother years ago. Keleios manages to assemble a small group of survivors, consisting of herself, Tobin, a young prince, Lothor, a dark healer who agrees to help Keleios only if she agrees to be his consort, Master Eroar, a shape-shifting dragon, and Poth, a cat with powers of sorcery. These five must fight against the demonic forces threatening to destroy them. Keleios, who once walked the pit of Hell in a quest of revenge for her mother, bears the mark of demonic corruption, which gives her a certain power over demons.
Keleios and the rest of her team are betrayed by a ruthless High Councilman, and delivered into the hands of Harque. Now Keleios and her friends must struggle to free themselves from the evil witch and her demonic minions. And Keleios seeks to have her revenge on her mothers' murderer.
"Nightseer" is full of non-stop action and thrilling suspense. Hamilton has created yet another fascinating world that her readers can immerse themselves in. Though there are some flaws in the plot, it is on the whole a very impressive first effort. I do wish there were not so many loose ends left dangling when the book came to a close, but this didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book as a whole. "Nightseer" is a fun-filled romp through a wild and wonderful world of dragons, sorcerers, witches and demons, and it is most certainly worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, Jan. 10 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "fairytales&dreams" (Where unicorns and fairies play) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
I think this is her first and only attempt at writing a fantasy book (?) I love reading fantasy books (like Robert Jordan, Anne Mcaffery, etc) and I thought this book was written fairly well..it doesn't have the descriptive and detailed world of Robert Jordan, but it is still a good read. I was disappointed when I found out there wasn't going to be a sequel or series for this book because I was very eager to see what other adventures Keleios would have. Does anyone know why? (also, there were other questions I had that could have been answered in a sequel! like her elven/calthuian background, didn't elaborate on that...what is the Guardian? what exactly happened to her when she got that pus-like thing on her hand?)
Anyways, if you like fantasy..this is an enjoyable book to read, nice LIGHT reading:) Also, if you haven't tried reading her Anita Blake vampire hunter novels I recommend you do! Pretty good books, though her latest book Narcissus in Chains was kinda disappointing...only because Anita seems to have not stuck with her previous statements (in previous books) concerning certain morals she used to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Hamilton Entirely, Aug. 7 2001
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading all 8 of Laurell Hamilton's Anita Blake series and "A Kiss of Shadows" I honestly thought I knew what to expect from Hamilton as a writer. When her debut novel was recently re-released I naturally picked it up, expecting to find the 'prototype' of the Blake series. I was more than a little surprised to find that "Nightseer" was in another genre entirely and that Laurell Hamilton is capable of excellent traditional fantasy. One can see hints of Anita in Keleios Nightseer, but for the most part it is as if we had stepped into an entirely different world.
Noble half elf Keleios is endowed with three magical powers. Originally she was a master enchanter and a skilled prophet. Suddenly she demonstrated powers as a sorcerer, and has had to relinquish her master rank and return to the school at Zeln's Keep to learn to control her new power. When Keleios was a child her mother was destroyed by the black witch Harque. In Keleios' quest for revenge she has walked the pit of Hell, and bears the mark of demonic corruption. Although she is not comfortable with the taint, she is able to control both black and white disciplines. In addition, she is also expert with weapons, particularly those bespelled or enchanted.
Entering a state of prophecy in the dreaming rooms at Zeln's Keep, Keleios has a horrible vision, the Keep under attack and destroyed, many of the residents enslaved or killed. She barely has time so make her warnings before the attack is under way. The Keep betrayed by one of Harque's own students. Against demonic forces Keleios is only able to assemble a small group of survivors. Lothor the dark healer, whose price is betrothal, Tobin, companion mage and close friend, Master Eroar, a true dragon and Poth, the cat. This team is betrayed into the hands of Harque and must struggle to free themselves from the witch and her minions.
This is pretty strong stuff. Hamilton, especially in her earlier novels is capable of managing a tremendous amount of plot complexity and action. The only time for relaxation here comes right after the words 'the end.' Hamilton also builds her characters very naturally. Unlike the Blake series, "Nightseer" is written in the third person, but Hamilton provides plenty of insight into Keleios, and makes masterful use of dialogue to flesh out the rest of the characters. This is a very skilled performance for a debut novel. Somewhat reminiscent of Barbara Hambly's work.
My only complaint is that "Nightseer" feels like the middle volume of a trilogy. There is clearly a great deal of story that preceded it, and too many threads are left incomplete at the end. One can only hope that someday Laurell Hamilton will be motivated to return to Keleios' world and tell the rest of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Foreshadowing of much better things to come..., Feb. 5 2001
By 
D. Jurski "deejay435" (Toledo, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
Nightseer was clearly Laurell K. Hamilton's first book. Though there are elements of the style she would develop over the years, the book isn't well paced or narrated. Far too much is simply told to the reader, with no way to see the tale unfold; this is especially true of the backstory. The book reads like the second in a series. This is a style that Hamilton develops with later books, notably A Kiss of Shadows. But where she succeeds with Kiss, allowing Merry Gentry's past to unfold slowly through memories, flashbacks, and character-voiced tales, in Nightseer too many events are simply mentioned quickly, with little or no way to guage their importance to the plot, or characterizations. Exactly what is 'The Pit'? How did Harque manage to get Keleios into the pit? Was it the domain of the black Witch alone? We know that somehow, in the pit, Keleios aquired her Demonmark, but not how, or why.
Hamilton's central moral dilemma was already present in this early novel, that of the taint evil leaves on anyone who deals in it, even if it is simply in battle. As Anita Blake would later say, 'When you hunt the monsters, you eventually become one'.
Another convention that Hamilton uses brilliantly in the Anita Blake series that was present, to a lesser degree here, is the attraction/revulsion relationship between the protagonist and the romantic opposit. This is the part of Nightseer that works the best. But it fails in some ways because though the reader is told Lothor is evil, his character, though at times lacking in scruples, also behaves nobly and honorably. In order to believe in Lothor's inherent evilness, the reader needs to see the character behaving in an evil manner.
The ending, though clearly a set-up for a yet unwritten sequel, leaves the reader desperately wanting. Too many loose ends were left simply forgotten. Much time is spent in developing early relationships between Keleios and other characters, who are ultimately left hanging in quite desperate situations. Though leaving antagonists free to harrass the hero again, or foreshadowing new crisis to come are effective ways to set up a second book, these other plot devices should not have been left dangling.
Yet for Hamilton fans, it is ultimately a very interesting read. Her ability to create believable, exciting worlds, though in it's infancy here, was already notable in Nightseer. The reader is left wanting another book, not only to tie up loose plot ends, but to delve more into the World of Nightseer knowing so much was left untold.
It is also intriguing reading an early effort by someone who was to become a very dynamic, exciting author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hamilton's done it again !! Another great female protagonist, March 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
What do I say ? Hamilton's Keleios characther is every bit as savvy,tough and powerful as Anita Blake(Vampire Hunter) if not more so. I must say I didn't know what to expect going into this book so many serial authors with great characthers start new ones that are copies of thier old ones or just plain bad all together. I'm pleased to say this is not the case with the Nightseer. Hamilton has got a new lady on the block and like Anita in her world she's "All That" and more. But the best part of this book is the Fantasy land itself. Hamilton has made a world where Good and Evil Sorcerers,Seers,Enchanters and plain old human Warriors can go the same school and be friends?? Where Demons aren't just plain brutes, but have a characther all thier own some good some not so good. Unless your a demon and than your just having some fun. Where being an evil prince doesn't make you a bad guy. And where your college roommate from hell may very well be from there.I hope this is not the last I'll be seeing of Keleios; she's great and I know if Hamilton doesn't give her a book she'll want tobe seeing Hamilton across the sands. For anyone wanting to read this book hold onto your hats Keleios is one badddddd MoMMa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A doomed early effort by a great writer, March 4 1999
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
As a fan of Laurell K. Hamilton, I had high expectations when I picked up _Nightseer_. That is also the only reason I finished it. Ms Hamilton's writing style was not developed at this point and she committed two mistakes of a beginning writer--she used prose that told the reader what was happening instead of showing the reader what was happening which contributed to a boring and exhausting read, and the ending was contrived and had a very false feel to it. The archetypes of characters in her later Vampire novels are present in _Nightseer_, which made for an eerie deja vu sensation in the later parts of the novel. However there were glimmers of greatness within _Nightseer_. Some of the fight scenes snapped and crackled with action. There were instances of dialogue that showed Ms Hamilton's (and her character's) wit and left me chuckling. Overall, it was obvious that this was an early effort by a talented writer. Thankfully Ms Hamilton's writing ability has matured and sharpened since then. Skip this novel and read her Anita Blake series instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is one of my all-time favorite books, Aug. 11 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book when it was first published and liked it a lot. I have now re-read it at least five times, which is the best thing I can say about a book, actually. My only criticism is that certain figures and items appear and disappear far too quickly, causing some disorientation on the reader's part as you try to figure out what became of all the different magical artifacts and characters that whirl in and out of the plot lines. However this is more likely to bug on the second reading. The action is nonstop and the characters are so engaging that you have to find out what happens to them in one sitting, at least I did. Keleios is one of the greatest fantasy heroines, a fighter/magic-user who has been through a lot, none of it her fault,and a little confused about her alignment, but still sensitive to helping others. Readers of the Anita Blake books will like this one too, even though there aren't any vampires in it. By the way, it would be great to see a sequel! to Nightseer. The ending isn't a cliffhanger, but not all of Keleios' problems have been resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!, March 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
As a huge fan of Laurell K Hamilton and her Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series and her newest venture the Meredith Gentry novels I am proud to say that Ms Hamiltons earlier work does not dissapoint, in truth is shows the true craftmanship and talent that Ms Hamilton has as an author and great storyteller.<...
Laurell K Hamilton has gone on to write such bestsellers as Guilty Pleasures, Obsidian Butterfly, Narcissus in Chains, Kiss of Shadows and her newest A Caress of Twilight, but the roots of all these magical, sensual, erotic, horrific suspense filled novels can be found in her early work "Nightseer". Here we see the true blossoming of Ms Hamiltons unique style and blend of true fantastical creativity. Nightseer was not a bestseller and so no sequel was forthcoming. However, perhaps with enough good will and publicity we will one day see the triumphant return of Keleios and Lothor... another couple of light and dark, that which Ms Hamilton explores and creates to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My goodness..., March 29 2002
This review is from: Nightseer (Mass Market Paperback)
Yet again Laurell K. dazzles us with a snappy heroine that is, on her own, a never-ending puzzle. I loved the realism in the book and the fact that she doesn't seem to hesitate in killing off or introducing unpopular characters. She has a way with words that will steal your breath as you struggle against all outside influences to finish the book in one sitting. The plot is so gripping that until I read the book again, I didn't notice that she left quite a few loose ends for the reader to chew on. My only question is that with so many cliffhangers, where is the sequel?! I mean, in the Anita Blake series you have 3 or 4 plots going on at once, but they are always resolved at the end, with the exception of her boyfriends. This leads me to conclude there MUST be an ending to this book somewhere, that ties up all the ends and gives the reader the satisfaction of knowing what happened to who. Miss Hamilton, if you read this, please publish it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightseer
Nightseer by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - Feb. 3 2009)
CDN$ 15.50 CDN$ 11.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews